Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

encyclopedia when it should be encyclopaaedia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭earlytobed

When I was in the Army on a course in a Dublin barracks, this was the first order given by the sergeant
    "Get yiz yizzer wheppons (weapons) and fall in"

Being from rural Ireland, these would be in common enough use:
    Tay-tea
    cowld-cold
    pays-peas
    brin-bring
    lurry-lorry
    toult-told
    kilt-killed
    bate-beat

excape for escape does my head in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

Caliden wrote: »
    encyclopedia when it should be encyclopaaedia

Shouldn't it be encyclopædia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

earlytobed wrote: »
    When I was in the Army on a course in a Dublin barracks, this was the first order given by the sergeant
    "Get yiz yizzer wheppons (weapons) and fall in"

Being from rural Ireland, these would be in common enough use:
    Tay-tea
    cowld-cold
    pays-peas
    brin-bring
    lurry-lorry
    toult-told
    kilt-killed
    bate-beat

excape for escape does my head in

People who say "canapés" instead of "tin of peas"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 oscar26

english newsreaders who say'sickth' instead of sixth...bellends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

That's a great bit of Hiberno-English. It really softens the word. How harsh would it sound to say "You'll get drowned in that rain?" I think it's often a matter of choice/effect, as opposed to a mispronunciation.

Would you put the emphasis on the second syllable?

Ah they would in Cork, like! One of the few places in the world that uses French-style stress patterns in English (stress on final syllable of most words) and a big dose of prosodic stress too with French-style stress on the last word in a cluster.

"comm'ere to me BOYYY" for example

and using "hien" to signify a question shoving it on the end of a sentence.

Clearly there must have been a stronger Norman / French influence in these parts than elsewhere in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

I've a sore troath.

*shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

MJ23 wrote: »
    Ink worries.
    The way Americans say 'inquiries'

Frajul - fragile
    Vursuddle - versatile
    Moble - mobile
    Missul - missile
    Cungradulashins - congratulations
    Innerconninnennol - intercontinental
    Bidday - bidet
    Flay - fillet
    Sallmun - salmon
    Doody - duty
    toedully - totally
    Ahssum - awesome
    Senwitch - sandwich
    Aw issue - an issue
    Aw entrance - an entrance

Whah kain't they jess tok lahk us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,078 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The business reporter on RTE Radio 1 who says 'turd' instead of 'third' (in fact many thousands in the country who say the same thing).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

People pronouncing the surname o' Neill - Nail.
    Jaysus boy I was talkin' to yer man of the Nails der de udder day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

I've said this before and I must say it again...I keep hearing it and it irritates the hell out of me.

Thomas.

That h there...forget about it. Pretend it's not there! TOMAS - that's how you say it. Like TOM, short for TOMAS - just ignore the h though!

I've even heard people who have this name (first or surname) mispronounce it. It's their own name and they mispronounce it!

Lunacy I tell ya!

Also,

THYME == TIME
    THAMES == TEMS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Most of these are normal examples of Hiberno-English.

If you want to talk like a resident of Sevenoaks, Kent, then off with you.

But I'm not sure the people deviating from standard British English, in Ireland, are the people with the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Matt Cooper and his pronunciation of Saturday, Sahurday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Conor Hunt, or should I say, Cunur Hnt, of RTE. Everything he says pissed me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Weathering wrote: »
    Stupid person I know who says "I hurteded my toe" and call sudo cream sudeoed cream. They like ed

Sudocrem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

Eileen Dunne's pronunciation of Oireachtas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

As an American, I personally find it confusing when someone with a thick Irish accent(which, to me, would be most Irish) tries to correct my English. It's as though there's an inferiority complex or the vital need to feel validated that one can speak English properly. I never felt the need, nor do I have the time, to correct their English, and I am familiar with Queens English VS the American dialect(unlike many Irish I have met). Once I was over in England for a few months, it began to sink in; they almost never give an inch on their language. Fair play to them, as you would say. It's their language, after all. To me, though, it often just seems desperate.

Different people from different places will have differing accents and dialects. As with many languages, English itself has borrowed heavily from other languages. The reason scientists use Latin is because it is a dead language. What is Latin today is Latin tomorrow. Trying to do the same with a living language is far more difficult.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foreign_language_influences_in_English

I love the Irish accents. It's one of the reasons I live here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭ectoraige

That song with "when I cleuwes my eyes" in the chorus. Damn annoying!

Also, I can't remember the name of the song or the band who sing it, so that's annoying me too now. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Reindeer wrote: »
    As an American, I personally find it confusing when someone with a thick Irish accent(which, to me, would be most Irish) tries to correct my English. It's as though there's an inferiority complex or the vital need to feel validated that one can speak English properly. I never felt the need, nor do I have the time, to correct their English, and I am familiar with Queens English VS the American dialect(unlike many Irish I have met). Once I was over in England for a few months, it began to sink in; they almost never give an inch on their language. Fair play to them, as you would say. It's their language, after all. To me, though, it often just seems desperate.

Different people from different places will have differing accents and dialects. As with many languages, English itself has borrowed heavily from other languages. The reason scientists use Latin is because it is a dead language. What is Latin today is Latin tomorrow. Trying to do the same with a living language is far more difficult.

It's Aluminium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Was watching some hoarders programme yesterday and one woman twice said omit instead of admit.
    "She couldn't omit she had a problem"
    "She was omitted to the hospital"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

stoneill wrote: »
    It's Aluminium

With my Texas accent, it's usually just "loom'nim". Coz, like, I'm from Murca and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

My elder brother repeatedly and maliciously uses the word 'Yoyo' instead of euro. It makes me want to punch him in the throat something fierce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭CuppaCocoa

TV3 announcers :mad:. The other night there was a documentary on called 'Mea Maxima Culpa'. The muppet advertising it pronounced it 'meea maxima coopla'! Jesus wept :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

wuzziwig wrote: »
    Eileen Dunne's pronunciation of Oireachtas.
    Is that the one with the stress on the beginning of the word? OIR-eachtas?

Well said. It sometimes takes an outsider to state what should be obvious to everyone.

It's a shame that the Hiberno-English dialect is being wiped out by some artificial need to speak like everyone on 'the mainland'.

And while I think of it; the word athlete being pronounced 'ath-el-eet'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Newstalk's 'Moyyycull McMullen' does my head in.

I totally understand what you're saying about regional dialects and colloquialisms, but why the hells do Americans use the phrase 'write me'? It's totally nonsensical. 'Write me a letter every day', that's fine. 'Write to me every day' is also fine. 'Write me every day' sounds like they want you to carry around a notebook and, every morning, write the word 'me' in it. It just makes no sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

gramar wrote: »
    People pronouncing the surname o' Neill - Nail.
    Jaysus boy I was talkin' to yer man of the Nails der de udder day.

Could just be people more familiar with the Irish version as they would be correct then.

Growing up I had a friend who pronounced mirror 'murr'. Just that one word, she didn't even have a different accent or anything. Ughh.

kylith wrote: »
    I totally understand what you're saying about regional dialects and colloquialisms, but why the hells do Americans use the phrase 'write me'? It's totally nonsensical. 'Write me a letter every day', that's fine. 'Write to me every day' is also fine. 'Write me every day' sounds like they want you to carry around a notebook and, every morning, write the word 'me' in it. It just makes no sense!

They drop prepositions sometimes.
    It also seems to be growing in Ireland: "what happened her?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Clareboy

" The Purr-fect Purse-on ( The Perfect Person) I really don't where this mispronunciation came from but I just can' stand it!