If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leaving Cert 2012-13 *OFF-TOPIC* (hideaway) thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Eurovisionmad

HPMS wrote: »
    I know Mahon, Bishop, Shakespeare and Hopkins well. Trying to learn Wordsworth here but oh my god, it's proving impossible!! I just hope one of the ones I've sudied well comes up!
    I'm in the exact same boat as you, but I was looking at it and thinking the worst case scenario is Plath, Wordsworth, Kinsella and Rich, and by anyones standard I think that's a very unlikely combination!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭SuSi: Reps

Jade. wrote: »
    Weird I heard nothing back then :/

I don't think I qualify but surely they would send back a no?

When is the last day to apply for the grant?

Bonbon1995 wrote: »
    can anyone help? I got to 42% of the form and I know I must get my parents to send away for a p21.. anything else? also I worked last summer but I was only 17 so do I need a p21 too? if I say I worked I defo wont get a grant id say

peekachoo wrote: »
    ah id say they're up to their eyeballs! You'll prob get it this week.

Seriously though anybody got solutions for me? How can you ask for a college letter when they're off for summer?

Hi Jade, if you mail me your details I can check on your application for you. I would need the following details: W reference number: D.O.B: Address: Mother's Maiden Name:

Hi 11Charlie411, the closing date for renewal applicants is 14/06 and the closing date for first time applicants is 01/08.

Hi Bonbon1995, if you were a student then you’re entitled to earn €3809 before we count it as reckonable income. We now also have links to other government agencies so you won’t need to supply a P21.

Hi Peekachoo, I seen a lady offered advice on how to retrieve a letter from the college. The letter needs to confirm her attendance, it will need to state her start and end date. Also a copy of her award would suffice.

I hope this information helps. Please feel free to mail me if you need any further help.

Kind regards,
    Aoife,
    SuSi HelpDesk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭barry194

Rich would be interesting on the paper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Do you get any marks if you don't quote or say the names of a poets poems? For in case none of the poets come up that I know.... because I definitely know some poets... yeah.... some.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭11Charlie11

Bishop is the only poet I know in detail the others I would have to completely waffling :(
    Please god put bishop on the paper!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭yournerd

worst day ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jade.

Bishop is the only poet I know in detail the others I would have to completely waffling :(
    Please god put bishop on the paper!!!!

I'm the same! :/ I just hate poetry I can't learn them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭ynwa14

Spent all day procrastinating learning Kingship even though I know all the other Macbeth essays and not looking at me poets :S Best do one now sure... Mahon sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭user.name

Do you get any marks if you don't quote or say the names of a poets poems? For in case none of the poets come up that I know.... because I definitely know some poets... yeah.... some.......

Well they'd give you some marks not many for attempting the question like that but when you are dicussing a certain aspect of the poets work its expected to name a poem by that poet which you can see it in and a quote from that poem to back up your point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

I don't mind the poetry, but I'm sh!tting bricks for Macbeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭007driver

Ill be happy when maths is finished, the exams after that are not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Postgrad10

The nervous wait for the leaving Certs to log on:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Aeternum

SO HAPPY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,804 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Such a nice paper. Even the unseen poetry was fairly easy for once. 4 pages for Macca, 4.5 for the comparative, 3.75 for poetry, and 1 page for the unseen. Feeling pretty confident if I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭thegreatescape

I was smiling for the first five minutes of that exam when I saw Plath AND Bishop for the poets and Cultural Context :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

If the SEC were a person I may just kiss them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Didn't like the Macbeth question, apart from that twas graaaaand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jade.

I even loved the unseen poetry! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭barry194

English over the two papers was grand this year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Acciaccatura

Macbeth, Unseen Poetry and Hopkins. YOU BEAUTIES :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Lads and lasses, is there any chance we could keep the OT, off topic? The last thing I needed yesterday was people talking about how great they thought the paper was on here after I ballsed it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Yes mom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Prodigious wrote: »
    Yes mom.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Leaving Cert Student

Well I did my time, how ppl gettin on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

946284_664182213608739_596027462_n.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

My left knee is aching for some reason :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 LCchancer

paper was bettter than expected! questions were oddly put though and dunno what i even ended up writing for cultural context hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 BarrySeoighe

Did anyone do Engineering? How do ye think it went? I thought it was a nice paper.:) I did Testing of materials, Thermal Equilibrium Diagrams, Welding and Polymers.
    I feel i did good. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I feel sorry for next year's LC's - Plath, Bishop and Mahon are all on their course. I'm sure at least one of them will come up again as that'd only leave five poets but still, lolz.

Having a glance at all their poets, I'm going to predict now that Dickinson will be the one trending on twitter etc. next year seeing as she's the only other woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Did anyone do Engineering? How do ye think it went? I thought it was a nice paper.:) I did Testing of materials, Thermal Equilibrium Diagrams, Welding and Polymers.
    I feel i did good. :)

I did it too, Q1 short questions were tricky enough. Rest was ok