Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

keane2097 wrote: »
    We're doing live scores from the Junior Club semi-final here if anyone wants to follow along:

http://www.livegaelic.com/scores/[/QUOTE]

A third day out for the Castleknock boys, last minute extra time point .. Kilkenny knocked over 10 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Can somebody on the Hill take "that whistle" and stick it where the sun don't shine.

dcr22B wrote: »
    Can somebody on the Hill take "that whistle" and stick it where the sun don't shine.

The ref Kinsella can do the same ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

dcr22B wrote: »

Love the Hill but it does attract it's fair share of absolute clowns. The lads with the bodhrans/drums, the idiots trying to get an "aaahh here leave it out" chant going:rolleyes: and as you say the pr!ck with the whistle. Does he not realise this could be as off putting for Dublin players as much as the opposition? Deserves a good slap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭Joekers

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Love the Hill but it does attract it's fair share of absolute clowns. The lads with the bodhrans/drums, the idiots trying to get an "aaahh here leave it out" chant going:rolleyes: and as you say the pr!ck with the whistle. Does he not realise this could be as off putting for Dublin players as much as the opposition? Deserves a good slap.

All part of the same bunch :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭but1er

done with the hill after saturday, that moran and his baron il shove it so far up his arse! utter moran and his ah here leave it out chant! doing my head in!

the dcu game and he was chatting your all pack of clutches to them? zzzz

Ah the comfort of 307 in da cusack, where the only warm feeling is me blanket and flask of tea, no one p1ssing down the back of yer leg .. yiz pack of bowsies :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

DoctaDee wrote: »
    A third day out for the Castleknock boys, last minute extra time point .. Kilkenny knocked over 10 points

Yeah it was a super game, Kilkenny and Paul O'Connor for Kenmare were the stand outs but Castleknock's Rory Corcoran was very good as well.

Kilkenny is remarkably talented. With him to come back in along with some of the youngsters on display for Dublin the last night the future is looking very bright for you lads.

Team to face Kerry

DUBLIN (SF v Kerry)
    1 Stephen Cluxton Parnells
    2 Jonny Cooper Na Fianna
    3 Rory O’Carroll Kilmacud Crokes
    4 Kevin O’Brien Naomh Mearnog
    5 Darren Daly Fingal Ravens
    6 Ger Brennan St Vincent’s
    7 Jack McCaffrey Clontarf
    8 Michael Darragh Macauley Ballyboden St Enda’s
    9 Emmett O Conghaile Lucan Sarsfields
    10 Paul Flynn Fingallians
    11 Diarmuid Connolly St Vincent’s
    12 Paddy Quinn Na Fianna
    13 Philip Ryan St Brigid’s
    14 Paddy Andrews St Brigid’s
    15 Bernard Brogan St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh

Same as last week except Philly Ryan in for Mannion. Happy enough with that. Didn't expect much change following a good win over Cork last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Doing live updates of the Castleknock game again here if anyone wants to follow along:

http://www.livegaelic.com/scores/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Dublinfan

Team to face Kerry

DUBLIN (SF v Kerry)
    1 Stephen Cluxton Parnells
    2 Jonny Cooper Na Fianna
    3 Rory O’Carroll Kilmacud Crokes
    4 Kevin O’Brien Naomh Mearnog
    5 Darren Daly Fingal Ravens
    6 Ger Brennan St Vincent’s
    7 Jack McCaffrey Clontarf
    8 Michael Darragh Macauley Ballyboden St Enda’s
    9 Emmett O Conghaile Lucan Sarsfields
    10 Paul Flynn Fingallians
    11 Diarmuid Connolly St Vincent’s
    12 Paddy Quinn Na Fianna
    13 Philip Ryan St Brigid’s
    14 Paddy Andrews St Brigid’s
    15 Bernard Brogan St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh

Same as last week except Philly Ryan in for Mannion. Happy enough with that. Didn't expect much change following a good win over Cork last week.

suprised O Conghaile he didnt play a very good game last week

• Subscribers Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Dublinfan wrote: »
    suprised O Conghaile he didnt play a very good game last week

Rubbish, as pointed out to you twice, you didn't even know who was who or where they were playing.

copacetic wrote: »
    Rubbish, as pointed out to you twice, you didn't even know who was who or where they were playing.

i made a mistake due to them being subbed in last minute:confused: so i dont get an opinion now no:rolleyes:

Good first half Dubs playing a strong game, hopefully will continue 2nd half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,393 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Giving us a lesson.

Ye look flying fit and strong.

Look like ye have 3 extra players.

Dubs will be very strong this year.

Great win for the Dubs. Kerry were very poor though. Cameras didn't show it but I'd be very disappointed if McAuley got himself involved with Donaghy. The dog on the street knows he's gonna wind the opposition up when he comes on. Probably miss two games now just as Bastick is coming back. Hurlers beating Wexford aswell. Happy days:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

Paddy Andrews had another good game and Mc Caffrey looked good as well... Dublin played very good football but Kerry were poor. There will be more sterner tests ahead but good to see so much talent coming through and on the bench.

Looking forward to Kildare Match , both teams looking very good and should be a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭exador

exador wrote: »
    Paddy Andrews had another good game and Mc Caffrey looked good as well... Dublin played very good football but Kerry were poor. There will be more sterner tests ahead but good to see so much talent coming through and on the bench.

Looking forward to Kildare Match , both teams looking very good and should be a cracker.

Getting ahead of myself...Mayo next..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Great to see the Internet police on here sticking up for K Donaghy. Dublin beat s poor Kerry team in Feb means nothing, a bit like Kikdare beating 14 man Cork. Different teams come Champo.

ArielAtom wrote: »
    Great to see the Internet police on here sticking up for K Donaghy. Dublin beat s poor Kerry team in Feb means nothing, a bit like Kikdare beating 14 man Cork. Different teams come Champo.

It means there in better shape then kerry are:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ariel Atom wrote: »
    Great to see the Internet police on here sticking up for K Donaghy. Dublin beat s poor Kerry team in Feb means nothing, a bit like Kildare beating 14 man Cork. Different teams come Champo.

In fairness I don't think DK is picking up for KD :D He is just pointing out that no matter who the lads playing the game and what we personally think of them they shouldn't be personally abused here,Having said that not to fond of the lad (thats KD not DK) myself but I shall keep that for the mirror.

Well done all the Dubs today, looking good.

No need for name calling. Donaghy may be "a tool" as you so eloquently put it but he is a talented tool.. No need for anyone to call any players names on an Internet forum.

Well done to Dublin both codes btw.

In Kieran Donaghy's case I respectfully disagree

Then keep your opinion to yourself.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Then keep your opinion to yourself.

Is the whole point of an internet forum not for expressing your opinions:confused:

Calling someone you don't know a tool is not an opinion.

Its ignorance. You are basing your judgment of Donaghy on what?

A few shots of him shouting on RTE?

MDMA gets sent off, and its "that tool Donaghy's" fault?

You don't like him, thats fine, but don't abuse him, keep it to yourself.

Calling someone you don't know a tool is not an opinion.

Its ignorance. You are basing your judgment of Donaghy on what?

A few shots of him shouting on RTE?

MDMA gets sent off, and its "that tool Donaghy's" fault?

You don't like him, thats fine, but don't abuse him, keep it to yourself.

Didn't say it was Donaghy's fault for MDMA gettin sent off, I said it was his own fault for gettin involved with Donaghy.

I'm basing my judgement on how Donaghy carries himself in games. I've seen it on several occasions with my own two eyes (I do go to games, I don't have to rely on TV replays). He's a sneaky player who regularly does his best to wind the opposition up and get players sent off. Likes to dish it out but can't take it.

You're right I don't know him. Maybe off the pitch he's a decent fella but on the pitch he's one of the most dislikeable players in the country and I don't think there are too many who'd disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

Could the moderator who deleted my post tell me why it was removed?

Didn't say it was Donaghy's fault for MDMA gettin sent off, I said it was his own fault for gettin involved with Donaghy.

I'm basing my judgement on how Donaghy carries himself in games. I've seen it on several occasions with my own two eyes (I do go to games, I don't have to rely on TV replays). He's a sneaky player who regularly does his best to wind the opposition up and get players sent off. Likes to dish it out but can't take it.

You're right I don't know him. Maybe off the pitch he's a decent fella but on the pitch he's one of the most dislikeable players in the country and I don't think there are too many who'd disagree.
    Thats a valid opinion.

No problem with you saying that. I can see why a lot of people don't like him. He mouths a lot, but he has a tough time of it.

I don't think he's been awarded a free since about 2006. Referee's don't like him, mainly for his mouthing, and he suffers because of that.

A lot of the shít he gets into, is in protection of the smaller forwards like Gooch, when they are getting extra treatment off the ball. He's like an enforcer.

He's a mouth, but I disagree that he looks to wind up other players, and he is the opposite of sneaky. If Donaghy is getting involved in something its going to be out there, no underhandedness about it.

Thats just my opinion.

EDIT: On topic. Ye are motering this year. Huge panel very strong, very fit. Looked like ye had 3 extra players on the pitch today.
    Kerry were very poor, but that takes nothing away from Dublin. The score was bad enough, but if Andrews had kept his shot in the first half either side of Kealy, and if Brogan hadn't missed that soft free, the score could have really got out of hand.

As I said on the Kerry thread, don't think i've seen a worse 35 minutes out of Kerry as I saw in the first half. Great Dublin crowd down in Killarney, fair play to those who travelled.

Thats a valid opinion.

No problem with you saying that. I can see why a lot of people don't like him. He mouths a lot, but he has a tough time of it.

I don't think he's been awarded a free since about 2006. Referee's don't like him, mainly for his mouthing, and he suffers because of that.

A lot of the shít he gets into, is in protection of the smaller forwards like Gooch, when they are getting extra treatment off the ball. He's like an enforcer.

He's a mouth, but I disagree that he looks to wind up other players, and he is the opposite of sneaky. If Donaghy is getting involved in something its going to be out there, no underhandedness about it.

Thats just my opinion.

EDIT: On topic. Ye are motering this year. Huge panel very strong, very fit. Looked like ye had 3 extra players on the pitch today.
    Kerry were very poor, but that takes nothing away from Dublin. The score was bad enough, but if Andrews had kept his shot in the first half either side of Kealy, and if Brogan hadn't missed that soft free, the score could have really got out of hand.

As I said on the Kerry thread, don't think i've seen a worse 35 minutes out of Kerry as I saw in the first half. Great Dublin crowd down in Killarney, fair play to those who travelled.

Agree complety, Kerry played quite dirty at times aswell especially that goal chance when they where on top of cluxton think they mixed up rugby and gaa:D

Yeah, agree with you. We were cynical from the get go, fouling here there and everywhere, because we were second to the ball every time.

Only way we could slow ye down for a while was to drag ye down.

Early days yet though.

Kerry were flying in the league last year and we all know how the year went after that.

Still think Dublin will have the motivation, the strength and the fitness to go all the way this year. If ye match Donegal's physicality, I think ye have more then enough football in ye to win out.