Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Would insurance not be a lot?

I've been getting quotes around 2K for a 525 which I'm willing to pay to not drive something like a 1.4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I've been getting quotes around 2K for a 525 which I'm willing to pay to not drive something like a 1.4.

Jaysus, 2k? That's not bad at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Went to the stealer yesterday to get some parts and was met with a "I'm sorry sir, the parts dept only opens Monday to Friday and 9am to 5pm." Just baffles me... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Lads when buying a car off a dealer for cash what sort of discount can I hope to get? If they want 15k could i make an offer of say 13.5k? How much scope for discount do dealers allow?

Eh I dunno :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Dord wrote: »
    Went to the stealer yesterday to get some parts and was met with a "I'm sorry sir, the parts dept only opens Monday to Friday and 9am to 5pm." Just baffles me... :confused:

What bits are you buying from a main dealer?

Lads when buying a car off a dealer for cash what sort of discount can I hope to get? If they want 15k could i make an offer of say 13.5k? How much scope for discount do dealers allow?

Like many things in life, if you don't ask - you don't get! Give it a go and if he accepts fair play, if not then renegotiate. :pac:

Gary ITR wrote: »
    What bits are you buying from a main dealer?

Some stupid fiddly plastic studs for an interior panel. I need to remove the panel and apparently in the process they will break. :rolleyes:

I could buy them online but I wanted to do the job today, that's a no go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

If you rang or emailed them during the week with the part numbers they could've had them ready. I suppose that's no use to you now :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Marcusm wrote: »
    I'm guessing yours is the one with the contrasting fuel cover! Peugeots used to be very poular late 90s for about 10 years. Not sure why there are fewer of them other than the shift to German "status" brands.

Plenty of Pugs, especially 306's still knocking about. They really like them up there.... That makes bits rather easy to get! :D

I see a fair few 406's in the local (:pac:) yard, usually with broken timing belts or just rotten with rust
    ba_barabus wrote: »
    Mismatch panels for that 1980's effect

Think of it as my tramp stamp :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Is that your old one?

Jaysus, the wheels on that alfa are awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

trying to think of possible future mods to the 325. best exhaust mod for it? want it slightly louder but only by a fraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

trying to think of possible future mods to the 325. best exhaust mod for it? want it slightly louder but only by a fraction.

De res and de cat

Straight pipe her lad ;)

slightly louder dude! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

slightly louder dude! :pac:

Open a window then

Personally I don't think its loud enough until pedestrians are checking themselves for bullet holes as you pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Get a cheap mic off ebay. Put in engine bay area and run it to the line-in on your HU. Job done :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Do ya really want to sacrifice 30bhp? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Rear resonator removal is the only way. Even getting a new exhaust will be louder than a single resonator delete.

any downsides? rough price for it to be done? and front or rear res?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

I must say im in the same boat want a bit more volllome on the exhaust. Need to hear the 6 cyl all the time too ardennes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

any downsides?

Your neighbours might hate you. :cool:

Awesome! :D

Imagine how mine feel..... :pac:

If the plumes of smoke ever clear, we might find them and ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

My resonator delete cost 60 quid! And being honest part of me now wants more loud! So i may get the second resonator removed too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I got 1.5k discount on my 535. Depends on the car and how keenly it is priced (and often how much it owes the dealer)

link?

F*ck you rain :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Max Power1 wrote: »
    I got 1.5k discount on my 535. Depends on the car and how keenly it is priced (and often how much it owes the dealer)

link?

What was the asking?