Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

quadboy wrote: »
    Trying to put this sprayer together is a pain, cant figure half of it out at all

Told ya not to sleep on it:D:D

Send it up here I'll put it together for you and test it out.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

dzer2 wrote: »
    Told ya not to sleep on it:D:D

Send it up here I'll put it together for you and test it out.;)

How do you wire up the ring yokes to the battery, if i get that sorted at least ill have the handlance to use, the bracket for the boomless nozzle is a nightnare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Lads have any of ye been to the royal highland show before? Half thought to go over this year and my sister is living in Edinburgh so it handy for a place to stay. Is it worth the trip over for the weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Just passed the Ear to the Ground jeep in Tullyvin-Cavan. They were looking very lost.

Didn't bother stopping to see if they were OK as it didn't seem Ella was with them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

bbam wrote: »
    Just passed the Ear to the Ground jeep in Tullyvin-Cavan. They were looking very lost.

Didn't bother stopping to see if they were OK as it didn't seem Ella was with them ;)
    Maybe it's Ella they were looking for? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Redz, i've been to the show a couple of times. I think its one of the best show as theyres plenty variety and most of it on a hard standing if its pissing. i prefer it to the Ploughing to make a weekend of it. Used to go with a gang of lads, but most of them couldn't be arsed with the show and headed for the beer tent the minute we got there. Its a good weekend for both the craic but if i was going with a bunch of lads make sure and get at least one full day at the show off the beer. Edinburgh is a great city for a sesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,137 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

went there once. Good show and esinburagh is a cracking city.

If you of the age, get a ticket for the young farmers ball. ment to be wild night altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

mf240 wrote: »
    Is there anything we can realitically do about this failure to pay for our milk.

How much does a milk lorry cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Redz, i've been to the show a couple of times. I think its one of the best show as theyres plenty variety and most of it on a hard standing if its pissing. i prefer it to the Ploughing to make a weekend of it. Used to go with a gang of lads, but most of them couldn't be arsed with the show and headed for the beer tent the minute we got there. Its a good weekend for both the craic but if i was going with a bunch of lads make sure and get at least one full day at the show off the beer. Edinburgh is a great city for a sesh.
    Sound, would only be going with herself so should be able to see the most of it.
    went there once. Good show and esinburagh is a cracking city.

If you of the age, get a ticket for the young farmers ball. ment to be wild night altogether!
    Im only a young lad all the time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

was there twice, about 10 years ago. Overseas visitors can pay admission in advance and you get a rosette pass type of thing, and waltz straight in. well organized set-up, and lots of things of interest to the livestock farmer. You would need to book accommodation sharpish, as Edinburgh not a huge city, and you want to be walking distance of the Grass Market / Centre etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

anyone else check their glanbia milk statement on line this morning, my milk price is totally wrong ... hopefully its a mistake not a pisstake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Just pulled into queue in mart now, 12 yokes in front of me and 8 of them are lorries, stupid how early ya have to be in some marts not to be stuck there all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

simx wrote: »
    Just pulled into queue in mart now, 12 yokes in front of me and 8 of them are lorries, stupid how early ya have to be in some marts not to be stuck there all day

Having Internet on mobile is some job! :D:D

C0N0R wrote: »
    Having Internet on mobile is some job! :D:D

Takes some of the boredom out of waiting alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

simx wrote: »

are you sure your not in the queue for the next available bale of hay:D, come to think of it that queue is probably longer than 12 vehicles.

was walking around the yard asleep this morning around 6 when I noticed a field of my heifers after knocking a gate and taking a walk off up the road past the house. needless to say they werent going very fast, it was a case of heads down and grazing the sides of the road.

30mm of rain forecast till sunday. yippee

are you sure your not in the queue for the next available bale of hay:D, come to think of it that queue is probably longer than 12 vehicles.

was walking around the yard asleep this morning around 6 when I noticed a field of my heifers after knocking a gate and taking a walk off up the road past the house. needless to say they werent going very fast, it was a case of heads down and grazing the sides of the road.

30mm of rain forecast till sunday. yippee

no im in the mart queue to try avoid being in the queue for hay, with that much rain the few at home might have to graze the hard shoulder here too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,886 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

hey lads a few weeks ago i asked a question about a farmer leaving a big mound of Dung in the field since the beginning of march beside my neighbours because he didnt get a chance to plough it in before he planted the crop, and that my neighbours house could be effected by the run off water from it, and definitely now a pond, now i know ye all said it would probably be sorted, and the poor man might not have had a chance to do anything with the weather, so i just taught i'd update ye all.

The good news is he has planted his Crop, around the now massive pile of dung in the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

hey lads a few weeks ago i asked a question about a farmer leaving a big mound of Dung in the field since the beginning of march beside my neighbours because he didnt get a chance to plough it in before he planted the crop, and that my neighbours house could be effected by the run off water from it, and definitely now a pond, now i know ye all said it would probably be sorted, and the poor man might not have had a chance to do anything with the weather, so i just taught i'd update ye all.

The good news is he has planted his Crop, around the now massive pile of dung in the field.

He needs a toe in the hole TBH. Legally he's probably ok but that sort of imposition on neighbours deserves trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Anyone up in the big smoke today sees a bunch of randomers in their sixties causing trouble in the area of the Dail just pm me. The oul boy and a bunch of his mates are on their school tour. The real trouble won't start until the stopover in Carlow on the way home though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

cow that got tetany yesterday was dead this morning, i think she might have been brain damaged....

Spreading fert in the morning with 2 wheel drive tractor only managed one lap around nearly ploughed the place so left it and off into town looking for a quad spreader

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Spreading fert in the morning with 2 wheel drive tractor only managed one lap around nearly ploughed the place so left it and off into town looking for a quad spreader

Was wondering the other day would dual wheels be a good investment ?
    It's like bog work round here now most of the time :(
    May as well be equipped for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Would ya ever put that bloody sprayer together first before you go buying any more stuff!! :p:p

Muckit wrote: »
    Would ya ever put that bloody sprayer together first before you go buying any more stuff!! :p:p

Sprayer put together but handlance is a nightmare, the boomless nozzle is the only thing that works right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭weekendfarmer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Sprayer put together but handlance is a nightmare, the boomless nozzle is the only thing that works right

Christ you couldn't have it broke already :p

Just put out my first granlime, didn't expect it to be as dusty, think I've inhaled half a bag anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The JFC winner 2013

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBNr040rrNw[/QUOTE]

I think it's an excellent idea if it does what it says on the tin. Would avoid a lot of headaches and hopefully convince lads to stay with sucklers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Christ you couldn't have it broke already :p

Just put out my first granlime, didn't expect it to be as dusty, think I've inhaled half a bag anyway.

Yep remember spreading it out last year and was surprised how dusty it was. How much is it a bag this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

sea12 wrote: »
    Yep remember spreading it out last year and was surprised how dusty it was. How much is it a bag this year

9.25 or 9.50 a bag I can't exactly remember. I thought it would be just like 18.6.12, as in little to no dust. I was like a human smoke bomb with all the dust :D