If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Right lads n lassies d calf is still alive still bit bloated n a coury but on a bread soda water n electrolyte mix n injections. Drinking ok so fingers crossed.

Now have a milking cow very scoury like water! Calved bout two weeks, also has a problem wit one teat like black spot r sumthing n has got mastitis in it. Have tubed that n injected wit bimectin also . She's a Aa holstien cross good big solid cow. Anything else I should do?

Any chance she has a chill? We've had a couple like that over the past week. A shot of allamycin la has a good effect quickly. If it doesn't then I'd say it's vet time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

there was a lad selling some lovely limo heifers in the mart yesterday, they had great backends and he kept saying to the auctioneer that they had gotten no meal, now fair enough if they where on lovely fresh grass for a few months but i find it very hard to believe that given the year thats in it they could be that fat with no meal:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

Its a long way from Wicklow but the trade wasn't bad in Manorhamilton yesterday. The place was flooded with cull cows, unusual in suckler country this time of year.
    Black/white simx 700kg 1240e
    lim x cow/heifer 560kg 1360e
    fr holstein type 610kg 705e

Other stock held up well, quality was mixed. saw one nice lim heifer 1 year old 360kg 1100e
    another biggish type but nice sort for making a cow 400kg 1120e
    Very fancy lim/bbx 520kg 1420e
    some sweet little ch weanling heifers weighing about 220kg were selling between 550-600e they looked like value to me.

You couldnt buy them as calves for that last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

Anyone notice the poor demand for charolais bulls at the last few society sales.Some good prices but clearance rate has been poor.The reports on the char website are trying to paint a pretty picture,but they didn't even give a report on the Athenry sale it was meant to be terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I think it is a general over-supply in pedigree cattle. It's the same with the Limousin society. They report very high prices, but clearance rates are very low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

I agree its over supplied,but compared to last year the demand is just not hard. Some bulls only making factory price. Maybe this weather has something to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

Big emphasis on easy calving bloodlines, these type of bulls with the right appearance and breeding are making it.
    The farmer is getting tired of c-sections/hard pulls/big sleepy lumps of calves etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

Big emphasis on easy calving bloodlines, these type of bulls with the right appearance and breeding are making it.
    The farmer is getting tired of c-sections/hard pulls/big sleepy lumps of calves etc.

my neighbour runs aa lm he x cows to a hereford bull all heifers are killed at 18 months and steers at 24

with low vet costs low feed bills and the hereford prime top up he reckons he is far better off than the fellows producing this magic €1k weanling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Richk2012 wrote: »
    There very slow lambing this year .
    Started a week ago , but havent really got a burst of them yet . And to be honest they can take their sweet time , and the longer the better IMO , because like everyone else i have very little grass and Im trying to compensate with extra meal .

Iv two pallets of pasture sward sitting in the yard looking at me for the last two weeks , but the soil temp is too low to get any of it out .

The lambs are coming very heavy and lively which im happy with but its taking its toll on the ewes .
    There is a few that are a bit leaner than id like , but i winter them out and it has been a savage season on them . They'd be using alot of energy to keep warm , plus with the excuse of a summer we had , the silage quality mightn be as good as other years .
    So far so good though .

What sort of lambs is that Hampshire bringing ???

Hi Rich,

Yeah, you might be as well off if they don't lamb for a while all right. Altho today is kinda picking up a bit. Its still not very warm, but there is a bit of sunshine :)

I keep mine out too as long as possible, just bring em in maybe a week or so before lambing. But I might change it next year...
    Some this year are shook looking... Some are thin now, and not milking well... They have milk, not as much as I'd like, and the lambs aren't coming on as I'd like... (This is despite them being on good grass, but obviously the weather is playing a big part as well)
    Any that are a bit bad looking, am separating off, and feeding them. But that group is growing a bit too big for my liking ;):(

Re the Hampshire - happy so far. Good strong lively lambs, quick to get up, good to suck...
    I notice a big difference in lambing, and the ease of handling in the case of any issues. Previously, the big Suffolk head was always an issue, but this doesn't seem to be the case with the Hampshire. :)
    But maybe that's down to specific rams... (dont want to get shouted at by the Suffolk supporters) ;)

Time will tell as to whether they come on like Suffolks. Some of the lambs, its hard to tell the difference, as they took Suffolk looks, but I suppose the breeds are kinda close relatives in a way.
    We'll see how they do over the next few months... But happy enough with the Hampshire so far... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    Anyone notice the poor demand for charolais bulls at the last few society sales.Some good prices but clearance rate has been poor.The reports on the char website are trying to paint a pretty picture,but they didn't even give a report on the Athenry sale it was meant to be terrible.

I heard the quality of the bulls at the Athenry sale was very bad. I hope you are right though because I am on the lookout for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

jomoloney wrote: »

my neighbour runs aa lm he x cows to a hereford bull all heifers are killed at 18 months and steers at 24

with low vet costs low feed bills and the hereford prime top up he reckons he is far better off than the fellows producing this magic €1k weanling

I would disagree strongly with him. At current prices for a start a good shipping weanling will make up to €1500 under a year old. We run a blue bull and have done constantly since 06 and on and off since 00. We have had one section to a commercial suckler in this time. Most of our calves will never see a vet bar testing. They are more sleepy bit for the extra value they bring a couple of days watching them is a small price to pay. A suckler cow to rear a hex costs as much as one to rear a shipping weanling. 2 weanlings would be sold before a hex steer is gone with less eaten and more € left behind imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Bigbird1 wrote: »

I think a lot of lads had to shoot their cows because they were too thin from lack of feed, well that's what's I've heard. No cows, no bull required

found one of my in calf autumn heifers sucking yesterday, i put the anti sucking device in and her face is covered in muck this morning, shes looking sorry for herself, she obviously got a fair few kicks during the night:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    found one of my in calf autumn heifers sucking yesterday, i put the anti sucking device in and her face is covered in muck this morning, shes looking sorry for herself, she obviously got a fair few kicks during the night:D

Did you ever have them to drink themselves?

The only anti-sucking device that works there is pretty final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

A neighbour near me used to put a bull ring in them

jomoloney wrote: »
    A neighbour near me used to put a bull ring in them
    ye saw that when i was in england... looks pretty weird to see a cow with a ring in her nose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

anyone ever have a calf just drop like a bag stones, was up getting a new born sucking last night and a 2 month old in pen beside me just dropped, back legs out kicking, head stretched and eyes rolling, put him up and he crawled into corner and lay down stunned, can a calf be epiliptic, looked like a fit, Vet reckons could be pain from coilic, he was fine this am:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

hugo29 wrote: »
    anyone ever have a calf just drop like a bag stones, was up getting a new born sucking last night and a 2 month old in pen beside me just dropped, back legs out kicking, head stretched and eyes rolling, put him up and he crawled into corner and lay down stunned, can a calf be epiliptic, looked like a fit, Vet reckons could be pain from coilic, he was fine this am:confused:

found one like this a few years ago when doing herding, he was like he was in a trance, his eyes rolling and seemed out of it, anyway i kinda woke him up and he took off back to rest of herd, he got pneumonia a day or day after though so keep an eye on your one

DID ur one make it, strangest thing i ever seen

he did ya, he was bad enough though, i should have kept a better eye on him after finding him like that but thought nothing of it, i think it was 2 days after he was thrown over in field, not able to walk even, had to bring him into sheds in bucket of front loader, thought he was a gonner, got vet out and he thought he was bad enough but after a few days of antibiotics he recovered fully

I got the vet last night, he gave him antibiotics, lost one this year already so dont want another, was up and about this am, did see him suck this am

ah sure it might not have been related to the pneumonia in any event, the fact that your chap has antibiotics got already should have all the bases covered so he should be sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Was feeding calves out last night when I found one of the BVD button tags on the ground, pulled out of the ear..

Am I right in saying I'm under no obligation to replace it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i had one for the first time the other evening, trying to scrtch hes stomach, must have drank too much milk. Perfect now:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

bbam wrote: »
    Was feeding calves out last night when I found one of the BVD button tags on the ground, pulled out of the ear..

Had one lose a button tag as well looks like it came in contact with something sharp like a knife, all the rest have a new type tag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

bbam wrote: »

Not at all.

He's tested isn't he? And the dep have record that he is not a pi? You have no obligation to retest him. Who will know if he had a button tag or one of the 2013 tags with the bvd sampler built into the ordinary tag on the day that you go to sell him?

brought kids to town , was getting out of car and i got a shock off the car there was actually a spark:eek::eek:

have a lad coming to buy an angus bull, sold one last week as well, 10 more to go;)

does anyone know why the clongowes sale was cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

does anyone know why the clongowes sale was cancelled

heard it was two reactors, during a second tb test, locked the whole herd up??????