Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fuses getting Hot

• 14-05-2012 10:40AM
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The fuse board in our house is over 30 years old and still uses the old screw in type fuses. One particular fuse is very hot all the time and two other fuses are a little warm. Is it normal to have hot fuses on a board like this?? Is the board passed it best and needs changing?? Any input would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

The fuse board in our house is over 30 years old and still uses the old screw in type fuses. One particular fuse is very hot all the time and two other fuses are a little warm. Is it normal to have hot fuses on a board like this?? Is the board passed it best and needs changing?? Any input would be appreciated.

It shouldn't be getting hot. Do you know what the fuse is feeding? Have you taken the fuse out and inspected it?

Yep you could definitely do with getting the board upgraded. It might not cost too much, depending on the state of the rest of the wiring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Definitely check which circuit it's feeding and verify the rating is correct. It was common to just stick in a stronger fuse if there was a problem with fuses blowing.
    I've seen a few fuses wired through too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭mickger844posts

The particular fuse is feeding a double socket in the Kitchen and also two sockets in separate bedrooms upstairs. The one in the Kitchen runs the washing machine at times and also has an automatic outside light wired to it. The one in the bedroom runs my PC 24/7 which wouldn't be a huge load i would imagine. The fuse rating is 25A. I took out the fuse and it does have a burned look on the metal contact. Anything else i should be checking??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Anything else i should be checking??

Not really.
    Get a qualified sparks to check it out.
    Best be safe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

The particular fuse is feeding a double socket in the Kitchen and also two sockets in separate bedrooms upstairs. The one in the Kitchen runs the washing machine at times and also has an automatic outside light wired to it. The one in the bedroom runs my PC 24/7 which wouldn't be a huge load i would imagine. The fuse rating is 25A. I took out the fuse and it does have a burned look on the metal contact. Anything else i should be checking??

The fuse ratting is too big, should be only 20A. Have you unscrewed the fuse and looked at the colour of the gauge ring?

I would guess the 20A fuse was blowing with all the loads that were on it, and someone changed (or removed) the gauge ring :eek: and put in a 25A fuse in.

Definitely get someone out to have a look and quote on replacing the board. Updating the board will be a good investment anyway and offer much better protection.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭mickger844posts

The fuse ratting is too big, should be only 20A. Have you unscrewed the fuse and looked at the colour of the gauge ring?

I would guess the 20A fuse was blowing with all the loads that were on it, and someone changed (or removed) the gauge ring :eek: and put in a 25A fuse in.

Definitely get someone out to have a look and quote on replacing the board. Updating the board will be a good investment anyway and offer much better protection.

Thanks Guys

I contacted an electrician with regards the problem and getting a new board so hopefully he will get to do the job asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

It sounds like the fuse in question was too loose in its holder. It was 25 amp, and that may have been ok if it was a ring socket circuit, but even if it should have been a 20 amp, a 25 should`t of caused overheating of the fuse itself

Loose fuse is/was the likely cause with it not being screwed in tightly enough, indicated by the burning of the contact.

robbie7730 wrote: »
    It sounds like the fuse in question was too loose in its holder. It was 25 amp, and that may have been ok if it was a ring socket circuit, but even if it should have been a 20 amp, a 25 should`t of caused overheating of the fuse itself

Loose fuse is/was the likely cause with it not being screwed in tightly enough, indicated by the burning of the contact.

Spot on Robbie. The electrician tightened the fuse and it solved the issue to a certain extent but i can still hear a little crackling from it. He is coming back Thursday to change the fuse board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭atkin

I am changing my old screw in fuse board also.I got cracking/sizzling and it runs a little hot.
    You can put a 1 cent piece in the fuse to take up slack as a temporary measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Giving advice like that over an open forum is idiotic and stupid!
    NEVER EVER put anything metal like a coin near a fuse board unless you are 100% certain in your knowledge of electricity!

Electricity kills!If you have an issue with a fuse board contact a RECI registered electrician...most will advice over the phone for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

atkin wrote: »
    I am changing my old screw in fuse board also.I got cracking/sizzling and it runs a little hot.

MADNESS.... never put anything into a fuse board, get an electrican before you need an ambulance,
    POSTER little knowledge, dangerous advise....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

MrMac84 wrote: »
    NEVER EVER put anything metal like a coin near a fuse board unless you are 100% certain in your knowledge of electricity!

Electricity kills!If you have an issue with a fuse board contact a RECI registered electrician...most will advice over the phone for free.
    I agree, if you are a homeowner, buggur away from the fuse board. And if you have an older, screw in type fuse board, get it changed to a ELCB type, asap. I've seen numerous fires from overloading of these older fuseboards, the wiring employed is usually hard core with crap old rubber insulation.

This is strong stuff and will carry massive loadings, the downside is it gets very hot, shorts easily and won't trip anything, hence arcing, and fires. Also, it will give you a nice, toasty 25 amp shock without tripping or blowing, usually your the fusible link in the set-up. Get rid, and get a modern board. have a good root at the wiring while ye are at it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Stupid advice the worst thing is to no this your either a sparks or a dummy.

Mods you have a responsibility to close this guys account.

Why is that?

Not great advice the poster gave alright, but it was not unheard of in the days of gauge rings and fuse holders.

Certainly not advisable.

What's not great advice??

Don't put anything metal near a fuse board or contact a RECI registered sparks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Bruthal wrote: »
    Why is that?

Why because on this site if someone has a headache you tell them to take a headache tablet. Fair enough I see the point.

You can't post on anything illegal. Fair enough I understand.

But telling some to do this on a live fuse board that is give trouble and heating up is down right irresponsible.

No offense to the op but if he can't even figure out himself that the fuse is also loose he obviously hasn't a clue about what he is looking at. As I said no offense you obviously can't know everything.

But then someone with knowledge telling an amature to do this when the fuse board obviously not operating correctly. Not only is it illegal to work on electric's if your not registered or qualified there is plenty of advise about fires etc etc.
    is there kids in the house.

Op you got an electrian fair play that's what this site is for to tell you yes you need someone professional well done for acting on the problem.

But as said before electricity kills it also starts fires and they kill aswell. I'm not saying this will happen but don't increase the odds.

Why am I over reacting

I never told him do anything on a live fuse board...I told him contact a RECI registered sparks

Ye quoted me lads but are talking about they guy who said put the coin in!thats where it got messy I think

What's not great advice??

Don't put anything metal near a fuse board or contact a RECI registered sparks?

Not great advice the poster gave to put coins into fuseboards. But they didnt actually go into the fuseboards when it was done. It was into the fuse holder when gauge rings were missing. No real danger of anything major happening, the main problem was it allowed too big a fuse to be used if the proper gauge ring was not re fitted.

It is not really a factor these days with mostly MCB boards.

I never said put coins in a fuse board!i told the op don't put ANYTHING metal near a board!

Why because on this site if someone has a headache you tell them to take a headache tablet. Fair enough I see the point.

You can't post on anything illegal. Fair enough I understand.

But telling some to do this on a live fuse board that is give trouble and heating up is down right irresponsible.

No offense to the op but if he can't even figure out himself that the fuse is also loose he obviously hasn't a clue about what he is looking at. As I said no offense you obviously can't know everything.

But then someone with knowledge telling an amature to do this when the fuse board obviously not operating correctly. Not only is it illegal to work on electric's if your not registered or qualified there is plenty of advise about fires etc etc.
    is there kids in the house.

Op you got an electrian fair play that's what this site is for to tell you yes you need someone professional well done for acting on the problem.

But as said before electricity kills it also starts fires and they kill aswell. I'm not saying this will happen but don't increase the odds.

Why am I over reacting

Well then, if there is that big a risk of fire, then no one only registered electricians should replace fuses, as not being tight enough causes as much problems to a fuseboard as anything else.

But besides that, I cant see why a poster should have an account closed for posting bad advice.

Anyway I myself told the OP the likely problem in post #8, and they acknowledged that in post #9, almost 1 year ago, so I think they are probably sorted now at this stage.

I never said put coins in a fuse board!i told the op don't put ANYTHING metal near a board!

I know, my post was agreeing with you saying it is bad advice, not saying you gave bad advice.

Not great wording on my part.

But it is nothing like the lethal sort of scenario suggested here. I myself did it once or twice to get people through the night until a proper fix could be done, when gauge rings were badly burnt. The last time would be over 20 years ago now.

I wouldnt give advice on here for others to do it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭grange mac

This is the guy with Shockingly bad advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Holy shit.
    Seriously, what would make you think that this is a good idea to put up.
    That's reckless advice to give anyone, tbf.

Really anyone that read this post, and is considering it.... DONT!

Al Capwned wrote: »
    Holy shit.
    Seriously, what would make you think that this is a good idea to put up.
    That's reckless advice to give anyone, tbf.

Really anyone that read this post, and is considering it.... DONT!

While I already have said it is not good advice, and I wouldnt recommend it, is anyone going to tell me what the high risk dangers involved are if an electrician does that on an old style fuseboard? Like I said, I did it as a temporary measure many years ago myself when gauge rings were too oxidised to leave in the fuseboard.

Again, for the perfectionists which boards has many of, I dont recommend doing it in any way shape or form. It is bad advice to put up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

I'm not a perfectionist at all mate, nor am i an electrician but I do recognise bad advice when I see it.

Edit - just read back on this, and it may sound confrontational - not meant to be at all.

I'm not a perfectionist at all mate, nor am i an electrician but I do recognise bad advice when I see it.

I am not saying you are. I said boards has many.

A coin in the back of a fuse holder allows the fuse to be tightened with a burnt gauge ring removed. Like I said, I did it, until I got a gauge ring the next day to replace the removed one.

Boards tends to have people come in horrified, as if shooting an apple off someones head was advised.

If i posted that I had used a coin like this before, would the same horror reactions have ensued, or was it purely based on someone advising doing it?

Advice which I dont condone myself as said multiple times now.

Edit - just read back on this, and it may sound confrontational - not meant to be at all.

No not at all, your grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

"The one in the Kitchen runs the washing machine at times and also has an automatic outside light wired to it. "

I'm not an electrician, but to the best of my knowledge sockets and lights should not be on the same circuit. Might want to mention this to your electrician.