Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guinness n' Rollies 2: Off Topic Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

If someone said "the car needs washed" to me I would think they suffered from some sort of mental deficiency!! Words are there to be used!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

awec wrote: »
    In many cases, "the" is redundant.

There are many redundant words in modern sentences.

For example, The car needs to be washed. In this case, the "to be" is clearly redundant, and removing it does not change the sentences meaning.

Ah here, are ya joking? I'll give you this 20 page proposal and you find a place where I put in the word "the" that is redundant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Daisies wrote: »
    Ah here, are ya joking? I'll give you this 20 page proposal and you find a place where I put in the word "the" that is redundant!
    I love you and Grames :D:D

• Administrators Posts: 55,145 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

No way! I always say "the car needs washed". Or "the dinner needs made", "the clothes need cleaned".

It sounds weird and awful
    Don't do that

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

"Pass me butter". Ye know what that means, right? :P

No way! I always say "the car needs washed". Or "the dinner needs made", "the clothes need cleaned".

I know what it means, doesn't stop me thinking the person saying it is a bit "special" though!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 19,101 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Fee-fi-fo-fum, I smell the blood of a grammary one. :pac:

Fact of the matter is Awec, you are wrong! It's ok - it happens to all of us.....you more so than most! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

In from my course!

LEARN ALL THE THINGS*

*it is worth noting that my phone autocorrected "things" to "thongs"

I learned all the things too and made some quick changes to my assignment. Sending it in tomorrow. It better do well this time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I tried to learn all the things tonight.

Tomorrow, the learning will be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

Y'know, reading all that made me realise I actually pay attention in my linguistics classes :eek:
    Technically awecs right I think, you don't need to say the full sentence to be understood.

(It's*) Maybe not the best way to write a paper though :pac:
    *see, you understood what I mean without this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    I tried to learn all the things tonight.

Tomorrow, the learning will be better.

That's my plan too, can't face doing it now!

It's too late for such nonsense, to bed/the couch with you :pac:

Good luck with the assignment Bluey!

Y'know, reading all that made me realise I actually pay attention in my linguistics classes :eek:
    Technically awecs right I think, you don't need to say the full sentence to be understood.

(It's*) Maybe not the best way to write a paper though :pac:
    *see, you understood what I mean without this!
    Don't encourage it!!!

High five, Kitten!

You asked, we listened

6036-high-five-cat.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,196 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I remember I used to leave out "the" when writing German mainly because I could never remember al the fecking genders.

'It's a female dog! Why are we using the male form of "the"?!?'

CastorTroy wrote: »
    I remember I used to leave out "the" when writing German mainly because I could never remember al the fecking genders.

'It's a female dog! Why are we using the male form of "the"?!?'

I hate that languages assign genders to inanimate objects. It's a WORD, it doesn't have feelings, it won't be upset if you call it "it".

The only object I have assigned a gender to is my car :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

What's your cars name? :D

I agree with the Kitten. She knows her stuff. And she teaches, which proves beyond all doubt that I am correct.

High five, Kitten!
    Proves nothing, she's only a student teacher :p

Morning all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Pembily wrote: »
    Proves nothing, she's only a student teacher :p

Morning all.

Pssshhh,not for long with that kinda grammatical nincompoopery.

Morning all,happy hump day and only 3 more days til beers,beer cat is primed and literally chomping at the bit!

Necronos wrote: »
    Pssshhh,not for long with that kinda grammatical nincompoopery.

Morning all,happy hump day and only 3 more days til beers,beer cat is primed and literally chomping at the bit!
    Haha! Poor Kitten :pac:

Do we get to meet your lovely lady?

I find it difficult to remember all the dumbass genders in german as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Pembily wrote: »
    Haha! Poor Kitten :pac:

Do we get to meet your lovely lady?

Yep,she shall too be in attendance.

GGGGAAAAHHHHHH

Visa still not sorted! :mad: Just sent a strongly worded email to my bosses saying how unfair it is that we should be put in this situation. Ggggrrrrrr

Morning all! How are we?
    Daisies wrote: »
    Visa still not sorted! :mad: Just sent a strongly worded email to my bosses saying how unfair it is that we should be put in this situation. Ggggrrrrrr

aww that's sh!t - here have a red panda hug:

tumblr_lni75g4Ylx1qiexsao1_500.jpg

That is the cutest picture I've seen in a long time. I LOVE red pandas

bluewolf wrote: »
    I find it difficult to remember all the dumbass genders in german as well

That's why I chose French over German in school, I just couldn't be dealing with that three genders crap.

That sucks Daisies, I hope you get it sorted soon

If someone would be so inclined, a rasher sandwich would get me out of bed. Kthxbai.