Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Conlon (Guildford Four) demands release of Marian Price

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭SoulandForm

GRMA wrote: »
    Does anyone have an opinion on those points, or is the fact that she is a republican mean that you dont care, or dont think she deserves those things?

Its funny how the same people who want to appease the likes of Jamie Bryson and the Loyalist fleg rioters also want not an inch given to Republican militants.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Seems to me that saying more people will get killed if she stays in jail isn't a very convincing argument for letting her out, because it's a threat, not an appeal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭gallag

Mr Conlon and others cover it quite well.

Many people have come out in support of her release including numerous county councils including Dublins council with the motion receiving cross party support. They want her released on humanitarian grounds.

Are the blushirts etc who voted in favour of that psuedo dissident supporters or whatever etc in your opinion? Rather than people genuinely concerned with the mistreatment she has recieved?
    What mistreatment has she received?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

gallag wrote: »
    What mistreatment has she received?
    As I said Conlon outlines it quite well as have SF in numerous statements. A quick google should help you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

She is in hospital at the moment getting treatment for her illness. Once she is judged suitably healthy by the doctors put her back behind bars where she belongs after breaking the conditions of her release.

COYW wrote: »
    She is in hospital at the moment getting treatment for her illness. Once she is suitably healthy, put her back behind bars where she belongs after breaking the conditions of her release.
    She had been released for decades and was involved prominently in republican politics... how come she wasnt jailed decades ago? How come her sister and others released on license (its debatable as to whether she was on license) havent been jailed?

How can she have broken conditions of her release when she wasnt told of any conditions?

She has attended commemorations for decades and wasnt jailed.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Was this the first time she shared a platform with someone who threatened to kill policemen, or had she done it before?

She held a piece of paper what he read from, the courts accept that she didn't know what was on it, plus charges about that were dismissed. She was also granted bail.

Its a political decision to keep her in jail, not a judicial one, they granted her bail.

She was at dozens (hundreds probably) of events were speeches were made

She was granted bail over that incident. This is a case of her release licence being revoked though, no?

I think if you share a platform with someone making these kind of threats, it's only reasonable that your licence be revoked. In fact, you'd hope it would be.

Also, is she still charged with involvement of the killing of two soldiers at Massereene Barracks in 2009?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

And what exactly does the word "dissident" mean? I dont support the GFA. Infact Im opposed to it. Yet I dont support shooting police men, etc. The whole term is used to paint all those Republicans who reject the failed GFA as out and out mad bombers.

As somebody with only a passing interest in Northern Irelands socio/political scene I'd just like to confirm that GFA refers to the Good Friday Agreement ?

The main reason I ask,is that I find the term "failed" to be difficult to square away with fourteen years of relative normality and a hell of a lot more people alive and well than would have been the case otherwise.

Whilst I have no problem with you (or anybody) being opposed to the Agreement,the reality points to an agreement which has to be one of the most successful of it's type anywhere.

Whatever else the "GFA" may be,failed is not an accurate description out in the real world....?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »

Whatever else the "GFA" may be,failed is not an accurate description out in the real world....?

Why have "Peace walls" doubled in the last ten years or so?

Both sides were exhausted; lets face the facts though that it was sold to different people as meaning completely different things- the GFA just set up conditions for another conflict, which will in all likelihood be worse and more indiscriminately sectarian than the last. It hasnt tackled sectarianism at all and has given the key problem, British occupation of the northern counties, a legitimacy it never had before.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

It hasnt tackled sectarianism at all and has given the key problem, British occupation of the northern counties, a legitimacy it never had before.
    That's only the "key problem" from the perspective of one side. Which, ironically, betrays the real "key problem" - each side believes the other's genuine concerns to be the "key problem", and neither side is showing a great deal of interest in allaying the other side's concerns.

Both sides were exhausted; lets face the facts though that it was sold to different people as meaning completely different things- the GFA just set up conditions for another conflict, which will in all likelihood be worse and more indiscriminately sectarian than the last. It hasnt tackled sectarianism at all and has given the key problem, British occupation of the northern counties, a legitimacy it never had before.
    Where are these peace walls? There is only one gated peace wall in belfast.

That may well be true for yourself,however for myself and the people I associate with,the GFA allowed us to partake in (and enjoy) a cross border event involving several religions and none,all without any reservations.

Although,to be truthful,at least one of our number was "Disappointed" at the lack of Army presence on the streets...ye can't win em all I guess ??

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

At the risk of causing annoyance to some,could I ask what is your definition of "sectarianism" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Dubhlinner

Because before that the army performed the role they now serve

Doubt that very very much myself.

A peace agreement was never going to end sectarianism. though bombs not going off every week, members of the community not being killed by the IRA and loyalists every week has done an awful lot to reduce it.

Whatever people say the only harmful sectarianism these days is confined almost exclusively to working/under classes. "Mixed" marriages are massively on the increase which would suggest things are most certainly changing.

For the vast majority of people the GFA was a massive success so I don't think there's any real risk of another conflict. I agree it was sold to different people as different things, which is why I reckon a second wave of militant minded republicans appeared after SF accepted the PSNI; that was when it finally dawned on them they were duped.

The peace walls have not doubled, if anythin the iron ring around belfast has opend up. No more security checking every car and security checking womens bags on the way into shops. Its amazing that the people who seem to be against the gfa dont live here, they just get their info from propaganda papers etc.

Marian was released briefly this morning to pay her last respects to her sister. She's back in hospital again now. To get even this was a massive battle, she was initially denied compassionate release.

Marian is too sick to attend her sisters funeral tomorrow.

That in mind I think its clear that she is no danger to anyone - if she cant attend the funeral of her sister who she was extremely close to then what possible danger can she pose. She should be released immediately on humanitarian grounds.

Aprice-sisters.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Marian was released briefly this morning to pay her last respects to her sister. She's back in hospital again now. To get even this was a massive battle, she was initially denied compassionate release.

That in mind I think its clear that she is no danger to anyone - if she cant attend the funeral of her sister who she was extremely close to then what possible danger can she pose. She should be released immediately on humanitarian grounds.

Aprice-sisters.jpg
    That mistake was made before, I doubt it will happen again, she should never have aligned herself with organized crime when she was on a life liciense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭junder

gallag wrote: »
    She has dabbled in bombs before and likes to incite hatred and encourage the armed struggle to continue. I dont want her free in my country. I would also hold this opinion if she was uvf/uda etc but something tells me you would not be calling for her freedom then?

Micheal stone has bad arthritis, crippled by it by all accounts, I wonder if those so concerned by the plight of prisoners will be calling for his realise ?

junder wrote: »
    Micheal stone has bad arthritis, crippled by it by all accounts, I wonder if those so concerned by the plight of prisoners will be calling for his realise ?
    Marian Price held a piece of paper, what did he do again?

Made a fool of himself, but I thought this was about the conditions prisoners are kept in? Sure price only held a peice of paper but lets not forget who she was holding it for. Price clearly breached her licence conditions, she lost her licence, Job jobbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

the brits have reverted to type on the marian price debacle, dogmatic,vindictive and cruel. they use the gaol to try and break republicans but as usual they get it soooo wrong. the treatment of marian,especially now after her sisters death makes it quite clear that there is no such thing as british justice in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭Luca Brasi

And Ian Brady, Michael Sutcliffe while they are it

Made a fool of himself, but I thought this was about the conditions prisoners are kept in? Sure price only held a peice of paper but lets not forget who she was holding it for. Price clearly breached her licence conditions, she lost her licence, Job jobbed
    Even if she was on license, she wasn't told she was and didn't know of any conditions. Hardly fair is it?

"Made a fool of himself" is hardly the whole story is it? Michael Stone did not just have his license revoked. He was arrested for and convicted of (sentenced to 16 years) for attempting to murder Gerry Adams and MMG after he tried to storm Stormont with nail bombs, knives etc.

Worlds apart from holding a speech at a commemoration I think you'll concede.

Its not all about conditions, its to do with people being interned, being imprisoned unjustly.

But if it gets to the stage where he is extremely ill as Marian is I wouldn't object to him being released on compassionate grounds to be with his family if there were strict conditions in place to make sure he wasn't a threat to anyone

Even if she was on license, she wasn't told she was and didn't know of any conditions. Hardly fair is it?

"Made a fool of himself" is hardly the whole story is it? Michael Stone did not just have his license revoked. He was arrested for and convicted of (sentenced to 16 years) for attempting to murder Gerry Adams and MMG after he tried to storm Stormont with nail bombs, knives etc.

Worlds apart from holding a speech at a commemoration I think you'll concede.

Its not all about conditions, its to do with people being interned, being imprisoned unjustly.

But if it gets to the stage where he is extremely ill as Marian is I wouldn't object to him being released on compassionate grounds to be with his family if there were strict conditions in place to make sure he wasn't a threat to anyone

And what conditions would they be? Not associating with known terrorists or terrorist groups?

He tried to break into a government meeting in order murder people- yes thankfully he made a fool out of himself but it could easily have been different.

Anyway there is no comparison between a cold blooded dysfunctional sectarian killer and Marian Price.

He tried to break into a government meeting in order murder people- yes thankfully he made a fool out of himself but it could easily have been different.

Anyway there is no comparison between a cold blooded dysfunctional sectarian killer and Marian Price.

No it couldn't, stone had no chance, Gerry and mcgunniess ( and the rest of the mla's) where quite safe( I used to work at stormont so know how doomed to failed his plan was) All stone did was make a idiot of himself. Moreover I would say somebody who is capable of making or planting bombs to be a cold blooded dysfunctional killer so no I don't really see a difference between stone and price

You mean like stone who planted numerous pipe bombs around stormont? and had explosives he made on him?

He has shown he wanted to kill people and committed very serious crimes which he was convicted of, he's a proven mentally unstable and very dangerous killer

Price has done nothing like that and has only attended a commemoration she hasnt been caught trying to kill anyone

They are totally diferent

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-21199385
    McGlinchey, of no fixed address, is currently facing two sets of charges, that she allegedly provided a mobile telephone for a terrorist purpose on 8 March 2009, shortly before two soldiers were shot dead at Massereene barracks in Antrim and also that she aided and abetted a meeting in support of an illegal organisation on 25 April last year.

Given the two sets of charges she faces, one of which involves two people being killed and the other involving threats of killings, I think she's back in jail for more than just "holding a piece of paper".