If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

Trine wrote: »
    Utter hokum.

No birds fly over Belsen? Morally dignified sparrows, eh? Give me a break.

Of course there's an eerie feeling in historical concentration camps, everybody around you visiting is sombre, saddened, reflective. Like at a funeral. In every case in this thread of "I felt a definite chill, drop in temperature, strange feelings", the person either has prior knowledge that the building or area has a history of death and sorrow, or finds out afterwards and recalls "a feeling".

I feel a chilly draught in my bedroom all the time, doesn't mean anybody has been murdered here...yet.

how refreshing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

Ann22 wrote: »
    When I was young, sometimes I used to share a bed with my brother. One time when I was about 9 I was on hols with my granny and I was in her bed. I was woken in the early hours by a hand carressing my hip...I instantly woke up, thought it was my brother, grabbed her hand and scrunched it, nearly breaking her fingers and slammed her hand back down on the bed. Just then it dawned on me that it was my poor old loving granny, not my brother, turning into a weirdo:o. I lay stiff and silent with embarrassment for the rest of the night.

:eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭daysleeper

Something fairly weird happened to me a few months ago, looking back on it I was probably dreaming but it still freaks me out when I think about it. A group of my friends and I stayed in a hostel in Letterfrack in Connemara just for one night for New Years. I slept in a bed with my boyfriend and when I woke up the next morning I looked over at him, he was lying facing the other way, and I saw what I believe was a young boy, maybe 10 years old, lying between us and just smiling over at me. I blinked a few times and then he was gone.

We had gotten there pretty late the night before when it was already dark so we didn't really have a chance to have a wander around the place until after we'd woken up. As it was a gorgeous sunny morning, we decided to go for a stroll. I wasn't aware of it up until that point but it turned out our hostel was about 100 yards away from a building which used to be St. Joseph's Industrial School for boys right up until it was shut down in the mid 70s. While we were walking we came across a graveyard up a hill in a kind of foresty area and there must have been about 150 graves of former pupils of the school, all children aged between 2 and 16 I think. It was the saddest thing I've ever seen in my life.

I told my friend afterwards about what I saw in the bed and she said I was most likely dreaming, and she was probably right, but I still find it incredibly strange when I think about it. I remember his face so clearly as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭100200 shih

I have been reading the Dark Sacrament , all I can say, I dare you to read it !!!
    it scared the feck out of me , nothing has ever scared me before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭jeni

I think this should be here also, i have a five year old and we have a strange connection i dont know how to explain it, its like she knows what im thinking.

I might have put this up before, but a while ago i went to bed early to read, as i did i thought to myself i might paint my daughters room n paint the ceilling like a sky with clouds n i was thinking what colours ect all in my head then i hear my daughter cslling my husband up the stairs, he goes into her n then he comes to me n says whats she tslking about shes asking me can she stand on my shoulders when shes helping mammy paint the roof,

Shes always doing things like that the other day on the way to collect her from school i saw a bus n i thought she hasnt ben on a bus in ages, i might get the bus over to my mams with her, she would love a lil adventure like that, so i get to her school she comes running out all happy she says to me, mammy i havnt been on a bus since last year can we get the bus somewhere this week ?

Its happening so often im kinda used to it, my husband has started to notice it too with me n her, she always just knows if that makes sence ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭jeni

Oh actually another time she was standing looking out the back door just staring, n without turning to me she just said mammy hannah (my niece) is sick, so i just said ah shes ok babes dont worry, but then she got a bit upset no mammy shes really sick, she went on abit about it

Talking to my sister a few days later, my sister says did you hear i ended up in hospital with hannah the other night (same night )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Some brilliant stuff on reddit about the creepy things kids say.... :0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

Some of these stories are pretty scary. Read at your own risk!

Damn, I want to click on it but at the same time I don't want to. :confused::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭shoos

ivytwine wrote: »
    Some brilliant stuff on reddit about the creepy things kids say.... :0

link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Damn, I want to click on it but at the same time I don't want to. confused.png:eek:

Do :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SicklySweet

On page 20 atm but just wanted to let those who have posted in the first 20 pages that I hate you and you owe me a nights sleep.

Creepytastic things that have happened to me:

(Posted in Paranormal thread by me)
    My now ex boyfriend and myself moved to Midleton in Cork about 4 years ago and had settled in for our first nights sleep in our new home. During the night i felt unnaturally cold and awoke to see a figure of a woman with blonde hair. Barely older than i was. I felt myself step out of the bed and stood in front of the figure since she felt familiar to me. I felt myself gaze in awe at her beauty and she said "go back to bed. I'll keep you warm". I just stood there, and realized i was standing there for no reason. Confused, i went back to bed and felt amazingly warm and drifted off into a happy sleep. I have no history of sleepwalking, and haven't sleepwalked to this day. It was weird to say the least that i would approach to this figure, especially as i'm so shy.

The next morning, I awoke and there was an unfamiliar blanket on my bed. I asked my bf where it came from, but he was just as confused as me. For months, i kept looking back on that strange memory. Just this past Christmas, i was visiting family, and found a very old picture of my grandmother who looked exactly like the figure I saw years before.

I still have the blanket to this day. I often wondered why it gave me so much comfort. Just totally strange imo. Unless it was my bf at the time :pac: Paranormal fans: The buildings i lived at were next to another set of buildings that were built over a cemetery.

Another story was when i was 20. And i had a dream about aliens being at my window and taking me away and operating on me on a table on my stomach region. Total cliche, but it was only recently in the last year, on another forum, people were discussing alien abductions and all that. The list they gave was forms of abduction, everything from a level one which was seeing them to a level something, being impregnated by another being. I'll be honest, i'm not sure of them atm. But whatever levels the person described, one of the levels was a triangle shaped scar.....which i realized i had on my stomach, where the aliens operated on me in my dream. I have no other explanation for the triangle shaped scar being there. I mentioned this on the forum and someone mentioned that the aliens don't like it when you speak of the experiences. The following month or so, a stretchmark began to cover the scar.

Long story short, i hate those who have posted, yet can't stop reading O.O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ElusiveDon

Okay, here's my creepiest moment...(16 btw so haven't had that many)
    Last Halloween I was hanging around with a group of friends in my local village. We weren't up to anything, just walking around and some harmless messing. Suddenly, we came across this kind of alcove, I think it was an old well or something and we saw the outlines of a few young men smoking inside. We could hear them talking so we stood listening in the dark for a few seconds. Then, my best friend decides to, for the craic, make a few stupid noises. None of us were expecting it and we just stood there, waiting for a few seconds. The men had stopped talking and I couldn't for the life of me see their shapes anymore. Suddenly three men burst out at us. We all legged it down the road ( this is in the country btw) and we could hear the three men giving chase and shouting. I was near the back of our group and so I just followed my friend when he hopped into a random field. We all ran to the bushes and lay down, hoping the shadows would hide us...

I was beginning to think that the men were only messing and had chased us a short distance just to scare us when the trio suddenly hopped into the same field. They must have been closer than we thought. Now, we were all as scared as **** and one of my friends was sobbing softly. We could see them but they couldn't see us with the shadows of the bushes. That was, until one of the guys pulled a bloody pocket torch from his pocket. I almost lost it there and then and I stood up to make a run for it rather than being trapped with the ditch. My friend grabbed me and told me to wait - the men went over to the wrong side of the field and began searching meticulously all the way down. When they were far enough away, we made a massive run for it and they heard us, only now the guy had a torchlight turned on and we could see where he was coming from. We had a good lead and we pegged it up the road and into my friend's uncle's yard which was the other direction from the village. His uncle was away but he let himself in with the hidden key and we watched the three men pass up the road from his pitch dark living room. We rang his dad who rang the guards but nothing ever happened. That night, we were so scared that we didn't turn on a single light in his uncles house.

It has been a great topic of discussion over the last year but we were scared out of our wits that night. I've never experienced anything quite as bad in my entire life. I shudder today to think of why they wanted to find us so bad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

^^

What kind of noises were you making? My first thought was they mistook you for animals.

Maybe they just wanted to scare you because it was Halloween.

Or you interrupted criminals discussing something dodgy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Chabals Beard

ElusiveDon wrote: »
    Okay, here's my creepiest moment...(16 btw so haven't had that many)
    Last Halloween I was hanging around with a group of friends in my local village. We weren't up to anything, just walking around and some harmless messing. Suddenly, we came across this kind of alcove, I think it was an old well or something and we saw the outlines of a few young men smoking inside. We could hear them talking so we stood listening in the dark for a few seconds. Then, my best friend decides to, for the craic, make a few stupid noises. None of us were expecting it and we just stood there, waiting for a few seconds. The men had stopped talking and I couldn't for the life of me see their shapes anymore. Suddenly three men burst out at us. We all legged it down the road ( this is in the country btw) and we could hear the three men giving chase and shouting. I was near the back of our group and so I just followed my friend when he hopped into a random field. We all ran to the bushes and lay down, hoping the shadows would hide us...

I was beginning to think that the men were only messing and had chased us a short distance just to scare us when the trio suddenly hopped into the same field. They must have been closer than we thought. Now, we were all as scared as **** and one of my friends was sobbing softly. We could see them but they couldn't see us with the shadows of the bushes. That was, until one of the guys pulled a bloody pocket torch from his pocket. I almost lost it there and then and I stood up to make a run for it rather than being trapped with the ditch. My friend grabbed me and told me to wait - the men went over to the wrong side of the field and began searching meticulously all the way down. When they were far enough away, we made a massive run for it and they heard us, only now the guy had a torchlight turned on and we could see where he was coming from. We had a good lead and we pegged it up the road and into my friend's uncle's yard which was the other direction from the village. His uncle was away but he let himself in with the hidden key and we watched the three men pass up the road from his pitch dark living room. We rang his dad who rang the guards but nothing ever happened. That night, we were so scared that we didn't turn on a single light in his uncles house.

It has been a great topic of discussion over the last year but we were scared out of our wits that night. I've never experienced anything quite as bad in my entire life. I shudder today to think of why they wanted to find us so bad....

I think most of us who hace lived in the country have experienced close call chases :P

I remember camping in a feild with a couple of friends when we were 15 .. We decided to create a fire in a barrell. The night went anyway, at about 1 in the morming we saw a car drive stop outside the feild, turn off the the lights and hear doors opening and closing. By the sound of the footsteps there was two people.

We grabbed our bags, left the tents and ran. We managed to reach of the lads farm. Then we noticed we were short one person. One of my friends didn't follow the group and decided to hide in the ditch at the edge of the feild. He was whispering down the phone. He sounds shaken and was sobbing. He described how the the men (friend said they looked like 2 men in their 40s) burning the tents and going ape****e looking for us. They hungaround for 45 minutes and eventually left. The lad who stayed in the ditch said he had never seen two men look so aggressive and menacing. The weird thing is, we knew the owner of the, had gotten permission and all. God only knowd what would have happened if our friend was caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭CroatoanCat

This thread is the business! My "experience" was unnerving at the time but has a perfectly rational explanation, and is also a little bit meta ;)!

So, I was recently in hospital for a short stay. One night I was really tired and was just falling asleep - I'd say I was in that languid state where body and mind are just about to switch off but you're still aware of your environment. Anyway I hear the door of my room opening and in my almost-sleeping state observe, without looking, that is it is the nurse checking on me. I don't bother to stir. Then, again half-asleep, I hear her coming into the room and I'm thinking, oh she is probably closing the window. I feel soothed, cosy and about to sink into proper sleep.
    Then I hear what sounds like a slow, shuffling noise. At first I think it is the nurse approaching my bed side, but the shuffling continues. And it doesn't seem to be going anywhere, just a slow, steady shuffling in the very near vicinity of my bed. By now I'm rigid with fear and terrified to open my eyes or move. All I can think of is the crutches story from this goddamn thread, and a spine-chilling classic ghost story I read a few months ago (It's fab; check it out here: http://gaslight.mtroyal.ca/owhistle.htm).

I must have woken up fully at this point because I realise the shuffling noise is actually the bedsheet rubbing rhythmically against my ear as my chest rose and fell in my almost sleeping state. Phew! It is strange how normal sights and sounds can become eerie and disconcerting in that strange state of consciousness between waking and sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Belle E. Flops

Love this thread.

A few years ago I was back in Kerry in the Gaelteacht for a few weeks. One night myself and my friend were walking back from the pub at around 2am ish to the house we were staying, which was miles from anywhere, no neighbours or anything. And the road was completely dark, no lights, no houses, nothing. Anyway, as we were walking along this oldish man came out of nowhere and tried to start talking to us. We said a few words to him but tried to keep walking, he kept moving closer to us and I remember my friend grabbed my hand. Then he said very creepily 'Young girls like yeerselves shouldn't be walking all alone in the dark, anything could happen ye.' We took off at a sprint and didn't stop until we got back into the house. My heart was absolutely pounding for ages afterwards.

One night when I was in bed, I had my small window open as usual (because it's good to let in the fresh air as my mother used always say). Anyway i heard this noise at my window but I thought I was imagining it. Then I heard it again so I looked over and there was somebody leaning in the window had pulled my curtain back from the inside and were reaching for the handle of the big window. I shouted and they ran off, but I couldnt sleep for the rest of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Big Bottom

I was stalked by a Black guy all night in a night club, he wouldn't stop staring at me either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ElusiveDon

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    ^^

What kind of noises were you making? My first thought was they mistook you for animals.

Maybe they just wanted to scare you because it was Halloween.

Or you interrupted criminals discussing something dodgy?

Trust me, I've tried to rationalize their behavior since but I can't. We didn't do anything yet they made such an effort.

I can't really remember but I think it was a farting noise or something that my friend made! Immature I know but it was just a mess...

That's pretty much the conclusion I came to - That we interrupted some drug deal and frightened them... Still, it was dark and they knew we wouldn't have seen much. I don't know tbh! :/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

My shadow kept following me one day.

No matter where I went,it kept on following me.

Backwards,forwards,left right.......it didnt matter which way I went,it still kept following me

Now that was unnerving indeed....:pac::pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

ElusiveDon wrote: »
    Trust me, I've tried to rationalize their behavior since but I can't. We didn't do anything yet they made such an effort.

I can't really remember but I think it was a farting noise or something that my friend made! Immature I know but it was just a mess...

That's pretty much the conclusion I came to - That we interrupted some drug deal and frightened them... Still, it was dark and they knew we wouldn't have seen much. I don't know tbh! :/

It does sound like they went to some lengths to find ye. Can't imagine them doing that if they genuinely thought it was an animal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Any paranormal experiences?

No. Seeing or hearing non-existent things indicates hallucinations not ghosts. Consider having your mental health assessed, especially if it is not an isolated occurrence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

No. Seeing or hearing non-existent things indicates hallucinations not ghosts. Consider having your mental health assessed, especially if it is not an isolated occurrence.

Consider going to a Doctor in relation to your split personality:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Love this thread.

A few years ago I was back in Kerry in the Gaelteacht for a few weeks. One night myself and my friend were walking back from the pub at around 2am ish to the house we were staying, which was miles from anywhere, no neighbours or anything. And the road was completely dark, no lights, no houses, nothing. Anyway, as we were walking along this oldish man came out of nowhere and tried to start talking to us. We said a few words to him but tried to keep walking, he kept moving closer to us and I remember my friend grabbed my hand. Then he said very creepily 'Young girls like yeerselves shouldn't be walking all alone in the dark, anything could happen ye.' We took off at a sprint and didn't stop until we got back into the house. My heart was absolutely pounding for ages afterwards.

One night when I was in bed, I had my small window open as usual (because it's good to let in the fresh air as my mother used always say). Anyway i heard this noise at my window but I thought I was imagining it. Then I heard it again so I looked over and there was somebody leaning in the window had pulled my curtain back from the inside and were reaching for the handle of the big window. I shouted and they ran off, but I couldnt sleep for the rest of the night.

Jaysus Belle I really think you should get a taser,the dirty feckers are always after ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Consider going to a Doctor in relation to your split personality:pac:
    I have no idea what you are talking about :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭matthayward

"The girls were creeped out and told me stories about him waiting outside or following people, and had to be shooed away from a primary school as he'd linger outside!"

... "He'd come in the odd time and buy a small cake."

I know how serious the post was but just these two things together is like a Father Ted speech, so sorry to the poster! No harm meant!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭wallyMe

I used to go drinking when I was 15 or 16 on weekends with friends in a old factory in the middle of no-where, Think it was built in the 1800's. It was fun exploring the old factory and going roaming around it with torches and candles and had a nice gas heater as well left there. We Well we thought it was. We first started using it in November for the Winter. The factory is not near any houses, took an hour to walk through he fields to get there(so our parents wouldn't see us with the rake of cans). Anyway we got on grand the first two or three times there but something was always strange about the place, could hear doors banging, strange noises near us, sounds of a hammer, engine noises and some spots were freezing compared to others, even though it was the same room. We really didn't take much notice of it at the time just laughed it off as didn't want to be softy but we were all actually ****ting it.

Anyway another time we went back we could hear girls crying and then laughing and then them roaring crying , this wouldn't be possible, factory was in middle of no-where. It was not people riding, was not someone getting hurt, if you would have hearing it you would know that it was very very strange. It freaked me and my friends out.

After two weeks we got the courage to back there and see what would happen. Nothing for the first hour, then all of sudden the girls laughing, then roaring crying . We decided to stick it out thinking it was one of our older brothers playing a tape recorder. By God we wish we left then. All of a sudden the biggest gush of Wind came inside the factory, it was like a tornado, knocked every can we had over and we were all frozen to the spot, wallets half way across the room, every bit of rubbish blown to the opposite end of the room. We were all frozen with fear. A big black thing like a dust cloud like thing then appeared something like this and started travelling around the room and flying past our heads. It stopped then straight in front of one of my mates heads and we all legged it out of their. We were never so scared in our lives. We all went home and I couldn't sleep for a week. Never found out the explanation but I said it to my father about the place and he said he heard similar stories about the place and not to go back, remember getting grounded for it after saying it to him. He rang the council to get the place properly boarded which it now is.

Never went back to the place, Me and friends still talk about it constantly. Scariest thing that happened in me and my friends lives!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭ONeill2013

Love this thread.

i couldn't help but imagine herbert from Family Guy in that story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SicklySweet

So myself and a friend were hanging out earlier today. Her grandmother passed away 2 weeks ago and we were chitchatting about her gran and about her visit to a psychic. Chatting away and the call of nature beckoned. Couldn't be rude and stop her mid chat, so i stood at her kitchen sink while she finished her chat. We were both disturbed by the sound of paper falling, and i was quick enough to see a bunch of papers fall from the right side of the next room. I went to go pick them up but when i had them in my hand, along with the pin, i couldn't see a hole in the wall from where they may have come from. She came into the room, and he pointed to the other side of the room and said they would have come from the noticeboard. Well, we freaked the eff out. O.O
    She told her brother and sister, and her sister admitted that she sent a silent thought asking if her nan was present in the house to send a sign.

Following that, i took a chair from next to my friend and put it near me so i could put my feet up. I had to stop her talking at one point because i could feel someone behind me, on the seat. It was like someone was there, but there wasn't. It was weird. My back was turned towards the chair next to me, and there was pressure on my left shoulder. After i moved a chair next to my friend, the pressure went away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

Chatting away and the call of nature beckoned. Couldn't be rude and stop her mid chat, so i stood at her kitchen sink while she finished her chat.

You pissed in the sink ??