Most annoying mispronunciation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Specific vs Pacific... Learn your grammar and your oceans people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

newmug wrote: »
    Yes, of course its three syllables!

No its NOT! Its pronounced OR. I say car because there's an A before the R. Going by your logic, car should just be spelled CR. R should be pronounced the way it is in sorry, not story or starry.

and going by your logic foreigner should be spelled "freigner" and would sound like "foreign-eor". The pronunciation of sorry and story/starry is based upon the sound of the letter O in the word, the R sounds the same in all of them.

The sound of the letter R is different to it's name. eg, when you says "crazy" you don't sound either and "or" or "are" sound, just the sound of the letter.

The name of the letter is pronounced "ARE". Deal with it, you say it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

summerskin wrote: »
    The letter 'R' (like the letters 'H' and 'Z') had different names in different dialects of English -or, if you prefer, the names are pronounced differently in different dialects of English. Confusion about this often arises because, unlike most English words, the names are never written out, so there are no orthographical rules which can be appealed to to determine "correct" names or "correct" pronunciation.

In Hiberno-English, the names of these letters are pronounced "or" (like the disjunctive conjunction), "haitch" and "zed", respectively. Most English speakers prefer "are" and "aitch" for the first two letters; Americans prefer these, and also "zee". Australians prefer "are" for 'R', go with the Irish and the Brits on "zed", and are evenly divided as between "aitch" and "haitch". Indians (who are actually the most numerous speakers of English) go with "are", "aitch" and "azzed" or "izzed".

Who's correct? The Irish, obviously.

Peregrinus wrote: »
    The letter 'R' (like the letters 'H' and 'Z') had different names in different dialects of English -or, if you prefer, the names are pronounced differently in different dialects of English. Confusion about this often arises because, unlike most English words, the names are never written out, so there are no orthographical rules which can be appealed to to determine "correct" names or "correct" pronunciation.

In Hiberno-English, the names of these letters are pronounced "or" (like the disjunctive conjunction), "haitch" and "zed", respectively. Most English speakers prefer "are" and "aitch" for the first two letters; Americans prefer these, and also "zee". Australians prefer "are" for 'R', go with the Irish and the Brits on "zed", and are evenly divided as between "aitch" and "haitch". Indians (who are actually the most numerous speakers of English) go with "are", "aitch" and "azzed" or "izzed".

Who's correct? The Irish, obviously.

Oh of course, because madey-uppey Hiberno-English trumps real English every time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭mattser

The amount of people who confuse lose and loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Hiberno-English trumps real English every time....
    This bothers you?

Peregrinus wrote: »
    This bothers you?

Immensely. I prefer standard English, and it should be used at all times, what what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Immensely. I prefer standard English, and it should be used at all times, what what.

On what date was standard English set ?

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    On what date was standard English set ?
    31 March. But we switch back to Hiberno-English (God's English, as I like to think of it) on 27 October next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

I hate when people say "pronunciation" instead of "pronounciation", even though it's correct.

When people say "yo-gurt" instead of "yog-urt". I say it the english way(the second one), but my friend ridicule me because of it, the argument being the pronunciation of "yoyo", but the yogurt drink "Yop" isn't pronounced "yope" now is it? :D

Having said that, the amount of Hiberno-English phrases we use in general conversation never hit home until you go to another english speak country! For example, "bate" instead of "beat", "trun" instead of "threw" and all the slang, makes perfect sense to us, but have to change the way I talk abroad! :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

and going by your logic foreigner should be spelled "freigner" and would sound like "foreign-eor". The pronunciation of sorry and story/starry is based upon the sound of the letter O in the word, the R sounds the same in all of them.

The sound of the letter R is different to it's name. eg, when you says "crazy" you don't sound either and "or" or "are" sound, just the sound of the letter.

You would both be correct if you spoke with English accents. But here in Ireland, we generally don't. So you're incorrect. Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Oh of course, because madey-uppey Hiberno-English trumps real English every time....

They're the same thing. And all languages are "madey-uppey" to some extent. I presume you don't use words like "smithereens" and "hooligan" because they're recently-coined words, and of Irish origin.

Such a thing doesn't really exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Two annoying ones on TV today.

Brown Thomas. Eh, that h is silent. Tis pronounced TOMAS. Ignore that h!

Manny. The word 'many' is more like menny...not manny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭V Eight

Garda pronounced GOURDA - you hear it on RTE all the time......what the feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I hate when.people say cunch. The word is cnut.

mattser wrote: »

And amount vs number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Stellaluna

I'm not sure if people are choosing the wrong word or just mispronouncing it but some folks just don't seem to be able to distinguish between 'formally' and 'forMERly'. AAUUGH! This really grinds my gears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

mattser wrote: »

I think I have the solution for that. Change the pronunciaton of lose to rhyme with dose, hose, nose, pose and rose (but not the dose pronunciation). Lose shouldn't be any different just because it starts with L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Gwena

dunno if its been said but "hositapl" instead of hospital :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Gwena

Also "burtday" instead of birthday....ugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Condatis

Do ye mind the way Michael Noonan pronounces dates?

Eg 2002 "o2"; 2010 "o10".

I think I have the solution for that. Change the pronunciaton of lose to rhyme with dose, hose, nose, pose and rose (but not the dose pronunciation). Lose shouldn't be any different just because it starts with L.
    Just remember it's looZe and looSe and you can't go far wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭alkev

And noone was the lead singer with herman's hermits. No one should get that wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Condatis wrote: »
    Do ye mind the way Michael Noonan pronounces dates?

Eg 2002 "o2"; 2010 "o10".

I've heard him saying two twelve, two thirteen, etc.

Eh, it's two thousand and twelve or twenty twelve, you halfwit. That zero you leave out is significant!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Pherekydes wrote: »

Eh, it's two thousand and twelve or twenty twelve, you halfwit. That zero you leave out is significant!

Typical Noonan. Sure what's a few zero's here and there!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

When people say "R" instead of our .

Sangwich instead of sandwich and I've heard Bank-a-lee instead of balcony.

Also the use of Me insead of The " can I go me toilllehhh?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Usually people from country areas saying.....
    Facssshbook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭PaurGasm

The way Americans pronounce Niche...

The say Nitch whereas we say Neesh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Pherekydes wrote: »

Well spotted Pherekydes, and the 1st time I heard this 'trendy date format' was from none other than Charlie" McCreevy who was part of the former
    administration. Charlie was full of Two O Two, Two O Tree, Two O Four etc, which used to drive me mad, and now as you say, Noonan is also at it.

It just sounds so obviously wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Just remember it's looZe and looSe and you can't go far wrong.

The next time I say choose I must remember to rhyme it with juice then. The confusion between lose and loose does not happen in speech as far as I'm aware, but in writing.

So it is a misspelling, not a mispronunciation. This thread is about annoying mispronunciations. Mind you some people are easily annoyed.