Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

DB10 wrote: »
    Ramsey barely done anything he was hardly great in fairness. Diaby was rubbish should have been hauled off at HT.

Another poor performance. Cant score goals when we need them. Crowd was fully behind the players.

Ramsey looked effective, didn't give the ball away and set Walcott up for our best chance in the game.

Diaby should have been taken off 10 minutes before he was but considering he'd been out since September, I thought he did well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

greendom wrote: »
    Ramsey looked effective, didn't give the ball away and set Walcott up for our best chance in the game.

Diaby should have been taken off 10 minutes before he was but considering he'd been out since September, I thought he did well

Agreed though Ramsey did well, first time in a while he didn't give away possession. He may have looked slow on the ball once or twice was because he had no one to pass it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Today we started off very poorly with 11 men. We allowed City to carry the fight to us and as a result the sending off happened, Koscielney was stupid but Mike Dean would not have given that decision against Man Utd at Old Trafford. However City bossed us off the field. Men v Boys in the first half.

However we have a poor squad and Wenger stating that we have two players for every position is spouting nonsense. Some of our players are Championship material.

Next week is the most crucial week on the calendar for us now as we are away to Chelsea and Spurs at at home to United.. We have to regroup and realise that Top 4 is not a right, it has to be earned. Next week is now a cup final. If results go against us then for me it's season over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Has Wenger done a arshavin on santi,both came looking great,didn't take long to be dragged down.

He's tired, needs a break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Im back from the game.

my god was it freezing out their!

on to the match. atmosphere was brilliant, we got behind our team throughout the game. no silence or anything. City fans were vocal too dispite only a few of them their.

On to the game.

Sorry but what was that penalty all about? i saw nothing. was shocked Kos got sent off as to me and the other 59k fans it was not a pen nevermind a sending off. what a ****ing joke the ref is.

he ruined the game big time. the 1st goal city scored was a joke. that was never a free kick! but arsenal were switched off and wasnt prepared so 1:0 down with a man down. game over really.

ref spoiled the game big time. it was a tall order playing city with 11 men but 10 men and a goal giften by the ref? no chance unless city hand us the opportunity which they diddnt.

Overal the lads did the best they can with the handicapped they had throughout the match. i cant understand why Diaby was playing? he is not match fit and has been injured since last summer. why play him in such a high profile match? Play Ramsey instead or Ashavin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I was impressed by the character shown by the team in the second half, even though we failed to score. It was an uncharacteristically gutsy performance. Vermaelen and Whilsherereally caught my eye. Giroud and Ramsey put in a good shift after coming on too.

As much as i have started to like our centre defenders they are just not good enough imo. All three of them have way too many individual errors that just always seem to cost us. Plus Gibbs needs learn how to defend better. He has been caught many times chasing a pass by the opposition only to leave a massive space behind him which 8 times out of 10 gets exploited and leaves us open.

The only place where i wouldn't change much is in the midfield. If we ever want to be considered title contenders again, it won't be with either Walcott or Giroud up front. Hate being so negative about the team, but it's getting depressing at times.

He's tired, needs a break

Sorry but tired from what,playing football like every other player?

Don't buy this at all.

Tired of counting his 80k a week salary?

yea i could get tired of counting that sort of money week in week out too...

Tired of counting his 80k a week salary?

yea i could get tired of counting that sort of money week in week out too...

Rvp has played the probably near enough the same amount of games,so surely tiredness isn't an excuse.

Don't buy this at all.

This is his first season having to cope with the intensity of the EPL.

I buy that a lot more than Wenger making him a worse player

This is his first season having to cope with the intensity of the EPL.

I buy that a lot more than Wenger making him a worse player

Ye I was been a little bit sarcastic with that Wenger thing,but tiredness can't be an excuse,maybe adapting is his problem hopefully anyway.

Anyone care to share a replay of the pen?

Don't have a vid, but it was definetly a penalty. Kosc pulled Dzecko down to the ground. I didn't think it was a red though, thought that was quite harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I really want to see Podolski play CF. He seems a more natural finisher than our other options.

it was def a pen - players grab hold of each other every single game, but generally they're a little more subtle about it than Kos was. Red was a little harsh but I can see why it was given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Think coq will be off the end of the season too getting no game time with us at all

Galvasean wrote: »
    I really want to see Podolski play CF. He seems a more natural finisher than our other options.

he deserves a chance up there - also he should be allowed to play 90 minutes every now and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

What on earth has happened to Kos this year? Was he not excellent last year?

This year: OG's, penaltys given away, sending offs, headless stuff. I just can't fathom it. I thought the sending off was a touch harsh, Webb gave Skyrtel a yellow for a similar offense, I thought yellow would have done for Kos. Regardless though what was Kos thinking?? A rugby tackle in the box early doors?

Jack was emense today, but I fear him getting an injury.

The "striker" Wally was appalling, and has been quiet for a few games. Its annoying that the media harp on about him wanting to play up front, which he has done for a string of games and has been poor in the majority of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Were a slight strain/injury/suspension from squallici playing the next 2/3 games

he deserves a chance up there - also he should be allowed to play 90 minutes every now and again.

his our highest payed player and cant even play 90mins

Wenger takes him off every game,why does he start him if he doesn't trust him for 90 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Galvasean wrote: »

+1 on this. Didn't he play CF for Cologne last season? I thought the reason he's played on the left for Germany is because they have such good options up front. That's hardly the case with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

it's not his fault he gets taken off though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

unfortunate maybe that kos got sent off but a brave second half by the players but just another kick in the teeth to show us that we are not with the big boys anymore.
    jack wilshere is trying his heart out and i think he has been playing great since coming back after so long out.
    walcott on his own upfront is stupid. i agree try podolski up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Were a slight strain/injury/suspension from squallici playing the next 2/3 games

Kos only misses one game. 3 game ban is for excessive force or violent conduct.

MaxPower89 wrote: »
    What on earth has happened to Kos this year? Was he not excellent last year?

Doesn't look the same without Mertesacker beside him.

As for Podolski, he's not a chaser-back so stop exposing Gibbs so much and put him up top, I just don't get the problem.

The other match today was a perfect example of Fergie's tactics of the last few years working for Liverpool. Instead of stocking up on midfielders just lob on a load of forwards. Sometimes it means conceding midfield but who cares? Liverpool towards the end had Sturridge, Suarez and Borini on and got more possession than when they had what should be a better team for holding the ball earlier in the match. We have one proper forward in the squad, ridiculous.

jack wilshere is trying his heart out and i think he has been playing great since coming back after so long out.

Can see him wrecking himself at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Can see him wrecking himself at this rate.

I agree thats the problem Wilshere has been our best player is most games lately,but himself along with the majority of our players are playing every single game, Wenger bangs on about having two players for every position yet he trust the rest of them so much they very rarely get game time. A lot of our players are being will be but at risk to injury due playing so much Wilshere as good as he is is still only young and back from a long term injury yet we hes playing every game.

Plus Podolski deserves his chance up front hes been our most clinical player when given chances this season, and played well today.