If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

*Limerick GAA news/discussion thread*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Orizio wrote: »
    Cork missed a half a dozen goal chances...

Heard Brouder had a fantastic game. I don't think Limerick fans ever expected us to actually win, but people who were at it seem to be reasonably happy with the performance, kept it close enough for a while, but we weren't as incisive and creative in attack. Not unexpected. I'd be happy with getting a few of those players up to senior intercounty standard (already have a few playing at that level...hopefully they can raise their game even more).

Hurling tomorrow...hopefully we can win despite our weakened team. Last chance for a few players to try and stake a claim for a starting place ahead of the league final.

I see some people think we'll definitely beat Dublin, I wouldn't be too sure....Dublin could have put us away in the 1st half in Croke Park, and they are not going to be as wasteful again, I'm sure of it. They scored a good bit against Wexford...and we conceded way too much against Offaly. If we give up the same kind of chances, we could be in trouble. Needs an all-round better performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

So, hurlers need to beat Dublin to set up a semi final (and dress rehearsal of the Munster semi) with Tipperary.

Weren't great today...winning for most of the game but after 2 late goals (Gareth Sinnott's was a top class finish, but sloppy from a defensive pov) Paudie O'Brien had to equalise with the last puck of the game, a brilliant score tbh.

I know it was a makeshift side and everything, but I hoped for a more cohesive performance. Wexford were able to walk through us too easily at times and found space easier...their finishing was very poor though. Defence is a worry...Condon and GOM will be back but still, we can't afford to concede so many goal chances.

Allis was excellent today, scored 2 nice points and worked hard, won ball throughout.

Downes came on early and was very impressive, easily the best forward on the pitch. Scored 3 points from play, should have had another which was ruled wide when it looked over to me. Only problem is when he starts showing off, he went for 2 speculative efforts which were never going to over when he should have taken the ball on more. Some of his build-up play was superb too, one fantastic handpass created a score for Dowling.

Adrian Breen looked lively every time he got the ball, his goal was very very good. Could be an option for the Championship.

Dowling wasn't great in the first half... I wish he'd run more. He kind of stands there. His free-taking is superb, his point-taking in general is very accurate, he strikes the ball brilliantly. In the 2nd half, he looked more lively, fed off Downes and Allis and finished with 3 points from play, 6 or 7 overall. He's just not as much a threat as someone like Downes because he doesn't create space for himself as well, and finds it hard to win his own ball even though he's capable. Still, should boost his confidence.

Tobin was fairly poor. Ahern worked hard, went on some good runs, but his end product was largely poor. Ryan was good before he went off. Ryan mixes good with bad, some very sloppy play. King was impressive in the 2nd half, some good defensive work but dropped the ball a lot. Some of the distribution from the half-back line was poor.

1B final confirmed for Thurles next Saturday, 7pm.

Hope we win.

So we've had 5 league games and the Waterford Crystal Cup, but it's all been building up to this league final with Dublin. We have to gain promotion.

So, what team would you pick for it?

I'm still unsure...there are question marks over the defence, one of the corner-back positions open. Does Wayne Mac stay centre-back, or will he go for Paudie O'Brien maybe?

Midfield pairing is still open...Ryan and Allis/Browne/O'Brien/Hickey?

It seems likely Hickey will start centre-forward, but is that his best position? Has Dowling done enough to earn a start? Moran seems to be a favourite of Allen's, is he a certainty? Will Breen play? Did Allis do enough in his couple of games to get a start?

There are plenty of question marks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Fireball07 wrote: »
    So we've had 5 league games and the Waterford Crystal Cup, but it's all been building up to this league final with Dublin. We have to gain promotion.

So, what team would you pick for it?

I'm still unsure...there are question marks over the defence, one of the corner-back positions open. Does Wayne Mac stay centre-back, or will he go for Paudie O'Brien maybe?

Midfield pairing is still open...Ryan and Allis/Browne/O'Brien/Hickey?

It seems likely Hickey will start centre-forward, but is that his best position? Has Dowling done enough to earn a start? Moran seems to be a favourite of Allen's, is he a certainty? Will Breen play? Did Allis do enough in his couple of games to get a start?

There are plenty of question marks.

For me the team would be:
    Quaid
    Dempsey,Richie Mac,Condon
    Mahoney,W/Mac,Hickey
    Browne,Paudie O'B
    Hannon,Breen,Allis
    Downes,Moran,Mulcahy.

i just about give Moran the nod at 14 ahead of Dowling based on the fact that he fared well V Dublin last day out. Maybe Breen is an option at C/B.
    dont see Hickey having a future at C/F (hope im wrong) but think he is a wing back or midfielder only.
    Allis is an option at midfield,wing or C/F
    i pick Dempsey just ahead of Carmody because that bit extra physicality
    W/Mac just ahead of Paudie at C/B for the same reason.
    Downes is best suited to corner forward cause of his ability to cut inside, can also be a ball winner at wing forward.
    Dublin will pay special attention to Mulcahy next week, other forwards should take advantage of this.
    This game will be very close and can go either way. Thurles is to our advantage. we will need to play very well and have luck on our side. Daly will have his homework done,make no mistake about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭glasagusban

I think the team for the dublin game will be fairly predictable, though there may yet be a few changes by summer. Will there be an element of not showing our hand or will our strongest possible 15 line out?

I'm not sure Dempsey or Carmody have done enough to dislodge Walsh. Wayne Mc will continue at 6 and presumably GOM on one wing though his form has not been great. We're hardly likely to see Hickey moved back now are we? I don't think O'Brien is a wing back really. I was very impressed with Tom Ryan's use of the ball at wing back v Wexford, a pity he didn't get more gametime in the league. Browne has probably been than Ryan at midfield through the league, and I'm not sure Allis has forced his way in there or at half forward yet either. Washman, I think Breen is a half forward or nothing for this team, not a CB anyway. Dowling showed signs of a return to form but maybe hasn't forced his way back in yet, I think and really hope he will be back firing for the championship. The full forward line is probably the only settled line on the pitch.

I think Allen will go with:
    Quaid
    Walsh Richie Condon
    O'Brien Wayne Mc GOM
    Ryan Browne
    Allis/Breen Hickey Hannon
    Mulcahy Moran Downes

I would pick:
    Quaid (Prob still first choice)
    Dempsey Richie Condon
    Ryan Wayne Mc GOM
    O'Brien Browne
    Hannon Hickey Allis
    Mulcahy Moran Downes

I'm assuming that Hickey won't be moved back at this stage so being realistic I have him at 11, I'd like to see him at midfield. Starting Dempsey (or Carmody) and Ryan could be a bit risky but better to test them in a game like this than in the first round of the championship v Tipp. O'Brien is a mid. Touch and go between Allis and Breen but going with Allis as he needs some game time I reckon, could try him at midfield too actually. I'd be hoping O'Grady and Dowling would come back into the starting team come summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Win at all costs. Whatever learning/changes to team are required can be done when tipp beat us in league semi. If that means hickey at CF so be it. This match is a means to an end. Div 1 hurling next year. Best of luck lads. (If we dont concede 3 goals or more we should have enough)

I think Allen will go with:
    Quaid
    Walsh Richie Condon
    O'Brien Wayne Mc GOM
    Ryan Browne
    Allis/Breen Hickey Hannon
    Mulcahy Moran Downes

You weren't too far off!

team announcement link

Limerick senior hurling manger John Allen and his management has announced their starting team and panel to face Dublin in the final of the Allianz hurling league division 1B at 7pm in Semple Stadium Thurles, on this Saturday evening. The following is the team and panel,

1;Nicky Quaid, (Effin)
    2;Stephen Walsh (Glenroe)
    3;Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)
    4;Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
    5;Paudie O'Brien (Kilmallock)(Captain)
    6;Wayne McNamara (Adare)
    7;Gavin O'Mahoney (Kilmallock)
    8;Paul Browne (Bruff)
    9;James Ryan (Garryspillane)
    10;Conor Allis (Croom)
    11;Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher)
    12;David Breen (Na Piarsaigh)
    13;Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh)
    14;Declan Hannon (Adare)
    15;Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock).

16;Aaron Murphy (Hospital/Herbertstown)
    17;Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
    18;Cathal King (Na Piarsaigh)
    19;Niall Moran (Ahane)
    20;Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
    21;Mark Carmody (Patrickswell)
    22;Sean Tobin (Murroe/Boher)
    23;Paudie Ahern (Kilteely/Dromkeen)
    24;Thomas Ryan (South Liberties)
    25;Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Volvic12

Very strange decision to position one of your best players in a position he is not familar with. I'm presuming this is a ploy and Declan Hannon will start from the word go in the half forward line.
    Hard to envisage who would replace him in full forward line though - Dave Breen? Conor Allis?

Volvic12 wrote: »
    Very strange decision to position one of your best players in a position he is not familar with. I'm presuming this is a ploy and Declan Hannon will start from the word go in the half forward line.
    Hard to envisage who would replace him in full forward line though - Dave Breen? Conor Allis?

He has started there in the last two (maybe three?) games and tends to be moved back to wing forward as the game progresses. Breen has played FF before but Niall Moran or Kevin Downes would be more likely candidates to be moved to FF.

Pretty happy with that team.

Walsh over Dempsey/Carmody must have been very close, hope he has a great time, our defence has been slightly dodgy this year, although I certainly don't think Walsh is the problem, I'm not sure what the source is.

Browne and Ryan in midfield, both get through a lot of work, Browne is capable of getting through defences with his running and Ryan is an excellent sweeper. Both can score too. And with O'Brien and Allis there too, we have other scoring options.

Very hard-working half-forward line, delighted that Allis got the start, think he was excellent the last day. Very fast, and able to score, take long-range frees, sidelines and seems to be tireless. Breen is capable of making things very hard for half-backs, and Hickey has, in fairness, done well at centre-forward and has picked up a good few scores too.

Hannon at full-forward is a question mark, it hasn't worked so far, he's pure class and should be out on the 40. The 3 half-forwards are good, but they need Hannon there too, someone who can create chances and take scores easily. Breen might move into full-forward or we could go with a 2-man full-forward line, I'm not sure.

Surprised Moran didn't start, Allen seems to like him, but it would have been a very marginal call. And it's good to have the likes of him, Tobin, Breen, Carmody, Dempsey and obviously Dowling on the bench.

I really really hope we win tomorrow, it won't be easy. Can't afford to give away goal chances like we have been doing, Dublin won't miss them again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Ye will beat us if ye turn up i feel . We rely on free's way too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭glasagusban

jordainius wrote: »
    You weren't too far off!

Yeah close enough! I didn't see Hannon at 14 coming, even Allen has said they see him as a half forward though I guess it's because Moran nor Dowling have convinced so far and it would have been harsh to drop Breen or Allis for one of them on the basis of form. Half back line could be a weakness, question marks over O'Brien and possibly O'Mahony at wing back, though Wayne Mc is solid.

I think we should have enough to win this game and I like that there are likely going to be changes to this line up yet to come for championship which will strengthen the team again.

Dublin team named.

1. Alan Nolan
    2. Peter Kelly
    3. Paul Schutte
    4. Ruairí Trainor
    5. Michael Carton
    6. Conal Keaney
    7. Shane Durkin
    8. Joey Boland
    9. Liam Rushe
    10. Simon Lambert
    11. Johnny McCaffrey
    12. Danny Sutcliffe
    13. David O’Callaghan
    14. Conor McCormack
    15. Paul Ryan

Keaney named at centre-back, Rushe at midfield.

Forward line is potentially dangerous, but I reckon we can handle them if we're on form. Can't give away too many frees though.

Football team for Sunday named, have to get at least a draw to be promoted. Really nervous about this, away to a strong Clare side, won't be easy.

1. Brian Scanlon (Gerald Griffin’s)
    2. Andrew Lane (St. Senan’s)
    3. Johnny McCarthy (St. Kieran’s)
    4. Mark O’Riordan (Croom)
    5. Stephen Lavin (Adare)
    6. Paudie Browne (Fr.Casey’s)
    7. Pa Ranahan (Ballysteen)
    8. Tom Lee (Ballylanders)
    9. Bobby O'Brien (Bruff)
    10. Derry O'Connor (Fr. Casey’s)
    11. Seanie Buckley (Dromcollogher/Broadford) (Captain)
    12. John Riordan (Fr. Casey’s)
    13. Eoghan O'Connor (St. Mary’s/Sean Finn’s)
    14. Ger Collins (Monaleen)
    15. Ian Ryan (St. Senan’s).

Galvin and Kelly still not fit enough to start.

Scanlon back in goals. Quaid is injured, so Lane starts. Not sure about Lorcan O'Dwyer, surprised not to see him start if he is fit. Derry O'Connor comes in for him in attack. Adds another scoring forward to the team, which we need. O'Carroll not back in either, no return for O'Meara, and Corbett doesn't make the team either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,125 ✭✭✭Colemania

Any idea on admission prices for the match tonight? Can't seem to find it anywhere

I think it's constant for the whole league, could be wrong.

But if it is, then €13 for adults, €5 for students/OAPs, U-16s free.

http://www.livegaelic.com/news/allianz-hurling-league-preview-limerick-vs-dublin/

Preview of the hurling game, hope I don't look stupid in a few hours time.

Hon Limerick!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭jj1

Anyone got a link to a decent stream of this. I'm away & would like to watch it online. Come on Limerick!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭jj1

Good aul Liam og is looking after me on Live 95, happy enough with that actually. Limerick 2 up early on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Professional foul if ever I saw 1 there by the dub keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Tg4 chalked off Mulcahy's point for about 5 mins before realising their mistake. We should be much further ahead given our possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

The Dubs corner back can't handle Downes at all , winning frees every time.

I agree game should be over, disappointed with Dublin,

Same old story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Absolute disgrace from the management.

Hickey was a joke, allowed rushe to run the match.

Our best forward didnt see the ball at full forward while the man he should have been marking won the match.

Breen is not an intercounty half forward. Why was he left on so long and then replaced by someone playing like a drain. Why not bring on the younger breen or tobin.

Browne not good enough for this level.

Absolute jokeshop and the management must take the blame

The championship is now absolutely fcuking pointless, i dont give a sh*t at this stage about it.

Fcuking jokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

No killer instinct. Desperately disappointing to be honest. Very abject performance. Poor game. Too many wides. Same aul story. We needed to get out of this division. Whatever people think about the league structure we still should have gone out and won it the game. Not good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

From a neutral looking at tonight, it was almost the opposite of the group game in Croke Park. That night Dublin should have been well ahead at half time, tonight Limerick should have been well in front had they taken their goal chances.

Back to back finals beaten by a single point. Disappointing.
    Can anyone enlighten as to why Allis and not Hannon took the first few frees. He hit 2 wides, the second one at least would have been converted by Hannon.
    On the other side, I don't think Paul Ryan missed one all night.

Subs also made a difference, all of Dublin's made a notable contribution with McMorrow and Tracy involved in a few crucial scores

That's a little over the top! Lost a tight game against a decent team who are at a similar level to ourselves. That game could have gone either way in fairness.

A bit silly to call the championship pointless! We have a home semi final against Tipp, we weren't too far off beating them last year in Thurles, won't be much between Limerick and Tipp. Munster championship is wide open this year, any one of the 5 counties could win it.

We're not good enough for an All-Ireland alright, but a Munster is by no means beyond us this year. Disappointing today, but a good work out ahead of the championship. Let's not panic just yet!