Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is multiculturalism wanted??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Hardly trembling in fear :rolleyes:. I just think we have lost more from a cultural perspective then we have gained from mass immigration so far in Ireland.

That's just my opinion.

As you've replied in a civil manner, I ask respectfully, what in your opinion have we lost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,217 ✭✭✭✭biko

woodoo wrote: »
    Interesting that multiculturalism is not being pushed for Israel.

Firstly, Israel does have multiculti, maybe even the original multiculti.
    Jews, Arabs, Armenians and Christians all have different cultures but try to get along somewhat.
    Multiculti isn't only muslims and africans living in white majority countries.

Secondly, Duke is KKK and an antisemite so a tad biased...

About the video, yes Sweden has had anti-Jewish problems in the past with neo-nazis but that was just a precursor to the wave of anti Jewish sentiment now.
    Why has it increased so much recently? Two reasons: mass-immigration from Arab countries and the Swedish extreme left becoming more intolerant against Jews.

It's sad and weird how the anti-Semitism in Sweden has shifted from the extreme right to the extreme left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

biko wrote: »
    Firstly, Israel does have multiculti, maybe even the original multiculti.
    Jews, Arabs, Armenians and Christians all have different cultures but try to get along somewhat.
    Multiculti isn't only muslims and africans living in white majority countries.

Secondly, Duke is KKK and an antisemite so a tad biased...

About the video, yes Sweden has had anti-Jewish problems in the past with neo-nazis but that was just a precursor to the wave of anti Jewish sentiment now.
    Why has it increased so much recently? Two reasons: mass-immigration from Arab countries and the Swedish extreme left becoming more intolerant against Jews.

It's sad and weird how the anti-Semitism in Sweden has shifted from the extreme right to the extreme left.

The mayor of Malmö springs to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Nodin wrote: »
    You do know who David Duke is, I trust?

never heard of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Hoop66

never heard of him
    But you'll happily link to a YouTube video of him, as evidence?

Ah, the mark of the internet debater...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

9959 wrote: »
    As you've replied in a civil manner, I ask respectfully, what in your opinion have we lost?

I am always civil my friend :)

It is difficult to offer a list of tangible negative cultural differences that can be attributed purely to immigration. I am genuinely not coming from perspective of hate or racism. I consider racism to be the strongest indicator of stupidity on the stupid barometer.

A lot of the areas I feel we have lost out from a cultural perspective could be attributed to capitalism, greed, population growth and dwindling resources.

Immigration has had the effect of major population growth in Ireland. The familiar friendly community spirit that we used to experience in every day life is now thing of the past. I don't think that immigration is the sole cause of this but I do think that it is a contributory factor.

Humans are creatures of habit and bond naturally with people of similar backgrounds. It takes a bit more work to integrate with people of other cultures and I simply do not have faith in people to make the effort to integrate (Irish or foreign). This leads to a segregated society that I have witnessed in other countries and I do not think that Ireland will be the first to get things right.

I also understand that culture is always evolving and is heavily influenced by nostalgia. Who knows, we might look back on these times and see them as the glory days. My biggest issue with immigration is population growth and an increasingly segregated society. I just do not like the fact that so many of our own are emigrating at the same time as we have mass immigration. People are more then their profession but that seems to be how a lot of people judge their lives. I also believe in the value of a passport and a vote and I don't think that these things should be given away to lightly.

Anyway people peace :)

Fiddle > Pan Pipes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Bollocks, pure and simple. Some hack classified an anti-Israel protest as anti-semitic.

I am always (.........)Fiddle > Pan Pipes

So we've lost a lot of vague waffle? Fascinating Captain.

Hoop66 wrote: »
    But you'll happily link to a YouTube video of him, as evidence?

Ah, the mark of the internet debater...

Its a video people can make up there own mind of its content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,217 ✭✭✭✭biko

Bollocks, pure and simple. Some hack classified an anti-Israel protest as anti-semitic.
    Yeah it's a fine but clear line between the two.
    To be anti-Israel doesn't equate to being anti-Jewish just as being anti-Islam doesn't equate to being anti-Arab.

But the situation in Malmo is pretty bad.
    During her visit to the country in June, Hannah Rosenthal, the Obama administration’s special envoy for combating anti-Semitism, said Malmo under Reepalu is a prime example of “new anti-Semitism,” where anti-Israel sentiment serves as a thin guise for Jew-hatred.
    http://www.haaretz.com/jewish-world/jewish-world-features/after-another-malmo-attack-sweden-s-jews-resolve-to-keep-up-solidarity-rallies-1.469460

Yeah it's a fine but clear line between the two.
    To be anti-Israel doesn't equate to being anti-Jewish just as being anti-Islam doesn't equate to being anti-Arab.

But the situation in Malmo is pretty bad.

http://www.haaretz.com/jewish-world/jewish-world-features/after-another-malmo-attack-sweden-s-jews-resolve-to-keep-up-solidarity-rallies-1.469460

.....her saying it and it being so are too rather different things. Given the amount of times its trotted out as a deflection with regard to Israeli policies, its going to take rather more than a simple declaration to convince me.

Its a video people can make up there own mind of its content.

Yeah, its a crock of Jew-bashing shite presented by a former leader of the Klan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I was reading through a piece on white flight from London on the BBC and was struck by the feedback. Much of the feedback is at odds with the writer. So many people seem to against the idea of multiculturalism, mass immigration and ghettoisation and no longer feel at home in some of their larger cities. Are they being unreasonable? racist? or do they have a genuine grievance that today's hyper-PC society doesn't allow them voice.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-21511904

David Cameron, Angela Merkel and Sarkozy have all recently cast doubt on multiculturalism. Do we have anything to learn from other European countries that have already seen major change or should we continue on with the project and stifle any decent as racist or hysterical?
    I should hope that most people would be against the idea of ghettoisation tbh.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    I should hope that most people would be against the idea of ghettoisation tbh.

It seems to happen where you have large scale immigration you end up with ghettos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I think we had an interesting snapshot of just how far we've come already when young black ganster Carl Cullen went on trial for amongst other things repeatedly kicking and punching female Garda Zhihao Weng.

Two very different backgrounds, two very different career paths.. you just know carl was welcomed and reared into his "indigenous" culture lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

It would seem that Germany ain't too keen on the Romanians and Bulgarians according to the Huffington post this morning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

crockholm wrote: »
    It would seem that Germany ain't too keen on the Romanians and Bulgarians according to the Huffington post this morning.
    Or the UK, all over the news at the min and thee gv is trying to get new laws in place to stop the impending benefits/housing/nhs abusers. Big corporations will love it, soon no job will pay over minimum wage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Humans are creatures of habit and bond naturally with people of similar backgrounds. It takes a bit more work to integrate with people of other cultures and I simply do not have faith in people to make the effort to integrate (Irish or foreign). This leads to a segregated society that I have witnessed in other countries and I do not think that Ireland will be the first to get things right.

Humans bond with humans. Segregation occurs when one group of humans believe they are better than another group.

gallag wrote: »
    Or the UK, all over the news at the min and thee gv is trying to get new laws in place to stop the impending benefits/housing/nhs abusers. Big corporations will love it, soon no job will pay over minimum wage.

There's always been those who abuse benefits. We shouldn't be so negative about newcomers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

old hippy wrote: »

There's always been those who abuse benefits. We shouldn't be so negative about newcomers.
    You really cant see how a flood of people can make the problem worse? The British government is looking at every option available to deal with this as it is a problem, remember the national (not international) health service is already stretched, we even had the Romanian pm giving of about how they will use European courts to make sure Romanian citizens get full benefits, housing and health care avaliable to British citizens. Now if theUK was running without waiting lists for housing/health care etc I could mabey uunderstand but surely you can see the issue here?

You can be the most liberal and forward thinking guy in the world but its not just about sitting happy in a drum circle getting baked, this is simple cold maths. I am not against emigration, but a country needs the ability to control it as a bankrupt stripped country is use to none.

You really cant see how a flood of people can make the problem worse? The British government is looking at every option available to deal with this as it is a problem, remember the national (not international) health service is already stretched, we even had the Romanian pm giving of about how they will use European courts to make sure Romanian citizens get full benefits, housing and health care avaliable to British citizens. Now if theUK was running without waiting lists for housing/health care etc I could mabey uunderstand but surely you can see the issue here?

You can be the most liberal and forward thinking guy in the world but its not just about sitting happy in a drum circle getting baked, this is simple cold maths. I am not against emigration, but a country needs the ability to control it as a bankrupt stripped country is use to none.

Why is immigration always talked about in terms of "floods" and "swamps"?

And what on earth do drum circles have to do with anything :confused:

EU movement isn't one way, you know?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

This has taken a turn for the strange.

The Daily Mail are really going for it aren't they. Every day there is some scare story involving impending mass immigration from Romania and Bulgaria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Blackbush1905

The Daily Mail are really going for it aren't they. Every day there is some scare story involving impending mass immigration from Romania and Bulgaria

Well it aint gon a be berlin, paris or madrid they're headin off to is it straight to britain job or no job, easy touch, thats the thing about the british gov- great at looking after everyone except their own people, there's poles that left northern ireland only to return and set up tents on the edge of lisburn hoping to get social housing for being homeless complaining to the media about it,

You've some source for this?

Just google utv live migrant workers forced to live in tents and you'll have it.

...so they get stuck between a rock and a hard place, as happens, and your problem is....?

if your moving from your homeland to set up tent city outside a ****ehole town in NI of all places it shows that being unemployed, homeless in the UK is far more appealing than in the country they're born bred and a citizen of and that for me is not a good signal to be sending.

It's hardly the norm. Would you like NI to be judged on Willie Fraser, Willie McCrea and their mates?

Willie frazer is being held hostage in maghaberry prison not far from where this illegal camp was set up, this is how NI treats it loyal citizens, while these foreign nationals will probably be in a cozy bedsit in flush park!!!