Boards.ie inaugural Beer Mile 14/6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Fair play for organising the whole thing Dr Q. Some sterling work put in there...

+1 Great work Dr Q.

As a reward you can take my 3rd and 4th bottle off me Friday night if you want. I should be able to run without them! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭Peckham

Just a thought. Given the numbers participating, how are we going to manage the transition area? It's going to be a complete mess (and that's before anyone falls over or their stomach decides to reject it's beer content). Should transition take place off the track?

Also, will it be a simple case of placing your beers on the ground at the edge of the track and remembering roughly which ones are yours. Given the popularity of Coors Light, this could be very confusing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

digger2d2 wrote: »
    how's the groin?

Can't believe you went public with this before the big day! :D

Not amazing - taking 3 days off in a row to chill it out for Dublin Novices on the weekend....

Peckham wrote: »
    Just a thought. Given the numbers participating, how are we going to manage the transition area? It's going to be a complete mess (and that's before anyone falls over or their stomach decides to reject it's beer content). Should transition take place off the track?

Also, will it be a simple case of placing your beers on the ground at the edge of the track and remembering roughly which ones are yours. Given the popularity of Coors Light, this could be very confusing!

Defo- drinking in the infield- doing it on the track = dq. One solution might be for people to bring their beers in those handy 6 pack carriers. I'll bring a marker and some tape so people can label... I also have one of the stewards solely committed to the transition area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

drquirky wrote: »
    Defo- drinking in the infield- doing it on the track = dq. One solution might be for people to bring their beers in those handy 6 pack carriers. I'll bring a marker and some tape so people can label... I also have one of the stewards solely committed to the transition area.

We had 40 in our race and there was no issue drinking on the track. Just keep out of lanes 1 and 2 while drinking so not to get in the way of those running. The 9m transition zone spread over 6 lanes is plenty of space for everyone to drink and you won't all be drinking at once except at very start.

I'd recommend getting a big bin if possible so that people can throw the bottles into it when finished each drink. Saves effort and time on clean up. Don't forget to tip the bottles over the head first though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Last ditch effort at sampling what's ahead of us by myself and CL last night. Did 7 miles followed by a beer half mile with Miller.... I think I'll have to review my target. It's fookin manky running with a load of bubbling froth in your throat, now I know how a frightened hooker feels :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    Don't forget to tip the bottles over the head first though :)

This is a good point, don't want to be critical of shels time trial last night but there were 2 bottles with a little beer left in them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Unfortunately wont be around for this one, but plenty of Photos, Videos and Race Reports please. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

TRR wrote: »
    This is a good point, don't want to be critical of shels time trial last night but there were 2 bottles with a little beer left in them ;)
    Funny thing last night was the last 400m, as I got to about 300m heard the clinking bottles as you caught me, there is something very wrong about that..

digger2d2 wrote: »
    I know how a frightened hooker feels :D;)

Jezus that's vivid even for you.

While doing some more BM related "research" I discovered that the WR for the Beer Half Marathon = 5:07 (13 beers/ 13.1 miles) :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Has anyone survived a Beer Full Marathon yet? :D

don't let the ultra lads see this, there is only one logical step after a beer marathon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

don't let the ultra lads see this, there is only one logical step after a beer marathon :)

Especially as they mostly measure in metric - was that 100k I heard mentioned?
    Could get very messy resulting in colours like :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭Peckham

The issue is that the beer froths up so much that what you're left with at the end of is lots of froth that won't come out of the bottle (even holding it upside down). I noticed when picking up my bottles to head home yesterday that the froth had then settled down resulting in beer being left in the bottles.

The key is to have the beer out of the fridge between 45-60 minutes before race start. Any longer and it goes very frothy which is not what you want. A bit of froth is unavoidable and generally accepted, hence why you tip the bottle over your head to show no beer pouring out. The tiny bit of froth left behind wont fall out when tipped over the head briefly as it takes time to set as you said.

Yep I think the turning it upside down on your head is grand, the froth isn't drinkable so wont come out, So after the event any beer that's in the bottle is grand within reason.
    Also think i might have been inverting the bottle a little to quick , might need to start off at a more 30 degree angle and increase from there.
    I feel like a triathlete with all this technical stuff.

shels4ever wrote: »
    I feel like a triathlete with all this technical stuff.

Most technical event in track and field, even more so than javelin, sprint hurdles and pole vault. Non beer milers just laugh at me when I say that though. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

There's going to be some farting done in the boozer afterwards ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭eldiva

When is this happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

eldiva wrote: »
    When is this happening?

PM Dr. Quirky

Right, so I'm preparing for my coors specific session as we speak. I think I will be tapering after tonight. Training for this event is destroying all my other good work :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I've been training hard the past 2 nights by practising necking the coors light.
    It seems like my timing for my 8 second coors light last friday night was either caused by dodgy timing or being half cut (possibly the former was caused by the latter) as I seem to be consistently in and around 18-20 seconds per beer.

I haven't tried to run between beers yet but I practised the TRR tecnique of jogging on the spot between beers while burping tonight. I will definitely try a beer half mile tomorrow night then will be tapering. Unless I have a mega improvement tomorrow night, I will most definitely be happy with my 8:40 prediction.

Anyone any tips on tapering for this event? should we cut back the running, cut back the drinking, none or both? I heard Pisco Sour had a few recovery beers the night before his recent beer mile, is that adviseable or is complete rest better?
    Also has anybody any tips on carbo loading? How much pasta should I be thinking of eating on Thursday night?

Thanks in advance.

menoscemo wrote: »
    I've been training hard the past 2 nights by practising necking the coors light.
    It seems like my timing for my 8 second coors light last friday night was either caused by dodgy timing or being half cut (possibly the former was caused by the latter) as I seem to be consistently in and around 18-20 seconds per beer.

I haven't tried to run between beers yet but I practised the TRR tecnique of jogging on the spot between beers while burping tonight. I will definitely try a beer half mile tomorrow night then will be tapering. Unless I have a mega improvement tomorrow night, I will most definitely be happy with my 8:40 prediction.

Anyone any tips on tapering for this event? should we cut back the running, cut back the drinking, none or both? I heard Pisco Sour had a few recovery beers the night before his recent beer mile, is that adviseable or is complete rest better?
    Also has anybody any tips on carbo loading? How much pasta should I be thinking of eating on Thursday night?

Thanks in advance.
    Think you really need to get a run with them it's a bit strange. My first beer flew down its the Second and third that were prob twice as slow.
    You should prob do 1200m tomorrow just to get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

menoscemo wrote: »

Thanks in advance.

Remember tapering means a reduction in volume but not in intensity so keep the beers ticking over.

In terms of the carbing the night before, i hear that the rule of thumb is to eat whatever you normally don't eat the day before a big race.

I myself have a secret weapon that I will bring along with me on race night to be used last minute. Should significantly improve my beer consumption speed (BCS)....in theory! :cool:

oh sweet jesus. I may need an ambulance going to write a report if it doesn't appear in 15 minutes will somebody call me an ambulance because it means I've passed out

Right so first off, I've answered two of my previous questions regards prerace meal and beer temp. Stuck 4 bottles of coors in the freezer around 6.30 pm and had a decent dinner of pork chops and home made oven baked chips. Had lots of chips for carbo purposes as long run tomorrow (that may not happen now by the way :eek:)

Was pretty stuffed starting but didn't realise until once I got stuck into the first beer. Being stuffed was bad enough but the major problem was the beer was also too fecking cold. 2 hours in the freezer is way too much, very hard to gulp when that cold.

My 400 reps were improvised runs around my estate, I've the 2 nosiest neighbours in the world and they were literally hanging out the window, by lap 3 they were both on their phones I'm guessing to one another wondering what the **** was going on. Anyway struggled all the way through but logged a decent enough time of 9.05.

I'm still going to go with the corona this Friday but I had none in the house hence my reason for doing a coors specific session. I'm a little worried as the corona has a little more fizz and has an extra 25 mls per bottle. Doesn't sound like a lot but when I was on bottle 4 tonight it took me about 25 seconds to drink the final 50-60 mls so it is the great unknown

Right lads, I'm off to put the shopping away. I'd say the mrs is going to have some craic finding her breakfast cereal tomorrow :)

By the way what's the craic with puking. I got a little puke up a couple of minutes after I finished. Is it "OK" to get sick once you've crossed the line? Also I guess the penalty lap that has to be run if you puke is without a beer, is it? Finally I love you guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Reckon we could have cross country type conditions come the big day.
    Wellies should be mandatory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Wow, this is the first time that I've really been worried that I'm not drinking enough beer. Too late for a last surge?