Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Always thought the Escort looked alright for a Ford but it's one ugly VW. Is that a US passat that the Ford is based on? Don't recognise it from the Passat family here. Ford definitely do better out of that. The car looks like a nice Ford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Grevesey

Capri wrote: »

Sorry about the Mk II / III typo :o Definitely a pleasant sight around town , and you drive it in all weathers :cool:
    Once you have good sources for parts and workshop then classics are better driven daily. :)

No sweat at all to get parts. Indeed, driving it every day can mean the occasional bodywork issue but the car loves to be driven every day. It even coped better than brand new 4x4s in.the snow of a couple of years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

squonk wrote: »
    Always thought the Escort looked alright for a Ford but it's one ugly VW. Is that a US passat that the Ford is based on? Don't recognise it from the Passat family here. Ford definitely do better out of that. The car looks like a nice Ford.

That Passat/Versailles is based on the B1 / B2 Passat / Santana. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Santana

but the Chinese Santana 2000 / 3000 look like it more
    http://www.carnewschina.com/2012/01/15/the-volkswagen-santana-in-china-a-history/

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

I passed many in my RWD during the bad snow, even on 'balding' Chinese tyres.

Nothing to brag about really.
    Saw a vid about snow tyres, tho not really worth investing for the tiny bit we get in the city

The vid is about WINTER tyres. WINTER tyres are designed for ambient temps below 7deg C, not just for snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

That Passat/Versailles is based on the B1 / B2 Passat / Santana. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Santana

but the Chinese Santana 2000 / 3000 look like it more
    http://www.carnewschina.com/2012/01/15/the-volkswagen-santana-in-china-a-history/
    Must be great to be able to leaf through a catalog of 20 year old designs to create all new models for emerging markets.

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Must be great to be able to leaf through a catalog of 20 year old designs to create all new models for emerging markets.

Bit like Ireland was at one time with 'local content' rules - remember the hash up of an 'Austin Oxford' we got because of them.
    Some companies overseas sell the old model very cheaply alongside the new one - VW in South Africa sold the Mk1 Golf alongside the later Golfs up to 2009 (?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭WDB123

[QUOTE=Capri;8324826

IZH *** ex Ministerial Merc W123 Ballsbridge

How do you Know it is ex Ministerial car ? just curious thanks

WDB123 wrote: »
    [QUOTE=Capri;8324826

IZH *** ex Ministerial Merc W123 Ballsbridge

How do you Know it is ex Ministerial car ? just curious thanks

*** IZH as I was corrected earlier -

Just an edumacated guess by the number plates :rolleyes: Quinn plates were usually used by the Gardai and there were Quinn plates on this one.

Might not have been but as I said 80%(?) chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

found in the phone, pic taken about a month ago (South Mall, Cork)

Image383.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Fiatgirl

Anan1 wrote: »
    My dad had a white FIAT 1500 when I was a kid, CZJ 120.

Hi yeah my dad has 3 fiat 1500s and 2 fiat 1100 and 1800 and 2100\

Fiatgirl wrote: »

n ever too many 1800/2100's here, 1500 seemed most popular back in the day :)

have you any fiats now?

No, did tune up some 127's back in the day, had 124coupe,lusted after 131 racing :rolleyes:

mate (RIP) was a major Fiat head 'Abarth 850TC' lookalike , http://www.motorstown.com/imgs/52010-abarth-850-tc-3.html

Lancia Aprilia 48
    http://www.conceptcarz.com/view/photo/892535,21596/1949-Lancia-Aprilia_photo.aspx#photo

124 spider

Alfa 155

Don't know what his son did with collection :confused:

No, did tune up some 127's back in the day, had 124coupe,lusted after 131 racing :rolleyes:

mate (RIP) was a major Fiat head 'Abarth 850TC' lookalike , http://www.motorstown.com/imgs/52010-abarth-850-tc-3.html

Lancia Aprilia 48
    http://www.conceptcarz.com/view/photo/892535,21596/1949-Lancia-Aprilia_photo.aspx#photo

124 spider

Alfa 155

Don't know what his son did with collection :confused:[/Q
    Oh once Fiat gets ino your blood thats it..

Lancia Aprilia 48

124 spider

Alfa 155

Don't know what his son did with collection :confused:[/Q
    Oh once Fiat gets ino your blood thats it..

Check http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056888719 And http://www.autobild.de/klassik/artikel/fiat-2100-special-3794262.html (Use Google translate )
    Dante was it. No, not the famous author of "The Divine Comedy". Dante Giacosa is meant Fiat developer from 1926 to 1970, the car we legends like Topolino , Nuova 500 , 1100, 124 and 130 due. A brilliant designer - and stylistically confident decision: Giacosa was responsible for the highly modern trapezoid shape for the big series 1800/2100. With their edges also led the Vatican into temptation: The 2100 Special brought it to the official car of the Roman Curia.

Slim sedan with stylish looks and a crazy amount of chromium: Fiat 2100 Special.

No wonder the luxury Fiat supplied everything needed a car chief of the early '60s: a serious look, a lot of space in the rear, a relaxed six-cylinder (with at least 86 hp) and chrome, everywhere you look. Especially brightly illuminates the front of the Fiat , because the cooler emphasize thick chrome bars to horizontal, and let the body appear wider than it is. The Fiat has also necessary as the pompous Opel Captain P lacks impressive 18-inch widths, the leaner Borgward P 100 already twelve. Interior to look bigger than to be outside, it has always been the motto of the Turin developers. These are original and advanced technology: hemispherical engine combustion chambers. Controlled by hand ignition timing (if sometimes only bell water-fuel is available). A rear window Defrostergebläse, forerunner of the heated plate. And later with the 2300 disc brakes all round.
    With a dash of Ferrari: Fiat Dino 2.4

Finally turned on the left-ignition: whirring, as if he had a balance shaft, the Reihensechser gets up to speed. The long lever lands precise always in the right gear. Who likes it sportivo that can unscrew the aisles with a loud roar up to the allowed 45/75/105 km / h, but then punished with consumption figures of well over 13 liters of premium. And caution: Already in the sixties warned autotesters before the violent rubbing ends brakes and direct, but incredibly stiff steering. Rare scrap metal as this Fiat Preziose (only 1174 Special units were built) deserves tender treatment, although the temperament not to. But the sophisticated driving style suits the full features of the time: there was a Autovox Radio (charge time: 420 marks), whitewall tires (Mark 120) and genuine leather (1100 dollars). As Immanuel Kant once said: Nothing is divine but what is reasonable. Dante would be answered that a little excess is not so harmful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭circadian

l27ed2J.jpg

Spotted this Chevvy 350 in Vientiane at lunch.

Spotted this Chevvy 350 in Vientiane at lunch

Seems to have been a fairly free market over there (seen Fiat spiders etc ) compared with Thailand ( horrendious import tax but good range of local cars ) Vietnam (ditto on tax but virtually no cars to speak of - either new Merc CLS's or 68 Toyota Coronas ) Cambodia ( Camry's no.1 car in Cambodia but masses of newer US mkt Jap imports also .

On holliers there ? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Thats an Impala 68' I think? the great thing about those cars are the bench seats front and rear, seems to be lost on him though:D

hi5 wrote: »
    Thats an Impala 68' I think? the great thing about those cars are the bench seats front and rear, seems to be lost on him though:D

Surprising really to be putting only 4 seats in it when some in that part of the world can fit 8 or more onto a Toyota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,442 ✭✭✭circadian

It's the right part of the world for that craic. Bundled 10 with luggage into a tuk tuk a few days ago.
    Yeah I spotted a few classics quizzing around Laos, they love Citroen there. Also seen a little panda coloured Trueno, no mods. No kits or silly exhausts or alloys. Was great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Spotted a nice car with a nice number today in Drogheda, no pic, 97 d 850 nice dark green BMW 850

regards Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭rugbyman

cheeky of me to tell you ,but i think the 2100 is 2300

by any rare, rare, rare chance is any of the 1500 s EIY reg

rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

today in Riverstick (Cork). Both cars were close to each other and pictures are taken from the car while stopping on the main road.

IMG_4993.jpg

IMG_4992.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,904 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

^ Fair play!

How did this get out of the factory? Or is it a one-off?

Oops - I just goggled (sic) it:

A shooting-brake, you say? I will regard estate cars in a different way from now on! :eek: :)

Pietro Frua, according to the above shooting-brake Wiki link, was the designer of 'your' mad-looking 230SL.

So: estate, shooting-brake, wagon are all of a kind - the shooting-brake being the eldest by the looks of things. And 'brake' apparently comes from 'break' as in to break a horse. So let us not be too harsh with posters who (in the current sense) use the 'wrong' word... :)

From the Wikipedia Shooting-Brake page linked above
    The term brake was initially a chassis used to break-in horses — and was subsequently used to describe a motorized vehicle.
    Whoa!

Not your ornery onager

Shooting-brake originated as an early 19th century British term for a vehicle used to carry shooting parties with their equipment and game

:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭unfit2006

Diabhalta wrote: »
    today in Riverstick (Cork). Both cars were close to each other and pictures are taken from the car while stopping on the main road.

IMG_4993.jpg

IMG_4992.jpg

The similarity of the reg numbers (visible digits) is a coincidence. Same county and brought in around the same time I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

On my way to manor Kilbride today and on side of road spotted one of my favourite cars ever
    Looked almost brand new it was so well looked after
    Looked like a 1970s Toyota land cruiser
    Didn't have time to stop but my god what a machine
    Real workhorse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭mikehn

http://s256.beta.photobucket.com/uploadupload
    One of the finest restoration projects I ever saw (At the RDS vintage show)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

I heard it before I saw it. Really loud old race car. Is it a jag?

201303051120401.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭JohnxF

BailMeOut wrote: »
    I heard it before I saw it. Really loud old race car. Is it a jag?

201303051120401.jpg

Some sort of replica of a Jaguar D-Type - the famous 3-times Le Mans winner in 1955, 56 & 57. There were several companies making replicas. Given the originals are worth upwards of a million, I'd be pretty sure it's a replica and not the real thing. Very nice though and fair play to whoever drives it!