Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tees - do they make a difference?

• 26-02-2013 02:15PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭

I have been asked to review a few bits and pieces on my blog, and one of these is a new style of tee. So my question is this - do you think a tee's design makes a difference to your game?

If yes, why?

Is it psychological (e.g. some people only use wooden tees) or do you know/feel it makes a difference to the flight of the ball?

Does a tee make a difference to your golf game? 63 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    53% 34 votes
    I have no idea
    46% 29 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭plumber77

I have a preference for the wooden ones definitely. I think i's combination of the 2 3/4 inch ones being a good fit for my driver and a small bit of psychological reasons. Plus I don't fancy chasing a plastic tee around for the day, " where did that go?" situation..Not sure of the effect of them on ball flight though. I find with the bigger tees I find it hard to get the teeing up level correct. Not that its rocket science, its just I'm lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I prefer the "look" of a wooden tee, but love the confidence I get from a plastic tee with the driver, never having to worry about the height being wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

Don't think it makes any difference to performance however only use wooden tees. Was brought up using them and think I always will. Is a personal preference rather than making any difference to my game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Currently using wooden tees as I like to break it when I hit the driver but really that doesn't always happen!

All phsycological I reckon..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Plastic tee with the pre set stop on it for perfect height for driving.

If you are worrying too much after that about anything to do with a tee you are looking for excuses for bad shots IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Nothing better than hitting a sweet drive and seeing that wooden tee propel itself into the air.....

(^^^This never happens, but there'd be nothing better if it did)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

As others have said, the tees with height limitations are the only ones of any benefit to the average golfer (mainly for consistency of ball driving position).

Other than that, its a personal choice as any tee will do .... however a lucky tee will always gain preference ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭nomunnnofun

Has anyone ever gotten to the bottom of the age old question. Why did anyone make green plastic tees???:confused: I come across one every now and again and never manage to keep it for more than 4-5 holes. Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭lorenzo87

Plastic tee, I remember 1 tee lasted me 2 months before, ahhhhhhhhh, brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭lowelife

Has anyone ever gotten to the bottom of the age old question. Why did anyone make green plastic tees???:confused: I come across one every now and again and never manage to keep it for more than 4-5 holes. Madness.

So you are saying you would lose 3-4 a round compared to using only 1 -2 of another colour. Meaning you would have to buy the green one more often?

Nah not a clue either :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭D Hayes

I was using a "Martini Tee" for a while last year - http://martinigolftees.com/twist/

I was playing with a guy one day who had them. He was tilting the tee forward, as seen in the link above. He gave me one after the round. It claims to be virtually unbreakable. It lasted around 2 months.

And yes, I tilted the tee forward - it didn't help me anyway! Other golfers seem to think there's something wrong with you too when you're tilting it forward! A couple of times I got something along the lines of "your tee is tilted, did you know that"?!

I'm back to the wooden ones now. Easier to get into the ground, especially when it's cold and the ground is hard first thing in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Like some others have said - I like the plastic ones with the height set into them, if only for confidence. That said, I use wooden ones all the time too (It depends on what I can pull out of my pocket) and I always, always have a dirty broken wooden one for the par threes.

And no, I can't understand the green ones either, even though I'm looking at one on my desk right now which I used only two weeks ago (without losing it either nomunnnofun!)

Its all in your head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

I like to use wooden 2 3/4" tees with the driver, as I like to think I get some decent feed back on my swing plane, if I start getting a bit steep, I tend to start breaking them, whereas when I swinging well and sweeping through the ball with the driver the same tee will usually do me for the full round. Otherwise for irons or woods I'll just use little plastic ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

wooden tees all the way..because I'm worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Tom F

For me its got to be the plastic tee, it could be in the head but the consistence of the height helps me!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

When using the driver it's plastic tee because of the height, par 3 or hybrid I use broken wooden tees usually, generally loads lying around on tee boxes that do me fine when teeing low to the ground

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,930 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

During a moment of madness one day I got this.

http://www.4yardsmore.com/

It was more a case of longevity for me - not to be long ;) - It is funny 4 more yards (lol) - Oh no - need to take 4 yards off this 9 iron now into green.

I wanted something that would have constant height - it broke on me and I didn't bother again.

Cheap wooden tees can be a bit poorly machined - but great to get into ground. I play a fair bit of links golf and height adjustment for certain shots means a broken wooden tee is grand some days on par threes.

I did love the two thickness plastic tees as a young lad - but call me mad - they do seem a bit too ridged in the ground for an iron shot - grand for a driver. I think this is just in the head. Does a ridged tee cause a change in clubhead release ????? :eek: - sorry too much to think about playing golf alone some days.

Kevin - that last bit is in my head from another thread here on tees - was a funny one.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056561370&page=2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

Plain wooden tee for me. I can't stand the plastic tees with pre-set height as I like to vary the ball height depending on weather conditions and the shape of the hole.

Lower ball height promotes a low fade, higher tee height promotes a high draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I was playing golf in Florida last year. When I went to buy some tees they told me that only wooden tees are allowed. Something to do with environmental regulations. I think it had more to with selling more tees, you only get 1 drive from each tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I was playing golf in Florida last year. When I went to buy some tees they told me that only wooden tees are allowed. Something to do with environmental regulations. I think it had more to with selling more tees, you only get 1 drive from each tee.

Wooden tees degrade, unlike plastic ones, so are more environmentally friendly. Personally I like the look of a wooden tee. I use these, as the painted line means you always tee the ball the same height.. http://www.pridegolftee.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭1967

Plastic for me as i get them for free from two lads i know manufacture them here in waterford :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭shaneon77

I once spent €8 on two "unbreakable" hinged tees. I mouthed off about them to my dad and brother like a great lad. Smashed the first one into smithereens with my first tee shot to great amusement all round. I don't recommend them. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Wooden tees degrade, unlike plastic ones, so are more environmentally friendly. Personally I like the look of a wooden tee. I use these, as the painted line means you always tee the ball the same height.. http://www.pridegolftee.com/

I dont think its that clear cut.
    Wooden ones require trees to be chopped down and are pretty much non-reusable.
    Plastic ones last multiple rounds (I dont know when I last broke a plastic tee)
    Also, the wooden ones degrade *eventually*, meanwhile they sit just above ground level and knacker the mower blades leading edge whereas a plastic one gets sliced...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,636 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

GreeBo wrote: »
    I prefer the "look" of a wooden tee, but love the confidence I get from a plastic tee with the driver, never having to worry about the height being wrong.

this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭SimonLynch

My Dad won a box of 'brush tees' about 5 years ago, he collapsed about 3 years ago after 18 holes at Carton House, made sure he got the full 18 holes in :-) and died shortly after. I inherited the brush tees, they're like little shaving brushes you stick in the ground upside down, stuck them in the bag. I was spring cleaning the bag last year and decided they had to go, waste of space, opened them up to have a look at them and found he'd put a plastic bank bag with thirty odd euro inside. Bought a couple of rounds in his honour :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,930 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

SimonLynch wrote: »
    My Dad won a box of 'brush tees' about 5 years ago, he collapsed about 3 years ago after 18 holes at Carton House, made sure he got the full 18 holes in :-) and died shortly after. I inherited the brush tees, they're like little shaving brushes you stick in the ground upside down, stuck them in the bag. I was spring cleaning the bag last year and decided they had to go, waste of space, opened them up to have a look at them and found he'd put a plastic bank bag with thirty odd euro inside. Bought a couple of rounds in his honour :-)

Great story - but, Why did they have to go ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I reckon if they did tests with one of those robotic arms hitting off wooden and plastic tees the difference would be negligible.

99% of it is in the head of the golfer - which means that the tee used matters a hell of a lot :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

I use the plastic tee as well solely because the height is constant. Plus they act as a fag holder on my Go-Kart when I'm teeing off.
    I carry another bag of 1 inch tees for the par 3's,but that's just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Have always used wooden tees. Now wouldn't use anything else. Dunno why.
    Except ;

Varying the tee height is something I'd deliberately do in certain circumstances ;
    I'd find it easier to hit a 'power fade' off a lower than normal tee, and conversely if I'm looking to hit a high draw I'd tee it up a little higher. Also the broken tees are useful on Par 3s, again varying lengths for differing shaped shots depending on wind & pin position. (Please note; these preparations don't prevent me from fcuking up shots).

Heard the (probably apocryphal) story about the guy who wins a club draw to play in the JP McM's ProAm in Limerick.
    Can't believe his luck when he's drawn in Tiger's group. TW is polite but says little for the first hour.
    Then takes our man aside and says
    'Can a give you a tip ?'.
    Well, our lad is ecstatic, can't believe his good fortune, surely this is the end of all his golfing woes.
    TW says 'Don't use coloured tees, they will mark your driver face' & walks on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭LinksLad

Use the plastic ones for the consistent height. That, and, when I get right under the odd drive, at least either the ball or the tee has got past the ladies tees!