If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Haha, no!! It was different places over the space of about 5 years.
    So the ghosts are hanging around you then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

RainyDay wrote: »
    So the ghosts are hanging around you then?

No she is the ghost, that's the fúcked up thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

thanks guys. im now afraid of the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HerrScheisse

Would of been scary if the frog barked at you, Woof!

Ok I explained my tale of the frog walking like a dog to someone in the know of beasts and how they behave and it was explained to me that I had seen a toad and not a frog. It would seem that toads are perfectly capable of walking like a dog, yes even with their body clear from the ground like a dog, whereas a frog would hop, as the way they should and are expected to behave in a normal world.

So it was neither the Devil's work nor was it a magic frog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

Have also expereinced someone else waking up out of one and claiming that there was someone in the room with us....surprisingly, I didn't poo myself, remained calm and told them everything was fine and go back to sleep.

Gosh that reminded me of something I'd forgotten. One of my best friends is a bit of a sleepwalker, and we were drinking one night in college. We ended up staying up all night in the sitting room, a fair old gang of us, anyway about 6am my friend gets up, walks up the stairs, not a bother on her- all while asleep!

Myself and one of the lads were there freaking out, cos you're not supposed to touch them, but we were afraid she'd fall and hurt herself. So we watched her and she came back down, awake. She'd gone into the bathroom and woke up there.

Freakiest of all, she said that "a little girl with dark hair helped me up the stairs". Now the only other brunette was my housemate, who was definitely asleep in her room, and she was 21, definitely not a little girl! I know it was only a dream, but Jesus I found it hard to sleep in that house afterwards!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 74 ✭✭Dejvice

we had a priest in our village who my friends and I thought was great. All the kids used to call to his house in big groups because he would bring them to the cinema or to MacDonalds etc. Everyone thought he was really great at identifying with the youth in the village.

One day a group of us tagged along with him on his usual evening walk.
    We walked all through the forest chatting and laughing with him and then he started to tell us a story about an old house that was built in the forest and how the people in the house used to ''molest the maids'' in his words. It was just a really odd story for a priest to tell 11/12 yr olds and it stuck in my mind. I think now that he was probably checking to see if we all actually knew what molesting was...

Another time there were 5 or 6 of us in his house and he approached me and put one hand on my stomach and the other hand on my back and told me that I was a 'very thin girl'. It wasn't a crime I suppose, but I just got such a weird vibe from him. I told my mother and she wasn't sure what to think of it, but she made me promise not to go near his house anymore.

After his death it emerged that he had abused over 100 kids. It makes me shudder when I think that he had his disgusting hands on me. I am glad there was a group of us there!

You were really lucky.

Apologies for hijacking the thread a bit.....but it show's the ugly power the catholic church had and still has over the country........that people were and are afraid to decide what is inappropriate conduct by a 'person' with kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Squaredude wrote: »
    First time it happens is absolutely terrifying ,count yourself lucky you didn't have a "crutches" type experience.
    What's the crutches experience?

I woke up one night kicking and punching in the air and shouting really loud, no idea what it was but woke the whole house up. I've no idea what I was dreaming but would love to know. I had sleep paralysis a few times and if you could imagine the complete opposite that was it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Gillo wrote: »
    What's the crutches experience?

I woke up one night kicking and punching in the air and shouting really loud, no idea what it was but woke the whole house up. I've no idea what I was dreaming but would love to know. I had sleep paralysis a few times and if you could imagine the complete opposite that was it.

For your reading pleasure before bed!
    ottostreet wrote: »
    The most vivid thing thats happened to me is 'the crutches'.

I was about 10 or 12, and asleep in my bed, which was upstairs and across a hallway. I was woken up in the middle of the night by noises downstairs. The house is quite big, and based on the layout of the house, I would have been the only one able to hear it, the other bedrooms are in a newer part of the house.

The noises sounded like someone on crutches walking around. It was all wooden floors in the house at the time, and you can't mistake the sound of crutches. Just the sound of them clacking around in the hallway at the bottom of the stairs. I was very scared, since I knew noone was awake in the house.

But, it got worse. All of a sudden, the crutches just....flew up the stairs. I could hear them on the individual steps, but...the speed of them was just not possible. It was two seconds from downstairs to upstairs, and then...ACROSS THE HALLWAY!

It wasn't even attempting to be quiet, it just...exploded into my room. My door was closed, and remained closed. My door was a noisy creaky yoke, and it never opened. But, this thing, was in my room, and beside my bed.

Obviously, while the noise and crutches flew up the stairs and into my room, I had thrown myself under the blankets and was trying not to breathe with fear. I could feel something in the room. It clicked quickly around to the opposite side of my bed (the inner side) and...silence. I never looked, I never heard, but something was there, and looking at my bed.

I have no idea how long it went on for, but as quickly as it came, it flew back around my bed, and 'through' the door, and back downstairs. Silence in the house. I'm 90% sure I never heard it again.

I've actually had quite a few experiences, none as...definitive as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Not sure if this even qualifies but I will fire ahead.

A while back, A black cat runs across the road in front of my car. Within 10 minutes of that I hit a wall and almost got killed.

They say a black cat crossing your path is very bad luck so in this case this is creepy to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Amprodude wrote: »
    Not sure if this even qualifies but I will fire ahead.

A while back, A black cat runs across the road in front of my car. Within 10 minutes of that I hit a wall and almost got killed.

They say a black cat crossing your path is very bad luck so in this case this is creepy to me.

I thought black cats were good luck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Rasheed wrote: »

I thought black cats were good luck?

Apparently good luck in Europe, bad luck in America, but with the proliferation of US tv shows and their Halloween specials, a lot of people now think bad luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Katiesaurus

Had a very weird and scary experience tonight, only a few hours ago really.

I was on my back listening to the sound of the T.V when i fell asleep. Anyway i started dreaming but this was different to most dreams I have (I have vivid dreams a lot, most nights)

I was on my back and i could see the ceiling and the sides of the room through the corner of my eyes, but the thing was i couldn't move. I also had this heavy feeling, like something was holding me down to the bed preventing me from moving. I tried to call out but i just couldn't, I was physically aware of the fact I was trying to call out which was scary, but the thing was no sound would come out no matter how hard I tried call out, which was very scary.

I was so aware of my surroundings that I saw the cat jump up on the bed beside me, he was looking down at me and then just walked across the bed, I still couldn't move.

I also had a feeling that I was going to see something scary, I don't know why but I just had this feeling.

Then all of a sudden it was over and i was awake and able to move again.

I got up and went out to the toilet thinking did this really happen but it defiantly did and it was scary. I have had nightmares before but this was worse because it didn't seem like a dream at all, it felt like i was awake in reality but completely immobile and stuck to the one spot with this heavy feeling all over my body. So strange.

This could have been lucid dreaming.
    If you lay down and stay still long enough you trick your body into thinking you're asleep and you start dreaming but you can control your dream. When it starts to happen you feel a heavy weight on your chest and may hear strange noises, you can't move. It's nothing to worry about, do you think it might have been that?

posted a few days about about a creepy man in a car. but heres some other weird stuff(that are all explainable)

many sleep paralasis ones. spider climbing up my chest and could do nothing to stop him, a shadowy figure in my bedroom and couldnt move or scream..stuff like that

waking up to a howling cat and not knowing what it was until you work up the courage to look out your window(i was 21 years old :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Ok I explained my tale of the frog walking like a dog to someone in the know of beasts and how they behave and it was explained to me that I had seen a toad and not a frog. It would seem that toads are perfectly capable of walking like a dog, yes even with their body clear from the ground like a dog, whereas a frog would hop, as the way they should and are expected to behave in a normal world.

So it was neither the Devil's work nor was it a magic frog.

I was just thinking that myself as I saw a toad here in denmark once and my husband had to explain to me that it wasn't a 'walking frog' :o
    But Ireland has only one species of toad and it's only found in Kerry (dingle peninsula) and wexford, so if it wasn't there that you saw it then it's still unusual ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭themacdaddy

Just to clarify myself and my friend were both sceptics about paranormal stuff. About 3 years ago on one Saturday night myself and my mate were watching tv in his house around midnight. My mate has a very fancy custom made pc which beeps when the internal temperature gets over a certain level. Anyway, we are in his sitting room which looked out onto his front lawn and the estate in which he lives.

After a while I hear this beep and wonder what it is so, I mute the tv to figure out what it is. I immediately realise its his pc, but upon muting the TV myself and my mate hear this really heavy breathing coming from outside his sitting room window. We both immediately looked at eachother and ask if we can both hear it. The breathing was so heavy, deep and chilling. It seemed inhuman and both my friend and I felt a very uneasy. At the time we were both 26, strong, fearless individuals but this breathing made us feel worried, to be honest it sounded pure evil, and nothing a human could do. So after about 20 seconds of it, we both agree to find out what it is. We immediately hop up and run out the door to see what or who it is. There is nothing there. It is lashing rain and all the dogs in the estate are howling (not barking), and very agitated. It took us max 5 seconds to get to the other side of the window from the sitting room. There was no one around. We both checked everywhere but we couldn't see anyone. The dogs continued to howl all over the estate for about 5 more minutes then they all settled down. We were both felt extremely puzzled by it. What really got to me was the way it made us both feel. As I said we are two guys who are not easily scared but deep down we both felt very uneasy about it. When we calmed down and went back inside we realised the sitting room curtains were not fully closed and whatever it was it was staring in at both of us, watching us. God knows how long it was there before I muted the TV.

i dont believe in all that supernatural crap and i believe everything said in this thread can be explained or was your imagination but im actually ****ting it reading each post :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

.......myself and my mate hear this really heavy breathing coming from outside his sitting room window. We both immediately looked at eachother and ask if we can both hear it. The breathing was so heavy, deep and chilling. It seemed inhuman and both my friend and I felt a very uneasy.

Out of breath fox? Or another animal? Was it in the city or country?

And the computer beeping just a coincidence?

I can see why you'd get the jitters though.

If it was a horrow movie, when ye go to check ye'd see a ghost/zombie little girl and she starts to sing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfmAeijj5cM

And the computer beeping just a coincidence?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfmAeijj5cM

I don't understand what you mean? The computer beeped which made me mute the tv, We then heard the sound. I am pretty sure we wouldn't of heard if we hadn't muted the TV as we were watching Terminator 2 (all time classic) and we had TV up pretty loud.

He lives in a built up estate in a town. I am not sure what the breathing was, I can only share mine and my mates experience of it and what happened. If I hadn't of experienced it myself, I probably wouldn't believe it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I don't understand what you mean? The computer beeped which made me mute the tv, We then heard the sound. I am pretty sure we wouldn't of heard if we hadn't muted the TV

I read your story thinking that the rising temperature (beeping pc) had something to do with whatever was outside the window. Sorry, that's how I picked it up (like the reverse of how some people say a room gets weirdly cold when there's something spooky going on).

I see now what you mean...I think.

I read your story thinking that the rising temperature (beeping pc) had something to do with whatever was outside the window. Sorry, that's how I picked it up (like the reverse of how some people say a room gets weirdly cold when there's something spooky going on).

I see now what you mean...I think.

Haha, no, nothing to do with it. It was just his fancy, expensive, custom made PC acting up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

I went running last night and darkness had just fallen and I noticed all these strange black lumps on the path I was on. I stopped to have a look and they were hordes of big fat juicy frogs. Just sitting about silently staring at each other, it must be mating season as they were in pairs, and would not budge even if I stamped my feet hard right next to them.

Then one frog turned to look at me, and stretched and stood vertically up on all four legs and walked away like a dog would. It was the damnedest thing.

I thought you were gonna say it tryed to hump you're leg lol :D

Wish I could add something to this thread but my lifes been boring since! Love reading the close to abduction & strange noises stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

double post sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

bump! back with a few new ones to add to my previous posts in this thread.

my grandmother died a few days ago - she was very old and in a nursing home. We gave her a lovely send-off and brought her home to our family home to be waked, as she would have wanted. As you can imagine, it was all systems go in our house prior to the wake and my mam was fussing with cleaning etc. The day before mam had the house spotless and headed out to get a few things, but on her return noticed the light catching something on the floor - she thought it was a cellophane wrapper thing, but it was a little gilt feather (like on a xmas decoration). she absentmindedly put the feather up beside the photo of another deceased relative who is missed very much and was very close to my gran. On the morning of the funeral, she arrived downstairs to find the feather on the floor again, right next to the photo, which was facing straight up and in the opposite orientation to the way you'd expect it to fall. It was also on the other side of the room from where it and the feather were located. So both of these things managed to fall far from their original spot and land right beside each other...

Yesterday mam found something in the middle of the floor of her room - a flyer for the pub where we had the reception after this lady's funeral 8 years ago - in a town 50 miles away. It's not something she kept to hand, and she genuinely has no idea where it was all these years. She wants to believe that these people are reunited somewhere and hopes they're trying to tell her she did a good job in the past few days.

If any more things start flying around the house I'll be sure to post about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

Interesting thread!Unfortunately I don't have an experience on par with anything I've read so far!The only thing that ever creeped me out to any degree happened a few years ago!Myself and my Da and my dog were having a look around the old military graveyard in the curragh! nice bright day, not sinister or anything like that!I was chatting to my dad and the dog was off snooping as dogs do! now hes normally a very quite, well natured dog, so this is what this puzzled us afterwards!
    he was about twenty foot away from us and we heard him growling fierce aggressively!I looked over and he was staring over to a spot between myself and my da!he took off running towards us like a wild thing and stopped just short of the wall!he was barking and growling really intensely and his hair was bristling on his back, all the time looking at this spot on/near the wall!nothing there!then he stopped, pissed on the spot, and took off!took a pic of the spot straight away, not sure what I expected, but unfortunately nothing there!other than my Da looking perplexed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Janedoe10

This creeped me out . Dad in hospital at moment coming from cinema other night the compartment light came on in the car . No reason for it .
    It spooked me big time .when I got in had to ring the hospital to make sure he was ok .
    Thankfully all was ok but I gave never had an issue with that light coming on by itself . Car mechanic looked it over and there is nothing amiss .
    I'm sure there is a rational explanation but still ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭shoos

Janedoe10 wrote: »
    This creeped me out . Dad in hospital at moment coming from cinema other night the compartment light came on in the car . No reason for it .
    It spooked me big time .when I got in had to ring the hospital to make sure he was ok .
    Thankfully all was ok but I gave never had an issue with that light coming on by itself . Car mechanic looked it over and there is nothing amiss .
    I'm sure there is a rational explanation but still ....

After reading this thread, that's exactly how I'll be reacting to every little oddity I normally wouldn't think twice about. Light flicker = call every person I know and make sure they're still alive haha.

Glad your dad is ok by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭marshmallowx

I've had quite a few strange things happen but one that really stands out happened a couple of years ago

My grandmother was in great health although at a great age. Towards the end, although we didn't know it, every time I went to visit she would point out her 'little friend' was visiting her, a little robin. He would fly down onto the wimdow sill amd stay there for as long as i stayed and she would feed him and admire him!!

That wouldn't seem strange except for the fact it was middle of summer, not a time you would normally expect to see robins and the poinsettia we had given her at Christmas was still in full bloom! They normally wither and die by end of January but this was still full of bright red flowers in the middle of June!!

Sadly she passed away, waiting for all her family to arrive home from all corners of the world, it was as if she waited for everyone to be there. And I believe she did such a show woman she was!!

Anyway the day of the burial after everyone else had left I waited with my mum so we could have a few private minutes alone. There on the grave beside where she had just been buried was a dead robin

I like to think it was her 'little friend' and he had been looking out for her and helping her on her journey. It makes things easier I guess thinking maybe the robin was taking the form of someone close to her and was there for her to make things easier to pass on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭FoxyVixen

Oh God marshmallow, that's so sweet!!

We have a similar belief in our family regarding robins helping us through tough times :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

I've had quite a few strange things happen but one that really stands out happened a couple of years ago

My grandmother was in great health although at a great age. Towards the end, although we didn't know it, every time I went to visit she would point out her 'little friend' was visiting her, a little robin. He would fly down onto the wimdow sill amd stay there for as long as i stayed and she would feed him and admire him!!

That wouldn't seem strange except for the fact it was middle of summer, not a time you would normally expect to see robins and the poinsettia we had given her at Christmas was still in full bloom! They normally wither and die by end of January but this was still full of bright red flowers in the middle of June!!

Sadly she passed away, waiting for all her family to arrive home from all corners of the world, it was as if she waited for everyone to be there. And I believe she did such a show woman she was!!

Anyway the day of the burial after everyone else had left I waited with my mum so we could have a few private minutes alone. There on the grave beside where she had just been buried was a dead robin

I like to think it was her 'little friend' and he had been looking out for her and helping her on her journey. It makes things easier I guess thinking maybe the robin was taking the form of someone close to her and was there for her to make things easier to pass on.

A really lovely and moving story Marshmallow. Thanks for sharing:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

What a beautiful story :)

There's a lot of beliefs about robins, in that they are omens of death, and one visiting after a bereavement is the departed soul saying goodbye :)