Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

dharn wrote: »
    Is whelan 1 a female of the species ?

Crime line is on tonight I'd say they could use your power of deduction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

huey1975 wrote: »
    I think she has no brothers either. It's the only explanation I can think of!!
    have 2 brothers, they dont farm, no interest and 2 sisters, strange isnt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Crime line is on tonight I'd say they could use your power of deduction

Could have been referring to a pregnant animal as opposed to a pregnant user

whelan1 wrote: »
    have 2 brothers, they dont farm, no interest and 2 sisters, strange isnt it

You have become an internet hit !,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

There's a woman near me who's well into her 70's. Last year she was cutting up a tree with a chainsaw, when another local woman around her age told her she was mad to be doing it. "Shur, it's a light saw" yer wan says.
    So,.... I've no problem believing Whelan1 is a woman.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Conor556 wrote: »
    Aaaah last ever day of school put down :D, and sum day to finish on, have to get ready for graduation mass and then beer!

Ah getting rotten with the teachers was great craic after our graduation mass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

quadboy wrote: »
    Ah getting rotten with the teachers was great craic after our graduation mass

Most of them turn out to be not too bad.;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

hugo29 wrote: »
    also bloddy cow that was lame on the slats is ten times worse out in the field, ground holding surprisingly well after all the rain, first year using paddock system, dont know why i didnt do it years ago,
    Paddocks are really handy for managing in these weather conditions aren't they? My place would be poached to a cinder if I didn't have them:rolleyes:

lovely morning here, like what we have been dreaming about for the last few months, cows have gone from barely getting one grazing from a paddock to getting 3.... long may it last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

lovely morning here, like what we have been dreaming about for the last few months, cows have gone from barely getting one grazing from a paddock to getting 3.... long may it last

still fcuking cloudy here, was not on boards last night. whelan1, i see yer secret is out:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

a good bit cooler here

promised dry to sunday

next week broken again :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

jomoloney wrote: »
    a good bit cooler here

promised dry to sunday

next week broken again :(

I'm up north of Lough Neagh at the moment. It's trying its best to rain. Light drizzle every now and again. I don't envy farmers up here after the winter/spring they've had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'm up north of Lough Neagh at the moment. It's trying its best to rain. Light drizzle every now and again. I don't envy farmers up here after the winter/spring they've had

How bad is it comparatively speaking? You seem to be high and dry at home and though ye've gotten more rain than the SE it hasn't appeared to be as bad for you as elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

yes with gloves.... its the smell- didnt use it while pregnant- but it cant be good for you if it gives you heart burn when using it for a short time

Whe we were kids we loved being in the small calf pens when the calves were being done with DDT, the air would be like a white cloud, loved the smell of the DDT and it was great crack dusting calves and rubbing it in :o

Seeing the dangers of it now really scares me !

bbam wrote: »
    Whe we were kids we loved being in the small calf pens when the calves were being done with DDT, the air would be like a white cloud, loved the smell of the DDT and it was great crack dusting calves and rubbing it in :o

Seeing the dangers of it now really scares me !

the calves:eek:, i remember when we were young and came in from the hayfield mum would shake the stuff in mine and my brothers bed before we went to sleep

has the stuff been proven as lethal or something

Is there any hope for land thats boggy in parts that has a few drains already, would a few more drains make a difference or is it poinless, fields either side of it are in good condition. When i say boggy i mean like pure wet black stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Just in from a few midweek pints with the lads. Tis wonderful how a few drinks and a bita Craic can cheer your week up. Has been wet all week here and cows are starting to make a mess. Five days and were dried off, can't wait for the session to be had after. Roll on 4:30am...

hugo29 wrote: »
    the calves:eek:, i remember when we were young and came in from the hayfield mum would shake the stuff in mine and my brothers bed before we went to sleep

has the stuff been proven as lethal or something

Many studies going each way..
    Many saying it has strong links to certain cancers and neuroligical problems. Others have said the links are weak and evidence poor..

However it has been banned in agriculture to reduce exposure to the potential health and environmental risks.

How bad is it comparatively speaking? You seem to be high and dry at home and though ye've gotten more rain than the SE it hasn't appeared to be as bad for you as elsewhere.

Well, there is poor grass growth here in North Tyrone, and the majority of farmers would still have over half the cattle still indoors.
    I'm farming in West Cork(couldn't really be further from home today) and have all cattle for just over a month. But our land is free draining right on the coast.

Is there any hope for land thats boggy in parts that has a few drains already, would a few more drains make a difference or is it poinless, fields either side of it are in good condition. When i say boggy i mean like pure wet black stuff

There was a good article in the farmers journal last Thursday. He had 3 main piped drained and pulled a mole plough that placed stone in the cut. The mole drainer was pulled across the piped drains. He made a great job of it by look of the pictures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭ABlur

Unless its growing heathet then theres always hope if you want to spend the money. Maybe theres old drains there already that are blocked or damaged by machinery.

have a heifer arsing round all morning, just handled here and only the tail coming, had the exact same a few weeks ago, now waiting on vet ... will have to blame the weather for having 2 of them:D

bbam wrote: »
    Many studies going each way..
    Many saying it has strong links to certain cancers and neuroligical problems. Others have said the links are weak and evidence poor..

However it has been banned in agriculture to reduce exposure to the potential health and environmental risks.

must tell her that, that explains me brother :D

has anyone rented land just to take a cut of baled silage and then given it back (in other words in cut bales off another mans field and then out) if so how have you paid, is it by the bale

i think i am losing it fast:eek:, posted this question on the soccer forum accidently, needless to say it went over their heads:D

Maybe the soccer club would sell you their clippings :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

ABlur wrote: »
    Unless its growing heathet then theres always hope if you want to spend the money. Maybe theres old drains there already that are blocked or damaged by machinery.

Yeah there are loads of drains there most are open and some filled in in places. had a look at one today and its all stone work, filled in a small bit of drain last year with just stones, long narrow stones either side then a big flat one on top then just fill in.

nightmare... vet eventually got calf out dead and cows womb was perforated in the process... cant factory heifer as i dosed her with zanil last thursday:mad: vet said she would operate , i said whats the point as every animal she has treated here has died:mad: rang senior vet he will be out later and will examine her, rang knackery for calf and they will take heifer also if needs be

Damn!

Of course last weeks paper is thrown out but still have older ones lying around