Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

thats fair enough imo.. other people here just want me and other celts to apologise which i think isn't either deserved or likely

I was looking for a personal apology as I suffered personal abuse on the matter. I wouldn't dream of asking Celtic fans to apologise over the issue, why the hell would they. However, I suffered personal abuse because I had the temperity to look at the facts and not get drawn into the hate filled propoganda campaign against Rangers. Everyone is entitled to a fair trial I said, but this was dismissed. I said wait for the outcome to be revealed, however people didnt want to wait. I was dismissed as sort some of fool and comedy act on the Celtic thread for not buying into campaign. I was told "you just don't get it" etc etc. The problem was that some people used this information and wrongly deduced this guy must be a Rangers fan etc etc. I was and still am deeply annoyed about this and I am quite entitled to come back now and ask for an apology. It's human decency from where I come from. If you've wronged someone, you should man up and take responsibilities for your actions....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,787 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Brewster wrote: »

I was looking for a personal apology as I suffered personal abuse on the matter. I wouldn't dream of asking Celtic fans to apologise over the issue, why the hell would they. However, I suffered personal abuse because I had the temperity to look at the facts and not get drawn into the hate filled propoganda campaign against Rangers. Everyone is entitled to a fair trial I said, but this was dismissed. I said wait for the outcome to be revealed, however people didnt want to wait. I was dismissed as sort some of fool and comedy act on the Celtic thread for not buying into campaign. I was told "you just don't get it" etc etc. The problem was that some people used this information and wrongly deduced this guy must be a Rangers fan etc etc. I was and still am deeply annoyed about this and I am quite entitled to come back now and ask for an apology. It's human decency from where I come from. If you've wronged someone, you should man up and take responsibilities for your actions....

Why don't you PM them if you're looking for apology.

Some may not read this or missed your posts.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Well time to get back to football here are the teams for the game against East Stirling at Ibrox 12 noon kick off

RANGERS: Alexander; Argyriou, Hegarty, Emilson, Wallace; Naismith, Black, Hutton, Templeton; Little, McCulloch.
    SUBS: Gallacher, Faure, McKay, Aird, Hemmings.

EAST STIRLINGSHIRE: Hay, Shepherd, Maxwell, Miller, Buchanan, Hunter, Greenhill, Stirling, Turner, Quinn, Glasgow.
    SUBS: Gordon, Zufle, Wright, Benton, Gillespie.

Well half time and it is 1-0 to East Stirling. Rangers with by far the the the most possession but no final ball. All credit to East Stirling though a very well taken goal with a nice bit of play leading up to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

3-1, normality restored ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I wouldnt watch Rangers too often but that Templeton boy looks a player

deccurley wrote: »
    I wouldnt watch Rangers too often but that Templeton boy looks a player

He has the talent but he is a wee bit greedy once he learns when to part with the ball I reckon Rangers will have a great player on there hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

RoryMac wrote: »
    I think it's quite disingenuous to try to write this whole episode off as "sheer folly" driven by the media, the fact is Rangers spent a decade breaking the rules of the competitions they took part in. This may well be classed as an administrative error by the panel but it's still a case Rangers needed to answer.

I agree 100% that this should be put behind us if possible now and that we should concentrate on the football but to try to pass this off as some sort of conspiracy theory is ridiculous.

Hopefully someone in the SFA can for once show some leadership now to try to move the game on from here but I can't see it happening, there are huge divisions in Scottish football at present and they need to be bridged before Rangers get back to the SPL.

The outcome would say it certainly was "sheer folly" to be honest.

The case needed looking into, i entirely agree, and it was - amid a frenzy of hyperbole and scandal which has fueled the Scottish press and media for around three years now along with the tax case.
    Stewart Regan himself proclaiming that Rangers were guilty, himself and Doncaster offering Rangers the option to give up 5 titles (at least) in order to be parachuted into the first division.

Look at the faith in which the media put into the RTC blog, being influenced by an anonymous writer who had clearly stated his agenda.
    Look at the way in which Phil the Ex-Social Worker has had certain respected journalists wrapped around his finger.
    The fact that the media allowed themselves to be led, influenced and ultimately made to look like a bunch of amateurs is terrifying, and had a big part to play in this situation.

I said at the time of the Tax Case announcement (which i know HMRC plan to appeal) the the media's lies and hysteria in all of this played a big part in letting that scumbag Whyte through the door at Ibrox - a saga in which Rangers, and the Rangers support have been ultimately punished for, despite the SPL not having the correct protection procedures in place, and finding it within themselves to make up their own rules as they go along.

Regan and Doncaster still haven't found it within themselves to release a statement with regards to yesterday's announcement - despite being so outspoken about Rangers guilt over the last year or so.

Unfortunately it has also shown that those people involved are too arrogant and self serving to admit that, the bloggers can disappear back into anonymity easy enough, safe in the knowledge that they have no one to answer too, and the only people left suffering - as usual - are the fans.

The ends, quite simply, have not justified the means in this case and it has left Scottish football and everyone associated with it look ridiculous.

Back to the football.

Only saw the second half today, once again we saw a 45 minute performance from Rangers, once again we seem content to do "enough".
    We really seem to lack motivation and at times look ridiculously complacent - I understand the reasons behind that.
    I really think that the players need to start putting on a show for the fans from time to time though, they are more than capable of doing so - and unless they do, attendances next season will drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,944 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    This isn't just disagreeing, this is throwing a tantrum of epic proportions :D

But carry on, I'm loving it.

I'm glad we agree that the Celtic fans are the joke here ;)

I'm throwing a tantrum??? :confused::P Your definition differs greatly from the norm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

Eirebear wrote: »
    Regan and Doncaster still haven't found it within themselves to release a statement with regards to yesterday's announcement - despite being so outspoken about Rangers guilt over the last year or so.
    You do know you were found guilty don't you?

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    You do know you were found guilty don't you?

Yes, but not of gaining any form of on field advantage - not of anything worthy of stripping titles.
    Rangers have been proven correct to carry on their fight with the SPL/SFA on this matter, even if it did mean avoiding the "easy" option and not taking up Regan and Doncaster's ever so generous offer of a first division place.

And in turn, Regan and Doncaster have once again been proven to be useless, self serving fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Yes, but not of gaining any form of on field advantage - not of anything worthy of stripping titles.

Rangers were found guilty of non-disclosed payment to players, the commission decided that the punishment was a slap on the wrists.
    Findings did not lead to stripping of titles but nor did they cover Rangers in glory

Forgive me if I've got this wrong but, did Lord Nimmo Smith in his independent commission declare an "innocent" rather than "guilty" verdict on Rangers on Thursday?

From some of the reaction – especially that of some Rangers fans and even certain media commentators – you would think that was the case.

This was a very odd experience for me. I locked myself away to study in silence Nimmo Smith's findings; reading of his guilty verdict on Rangers' repeated breaches of Scottish Premier League rules and of his conclusion that only a "substantial financial penalty" could cover the club's wrongdoing.

Having digested all of this I came blinking back into the sunlight to find people declaring it a marvellous day for Rangers, even a "total vindication" of the side-letters policy at Ibrox. On television Charles Green hooted about how the stain had been removed from his club, and even more, about how apologies were now due.

I had to go back and look again at Nimmo Smith's verdict. No, sure enough, he had found Rangers guilty. He deemed the club's undeclared payments to at least 43 players over 11 years – worth something between £40m and £50m – to be a blatant disregard for the house rules of Scottish football. Yet this finding had Rangers fans punching the air in celebration.

The truth is, everyone had become preoccupied with the punishment, not the crime. The theme of "title stripping" – coincidentally something I have always been vehemently against in the context of Rangers – had become in the public mind the be all and end all of this case. So when Nimmo Smith ruled out title stripping and imposed a financial penalty as punishment, this apparently was enough for his actual verdict on Rangers to be viewed as little more than an incidental.

Briefly, let's just go back over these findings, to double-check what was found. Fundamentally, had Rangers flouted football's rules, in terms of undeclared payments to players, or not? Yes, said Nimmo Smith. The non-disclosure had been "a seriously misconceived plan" for which "the directors [of oldco Rangers] must bear a heavy responsibility." He added: "The non-disclosure [of the payments] was deliberate."

Nimmo Smith opted to explore why Rangers had deliberately withheld the fact of the infamous side-letters and stated that the evidence was "clear" that the club had feared its tax-avoiding EBTs scheme might be either hurt or compromised. "The evidence clearly indicates a view among the management of 'oldco' that it might have been detrimental to the desired tax treatment of the payments being made to have disclosed the existence of these side-letters to the football authorities."

In this regard, Nimmo Smith especially highlighted witness statements by Douglas Odam, who had been the Rangers company secretary until he left in 2003, and who had taken charge of the preparation and signing of player contracts. "It is clear from Mr Odam's evidence," wrote Nimmo Smith, "that Oldco's failure to disclose the side-letters was partly motivated by a wish not to risk prejudicing the tax advantages of the EBTs scheme."

Nimmo Smith also presented a picture in his report of various figures associated with Rangers ducking and diving, for want of a better phrase, when it came to providing documents and information which would aid his enquiry. Such prevarication or stalling tactics only served to hold up the whole investigation. This continuing failure to be transparent, wrote Nimmo Smith, was a further "serious breach of the rules".

The commission's findings cast further light on the way this EBTs scheme was operated by Rangers. Steven Davis, for example, was entitled to receive £1.2m via the scheme. Shota Arveladze would receive £990,000. Barry Ferguson, it had been previously stated, received £2.5m in total over a number of years from the scheme. These are pretty hefty sums of money being "paid" (or "loaned") without any tax being due and there are two possible conclusions to be drawn about what this meant for Rangers. Either the club saved itself millions in tax liability, or it was able to offer players a bottom-line salary it might not otherwise have been able to afford.

In this context, some in Scottish football will continue to be baffled by Nimmo Smith's conclusion in regard to no competitive advantage being gained by Rangers. In truth, it is the weakest part of his report and is a subject skirted over in a few cursory paragraphs, though he stated that, all being considered, no football advantage was gained by Rangers.

Or does he? Even here Nimmo Smith actually hedges his bets a little. "We are unable to reach the conclusion that this led to any competitive advantage," he wrote. But he also states: "If the breach of the rules by non-disclosure of the side-letters did confer any competitive advantage, then that could only have been an indirect one."

I have to admit, I'm not sure what all this amounts to. Nimmo Smith reached a judgement about Rangers not gaining any advantage but he did so in less than resolute fashion.

Having said that, for different reasons I'm glad he reached the conclusion he did about no titles being stripped from Rangers. First, because this whole saga is so convoluted. Second, because going back and erasing football history seems to me to be a dodgy exercise. And thirdly, because what would be gained by it? Title stripping of a now defunct company (or club?) would have served next to no purpose. The fact is, these titles Rangers won during the EBT years will now be forever bickered over by supporters, especially those of Rangers and Celtic.

The last 48 hours have been pretty bizarre around Rangers. The club's fans have been near-jubilant at this Nimmo Smith verdict. One media figure even said: "So, a good day all round for Rangers, then?"

I guess it depends which way you look at it. Rangers' guilt or innocence was one thing, the apparent vulnerability of five of the club's 54 domestic titles, it now transpires, was something far greater.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/findings-did-not-lead-to-the-stripping-of-titles-but-nor-did-they-cover-rangers-in-glory.20392856

What's your point caller?

Do you deny that this finding was made by an independant tribunal set up by the SPL and that their decision is one which must be respected?
    Do you deny that the decision to fine Rangers is far less than the punishment that the SPL and the SFA wanted to hand down?
    Do you deny the fact that Regan and Doncaster's lack of statement since Thursday show's that they are disappointing by this decision?
    Do you deny the fact that the press and media's hyperbole, fueled by Regan and Doncaster's anger and lack of leadership have affected the "man on the street's" view of things?
    Do you deny that the press found themselves taken in by Phil The Ex-Social Worker and the Anonymous Blogger, as such affecting public opinion?

If i was you guys, I'd be wondering why Regan and Doncaster have left it to your club, and your manager to make statements saying they are "surprised" by the findings.
    Rats and sinking ships come to mind.

The point, which is very obvious, is that Rangers were found guilty and were handed a punishment. Taking back titles was not the punishment, to the surprise of many including Rangers and their fans hence the celebrations from them and some have actually ignored the guilty bit to focus on the punishment bit

This is like the ned who is charged with assault and is told he will probably face prison, who is then convicted and gets community service punishment instead of prison. If he is jumping up and down and punching air shouting, 'I am vindicated and I have been proved innocent' he would be looked on as delunsional and most sane people would have questioned if the punishment was appropriate

The point, which is very obvious, is that Rangers were found guilty and were handed a punishment. Taking back titles was not the punishment, to the surprise of many including Rangers and their fans hence the celebrations from them and some have actually ignored the guilty bit to focus on the punishment bit

This is like the ned who is charged with assault and is told he will probably face prison, who is then convicted and gets community service punishment instead of prison. If he is jumping up and down and punching air shouting, 'I am vindicated and I have been proved innocent' he would be looked on as delunsional and most sane people would have questioned if the punishment was appropriate

So- Rangers said no to Stewart Regan and Neil Doncaster's awfully generous offer of being put in Division 1 in return for simply handing over 5 titles and admitting guilt far outweighing what the decision of the tribunal has outlined - and you're telling me Rangers shouldn't feel vindicated by this action?
    Really?

I ****ing knew the usual suspects would focus on that word 'guilty'.

Mind you, all it means is that Rangers were guilty of an administrative error, but don't let facts get in the way.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Rangers cheated and got away with it. It's as simple as that and clear for all to see. I'm surprised anyone ever thought that titles would possibly be stripped.

PauloMN wrote: »
    Rangers cheated and got away with it. It's as simple as that and clear for all to see. I'm surprised anyone ever thought that titles would possibly be stripped.

Pmsl.
    Top notch analytical insight there.

That tinfoil not get a bit scratchy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

its an internet forum you probably arent going to get an apology so stop acting like a child. its all a little self-righteous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

I ****ing knew the usual suspects would focus on that word 'guilty'.

Mind you, all it means is that Rangers were guilty of an administrative error, but don't let facts get in the way.
    Lol the cheek of some people to focus on ye being guilty of undisclosed payments, other leagues have expelled clubs for the same thing yet Rangers are vindicated because ye got a slap on the wrists.

Morally bankrupt.

bobmalooka wrote: »
    Lol the cheek of some people to focus on ye being guilty of undisclosed payments, other leagues have expelled clubs for the same thing yet Rangers are vindicated because ye got a slap on the wrists.

Morally bankrupt.
    What do you not understand about no sporting advantage gained or for that matter that these payments were in the accounts that the SPL got every year but they chose to ignore or finally this is this league not any other one we were playing in the SPL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Lonesome Boatman

What do you not understand about no sporting advantage gained or for that matter that these payments were in the accounts that the SPL got every year but they chose to ignore or finally this is this league not any other one we were playing in the SPL

Yes we just don't understand how there was no sporting advantage gained. Maybe you can explain for us all?

47 million in illegal EBT's over 11 years and it wasn't a sporting advantage?

One example Stephen Klos got a 2 million EBT, made 200 appearances, was good for maybe 10-15 points a season? He wouldn't of played for Rangers if you never used EBT's.

That is just one player.

So there is your advantage.

2006 you used EBT's for a third of your wages, how can you say there is no sporting advantage? you must be really stupid.

Campbell Ogilvie and others like him is the reason you got away with it for so long, corrupt cheats.

Yes we just don't understand how there was no sporting advantage gained. Maybe you can explain for us all?

47 million in illegal EBT's over 11 years and it wasn't a sporting advantage?

One example Stephen Klos got a 2 million EBT, made 200 appearances, was good for maybe 10-15 points a season? He wouldn't of played for Rangers if you never used EBT's.

That is just one player.

So there is your advantage.

2006 you used EBT's for a third of your wages, how can you say there is no sporting advantage? you must be really stupid.

I suggest you read the whole of Nimmo's findings. In there you will find these payments were known about we were only found culpable of not passing over copies of the side letters
    These rules are not designed as any form of financial regulation of football,analgous to the UEFA Financial Fair play Regulations. Thus it is not the purpose of the rules to regulate how one football club may seek to gain financial and sporting advantage over others.
    Obviously, a successful club is able to generate more income from gate money sponsorship,advertising, sale of branded gods and so on, and is consequentially able to offer greater financial rewards to its managers and players in the hope of even more success.
    Nor is it a breach of SPL or SFA Rules for a club to arrange its affairs-within the law-so as to minimise its tax liabilities.

I believe that puts in a nutshell this is from page 30 of the report on the findings

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Pmsl.
    Top notch analytical insight there.

That tinfoil not get a bit scratchy?

That the best you can do? Pmsl?

To call hiding 49m of payments an "admin error" makes me laugh. Some fcukin admin error that!

By the way Im not saying the verdict would have been any different had it been Celtic cheating, but imo Rangers cheated and got away with it. Bad verdict for Scot football overall.

PauloMN wrote: »
    That the best you can do? Pmsl?

To call hiding 49m of payments an "admin error" makes me laugh. Some fcukin admin error that!

By the way Im not saying the verdict would have been any different had it been Celtic cheating, but imo Rangers cheated and got away with it. Bad verdict for Scot football overall.

The point is the verdict was given and I suggest you actually read the report the club did not hide the payments they didn't hand over copies of the side letters the money paid was in every yearly set of accounts

Who needs to do that, when the Celtic message boards are full of financial experts ?

It's funny that before the verdict it were Rangers fans who thought the panel was not so independent and were told by Celtic fans to grow up and accept it.

And now that the verdict has gone against the wishes of certain people... :D

The evidence clearly indicates a view among the management of 'oldco' that it might have been detrimental to the desired tax treatment of the payments being made to have disclosed the existence of these side-letters to the football authorities

Admin error? mutleypmsl.gif

And now that the verdict has gone against the wishes of certain people... :D

I suggest you read the report, the verdict is what everyone was expecting. It was the punishment that was unexpected