Most annoying mispronunciation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Gore-thee (Gardai in RTe speak)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Another one I've heard on Irish television is millun instead of million. The same mistake is made with regard to billion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The way all the emphases are migrating to the first syllable, so people say "to PROTest", "INVisible" and so on. And "REEsearch" and "FINE ance". And many more.

REEsearch is accepted as a standard pronunciation in both British English and American English.

FINEance is accepted as a standard pronunciation in both British English and American English.

PROTest as a verb is accepted as a standard pronunciation in American English.

http://oald8.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com/dictionary/finance_1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

Spent ages trawling through online dictionaries with audio pronunciations to try to figure out how you say 'flour' with only one syllable. EVERY SINGLE dictionary pronounced it with two, i.e. like 'flower'.

Can anyone please enlighten me on how 'flour' can be monosyllabic? It's driving me mad! King of Moo - you must know this?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 165 ✭✭Doublelime

When people say tree instead of three. JUST KIDDING I LOVE DAT ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Bone-o, lead singer of u2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Spent ages trawling through online dictionaries with audio pronunciations to try to figure out how you say 'flour' with only one syllable. EVERY SINGLE dictionary pronounced it with two, i.e. like 'flower'.

Can anyone please enlighten me on how 'flour' can be monosyllabic? It's driving me mad! King of Moo - you must know this?!

You're lucky to find me up! It can be done, but I think it's one of these cases where if you got used to pronouncing with two syllables, it's very hard to say it with only one.
    It's hard to explain, but basically imagine someone saying "flower," and then imagine taking the "e" away, so that the "r" sound comes directly after the "ow," without the sound of the "e" bridging the two. Even so, it still sounds like there's the tiniest sound of the "e" in there.

Personally, I pronounce "flour" and "flower" the same way, but I can imagine the second syllable being so short so the "r" comes right after the "ow" sound in "flour."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

REEsearch is accepted as a standard pronunciation in both British English and American English.

FINEance is accepted as a standard pronunciation in both British English and American English.

PROTest as a verb is accepted as a standard pronunciation in American English.

http://oald8.oxfordlearnersdictionaries.com/dictionary/finance_1

Yes, they're now accepted as part of the language due to its increasing Americanisation. Revolting.

Incidentally, if you check the Oxford English Dictionary you'll note that both pronunciations of finance and research are shown as correct. Makes me wommit to hear the newfangled ones, though. The OED gives proTEST as correct for the verb.

Yes, they're now accepted as part of the language due to its increasing Americanisation. Revolting.

Putting the emphasis on the first syllable of "finance" is accepted as the standard pronunciation everywhere. Everyone else here is cribbing about people in RTE putting the emphasis on the second syllable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I just got an earful off a woman that's here beside me at work for my mispronunciation.

Basically I was on the phone to my brother and told him the coal was up 'agin' the back door. 'Agin' instead of against. It was a private phone call between myself myself and a fellow culchie, it's how we speak at home and I try to speak properly when at work.

Anyway I got off the phone and your wan ate me for saying 'agin'. Fūck her, I'm raging, nosy wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Ah here, leave it out.

It's pronounced "Ah heyor, leave ih ouuuuuu"

Shenshen wrote: »
    Gen - you - aye - n.
    The word is genuine. Gen - you - in. Not that difficult.

It has an e at the end of it, hence "in" becomes "ine" as in "wine".

Doublelime wrote: »
    When people say tree instead of three. JUST KIDDING I LOVE DAT ****

I'm studying music and there's a girl in my class who does this.
    Creates some very amusing conversations whenever we're debating whether to play a chord with the third or without it ;)

"But I love thirds! A chord without a third is nothing!"
    You put two and two together :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

My Nanny use to say "Ah God Telp ya".....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Pronounciation of names is not so much of a right or wrong thing but...

Gallagher, coughlan, monaghan etc should be soft sounding in the center. Its not Gallicker or Cocklan

Balmed Out wrote: »

Gallagher, coughlan, monaghan etc should be soft sounding in the center. Its not Gallicker or Cocklan

It's very hard for non-Irish English speakers to pronounce names like that in the traditional Irish way, especially ones with a vowel sound followed by a "h+schwa" sound, like "Monaghan," "Mahoney" or "Gallagher."

It's easy for Irish people because we learn these automatically at a young age, but for those who don't, the sound just doesn't come naturally. Even if you told an American or English person the traditional pronunciation of these names, they'd still find them difficult to pronounce as their tongues haven't been trained to make the sound at a young age.

There's very little difference in the traditional Irish pronunciation of "Coughlan" and "Cocklan," except that the "gh" sound is a little throatier. The vast majority of Irish people today would pronounce it as "Cocklan" though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

How do you pronounce Coughlan with a soft sounding centre? I've only ever heard it being pronounced like Cocklan.

Thanks, also, for making me look like a clown trying to pronounce it in the library.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

when people say santi carzola instead of santi cazorla.

Jimmy parts of the south especially cork(excluding west cork) pronounce it caw-lan, which is obviously the correct pronunciation.
    The vast majority of Irish people today would pronounce it as "Cocklan" though.

That just makes it all the more irritating.

Jimmy parts of the south especially cork(excluding west cork) pronounce it caw-lan, which is obviously the correct pronunciation.

Most of the country pronounces it the other way. It doesn't make the southern pronunciation wrong, but you can't claim it's the only correct pronunciation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭unichick

specific being pronounced pacific! Ahh!

Cinema as cimema!

Most of the country pronounces it the other way. It doesn't make the southern pronunciation wrong, but you can't claim it's the only correct pronunciation.

I was kidding.... Thats why the first thing I said was there was no right or wrong way...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Is it just me, or does everybody think that people who blatantly mispronounce certain words like hosDIBal and digiKal are less intelligent? In my books, they instantly go from being normal, to being windowlickers.

I have a problem with fully grown adults adopting American pronunciations they've picked up from TV/Movies, despite being born and raised in Ireland by Irish families.

E.g., calling it the Human REEsources dept, or the STOOdio, TOOB (tube) etc.

It's all a part of the cultural surrender we Irish people have been conducting for the last 50 years.

We insist on copying the frivolous and frothy bits of American culture without also imitating the culture of excellence in terms of great institutions like Harvard, New York Times, US military, etc.

Irks me a tad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

A deliberate mispronunciation currently doing the rounds is Math, as in (do the Math) instead of Maths!

Really annoying & irritating, they probably think they're cool?

Heard one of the Irish Dragons saying it on Dragons Den tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

The craze for pronouncing Meath and Louth with a soft 'th' instead of a hard 'dh' at the end.

I've given up on hoping that people will pronounce Dorset Street in Dublin correctly as DorSETT Street, rather than like the English county.

I'm with you on that one!

Also, ppl who incorrectly pronounce Ranelagh as "RENelagh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Not so much a mispronunciation as a bad figure of speech but why are so many people saying dodge now where the word is dodgy

i.e. that looks dodge????

The expression is "that looks dodgy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

newmug wrote: »
    Is it just me, or does everybody think that people who blatantly mispronounce certain words like hosDIBal and digiKal are less intelligent? In my books, they instantly go from being normal, to being windowlickers.

I don't think so. I mentioned a few posts back that my bro in law says digiKal. He gets a good few other words wrong as well. His spelling isn't the best either. On the other hand the man is a genius at maths.

He is one of the most highly skilled mechanics I ever met. I wouldn't give my car to anyone but him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

A lot of people say "racialist" when they mean "racist".