Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Has anyone mentioned Yooroogway (Uruguay) yet? Or Kewba?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

. . . But the thing that really bugs me is pronouncing R as OAR Like Oar T É, or that hair place H. OAR. B. OAR.
    "Or" for the name of the letter 'R' is correct. It's just that in England they have no idea what the proper name of this letter is, poor dears, so they just have a wild stab in the dark and come up with "are".

Americans have a similar problem, except their blind spot is the name of the letter 'Z'.

That's my theory, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

cazzzzz wrote: »
    Is that not just a phonetical spelling as they are both said the same??
    :confused::confused:
    No, they're not. The standard pronunciation of "thorough" in Hiberno-English is "thurr-uh", with stress on the first syllable, but for many US speakers it's "thurr-oh", with equal stress on both syllables.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Has anyone mentioned Yooroogway (Uruguay) yet? Or Kewba?
    Those are fine. It's true that's not how the natives pronounce them, but if we don't pronounce "France" as it's pronounced in French or "Portugal" as it's pronouned in Portuguese, there's no reason why we should pronounce "Uruguay" and "Cuba" as they are pronounced in Spanish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Peregrinus wrote: »
    "Or" for the name of the letter 'R' is correct. It's just that in England they have no idea what the proper name of this letter is, poor dears, so they just have a wild stab in the dark and come up with "are".

Americans have a similar problem, except their blind spot is the name of the letter 'Z'.

That's my theory, anyway.

It shouldn't be "oar" or "are", or "ah" for that matter! Its just feckin "OR"!!! As in, rhymes with foreigner! You don't say fore-ingner, or far-eigner. Why do TV hiring people especially ALWAYS hire people who don't pronounce it properly!

But my real pet hate is "Ahhrland". Just fcuk off with yourself. Its Eye-er-land!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

newmug wrote: »
    But my real pet hate is "Ahhrland". Just fcuk off with yourself. Its Eye-er-land!

Three syllables, are you sure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

It shouldn't be "oar" or "are", or "ah" for that matter! Its just feckin "OR"!!! As in, rhymes with foreigner! You don't say fore-ingner, or far-eigner. Why do TV hiring people especially ALWAYS hire people who don't pronounce it properly!

But you do say "car" and "far" and "bar".

R is pronounced "are", only 4m people in Ireland say it any differently to the rest of the English speaking world. I wish they'd just say it properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Another one that bugs me is Irish sports presenters talking about Sunder-LAND and Birming-HAM. Its SUN-der-luhnd and BIR-mingum.

And as for the prat on Newstalk who calls Joe Schmidt "Joe Schmidth"..... sack him, along with the fool in the morning who says "westren" and "modren" because he must have been "thaught" it at school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Advertizzment I just heard! :mad:

(The fella just said between a rock and a hard shoulder, and he the GRA rep!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Raekwon wrote: »
    Everybody from outside the pale saying "Ye" instead of "You"
    Youse are both wrong.

Used to have a lecturer in college who would pronounce amino (as in the acid) a-my-no instead of a-mee-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Used to have a lecturer in college who would pronounce amino (as in the acid) a-my-no instead of a-mee-no.

Your lecturer was using the British pronunciation whereas you seem to prefer the American. Having studied chemistry both here and in Britain, I have developed a preference for the latter. In my experience the British format gives rise to fewer misunderstandings. This is particularly the case when having dialogue with non-English speakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

garancafan wrote: »
    Your lecturer was using the British pronunciation whereas you seem to prefer the American. Having studied chemistry both here and in Britain, I have developed a preference for the latter. In my experience the British format gives rise to fewer misunderstandings. This is particularly the case when having dialogue with non-English speakers.
    Probably, though the US pronunciation seems to make more sense when you consider how amine is pronounced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Gamayun

I'm sure it's been posted aleady but I find the pronounciation of sixth as sikth very annoying. Jeremy Paxman is murder for it and I've heard a fair few sports commentators use it too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

LordSutch wrote: »
    Three syllables, are you sure?

Yes, of course its three syllables!

summerskin wrote: »
    But you do say "car" and "far" and "bar".

R is pronounced "are", only 4m people in Ireland say it any differently to the rest of the English speaking world. I wish they'd just say it properly.

No its NOT! Its pronounced OR. I say car because there's an A before the R. Going by your logic, car should just be spelled CR. R should be pronounced the way it is in sorry, not story or starry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

English people who call Ireland Eire. Nobody outside of Germany would call it Deutchesland, or non-Finnish people referring to Finland as Suomi..

daithi

That is the 1st time I have ever heard anyone claim that there are three syllables in IRELAND.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Ranelite

Bord Gáis not Bord Gosh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Chauncey

I have an English girl working for me, she's nice and all, but she mangles so many words.

Margaret Thatcher = Mahhgwuh Fahcha
    Think = Fink
    Thought = Fort
    Saw = Sore
    Something = Sumfink
    America = Merwicuh
    Water = Wohtuh
    Animals = Anermows
    Pork = Pohk
    Thanks = Fanks
    Things = Fings
    Pot = Poh
    Bucket = Buckih
    Fork = Fohk
    Knife = Noyf
    Plate = Play
    Money = Muhnayyy
    Castle = Car so
    After = Arftuh
    Wales = Wayohs
    Talk = Tork
    Holiday = Ollerdi
    Cable = Cayborl
    India = Ind yer
    Saturday = Sattidy

And so on.

Luckily, she's only a temp so she'll be gone soon! Or should I say gorn, hehe.

Also, anyone who pronounces music as moosic should be slapped.

Chauncey wrote: »
    I have an English girl working for me, she's nice and all, but she mangles so many words.

Sounds like she's either a hard core Cockney from the East End of London, or she has a speech impediment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Chauncey wrote: »

Margaret Thatcher = Mahhgwuh Fahcha
    Think = Fink
    Thought = Fort
    Saw = Sore
    Something = Sumfink
    America = Merwicuh
    Water = Wohtuh
    Animals = Anermows
    Pork = Pohk
    Thanks = Fanks
    Things = Fings
    Pot = Poh
    Bucket = Buckih
    Fork = Fohk
    Knife = Noyf
    Plate = Play
    Money = Muhnayyy
    Castle = Car so
    After = Arftuh
    Wales = Wayohs
    Talk = Tork
    Holiday = Ollerdi
    Cable = Cayborl
    India = Ind yer
    Saturday = Sattidy

And so on.

Also, anyone who pronounces music as moosic should be slapped.

It sounds like she has an accent, of all things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Chauncey

It sounds like she has an accent, of all things.

Really? :eek:
    And there was I thinking there's something wrong with her!

Of course she has an accent, that's the very thing that's causing her to pronounce everything arseways.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

Bray people pronouncing 'horses' as 'hearses'. I used to slag them all the time about the hearse races. They didn't laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭saltyjack silverblade

When pronouncing 'kilometre', people say 'kil-ometer' instead of 'kilo-metre'. The first is the American pronunciation that has somehow worked its way into our use of the language and is accepted as the correct form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I had two sauhages and a bag of chips for lunch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Joe Duffy pronouncing "th" emanates extreme douchechillery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

daithi1970 wrote: »
    English people who call Ireland Eire. Nobody outside of Germany would call it Deutchesland, or non-Finnish people referring to Finland as Suomi..

daithi

That's right. It's still the fatherland.

People who pronounce the name 'Karl' as 'Carol'

Ger Canning, I'm looking at you :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Ireland as Arland.
    Christmas as Christmus.

Two syllables ("Ire-land"). But the first syllable contains a diphthong.

When pronouncing 'kilometre', people say 'kil-ometer' instead of 'kilo-metre'. The first is the American pronunciation that has somehow worked its way into our use of the language and is accepted as the correct form.
    The default rule in English is that in a multisyllabic word the stress goes on the third last syllable; upHOLSTerer, DEFinite, rePUBlican, deMOCracy, ANTHracite, carbonIFerous - and kilOMetre. It's true that the latter word is differently stressed in French, which is where English gets it from, but its standard for loan-words coming into English to be stressed according to English conventions, and not the conventions of the source language.

So, kilOMetre would the the standard English pronunciation. KiloMETre would be an affectation, orginally adopted by someone keen to highlight that he knows this word is yer' genuine proper French. Like "garaahhzh" instead of "garridge" for the place where cars are parked, or "onvelope" instead of "envelope" for the thing you put a letter in.