If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Plotted a hilly (but not too high) 40 km route in South Dublin before setting out yesterday: link The elevation gain is 836 metres according to my phone's Strava App Vs 425 in Mapmyride.

It doesn't look like much but it was, with some serious grinding on the peddles required to make it up some of the steeper inclines - including "The Full Wall".

Having read various reports of the nice conditions up around Sally Gap, I ventured up there today; a lovely 60km ride and my first time up there since October.

I'm too embarrased to provide any Strava links. I'm 20% slower than at my peak in August last year :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

I did cycle today - but more importantly so did my daughter, he first one on two wheels - proud dada and chuffed little un

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭buffalo

Surprisingly mild out, though the mist made surface a bit greasy. Nearly hit the deck after deciding to take a slightly different route, which I hadn't been down before, and rolling across a manhole on a corner. Back wheel slid out, I unclipped, but thankfully I stayed mostly upright and kept going.

Very misty morning - couldn't see Howth from the Clontarf cycletrack at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

buffalo wrote: »
    Surprisingly mild out, though the mist made surface a bit greasy. Nearly hit the deck after deciding to take a slightly different route, which I hadn't been down before, and rolling across a manhole on a corner. Back wheel slid out, I unclipped, but thankfully I stayed mostly upright and kept going.

Very misty morning - couldn't see Howth from the Clontarf cycletrack at all.

Yeah is was very greasy this morning but with the breeze slightly behind it made for another nice ride along the track today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

My commute has shortened by 0.4km after they opened a new road :-( or :-)

First day trying out my 37km each way commute. Way in was fine, looking forward to the return leg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭brasshead

Commuted in this morning and hit the deck at the roundabout after Blake's Cross - went into it too fast and back wheel slid from under me. Luckily, I got away with a couple of cuts and bruises so I count myself lucky!

After checking my stats on Strava I saw I had a few achievements and PRs for some of the segments before this. Going to save this form for drier conditions next time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

211km today as a run-out in quasi-audax mode as per mapmyride (no garmin)

i have a carradice barley on the commuter, but wanted to see how i'd fare with the extra luggage over a longer distance on my road bike.

8 hours door to door including stops.

my garmin's awaiting replacement, but cycling without it was strangely liberating (not watching the km tick slowly by was a good thing!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

did you do that 8 hours here in ireland with all this bloody rain:eek:
    fair play to you one hell of a spin.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭1750W

Got up at 7am had a low carb breakfast. Started to get dresses HR Strap on everything ready and decided to put on my shoes, as I went to look for them I felt a nasty twinge hit my knee. At that moment I realised I had left the shoes in the car and they were soaking wet since yesterday. Decided not to start a 4hr spin wearing wet Shoes! Turns out it was a great decision, the 3km descent all the way down from my house was covered in a massive oil slick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Cycling home after work, got a puncture just after Ranelagh on my new skinnys. I've been waiting for this to happen, I think the tyres are too fragile against all the glass on the commute (23mm Conti Ultra Sport), so I've been carrying all puncture repair gear in my saddlebag.
    It was raining and a little cold, but I was quite looking forward to my first chance of fixing a puncture at the side of the road.
    Turned my bike upside down, got my tyre levers out, smugly eyed my spare tube and co2 canister then realised I didn't have my allen keys to take my front wheel off the bike, for some reason I had left them in the shed this morning.
    If I couldn't take my wheel off, I couldn't take off the old tube, so I packed everything back up and trudged back to the bike shop in Ranelagh.
    LBS guy (Jack) said he could fix it no problem, I realised I didn't have any money so went across the road to the atm to get some cash.
    Searched through my bag, no purse, I could see it on the mantlepiece at home.
    Ran back over to Jack, told him I'd forgotten my purse but cycled past twice a day and could drop off the money in the morning, he got a bit shifty and said unfortunately so many people have said that to him and never turned up with the money (how bad is that?!) and asked did I have anything I could leave him until I dropped in the money.?
    I left him my saddlebag with everything to change a puncture except the allen keys.
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭MunchkinKid

I'd just like to say thanks to the guy who stopped to tell me that my mudguard was precariously hanging off the back of my bike today! With the weather the way it is at the moment I'm very grateful :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭jinkypolly

1750W wrote: »
    Got up at 7am had a low carb breakfast. Started to get dresses HR Strap on everything ready and decided to put on my shoes, as I went to look for them I felt a nasty twinge hit my knee. At that moment I realised I had left the shoes in the car and they were soaking wet since yesterday. Decided not to start a 4hr spin wearing wet Shoes! Turns out it was a great decision, the 3km descent all the way down from my house was covered in a massive oil slick.

Why low carb?

working on dropping bodyfat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

jinkypolly wrote: »
    Why low carb?

Didn't you know, carbs are the devil?

colm_gti wrote: »
    Didn't you know, carbs are the devil?

LOL if only someone told me that back in the day when I was 65Kg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

That was the wettest and windiest cycle I have done in a long time. And to top it off got a puncture about 5 km from home. Poxy cycle today. Hope it clears up tomorrow

I cycled in slowly this morning, was really tired, hope I'lll be ok for my 65k tomorrow. Paid for my puncture repair, took back my saddle bag, put the allen keys in saddle bag, ordered a pair of Conti GP 4000s for my commuter (they're on sale at wiggle), registered for the Dundalk to Dublin leg of the cycle against suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭Peterx

got a KOM on the way into work.
    It's one of those short little sub one minute ones so wildly inaccurate. Great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Did 43 KMs today, going past the waterfall to Glencree on that 10km drag and then past JF's into Stepaside via the even draggier Bridge Road.

The descent into Stepaside was made interesting by the little visibility on offer, compounded by my misted up glasses; glad to have been lit up like a Christmas tree myself.

It was a bit yeach, but strangely enjoyable nevertheless.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

planned to do 100km. 23km and two punctures later I had to call the wife to pick me up.

Fair play to every one who stopped to see if I needed a hand. About 5 cars stopped. Two were defo cyclists. Were offering me tubes/pumps etc. If I had have known how long it was going to take my wife to get to me I would have accepted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Headed out today with herself. Her first spin on new machine. 10k in and a puncture. Had a tube and co2 but for some reason unknown to man only 1 tyre lever.

I'm convinced that the wheels and tires were never meant to part. Eventually after much swearing and muttered words I got the tube changed, the rest of the spin was thankfully uneventful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,134 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Seemed to be a lot of very inexperienced cyclists out today especially on the Clontarf cycle track. Loads of them heading outbound in groups taking both sides of the track while looking at the ground in front of them. I felt it was left to me to take evasive action again and again - not particularly easy with the joggers and pedestrians on the other side. :(

A little bit of manners folks - I know it may be nice to have a chat when heading to Howth but it's rude to continue to do so on the wrong side with oncoming traffic!

godtabh wrote: »
    planned to do 100km. 23km and two punctures later I had to call the wife to pick me up
    Well at least it was only because of punctures. The last two times I had to call the wife to pick me up, it was from hospital!

PS - Where did you puncture? (Good to hear about the offers of assistance).

Just outside Dalkey

Actually it was Killiney

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Difficult enough conditions out there today, zero visibility and very wet up the Sally gap, which mad the descent off Glenmacnass rather interesting. Cold too, feet went numb just before Laragh, making for an unpleasant old drag home to Rathfarnham. Only 82k but it felt like more, though my wonderful wife putting the immersion on for a long soak made it all worthwhile. Now to locate a nice re-hydrating beer.

Cycled 72k around quiet country roads in kildare and meath today with my OH. Nice to be able to share the cycle and day but 'different' to not go at my own pace.
    Loving my edge 800, being able to plan the course the night before and have it repeated back turn by turn when cycling the next day, a far cry from the written notes I took out with me on a piece of paper a few months ago, they wouldn't have lasted long in today's rain. Great days cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Felloffmebike

Formed a cycle group at work and we had our first spin today. 54k starting in Navan and heading to Kells, Carlanstown, Moynalty, back around by Kells and home. Cold and windy and a lot of water on the road but the rain stayed away. Last 10k was into the teeth of the wind. Everyone back safe and sound which is the main thing. 2 punctures and a blowout in the group. Add in the 3k to and from my house to the start and it was a nice 60k at a gentle enough pace. Just enough for this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Decided to a flat spin today so went Rush-Lusk-swords-malahide-bayside-sutton-clontarf and back. Tough day though it was with rain and wind on my face for most of it. Enjoyed it though. Covered just under 75km in the end.

billyhead wrote: »
    Decided to a flat spin today so went Rush-Lusk-swords-malahide-bayside-sutton-clontarf and back. Tough day though it was with rain and wind on my face for most of it. Enjoyed it though. Covered just under 75km in the end.
    Did almost a similar route from Rush but headed into Dublin after Clontarf and back out via the R132 totaling 83kms. Tough going on the coast road out of Malahide. I was intending to do a lap of Howth Head but my front deraileur seems to have stuck so I aborted. Didn't fancy trying it on the big ring!

(Did a little diversion near Raheny to try to bag a KOM but only managed 2nd :))