If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Got my application form yesterday. Deadline is 15th May 2013, same as Single Payment.
    Is it essentially the same as the Suckler Scheme, but with less money? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

pakalasa wrote: »
    Got my application form yesterday. Deadline is 15th May 2013, same as Single Payment.
    Is it essentially the same as the Suckler Scheme, but with less money? :(

Got that today here, have yet to read the booklet. I'm not sure I want to depress myself this early.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

kfk wrote: »
    It can be hard sometimes to read cattle signals but it was obvious she was going to charge them! I thought it was funny when your man took cover behind the quad. He is lucky he didn't come out of there with some broken bones and end up in the hospital telling the doctor she attacked them out of the blue!

lucky they had a video camera with them. Must be the new way to deal with wild animals !!!!

did they just " happen" to have it on .
    Not worth the risk to have a vid on the net.
    A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

whelan1 wrote: »
    if i owned them they would be gone:o every year i am listening to "this year i will reduce my numbers.....

Is it particular angus blood lines? I'm constantly toying with switching over to Angus but this would be a major turn off for me. How about the first cross BFRxAA? They seem to be a good cow and cross well with CH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

maybe its just me but i would trust them at all after calving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

bought 4 ton of silage this morning off a friend, feck all growth still. meself and a lad were saying 6 weeks ago itl be grand once may comes, all cattle and calves out, and cutting back on the meal. its the opposite still:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

just do it wrote: »
    Is it particular angus blood lines? I'm constantly toying with switching over to Angus but this would be a major turn off for me. How about the first cross BFRxAA? They seem to be a good cow and cross well with CH.

i have an angusxbb and she is as quiet as a mouse, even after calving, she is pushing on a bit, but was always quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

It's one of the characteristics I look at when selecting AI bulls. However I wonder how reliable such a subjective trait is on ICBF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

May day and all cattle still in here and will be for another week or more

Muckit wrote: »
    May day and all cattle still in here and will be for another week or more
    reckon it has to be the costliest year to dat since i started, but im only at it 5 years, im off to estonia this weekend, gona get lamped the first day!:D:D

kevthegaff wrote: »
    reckon it has to be the costliest year to dat since i started, but im only at it 5 years, im off to estonia this weekend, gona get lamped the first day!:D:D

Enjoy yourself ya lucky h**r! :P I'I prob have as much spent and only going to a wedding up in Mayo!

see an ad on dd for wrapped barley straw, why would you wrap it? would it not heat and go mouldy????

Enjoy yourself ya lucky h**r! :P I'I prob have as much spent and only going to a wedding up in Mayo!
    i have one of them in belmullet in december, a cheap weekend abroad is as cheap! first time ill have left the farm since december

watch yerself in mayo you could get lamped there too and not in a good way:D where in mayo the wedding muckit

kevthegaff wrote: »
    i have one of them in belmullet in december, a cheap weekend abroad is as cheap! first time ill have left the farm since december

if its in the broadhaven its a great spot for wedding, just dont argue with the natives, their like seals "cuddly and good crack just dont poke them" was at a wedding there few months back,

fantastic day here , said 18 degrees on clock in car:)

hugo29 wrote: »
    watch yerself in mayo you could get lamped there too and not in a good way:D where in mayo the wedding muckit

Up the very top, up past Killala, then down around the far side in Enniscrone for the afters

Diamond coast hotel then, going to a wedding there me self the following week, not that far from me

hugo29 wrote: »
    Diamond coast hotel then....
    No Ocean sands I think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

fantastic day here , said 18 degrees on clock in car:)

Mine said that over a month ago.

Then it went into free fall when I drove a few hundred yards and settled at 9!

I'm still not over the disappointment !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

see an ad on dd for wrapped barley straw, why would you wrap it? would it not heat and go mouldy????

No. It's actually an ok job for keeping straw stored outside dry. Single wrap usually so not very airtight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Bord Bia inspection in 30 mins. Totally forgot, should be interesting.
    Considering we have not slaughtered an animal in 4 years not too concerned. However like any test one likes to win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Wrapped 70 bales of barley straw in October with 2 layers of wrap just for outside storage. Fed out the last bale this week and it was 100%. I know that some people wrapped straw that was baled up wet last year. I was offered some and advisor told me that it would keep perfect. I didn't chance it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    Considering we have not slaughtered an animal in 4 years not too concerned. However like any test one likes to win.

Have your farm safety statement ready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Have your farm safety statement ready.
    As the add says 'in a file in the filing cabinet'

delaval wrote: »
    dont do it, its just money for the boys, was told the other night it only applies for animals under 30 months, bord bia are a joke after the horsemeat fiasco

triticale/lupin mix sown, he will ring roll it later and spray with pre emergence spray tonight... 3 weeks earlier than last year:)

would you give mullinahone a shout for me there, i left a voice message with them 2 days ago and still no reply, do they speak a different language down there in tipperary:D

see the first loads of imported hay are starting to arrive into local co ops, anyone avail of anything similar, its pass the bale around here at the moment, i got 6 off me neighbour and gave 2 to another neighbour who is badly stuck, lads going in all directions looking for anything

see lads who let cattle out a couple weeks ago are now in a bad way,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

went on a long walk to monitor grass growth, and noticed the oak are well out before the ash, order your sun cream !!

ps growth is "okish" on dry sheltered fields

cold low lying and up land exposed are very poor :(