If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭Chavways

Does anyone have a summer job for me? Its desperately hard to find one around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Chavways wrote: »
    Does anyone have a summer job for me? Its desperately hard to find one around here.

My room is filthy.

9 euro an hour if you want?

lkionm wrote: »
    My room is filthy.

9 euro an hour if you want?

I'd actually do it.Thats how desperate I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

€9/hour to clean a room? I'll do it if chavways doesn't want to! :P

I mean....

How bad could it possibly be....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    €9/hour to clean a room? I'll do it if chavways doesn't want to! :P

I mean....

How bad could it possibly be....

Full of FYP food and all that mess and exam study mess.

So sticky stains and bags of taytos and mouldy cups.

It is a cesspit of student sweat.

Just be sure top get a good sniff of the clothes as to not confuse the clean pile to the dirty pile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Ugh, internet connection in Red Raisons :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

sup_dude wrote: »
    Ugh, internet connection in Red Raisons :(

It's everywhere. The wireless network in the library is essentially dead since study week started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭cup of tea

Agreed the internet is absolutely shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Can't find my results on the portal... anyone help? Can't see a link on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Can't find my results on the portal... anyone help? Can't see a link on it

It's been disabled.

Use the test portal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Flash showers today are dire,
    Luckily inside for first one,
    Stranded between library and SU for second,
    Drenched.
    Plus note though, completed and probably passed Maths :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭iLaura

Ugh, people in my course complaining about an exam, just because it wasn't the same as other years. I'm sorry, but how do they expect a full question worth 20% to come up on a topic we spent 1.5 lectures an 0 tutorials on to come up? -.-

Its your own fault for spending a crap tonne of time studying that rather than the one topic we spent at least half the lectures on. It's only logical that that topic got 2 questions. This is college, we're not here to learn how the paper is or to just learn the right answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

iLaura wrote: »
    Ugh, people in my course complaining about an exam, just because it wasn't the same as other years. I'm sorry, but how do they expect a full question worth 20% to come up on a topic we spent 1.5 lectures an 0 tutorials on to come up? -.-

Its your own fault for spending a crap tonne of time studying that rather than the one topic we spent at least half the lectures on. It's only logical that that topic got 2 questions. This is college, we're not here to learn how the paper is or to just learn the right answers

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭PunkFreud

Had an exam on Saturday which started a few minutes late, and started a few minutes early. In total I lost about 5 minutes of writing, which would have been a half a page. It was annoying, as I though I had more time to finish off the question.

On a similar note, exams in the PES are a joke this semester. They're all starting late, with people still coming in when the exam is due to start. If you're not there on time: tough, but don't make everyone else have to wait. It's grand when they give you extra time at the end, but not when they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Subutai

Science maths?

People really should have went to the last exam tutorial, they essentially said it wouldn't be coming up.

I thought it was a fair exam, and I missed about 80% of the lectures and tutorials. ****ting it for Wednesday though.

Subutai wrote: »
    Science maths?

People really should have went to the last exam tutorial, they essentially said it wouldn't be coming up.

I thought it was a fair exam, and I missed about 80% of the lectures and tutorials. ****ting it for Wednesday though.

Haha, yep. I went to about 10 lectures and didn't go to any of the exam tutorials and still thought it was a grand paper. Physics with Joe Wednesday, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Subutai

Haha, yep. I went to about 10 lectures and didn't go to any of the exam tutorials and still thought it was a grand paper. Physics with Joe Wednesday, yeah?

Ya, the legend himself. I'll miss his emails about how thick we all are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Subutai wrote: »
    Ya, the legend himself. I'll miss his emails about how thick we all are.

That man is one in a million. Used to make me take measurements in a lab full of lads 'just in case mine were different, because I'm female'.

If anyone else said that to me I would have complained
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Jikashi

Good old Joe, good to see he hasn't changed a bit since I had him as a lecturer in 2007. Does he still not bother with first names?

Am I the only one here who doesn't like Joe?

Chavways wrote: »
    Am I the only one here who doesn't like Joe?

Yep!

Ah the man is a legend, even if he loves to pick on me and my friend in class and tends to just direct all questions at us. If his stuff wasn't examinable I'd enjoy his lectures so much more. It's the fact that it is examinable and he just seems to love to fail almost half the class that worries me :P But hey, he'll be gone next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

When I was in 1st year. The evening before the physics exam I met Joe on his way home. I walked all the way towards Milford Grange with him, which seemed like eternity.

I asked him to explain about Coulomb's Law and he went through practically everything. After half an hour or so we arrived close to his house and I said 'thank you' and rushed off home.

Ran up the stairs to take out my notes to recap what was explained by Joe. Nice one I said in my mind.

Next morning in the physics exam I opened the paper to see No Fecking Coulomb's Law Question :mad: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

YFlyer wrote: »
    When I was in 1st year. The evening before the physics exam I met Joe on his way home. I walked all the way towards Milford Grange with him, which seemed like eternity.

I asked him to explain about Coulomb's Law and he went through practically everything. After half an hour or so we arrived close to his house and I said 'thank you' and rushed off home.

Ran up the stairs to take out my notes to recap what was explained by Joe. Nice one I said in my mind.

Next morning in the physics exam I opened the paper to see No Fecking Coulomb's Law Question :mad: :D
    Joe likes to troll. Is his dog still alive?

Jester252 wrote: »
    Joe likes to troll. Is his dog still alive?

Yep, still alive and saying "woof." I'm surprised that dog hasn't got a degree yet, seeing as how we're from "the best education system in the world."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Darth Frodo

I met Joe in the corridor today. He said the students 'are firing to go' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

the sheer amount of PVA emails is horrendous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭scheister

eoins23456 wrote: »
    the sheer amount of PVA emails is horrendous

i agree at this stage of the year they should have a fair idea who is doing the PVA so limit the email so only going to them rather then all students

Students who fail an exam(s) in May 2013 will be informed by e-mail.

At least there isn't the danger that somebody else in the house will see the results first :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

YFlyer wrote: »
    Students who fail an exam(s) in May 2013 will be informed by e-mail.

At least there isn't the danger that somebody else in the house will see the results first :D
    Wouldn't be so sure
    Friend of mine had his auld lads email as the designated email for that, got it changed but I could almost guarantee he's not the only one.