Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's now fun to run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭dazza21ie

Friday 4th January

4.90 Miles @ 8:56

Same route as yesterday. Part of the route was used for the 5k I did last July, the markings can still be seen on the road. The roads are very exposed in these parts. I am more used to roads lined with trees. Even on a calm day like today you get hit with a strong head wind in some directions. Will explore a few other routes that I have thought off in the weeks ahead. Pacing was alot more consistent this time.

Note to self, do not start a conversation with someone just before lunchtime, it only delays getting ready and out running :D

Monday 7th January

4.94 miles @ 8:52

Didn't get out for a run over the weekend so the weekly total for last week was a lowly total of 13 miles (12.89 to be exact) :(

Hope to get four runs done at lunchtime this week. Plan then is to do a run Wednesday evening and another one either Saturday or Sunday.

Got first one for the week done today anyway. Same route as last week, getting used to it now which makes the run that little bit easier I find.

Tuesday 8th January

3..03 miles @ 8:52

Only really had half an hour for lunch today so was debating whether to bother at all going out. Knew that there was no chance of a run this evening and need to make the most of any opportunities going. Headed off a bit quick at the start but settled into the run and couldn't resist tagging on a little extra at the end to get over the 3 miles.

Wednesday 9th January

8.28 miles @ 9:01

Had been thinking of doing some sort of session for this run but given that my highest weekly mileage for the last 3 weeks has been 15 miles I thought I would just keep it easy and a bit longer.

Was very cold and dark out. Done my usual loop for this distance. The main difference in doing this late night as opposed to early morning is the extra traffic that is on the roads. Even the little country roads that probably is half the run.

After having a little giggle at Career Move's dog experience before I headed out for the run I thought that was going to come back and haunt me. Around the 4 mile marked I was running past a house with a high wall and hedge and all of a sudden I hear the growling noises of some vicious beast from behind the wall. I could hear him moving around but there was no sound of any chain holding him back. I was just waiting for him to jump out in front of me. Would have been a good time to check the heart rate if I had one of those HRM's! Probably will see a little scrap of a pup in this garden come summer time.

Thursday 10th January

4.92 miles @ 8:56

Still quite cool out there today and windy. My left calf felt a bit tight heading off but that went away after the first mile but then came back near the end of the run up a slight climb. Will have to do some extra stretching and rolling tonight. Legs still getting used to being back running regularly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

How is your baby Dazza, is it in a routine yet?

rasher_m wrote: »
    How is your baby Dazza, is it in a routine yet?

He is doing good thanks. He getting into a little routine alright, he is settling better at night in between feeds which means much appreciated sleep!!

Friday 11th January

4.91 miles @ 8:53

This felt so much easier than yesterdays run despite the ever so slight increase in pace. Calf was a little tight at the start but that went away quite quickly which is good. Need to be more disciplined with stretching all the same and maybe do some of this core work I hear everyone talking about :)

Sunday 13th January

4.2 Miles @ 9:54

Had planned to go out for a longer run for this one but a mixture of very little sleep on Saturday night and lazyness nearly had me cancel run altogether. Decided to go out and do the bare minimum required to get me in to the 30's for the week. Probably good that I wasn't planning on going to long with this one because left calf was a bit tight again. A bit of rolling afterwards seemed to ease things off.

Week Summary
    No. of Runs |Week Total|January to Date|YTD | Weight
    6|30.28 |43.24|43.24| 89.2 kg

Monday 14th January

5.7 Miles @ 8.55

The novelty of running at lunchtime has worn off. It's cold inside let alone outside so was rushing out the door. As always, once out your grand. Silly calf was a little sore starting off again. Decided to take a different route for a change and turned off down a country road after a mile. The next mile and half was really enjoyable, quite a peaceful route. Then I turned back and realised why I was enjoying it so much, it had been a gradual decline which now had to be climbed again. A nice run all the same.

Tuesday 15th January

5.02 miles @ 8:49

Took a different route again today. After about a mile and half turned off onto another country road. It was quite narrow but you are flanked on but sides with nice lakes. Turned back after 3 miles and legs were feeling pretty good. Pace picked itself up a bit from there and for a change it was downhill or flat for the last half a mile. Another good run, just wondering now whether should try a session tomorrow evening. Had been planning on just keeping it easy this week again, not sure now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

I'd do a session......just for the craic ;)

Think I will, have eight weeks counting this one to the Bundoran 10 so might start with week 1 of Meno's 10 mile sessions see how I get on.

Wednesday 16th January

7.28 miles @ 8:25

Made a terrible attempt at a session last night. Aim was 1 Mile w/p followed by 3x2 miles at 10 mile pace with 4 min recoveries and 1 mile w/d.

Got the warm up and warm down parts right but made a right pigs ear of the rest. Hadn't really thought things out much before heading out. Didn't bring the head torch with me despite knowing that I was going to be running over unlight roads and paths. Did manage to get a few miles at 10 mile pace in but it was a very stop start run that didn't really resemble the planned session. At least the legs and lungs have been given an idea of the desired pace. Plan is to try the same session again next Wednesday and try and HTFU a bit.

Thursday 17th January

4.01 miles @ 9:12

Another different route. Was investigating this one to see if it would be suitable for recovery runs in the future as it is a little shorter. First 1 and half miles were along familar footpaths and then I turned into the country. Was meet with a lung buster of a hill that took plenty not to stop and walk up. After this it was quite pleasant as it was mostly downhill again :). Don't think it will be a recovery route but another one to add to the memory bank.

Friday 18th January

4.92 miles @ 8:54

Cold, wet and windy, my least favorite combination of weather for running. Took around 2 miles to get warmed up if you could call it that out there. It wasn't too bad after that but was one that I was glad to get finished.

Sunday 20th January

10 Miles @ 9:07
    Sunday nights are a terrible time to schedule a long run but needs must. Just wanted to get the mileage for this one into double digits. Will hopefully be able to work on building it up again over the next few weeks. Legs felt good throughout and could have easily have done another few miles if asked, so they tell me anyway :)

Week Summary
    6|36.94 |80.18|80.18| 87.8 kg

Monday 21st January

5.18 @ 9:03

Had a bit of stiffness in around my left hip from last nights run. Headed off nice and easy for this one, no real route in mind just over a mixture of parts of previous routes with a couple of turn backs thrown in. Pace picked up a little as the run went on. Stiff was gone at the finish and legs felt good throughout.

Tuesday 22nd January

5.23 miles @ 8:52

Nice enough day for a run today, it was cold out but no wind, rain or sleet to contend with. Actually think I felt a bit of sunshine hit my back.

How is the bambino Dazza, settling in well?

He was great craic last night, up till 3 am, but in fairness to him he had been very good for the last few nights. He just wasn't tired and wanted some company. I reckon babies are made cute so you can't be annoyed with them!

How things with you, any sign of that injury clearing up yet?

dazza21ie wrote: »
    He was great craic last night, up till 3 am, but in fairness to him he had been very good for the last few nights. He just wasn't tired and wanted some company. I reckon babies are made cute so you can't be annoyed with them!

How things with you, any sign of that injury clearing up yet?

Yeah, defo...he sounds like a little gooch.
    I went for a brisk walk about two weeks ago and was getting a sore ankle just standing the next day. So I've been really good since, driving everywhere and resting it. I'll give it 2 more weeks and then try to get back at it. Your training is coming on great.

Yeah, defo...he sounds like a little gooch.
    I went for a brisk walk about two weeks ago and was getting a sore ankle just standing the next day. So I've been really good since, driving everywhere and resting it. I'll give it 2 more weeks and then try to get back at it. Your training is coming on great.

Here's hoping a bit of rest will get you sorted.

Yeah training going ok for me, trying to keep things consistent, get 30-40 miles in a week and work on the sessions. Having a few niggles so am thinking alot more about stretching etc.

Wednesday 23rd January

9 miles @ 8:29

Session take two! Did not feel like going out for this one, was thinking of every excuse in head trying to talk myself out of it. However, because I wasn't sure I would get out for the next two days at lunchtime I guilted myself into going out. Once out I reckoned I should make the most of it and try last week's session again.
    So plan was 1 mile warm up followed by 3 x 2 miles intervals at 10 mile pace with 4 mins recovery and then warm down. My 10 mile target time would be sub 80 mins which is anything under 8 mins/mile pace. So was aiming for 7:55 - 7:59 pace. Splits for the intervals were:

8:01 & 7:50, 7:56 & 7:56, 7:55 & 7:58

Can't complain with them at all. Was pretty pleased to get this one done given recent history with attempted sessions. After the first set of miles it was easier to have a feel of the required pace.

Thursday 24th January

4.20 Miles @ 9:27

Was back at the office early than expected today so was glad to get this one in. Had a bit of stiffness in the legs at the start but that eased its way out. Kept things easy.

Have finally lost my big toenail that had been bravely hanging on siince the marathon. It decided to call time on itself after yesterdays run. I think that was 3 off for that marathon.

dazza21ie wrote: »
    Wednesday 23rd January

9 miles @ 8:29

Session take two! Did not feel like going out for this one, was thinking of every excuse in head trying to talk myself out of it. However, because I wasn't sure I would get out for the next two days at lunchtime I guilted myself into going out. Once out I reckoned I should make the most of it and try last week's session again.
    So plan was 1 mile warm up followed by 3 x 2 miles intervals at 10 mile pace with 4 mins recovery and then warm down. My 10 mile target time would be sub 80 mins which is anything under 8 mins/mile pace. So was aiming for 7:55 - 7:59 pace. Splits for the intervals were:

8:01 & 7:50, 7:56 & 7:56, 7:55 & 7:58

Can't complain with them at all. Was pretty pleased to get this one done given recent history with attempted sessions. After the first set of miles it was easier to have a feel of the required pace.

Thursday 24th January

4.20 Miles @ 9:27

Was back at the office early than expected today so was glad to get this one in. Had a bit of stiffness in the legs at the start but that eased its way out. Kept things easy.

Have finally lost my big toenail that had been bravely hanging on siince the marathon. It decided to call time on itself after yesterdays run. I think that was 3 off for that marathon.

Did the top of your toenails turn white first when they were first looking they would eventually fall off?
    I have 3 nails with white at the top quarter of them and im wondering if thats why

Did the top of your toenails turn white first when they were first looking they would eventually fall off?
    I have 3 nails with white at the top quarter of them and im wondering if thats why

They were all black right after the marathon but do remember a bit of a white layer coming over the blackness as time went. Not really pretty to look at but then toes never really are:)

Friday 25th - 0 Miles
    Saturday 26th - 0 Miles
    Sunday 27th - 0 Miles :(

Work as expected got in the way of running on Friday. Had expected though to get out for a longer run on Sunday evening. However, it was the little fella's christening yesterday so by the time we got back to the house we were all wrecked - except him ironically! Added to that the heavy rain and sleet falling outside, it just wasn't in anyway enticing to head out for a run. Had been eating all the wrong stuff all weekend too which didn't help matters.

Week Summary
    4|23.61 |103.71|103.71|90.2 kg

Monday 28th January

6.45 miles @ 8:47

Had pretty much resigned myself to a fourth straight day without running. It was (still is) blowing a gale outside with heavy rain thrown in for good measure. Reckoned one would be mad to go out in that.... was still contemplating it. Reckoned it may not be any better in the evening and am trying to keep evening runs to minimum and when really needed.
    If I ever needed a sign that I was meant to go out for a run I got it today! A half an hour before lunch lands my recently ordered new shoes, a pair of mizuno wave rider 15's. On they went and out I went and by chance the wind dropped ever so slightly and the rain stopped altogether.
    It was almost quite pleasant out. I had put on my marathon t-shirt as an extra layer underneath and it was feeling quite mild out. However once I moved out of the town the full force of the wind could be felt. It was tough in places just to keep balance, and on some stretches it was tough to run downhill. Had a bit more time than normal so made good use of it and clocked up my longest lunchtime run to date.

Tuesday 29th January

5.36 miles @ 8:52

The wind and rain is really cruel out there today. Got off lightly yesterday with no rain. At times I had to lean into the wind just to keep balance. Good to get the miles in all the same.

Wednesday 30th January

7.77 Miles @ 8.36

Plan was 2 miles easy, 2 Miles at HMP, 1 Mile Easy, 2 Miles at HMP & 2 Mile Easy

Was quite late heading out to start this so knew I wasn't going to get all the miles as planned in. I made sure to get the HMP miles done and shortened the warm down which ended up being 0.77. Target for HMP was around 8:05 pace, splits for the HMP miles were:

8:00
    8:01
    8:07
    7:51

Was a little annoyed with the third of those miles as I felt like I was cruising along only to realise after 1/2 a mile that my cruising speed was too slow. Got the pace back as best I could without over doing it.

Thursday 31st January

3.65 miles @ 9:09

Had given up the ghost on getting out for this run. So much so that I had started to eat some lunch when my window of opportunity opened again. Didn't get out for as long as would have liked but better than nothing. Reverted back to the asics for this run, new runners have help develop some blisters on my feet, probably shouldn't have done last nights run in them just yet.

Monthly Summary
    Month| No. of Runs| 2012 | No. of Runs | 2013
    January| 14 | 34.22 | 23 | 127.01
    February|16| 46.21
    March|16| 52.11
    April|14|49.98
    May|22| 95.18
    June|17| 85.79
    July| 18| 101.16
    August| 17| 126.55
    September| 18| 151.64
    October| 16| 115.04
    November| 21| 91.63
    December| 16| 89.14
    Totals 2012 | 205| 1,038.51 | 23 | 127.01

A nice improvement in mileage on January last year!

What happened ya Dazza?