If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

Polar Ice wrote: »
    And the next line:
    public road: means a road the responsibility for the maintenance of which lies on a road authority.

Roads in UL are not public roads.

yes, I agree they're not a public road, nor are the local authority responsible for them.

they are however, a public place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Polar Ice

Want to go quote a few more acts for us then?

The definition of "ramp"
    And any place that references public place and ramp together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

I'm sure you're familiar with Google.
    feel free to work away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Polar Ice

I'm sure you're familiar with Google.
    feel free to work away.

So you haven't proved anything, yet you expect people to disprove you.

The Road Traffic (Bollards and Ramps) Regulations, 1988, which you originally quoted at the start has an explanatory note at the end which says:
    "The regulations prescribe the procedure to be followed by road authorities in publishing proposals and decisions regarding the provision or removal of bollards or ramps. The schedules to the regulations lay down requirements which road authorities must comply with in relation to the construction, design and positioning of bollards and ramps. The regulations also specify classes of roads where bollards and ramps cannot be provided."

The road authority isn't responsible for the roads in UL because they are not public roads. Therefore your whole originally quoted block from the 1988 regulations regarding ramps doesn't appear to apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Christ sake lads, ye are having an argument about ramps on the internet.

This thread found its new low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Missing race day because of a stupid Fluids report to be handed in tomorrow:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

FionnK86 wrote: »
    Missing race day because of a stupid Fluids report to be handed in tomorrow:(

Due tomorrow, do tomorrow! :)

It's first year engineering isn't it? You'll get that done no bother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

So much cheap suits around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Why spend good money on a suit when you're just going to be rolling down a hill in it... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Race Day - a horrible day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Some savage mares on IloveLimerick facebook page. Going next year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

why hate on race day?? t'was great craic:D

freyners wrote: »
    why hate on race day?? t'was great craic:D

There is a cracking photo of this wan sitting down doing the rounds :D

If you know what I mean ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

YFlyer wrote: »

if_you_know_what_i_mean_mr_bea.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Race Day - a horrible day!

I've heard from a few people that it was a bit sh*te. What was so bad about it this year compared to other years?

My PM inbox ---> ;) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I've heard from a few people that it was a bit sh*te. What was so bad about it this year compared to other years?

Like any race meeting, bad weather wrecks it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I thought it would be a lot better if there was a little let up in the rain. Walking around with 3 people of various sizes crammed under my little umbrella got a bit irritating after the 5th or 6th time of tripping up/getting stood on/walloping someone with the umbrella. The building wasn't designed to hold that many people and a lot of people didn't come prepared for rain.

Delighted when the horse that had a heart attack got up again though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Ugh. What are the chances of getting an exam changed now? Only 18 of us in the class, and we did request a change, but it doesn't seem to have been given to us. We're going to say it to the lecture. We have 4 exams in the first 5 days, then a week long break until the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭scheister

chrislad wrote: »
    Ugh. What are the chances of getting an exam changed now? Only 18 of us in the class, and we did request a change, but it doesn't seem to have been given to us. We're going to say it to the lecture. We have 4 exams in the first 5 days, then a week long break until the last one.

Where did ye go in the 1st place to get a change?

id imagine the chances are small but go have a chat with paddy rockett he might give you the form to get ur class to sign saying they want the exams changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Popoutman

4 in 5 days, by god you young'uns have it easy.

Back in my day, we had 5 exams in 3 days once. Monday @ 9 ; Monday @ 4 ; Tuesday @ 9 ; Tuesday @ 4 ; Wednesday @ 12.30. Needless to day most of the class didn't do so well in that Wednesday's exam. That set of exams was one of the reasons why the policy is now to try to get a day's break between exams, and the exam timetable taking 2 and a half weeks instead of one and a half.
    Now get off my lawn! <waves stick>

But seriously, get on to Paddy and the course leader as well to express dissatisfaction at the lack of a scheduling change when it would deem to be warranted under the current guidelines.

scheister wrote: »
    Where did ye go in the 1st place to get a change?

id imagine the chances are small but go have a chat with paddy rockett he might give you the form to get ur class to sign saying they want the exams changed

We did that already when we saw the provisional timetable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Popoutman wrote: »
    4 in 5 days, by god you young'uns have it easy.

Back in my day, we had 5 exams in 3 days once. Monday @ 9 ; Monday @ 4 ; Tuesday @ 9 ; Tuesday @ 4 ; Wednesday @ 12.30. Needless to day most of the class didn't do so well in that Wednesday's exam. That set of exams was one of the reasons why the policy is now to try to get a day's break between exams, and the exam timetable taking 2 and a half weeks instead of one and a half.
    Now get off my lawn! <waves stick>

But seriously, get on to Paddy and the course leader as well to express dissatisfaction at the lack of a scheduling change when it would deem to be warranted under the current guidelines.

There is no policy of a day break between exams, the regulations mention not being able to have 3 in one day but say nothing about two in one day being off-limits.

Besides, it simply may not be possible to move some exams due to student clashes, no free capacity or disadvantaging other students.

The last date for requesting a change of exams is gone by more than a week so I'd say there's very little chance.

I remember having a morning and midday exam on the same day :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Chronic timetable last year,
    2 exams on same day TWICE,
    And spread out over about 10 days... :/

Cossax wrote: »
    There is no policy of a day break between exams, the regulations mention not being able to have 3 in one day but say nothing about two in one day being off-limits.

Besides, it simply may not be possible to move some exams due to student clashes, no free capacity or disadvantaging other students.

The last date for requesting a change of exams is gone by more than a week so I'd say there's very little chance.

I wouldn't say any of those issues would be valid in this as it's only a class of 16-17 students, all doing the same course, so not exactly a big number to find a room for. Anyways, will say it to the lecturer today.

Didn't realise the canteen was moved to the PC lab :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Didn't realise the canteen was moved to the PC lab :rolleyes:

Dude in CSIS the other day exclaimed loudly in a lab I was working in "Ugh, forgot to bring a knife and fork in to eat this thing... the Cafe downstairs still open so I can get them?"

Seriously, how urgent is your work that you can't go somewhere else for 10 minutes to eat it?

OR, if it is that important, why not get it done and eat after?

Because I don't know about you guys, but when I'm using a knife and fork, I generally don't have a third hand free to type...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Type with the back end of your knife, duh. :rolleyes::pac:

And no room for my glass of wine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

chrislad wrote: »
    I wouldn't say any of those issues would be valid in this as it's only a class of 16-17 students, all doing the same course, so not exactly a big number to find a room for. Anyways, will say it to the lecturer today.

You might think that but it's quite possible that there isn't spare capacity elsewhere or keeping other students clash free means some students will have to have them in a tight enough timeframe etc. - it's a complex process.

Either way, the deadline for submitting changes is gone so any change is quite unlikely to be taken into consideration.