Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    have a really old suckler cow-15 years ols- she was in heat last night and broke through 4 strand barbed wire and electric fence to the bull, only on a sunday morning, she was looking well pleased with herself

She's thinking that's me sorted for another year, whelan won't have the heart to cull me if I'm knocked up:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Thread on fodder crisis and lawn cuttings in after hours there now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

She's thinking that's me sorted for another year, whelan won't have the heart to cull me if I'm knocked up:D
    she calved in august 2011, june 2012 and april this year:D ah shes shook looking, not fair on (wo)man or beast to have her calving again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

You need that Moo monitor ,, read about it on the independant just now !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

she calved in august 2011, june 2012 and april this year:D ah shes shook looking, not fair on (wo)man or beast to have her calving again

Yea I've learned that the hard way last couple years and she prob end up carrying twins too,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Sent two 17 year old ladies to factory few months back. Shook enough examples, but produced good calves year on year, and had a bag of milk to make a job of them into the bargain, so I just kept on keeping them on!
    Anyway, cheque from factory for the two, came to just under, €400!!!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Sent two 17 year old ladies to factory few months back. Shook enough examples, but produced good calves year on year, and had a bag of milk to make a job of them into the bargain, so I just kept on keeping them on!
    Anyway, cheque from factory for the two, came to just under, €400!!!!!

Still it's better than a bill from the knackery, At 17 they didn't owe you much.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Getting ready to start roaring at the tele at 4 o clock...R.I.P Déise :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I was at a wedding in lough rynn, hugo. i definately clipped at least one bottle of Jameson and a crate of beer.

1chippy wrote: »
    I was at a wedding in lough rynn, hugo. i definately clipped at least one bottle of Jameson and a crate of beer.

That is some spot, I'd say the head is good today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Cows as full as boots, they love heat!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Quick question spread 2 bags acre 18-6-12 on silage ground first week April will be safe to cut this week.think I would be safe enough although doubt gets in listening to other people.thanks

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Quick question spread 2 bags acre 18-6-12 on silage ground first week April will be safe to cut this week.think I would be safe enough although doubt gets in listening to other people.thanks

That's only 36 units, dead safe. Rule if thumb 2 units per day in normal growth. Even the last 10 days would have used the N.
    is it heavy not a lot of N?

air compressor for parlour feeders wouldnt work this evening, rang electrician , he was over in ten minutes and there was a broken wire in the switch, all sorted now, only on a sunday:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

delaval wrote: »
    That's only 36 units, dead safe. Rule if thumb 2 units per day in normal growth. Even the last 10 days would have used the N.
    is it heavy not a lot of N?

Any suggestions on slurry application after cutting 1st cut this week? How much safe to apply and would it be too dry?

Was Mahoney same thing on Silage cutting thread. I recon too dry he agrees unless with trailing shoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Was Mahoney same thing on Silage cutting thread. I recon too dry he agrees unless with trailing shoe.

I agree if get wet day soon then all systems go.

Nothing worse than caked slurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I'm trying to attach a pic of an angus cow with her shorthorn calf. Calf was 3 weeks overdue eventually arrived mid May (Sorry if this appears without the pic as I've never done this before)

just to add seeing as how the pic worked - this cow is able to cross gates like a racehorse when calling, is quiet to handle, always has polled calves and I've been trying for a couple of years to get a blue/grey heifer to keep from her. This one is from HVG and is looking promising.

have rotbundtx cow i bought last year , she is red and kids love watching out for her, due to calve in the next few days to barrowvale br/fr stockbull what would be the chances of a red and white calf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

have rotbundtx cow i bought last year , she is red and kids love watching out for her, due to calve in the next few days to barrowvale br/fr stockbull what would be the chances of a red and white calf?
    Assuming she's a RBX with BR FR X then she's red with a B&W factor. So a red with a B&W factor is crossed with B&W again resulting in.....me forgetting my genetics. I think it works out at a 4/1 chance with the calf if it is red and white carrying a black factor and 50% of the calves will never throw a red calf as they will be the 3/4 B&W.
    I'm going to say red and white for the craic :D

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Assuming she's a RBX with BR FR X then she's red with a B&W factor. So a red with a B&W factor is crossed with B&W again resulting in.....me forgetting my genetics. I think it works out at a 4/1 chance with the calf if it is red and white carrying a black factor and 50% of the calves will never throw a red calf as they will be the 3/4 B&W.
    I'm going to say red and white for the craic :D
    kids watching out the window to see is she calved yet;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

kids watching out the window to see is she calved yet;)

Kovu is waiting at the laptop to see what colour it will be :D

RBX cow in calf to a BrF on heavy land, is she just a pet. They are lovely strong cattle.
    I'm betting bw unless the bull was white!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Kovu is waiting at the laptop to see what colour it will be :D

You still waiting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

mf240 wrote: »
    I agree if get wet day soon then all systems go.

Nothing worse than caked slurry.

Yeah guys probably agree wit ye problem is just couldn't seem to get tanks down dis year n they r 3/4 full

just do it wrote: »
    You still waiting?
    didnt calve yet:rolleyes: kovu you can go to bed now:D

RBX cow in calf to a BrF on heavy land, is she just a pet. They are lovely strong cattle.
    I'm betting bw unless the bull was white!!!
    havent had a red and white cow here in years, kids love watching out for her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

havent had a red and white cow here in years, kids love watching out for her...

we have a couple of black RB X we usually cross them to LM , got a couple of smashing calves off them

one cow always throws red calves the rest come black

just for the craic I predict ur calf will be a black bull :D

cracking day here first morn you could feel the heat from the ground

Think the heat is getting to them, havin a cuppa and looking out window at calf chasing a rabbit, we all in tears laughing,
    Right back out , lots Bank holiday jobs to do

Did a big tidy on out farm last week after busy period and in prep for silage.
    Imagine my horror when I went to herd this am to find the meal in the shed **** all over and a neighbours cow lying in the middle of it. On further investigation I found 24 more lying in what was a reek of small sq straw bales destroyed. In fairness they needed a lie down as they had totally demolished and destroyed 20 round bales I had neatly stacked in a shed to be used to cover an indoor silage pit this week.
    I was so annoyed I locked the cows into the slatts looked at my cattle and went home.
    I have cooled down sufficiently at this stage to call the owner who is a complete messer!!!!