If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Couple of spins around the ring of Hook over the weekend, some pics here. A lazy and very pleasant 100k over two short spins, thoroughly enjoyable. Saw a couple of lads from the Barrow Wheelers on the road and was chatting to one this morning. Must make a point of getting out with them next time I'm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Did 105km today in heavy wind with many hills. I did first 60km with my club it was the slower pace group and i found the pace too slow so after cycle took straight off myself and did 45km. I led the club from the front for nearly all of that cycle as I was the strongest cyclist in the group.

On my own cycle , I did first 30km at a pace over 33km/h. Last 15km was torture and pathetic to be fair, slight inclines heavy wind blowing against me and legs turned to jelly after 90km and my average speed dropped down to under 20km/h. I would have been seriously dropped if i was with faster club members at that point. Im not sure if even my last 15km is worth calling a cycle but il add it into my total all the same. Also my longest cycle this year so its not so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Is it really that windy out?!

Zyzz wrote: »
    Is it really that windy out?!

Yes, nearly got into a wobble twice today when wind caught my bike and it was only luck that I held on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Amprodude wrote: »
    Yes, nearly got into a wobble twice today when wind caught my bike and it was only luck that I held on.

Damn :( had planned to head out for a spin later, doesn't look too bad outside though

Zyzz wrote: »

Damn :( had planned to head out for a spin later, doesn't look too bad outside though

Not a bad day for cycling, but be careful all the same. Nothing more scary than getting into a wobble when a gust of wind catches your bike. It happened to two other riders today on our spin but no accidents thank god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭chester3455

Did the donal crowley memorial in cork today.great spin and well organised.and a chicken curry dinner after :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Nice 75km out in NCD this morning. Up snowtown and all the way back around the airport. Enjoyable but a strangely strong breeze even though it looked calm

Did similar route yesterday, Garristown, Naul and back to Glasnevin via Oldtown. For once the forecast for the weekend was right and Saturday was definitely the calmer day. Great to get back out around the North County even if the fitness and average left a lot to be desired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,976 ✭✭✭secman

Killenagh to balleyedmund, boolavogue, ferns, Camolin, Gorey, Ballycanew, Killenagh.small loop home . 60km, average 23km per hour. Head wind from ferns back.
    legs in a jock, too much gardening yesterday !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Met my nemesis again today on the Rock road: Mr. Specialized MTB.

Again he doesn't think red lights seem to apply on the open road.

Douche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭burger1979

Navan,to Trim, to Summerhill, to Rathmoylan, back to Trim, then Navan. 55Km's in all, 2 hrs 10mins cycle time, avg speed 24Km/hr. I actually headed out with Navan Road at the start but got dropped after a few hundred mts, legs were still heavy from football on Sat afternoon and they were the serious group that headed out. Kept going on my own though and enjoyed it, great day for cycling yesterday. There was a bit of a head wind though from Trim to Summerhill and it was a little energy sapping. I would like for next week to break 70Km's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Did the Donal Crowley Memorial 100k yesterday. My first 100k spin. Great day. Grand for about 85k but the very strong headwind coming home made the last 15k very tough for me. Great to get it under the belt. The three lads I was with had to wait about an hour for me as they were in the lead group! Ah well, we all have to start somewhere. +1 on the chicken curry dinner afterwards ... delicious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Hatcho

Pedalled home from work today - and did it in the quickest time yet! 30.7kms in 57mins. Probably only average to most of ye but its still the quickest I've gotten home! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

Got my first puncture on the way to work this morning. Was quite proud of myself for swapping out the tube in only a few minutes and being back on the road quickly. Need a better pump though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭FirstinLastout

Beautiful day in Galway today so out West I go. Nice meandering 60k or so with plenty of stopping to take in the scenery, smile at the locals and generally just putter about.

8490189922_8d914a5b48_c.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Headed out of Ashbourne in the direction of Garristown and on to Naul, swinging left for Snowtown. Great view up there on a clear day like today! Hung a left at the crossroads after descending and left again for Greenanstown, dirty climb hitting almost 12% at some parts...so I done it 3 more times before heading back to Naul, through the village in the direction of Ballyboughal, taking a right at the crossroads back to Garristown and home again.

Managed 55.5kms and 885m climbing in 2hrs on the button!

Legs were still feeling a bit heavy after Sunday but managed to bag a few personal bests and jumped a heap of places on the leaderboards to take 2nd and 3rd places on Herbertstown and Greenanstown climbs :D

73k around East Clare and back thru Newmarket on Fergus. Tough wind on the way out. Easier coming home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭buffalo

Crazy crosswinds in Clontarf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

buffalo wrote: »
    Crazy crosswinds in Clontarf.

Yeah totally agree, however I hit my personal best on the commute run this morning so I can't complain too much, going home should be fun :D

Jocry wrote: »
    Yeah totally agree, however I hit my personal best on the commute run this morning so I can't complain too much, going home should be fun :D

Nicely done, I didn't manage to catch myself. :) I did however notice the shocking behaviour of some drivers on the coast road. Red light braking, speeding, unnecessary over-taking (well, I suppose it becomes necessary when you're speeding. Was tempted to start a thread in the motors forum. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

The strong winds are back :mad:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

colm_gti wrote: »
    The strong winds are back :mad:
    yeahbut, tonight they'll be *at* my back.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

just back from a 75k spin. might be a while before i fell my toes again!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,682 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Did a nice 40k late this afternoon, feckin cold though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭whacker00

130km.....snow....freezing and crashed along the coast road at St. Anne's park. Dam potholes it's a joke but I suppose you should really avoid them :) mostly the pride dented and just a hurty knee for the mrs to tend to ;)

Thanks to the passers by who stopped to pick me up

60k around South and East Clare. Beautiful day for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Headed up the Naul/Snowtown around 1000 today. Slushy roads and very cold. Reckon I recorded some of the slowest descents ever as the roads felt pretty slippy in spots - fine about half hours later on the way back. 63k, 650m climb 2:32.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

rode in and out to work today either side of a 12 hour shift. Minus 9 on the way in! Just below freezing on the way home

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/273302744

I used to live right around the corner from there, up the road from the Glatthoff, if you know it and then for a month or two across from the Movenpick.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭whacker00

4 hours on the turbo trainer today in Dundrum shopping centre to promote the upcoming into the west event in march, in aid of the Ross Nugent Foundation www.rossnugentfoundation.ie

Thanks to all for the support