Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

delaval wrote: »
    Any Belgian treat(chocolate) offered yet??

Does beer count as chocolate?:D

Shored at one point yesterday to eat a bit and there were cows in the field behind us, all came up to have a gawk at us and the lads ran away thinking they were going to chase them. Almost fell in I was laughing so much. Then one of the lads fell over in 1 foot of water and his lifejacket inflated automatically:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Got my current account statement today for farm account. First entry on page 1, Overdraft Facility Fee €50.

Have to check back, but I'd swear that used to be €25. 100% increase:mad:

Money needed to pay Richie Boucher his well deserved bonus I suppose:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Got my current account statement today for farm account. First entry on page 1, Overdraft Facility Fee €50.

is that if ye go into the overdraft bloody in it big for the first time in 2yrs:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Who are you with?

BOI are €50 for the last few years.

I questioned them about it one time and they told me that I could avoid paying this fee if I kept a balance of €1500 in the account.

Duh!! What would I need an OD for then???

I have a growing dislike for banks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

what bank is that, must check mine to see, I got a charge of 30 euro last week for a card that was cancelled 8 months ago

i went into bank last week to lodge cash to cover a cheque, the girl at the counter started to lecture me about queing to lodge cash and to use fastlodge, she told me that she would do me a favour this time and not to do it again, lets just say I wont be on her christmas card list after my response and insisting on speaking to manager,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

reilig wrote: »
    Who are you with?

BOI are €50 for the last few years.

I questioned them about it one time and they told me that I could avoid paying this fee if I kept a balance of €1500 in the account.

Duh!! What would I need an OD for then???

I have a growing dislike for banks!

Ya, I'm BOI also. Feck it. Thought they were €25.
    €50 is very steep. Mind you, their overall charges are not bad, if you
    do most of your stuff online, which I do.
    Still ........... €50 for O Draft facility fee is EXTORTINATE!

As for keeping €1500 in it, forget that. Especially after the 6 month winter we had. I'm fekin trying hard to build up a herd of real quality suckler cows, as a kind of a pension more than anything else. As you know (or maybe you get it more right than I do), the bundle of promising heifers you keep back for breeding, half of them throw calves no better than your worst old cow:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

got my vets bill today for last month, there was no charge for the calving where vet perforated heifers womb:) i am sure they didnt want to get on my wrong side by charging me

when you are posting the movement compliance sheet from agfood to clonakilty is the postage free?

whelan1 wrote: »
    when you are posting the movement compliance sheet from agfood to clonakilty is the postage free?
    I always whack a stamp on those just in case

hugo29 wrote: »
    I always whack a stamp on those just in case
    so do i , but remember the green part of the old type movement cert the postage was free on them, wonder am i doing myself out of 60c each time i do put a stamp on

True, but I just use a stamp from work:D

Any fill out the farm structure survey sheet yet, found it in a pile filing this evening
    That an final demand for 50 euro from revenue :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

Trying to make life easy putting on machinery.Using the "A" frame quick release.

Just found out a neighbour of our land away from the house has been using our cattle holding pen and crush without asking us:mad::mad:
    Was wondering recently why he put out 4 cows to calve in the fields up there as he normally calves them in. And he's the man gone down with TB too.
    I wouldn't have minded if he'd asked my dad or me but to use it without even telling us after is just taking it a bit far. Not to mention the fact that we never brought up the way he allows his cows to roam free through gaps in the fields onto the lane that we have to move cattle through to get to ours.:mad:

Should I mention it to him or just casually drop it into conversation to see if the goes red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

you are one very quiet woman if you dont say anything. Id be up there about the fences and the pen in a flash. maybe not confrontational instantly but i usually would be long sussing them out and by whatever method suitable i would be ensuring they got the message.

i'd go along the lines of " some fooker has been using our crush" see what way the ground lies and then go on about the animals on the road, wouldnt let him away with it, manners cost nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Just found out a neighbour of our land away from the house has been using our cattle holding pen and crush without asking : mad

Should I mention it to him or just casually drop it into conversation to see if the goes red.

chain and lock. when comes to ask to use it, mention the fencing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Take gate from the pen to fence the gap that his cows escape through:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Just found out a neighbour of our land away from the house has been using our cattle holding pen and crush without asking us:mad::mad:
    Was wondering recently why he put out 4 cows to calve in the fields up there as he normally calves them in. And he's the man gone down with TB too.
    I wouldn't have minded if he'd asked my dad or me but to use it without even telling us after is just taking it a bit far. Not to mention the fact that we never brought up the way he allows his cows to roam free through gaps in the fields onto the lane that we have to move cattle through to get to ours.:mad:

I suppose the question is who owns the lane, is it his that you have a right of way over to your land, if so thread carefully but in terms of the use of the pen without permission that is something that needs sorting ASAP, only way to do that is be upfront

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Lads calm down nobody died. Put a lock on pen and use Tb as a excuse (genunine reason). He probably thought ye wouldnt mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Bring him on a drinking session followed by some fishing in Lough Rinn at 5am. That will sort him;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

I'll be up in the morning to sort him out dont worry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

quadboy wrote: »
    I'll be up in the morning to sort him out dont worry
    Fair play to you quadboy ,once she has a man moved in all this crap with the neighbours taking advantage wont be long coming to an end :D

Lane is a right of way, goes way back to when it was all our land until a family fall out and it was auctioned off. Goes onto our original family homehouse. This is going back to my great grandfather though.
    The lane has gradually fallen into disrepair over years though and so it's a lane bordered by fields that can be walked into about every 2 metres or so.

I don't want to go down the road of putting a padlock on the gate just yet, it's not his fault that he went down in the test as he used it before the test. It's just annoying that we wouldn't have known the crush was used until the other neighbour mentioned that he helped bring the cattle in. He could have freely used it if he'd asked as it is literally just inside the lane and his fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

so it's a lane bordered by fields that can be walked into about every 2 metres or so.

'round here we call that a "motorway"

was at local tractor dealers yesterday and the guy in front of me was getting oil filters for his tractor... the sales man said to him did he want oil, the lad replied sure i am only changing the filters not the oil:eek: what would the point be of changing only the filters and not the oil

Hydraulic oil filters I presume.

Do you change the hydraulic filters in your NH every 600 hour service? We do, and they are dam expensive (over €100 for the 2). We don't change the oil in it - although the dealer did change it in the first service after we bough it new (which was free). You'd be talking a couple of hundred euro for the oil for it. It doesn't do any heavy hydraulic work anyway!

no this was engine oil!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

reilig wrote: »
    Hydraulic oil filters I presume.

Do you change the hydraulic filters in your NH every 600 hour service? We do, and they are dam expensive (over €100 for the 2). We don't change the oil in it - although the dealer did change it in the first service after we bough it new (which was free). You'd be talking a couple of hundred euro for the oil for it. It doesn't do any heavy hydraulic work anyway!
    I've seen hydraulic oil treatment units in a lot of factories. These have ultra fine filters and they filter out all the micro bits of metal and crap. The oil itself never degrades but it does get contaminated with metal bits. Same with a tractor, I guess. On Industrial hydraulic equipment we use here, every 2000 hours or every year, they recommend changing the hydraulic oil.

pakalasa wrote: »
    I've seen hydraulic oil treatment units in a lot of factories. These have ultra fine filters and they filter out all the micro bits of metal and crap. The oil itself never degrades but it does get contaminated with metal bits. Same with a tractor, I guess. On Industrial hydraulic equipment we use here, every 2000 hours or every year, they recommend changing the hydraulic oil.

Ours only had 2000 hours on it and it has already been changed once. Wouldn't the idea of changing the filters regularly be to remove any metal bits? I can't see us changing it soon.