If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Sean02

Jusr to remind you what 20' and sunshine is like. Last week got rid of longers, to-day short sleeves. Altea-Callosa-Polop-La Nucia-Altea. Tring out new Hyundai cam, its not a good buy! bad set up for cyclist or any sport for that matter.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9sWRwJzf5g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

Had a heartstopper on the way home last night. Coming down Grand Canal Street Upper and straight through the junction with Barrow Street. Cars were backed up in a single line and not moving so I filtered on the left (the line hadn't split into two until much further up). Traffic lights there were green and I could see a pedestrian at the lights. They were just standing looking down the road, to their left (never looked to their right towards me). About 1.5m away from them they just walk right out. Slammed the brakes and also used my foot to stop. Thankfully no contact but very, very close. Pedestrian looked at me for a moment and carried on. I looked at them and looked at the lights (wanted to be certain I hadn't run the light) and carried on. Although they were wearing headphones it does occur to me that I should have rung my bell - I do have it in my head that ringing my bell will be taken as aggression. Probably need to get over that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

What a glorious morning for a cycle! Even the wind appears to have died down slightly!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

colm_gti wrote: »
    What a glorious morning for a cycle! Even the wind appears to have died down slightly!

You werent out at the same time as me so!

I did get about 10 minutes of no or very little wind and enjoyed the cycle then. A 20 minute cycle into a strong headwind on the way home was a pain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

godtabh wrote: »
    You werent out at the same time as me so!

I did get about 10 minutes of no or very little wind and enjoyed the cycle then. A 20 minute cycle into a strong headwind on the way home was a pain

It's certainly not as strong as it was last week anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Was fairly breezy up on Military rd. Though this time the wind was in the back when climbing, and what a difference it made! Did the viewing point to featherbeds segment almost 2min faster than ever before even with the last minute being recovery (6min interval). Descending did require some pedaling though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭buffalo

Out along the seafront to Howth, gorgeous night for it - so many stars. From the carpark at the top, it was the most I've ever seen from within Dublin city limits I reckon. There was another car parked up there with the lights off, which I strategically avoided looking into. Not so the car that arrived while I was star-gazing. Pulled up so the passenger side could see out over the bay, with the dipped headlights beaming straight into the first car. For about two full minutes. :p

Good number of people out on Howth, I was surprised.

Also, sounded like someone was operating a chainsaw in St Anne's Park when I was passing.

I'm almost certain that someone said hello to me on Dame Street this evening while I went up that hill in front of City Hall. I had binged my bell because there were some pedestrians milling about, and traffic wasn't moving much. Nice to think someone thinks of it as a friendly hello!

Definitely got a "nice arse" on the way home at the bottom of Winetavern Street. Wasn't even in lycra. That's just how nice my arse is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

buffalo wrote: »
    I'm almost certain that someone said hello to me on Dame Street this evening while I went up that hill in front of City Hall. I had binged my bell because there were some pedestrians milling about, and traffic wasn't moving much. Nice to think someone thinks of it as a friendly hello!

Definitely got a "nice arse" on the way home at the bottom of Winetavern Street. Wasn't even in lycra. That's just how nice my arse is.

35cipgi2.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭EdRedbird

This was mine. http://connect.garmin.com/activity/97816806 A nice loop of road from my house on my Lapierre Technic 400 MTB. A fair bit of climbing, but compensating downhills. Great morning for it. Lots of track offroad for options on another day.

What type of bike.... what type of cycling....?

I am so proud looking at your avg speed....

EDITED - I just removed my maps on advise of a MOD. He has a point the map was showing home location and might atract undue attention... its a Sad worl but thanks for the advice

Like this

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Got out this morning for 2 hours whihch is a rare!

Did just over 56m with an average speed of 26.8kph. In the first hour the average speed was in the low 28kph. Really enjoying the cycling lately

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/270847768

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

http://app.strava.com/activities/40178740

Pleased with my distance and elevation from my spin today, but nothing like a coating of cow **** on my bike to take the sheen off my achievements. Had my first taste of an energy gel for the crack too, not as disgusting as I'd expected at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

Had my first taste of an energy gel for the crack

I dont think you eat that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dave04

Out for 2.5hrs 60 km on hills around Ballyfoyle /muckalee , bright and sunny with great views of co. Kilkenny , Beautifull country side only spoiled by people taking advantage of the remoteness to fly tip [ everywhere ] saw a large fridge freezer casualy dumped by side of road on back road to Comer , just looked so bizarre !! at least didnt have to rescue dumped dogs today. Hate moaning but just worrying how people think in todays society ....does anyone give a **** anymore??

Ricky91t wrote: »
    I cycled 8km yesterday in 19.56 minutes. Basically a 5km climb with a 70 meter elevation gain then a flat off road trail and then a downhill road cycle.

Was my last cycle before my ( first )race today :D

8km transporting two kids on the back - groceries on front half the time)
    30 Minutes .. as I forgot to pause my google tracks when
    Shopping in Lidl (Picking up and paying for a prepacked bag
    picking up gingerbread in the playcentre
    and stopping of at the fishmongers for some Dublin Bay Prawn

Moving time 31 Min (out of 39)
    Max speed 35.35
    Avg Speed 11.24
    33m Alt difference and 133 m Elevation gain
    Max grade 10%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

My cycle....
    Wasn't any easier, but I did go faster.

My cycle....
    LOL did you have two kids on the back and 10kg shopping in front ;) on a 3gear high Nelly ;)
    I am actually very surprised with mys stats , pleasantly surprised,
    I guess the saying "like riding a bike" is really true it never really leaves you

Cant wait for better weather and try a 20k.
    I probably wont last long distance as uphill with extra weight is a killer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

My cycle....
    thats progress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

First spin on the road this evening since Dec 2nd! 35 turbo sessions in between. 60k. Great to be back on the road. Felt much stronger than the last time I did that route. 9 minutes faster than my best. Lovely evening for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭denbatt

Lovely day. Managed to get a 2 hour 60k spin I before school run. 6 pr's which was nice:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Done a 15 miler tonight just to test out my new dynamo set up.i bought a new mavic wheel with shimano hub dynamo from bike discount in germany got a new Bush n Muller lumotec sensor plus light.pretty impresed with the set up but the light is no where near as bright as the cateye HL- EL540 but both combined were great lit up the whole road and if the roads were dry it would have been way better,
    so that was my spin tonight.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

EdRedbird wrote: »
    LOL did you have two kids on the back and 10kg shopping in front ;) on a 3gear high Nelly ;)
    I am actually very surprised with mys stats , pleasantly surprised,
    I guess the saying "like riding a bike" is really true it never really leaves you

Cant wait for better weather and try a 20k.
    I probably wont last long distance as uphill with extra weight is a killer

Sorry, please don't think I was being a troll, it was a play on words with the quote

“It doesn’t get any easier; you just go faster.” —Greg LeMond

And was only referencing my own fitness.
    Fair play on your spin!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

... shimano hub dynamo from bike discount in germany got a new Bush n Muller lumotec sensor plus light.pretty impresed with the set up but the light is no where near as bright as the cateye HL- EL540 but both combined were great lit up the whole road and if the roads were dry it would have been way better,
    Thats a nice set-up, but which BuM light did you get? The 60lux one is pretty bright (Cyo N?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Looked out the window this morning and was contemplating going to the gym but found the urge to get out on the bike for about 80km at an average 30km per hour around the NCD area. Got home wet and cold but satisfied with a goods days work on the bike. Now off to clean and lube and give the bike a bit of TLC:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

rp wrote: »
    Thats a nice set-up, but which BuM light did you get? The 60lux one is pretty bright (Cyo N?).

i got the light from a friend to try out its pretty good but its an older model R. i intend in a few months to get the new U light.(bit on the expensive side )
    it seems to be the dog's ,the dynamo lights are getting better and better just a matter of choosing the right one ;)
    the cat eye is brilliant but you need to keep it charged reason i went the dynamo route.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

I think I caused a domestic incident today. I was riding back from Wicklow Gap, my legs were fecked and I was on the last 10km home between Kilternan and Stepaside.

On the footpath in the distance I could see two small girl twins on balance bikes with an anxious father watching their every wobble. I thought I'd give some friendly encouragement by waving at them. Unfortunately, the first little girl stopped to wave back and the second girl bumped into the back of her bike and began a slow-motion topple to the ground while her concerned father tried to grab her. I didn't hear any wailing but I'd gone past them at that stage.

I hung my head in shame as I slogged the last bit up the drag, instead of encouragement I've probably instilled a fear of biking and bikes!

Would've stayed in bed, but I'd promised to help out at ladies' skill session in Corkagh Park. Some good riders in there, I'm looking forward to watch the domestic ladies' racing go from strength to strength over the next few years.

Saggart, Manor Kilbride, Blessington, N81 afterwards. Clocked up 90km all in, which is my longest spin since November and the onset of knee pain. Just about have it under control now, just in time for racing!

Done a 15 miler tonight just to test out my new dynamo set up.i bought a new mavic wheel with shimano hub dynamo from bike discount in germany got a new Bush n Muller lumotec sensor plus light.pretty impresed with the set up but the light is no where near as bright as the cateye HL- EL540 but both combined were great lit up the whole road and if the roads were dry it would have been way better,

How you find the drag?
    I think the shimano's are the beesknees compared to the old run of the tire ones
    Have no switch on my light so my front/back are always on
    Now only have to make a directional bridge so I can replace my standard bulbs with LED ones.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

70k around the roads of Clare with a group of five regulars, no rain, dry roads and apart from a failed free hub causing a call for a motorised pickup for one of the lads it was a great spin. Nice work out for Feb,nice hilly route, 70km at average 26 km/hr.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Went for a spin up the military road and met a bunch of skateboarders tearing down the hill just above the viewing point in the opposite direction. The new surface is pretty slick, and a lesson for other local authorities on what r-road surfaces can be like. Great as well to see the Dublin foothills being put to use as the playground they are by an ever more diverse group of people.

Coming back over the sally gap on the way home I met a stopped cyclist looking dismayed. Broken seat bolt, nothing to repair it with, and a long walk towards Enniskerry to meet a lift coming the other way. Not so good.