Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GW 37 Matchday thread

1141516171820»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭RIALTO1

Finished up on 56, not bad considering I had 7 players scoring 2 points each. I had refused to get Sturridge in after watching him against Everton, thought he looked dis-interested. Happy to be within 4 points in The Panel league for May all things considered. And suprised that a 56 moved me up overall, albiet from 8,000 to 7,700.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

unkymo wrote: »
    The good; Walcott(c) and Hart.
    The bad; Sagna and Tevez.

60 for this week.

Exactly the same score and players! I've squeeeeezed into the top 10k by a single point. END THE SEASON NOW PLEASE

My captain choice next week, and the likes of RVP having a quiet game will decide whether I stay there or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭AdpRo

Finished a gameweek in the top 1000 for the first time ever and went top of my main money league by 9 pts thanks to Santi last night, would love to finish the season right now, it's going to be a nervous sunday afternoon, need to get transfer and captain spot on this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

81 points,not too shabby.Have sewn up 5 leagues courtesy of that score.Just want a good final week to push up another few leagues.

Gambling with Hazard being fit & benching Tevez worked out well along with swapping Kone for Mirallis.Plus jumping in early to get Coutihno paid off.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

In and around the top 1400 and on course for my best finish ever. However, can't help but be a little disappointed by how I finished. I've learned some valuable lessons regarding using the wildcard so late in the season.

I'm out of the money for the Boards league and 1st and 2nd in my other money league have pulled away now (and there is only 7 points between 3rd and 5th).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

83 points now brings me up to 545 in the world!! Im in shock!! :eek::eek:

Now dont F*** it up in the last gameweek!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

So many regular posters are looking set to finish in the top 10k. Nice job people, hopefully I'll join you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭amber69

86 points to get me into the top 15k. My first year so happy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

FutureGuy wrote: »
    In and around the top 1400 and on course for my best finish ever. However, can't help but be a little disappointed by how I finished. I've learned some valuable lessons regarding using the wildcard so late in the season.

I'm out of the money for the Boards league and 1st and 2nd in my other money league have pulled away now (and there is only 7 points between 3rd and 5th).

This season and last i used mine pretty much straight away after the 2nd or 3rd GW just to make sure i dont fall behind early.

It's a guessing game before the season starts so it's a good tactic IMO to possibly use it early if you get off to a bad start and get your team selection wrong.

roryc wrote: »
    So many regular posters are looking set to finish in the top 10k. Nice job people, hopefully I'll join you.

1000...:pac::pac::pac:...1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭amber69

This season and last i used mine pretty much straight away after the 2nd or 3rd GW just to make sure i dont fall behind early.

It's a guessing game before the season starts so it's a good tactic IMO to possibly use it early if you get off to a bad start and get your team selection wrong.

I used mine about gw 8. As it was my first year I took me a few weeks to realise how many defence minded players I had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

amber69 wrote: »
    I used mine about gw 8. As it was my first year I took me a few weeks to realise how many defence minded players I had.

Looking back at my early GW history,I'm wondering how Joe Allen stayed in my team & Juusi was trolling me even then with big scores and bonuses sitting on my bench.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Top of the Boards, FSA, Boards Money, DoneDeal and Limerick leader league going into the last week. 135th worldwide. Got a hell of a lot to lose on the the last day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

Brought in Santi purely as a blocker. I didn't really expect him to do much but he's the kind of player who can put in the odd mental gameweek and as I was winning my main private league and the guy in second (Keane 2097) had him I didn't want to leave myself exposed.

Up to a season-high 231st in the world. I've made the top 10k in the world before but this has been my best season by a long way. If I can stay in the top 500 I'll be happy. If I get the captaincy right and a little bit of luck hopefully I can break the top 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭El festino

FutureGuy wrote: »

Do you think you left it too late in the season to use? As you were doing so well, I would have thought it would be a big advantage for you to have it in the bank..or are you saying that if you used it earlier you could have had a higher points total heading to the business end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,344 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

carlop wrote: »
    Brought in Santi purely as a blocker. I didn't really expect him to do much but he's the kind of player who can put in the odd mental gameweek and as I was winning my main private league and the guy in second (Keane 2097) had him I didn't want to leave myself exposed.

Did ye gaylords end up doing a chop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭dahat

iMuse wrote: »
    Top of the Boards, FSA, Boards Money, DoneDeal and Limerick leader league going into the last week. 135th worldwide. Got a hell of a lot to lose on the the last day...

Now this is a case of Sqeaky Bum time......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

El festino wrote: »
    Do you think you left it too late in the season to use? As you were doing so well, I would have thought it would be a big advantage for you to have it in the bank..or are you saying that if you used it earlier you could have had a higher points total heading to the business end.

Every other year I held on to my wildcard till late in the season for DGW's. This year I used it during the first international break in Sept and Im having my best season by a mile. Its important to not lose ground early on rather than try to gain ground at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Down at 49k WW,disappointing season for me,usual pitfalls of poor decisions and points hits.
    Hopefully i can land a decent last week score to end on a high...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

KevIRL wrote: »
    Did ye gaylords end up doing a chop?

Nah, the abuse would have been too much to handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

At 7900. Had interest for a few weeks of breaking the top 5k but really not arsed these past couple of weeks.

The way the league is these last few games makes a mockery of the game. Only two teams with something to play for on the last day. It's ridiculous.

It's been a poor Premier League season IMO. Last year for the final weekend I was in Manchester and it was fantastic craic. City supporters going from crying to overjoyed in a second.

This year I thank fook Cavan are playing Armagh so my attention will be otherwise occupied.

El festino wrote: »

It's just my personality. I bore easily. I'm a really decent poker player and was making a living off it online for a bit but eventually gave it up because the optimal way for me to play to my strengths was also the one I found soul-crushingly boring. I'd sit in a tournament for 6-7 hours and them blow everything on two hands out of sheer boredom.

So because I knew I had that wildcard, I made a few silly gambly transfers out of boredom KNOWING I could rectify everything with the wildcard.

But for weeks and weeks, there was no sign of any double gameweeks appearing and so I had to get rid of underperforming players.Then when I used it, I did well in GW33 but I also got in some players for GW36 which in retrospect crippled my planning. Nastasic, for one, was a dreadful decision. The word was that Zabaleta would be rotated and it never happened. I also decided to get rid of Van Persie and Walcott for 2 weeks to get in DGW players who looked like running riot and who most of my rivals had.

I honestly think if I had stopped playing in GW33 and logged into my account now, I'd be about 50 points ahead of what I currently am.

Don't get me wrong, I'm happy with my current placing (1439) but frustrated that, having spent most of the season in the money in multiple leagues, that I'm now close to dropping out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

I'm about 4 pages and 18 hours late but I can't help myself as regards the Santi debate, I had him for a good few weeks recently and he was a huge disappointment, great player no doubt but never seemed value for his price, slow to shoot and his final ball doesn't compare with Mata or Silva for example.
    Last night he had 4 assists, the only one which he really deserved(as in when you're playing yourself and claim to have set up a goal) was Walcott's. First was a corner, nothing special about the delivery, think it even bounced before Podolski, bad defending. Third was a ball which basically bounced off his head, fourth was a pass up the line from inside his own half.
    Great for people who had him but I'm not so sure he was a must have for this week, that's the way it goes, sometimes you get lucky, more often than not you don't.

I had 65 for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Santi101

Shut the **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

been chasing the leader in my money league for a while, with second place locked up i decided to take a few hits and have agamble at catching him. my transfers for gw 37 were:

out in

michu santi
    toure lamps
    defoe sturridge
    zabaleta carragher

which gave me 5 goals 4 assists and 8 bonus points. the most succesful points hit ive ever done and now im 15 points behind the leader with a few differentials and everything to play for. I love when decisions go right in this game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I'm in the 270s in the overall rankings. Having my best season ever but would really love one last big week.

I'm third place in the Boards league and would need a twenty point swing in my favour to clinch it. I'm not sure that's doable but I'll try my best. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Well lads 70 (-4) for the week. Was at the Arsenal game and Cazorla and Podolski didn't really do anything yet somehow went nuts at the same time, Kone should have scored too. Had Maloney, Walcott and Kone. Maloney is a fantastic little player.

Very trivial to most people here but up to 62,000 this week having been at 165,000 4 GWs ago due to being away for 8 GWs. My goal was to get to 70,000 so I'm happy and will hopefully get back to 11,000 or better next year without any distractions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,902 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Well lads 70 (-4) for the week. Was at the Arsenal game and Cazorla and Podolski didn't really do anything yet somehow went nuts at the same time, Kone should have scored too. Had Maloney, Walcott and Kone. Maloney is a fantastic little player.

Very trivial to most people here but up to 62,000 this week having been at 165,000 4 GWs ago due to being away for 8 GWs. My goal was to get to 70,000 so I'm happy and will hopefully get back to 11,000 or better next year without any distractions

Why 11,000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

8-10 wrote: »
    Why 11,000?

That's roughly where I finished last year.