Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Temple Bar Pub

• 12-01-2013 12:25PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭

Myself and a mate wandered into the Temple Bar pub last night for a pint, i went up and ordered 2 heineken. Total cost €13.60, which obviously is €6.80 a pint, we declined the drink and left, no f'ing way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

shed head wrote: »
    Myself and a mate wandered into the Temple Bar pub last night for a pint, i went up and ordered 2 heineken. Total cost €13.60, which obviously is €6.80 a pint, we declined the drink and left, no f'ing way!
    thats a joke,maybe the barman thought yous were drunk gullible tourists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

which obviously is €6.80 a pint,

Mother of christ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

on a similar note is there any requirement for pubs to have prices displayed like they do in shops or restaurants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Was it after normal pub opening hours? After 1- it whatever the " normal" time is; drink prices used always go up to " accommodate" the bar extension that they would have to lay for to let you drink late(er). Was always standard practice .

E6.80 is eye-watering thou. But e5.80 isn't much better.

Did drink go io again since the January " budget " enforcements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

i paid €15.80 for a doubl g&t in the Shelbourne a few weeks ago.

i wouldn't of paid but i was wearing a suit and felt like the busuiness.

I'm a bell end tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

6 Euro, that's what football supporters from Germany had to pay in that pub, when Ireland played Germany in the qualifiers. They thought, they were in heaven, when they came to Tolka Park the day after ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

triple-M wrote: »
    on a similar note is there any requirement for pubs to have prices displayed like they do in shops or restaurants?

yes, most temple bar pubs have a normal price and then the after 1am price.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Ridiculous price, fair play for walking out without paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Places selling intoxicating liquire for consumption on the premises are ment to display prices on the wall (maybe near the door) but the prices displayed only have to be the minimum price charged for the drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

My friends uncle had some involvement in this pub years ago - back in the Celtic tiger days the pints went up BY THE HOUR!

I think some law was brought in and put halt to it but 6.80 is a piss take....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 196 ✭✭shed head

it was about 12:15, i understand that pints go up, i thought it was usually after 11 though, still €6.80!!! It was noisy enough and i had to ask him to repeat himself 3 times as i thought i hadn't heard right, i just said we are not paying that, the barman actually kind of agreed ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Fair play for not paying that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

From the Citizen's Information website

Price display in licensed premises

The Retail Price (Beverages in Licensed Premises) Display Order, 1999 is designed to inform customers about the prices charged in licensed premises. Licensed premises in Ireland includes bars, night-clubs, or other venues that require a vintners license to operate. The order states that licensed premises display 2 lists of drinks prices. A comprehensive list of all items sold and a summary (i.e., abbreviated) list of the 16 most popular drinks for sale. If there are different prices in different areas of the licensed premises (for example prices for drinks are different in the Lounge and in the Bar) these notices need to be displayed prominently in all areas where the products are sold. If the prices change after a certain time (for example after 11p.m.) this also needs to be displayed on the notice. Price lists should cover drinks sold for consumption on the premises. Off-licences are not covered by this Order but they are covered by the Requirements to Indicate Product Prices Regulations 2002.

A 16 item list of prices needs to be displayed prominently either inside or directly outside the entrance of the premises. The following is a list of 16 items that need to be displayed by publicans to comply with the order:

Pint (568 ml) of draught stout
    Pint (568ml) of draught ale
    Pint (568 ml) of draught lager
    Pint (568ml) of draught cider
    Bottle (330ml) of stout
    Bottle (330ml) of ale
    Bottle (330ml) of lager
    Bottle (330ml) of cider
    Measure (35.5ml) of whiskey
    Measure (35.5ml) of gin
    Measure (35.5ml) of vodka
    Bottle (200ml) of carbonated drink
    Bottle (200ml) of carbonated cola drink
    Bottle (113ml) of a mixer
    Bottle (250ml) of water
    A bottle (187ml) of wine

Both the 16 item and the comprehensive list need to be clear and visible to customers. That means the price lists must be displayed in a prominent position where anyone could reasonably see them. The National Consumer Agency surveys licensed premises to ensure their compliance with the law. It can prosecute publicans and licensees who are found to be in breach of the Order.

Frynge wrote: »
    Places selling intoxicating liquire for consumption on the premises are ment to display prices on the wall (maybe near the door) but the prices displayed only have to be the minimum price charged for the drink.

That can't be right can it? Sure then they could put down anything they want and charge double that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭countrynosebag

having visited pubs around west cork for 15 years now I still await a price list in a single one of them - that goes for the villages and small towns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

6.80 for a pint is extortion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

6.80 for a pint is extortion.

If you go to Paris, my advice is not to enter a pub. €9 is the norm. In Frankfurt €6 is quite normal for a 400ml glass.

If you go to London, my advice is to avoid the pubs in central night time districts. £6.50 for bottle of beer is the norm as is £6.00 for a pint (prices as per last weekend.

Even a boring pub in Earls court without an ounce of atmosphere serving warm beer will charge £4.70 for a pint in early evening and £5.50 for a glass of sh1te wine.

At least in Temple Bar you will get good service and a decent atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Lars1916 wrote: »
    6 Euro, that's what football supporters from Germany had to pay in that pub, when Ireland played Germany in the qualifiers. They thought, they were in heaven, when they came to Tolka Park the day after ;)

tolka park heaven? the clever ones got €3 bottles of erdinger in Tallaght ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

They should change the name from the Temple Bar to the Dick Turpin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

tolka park heaven? the clever ones got €3 bottles of erdinger in Tallaght ;)

Bottles in a football ground? Some might think, it's heaven alright, because of the multi use purpose of an empty bottle ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Unfortunately had to go to a function the the Oliver St John Gogarty last month, they're the same. Pre 11pm or sometime like that pints are around €6, probably a bit more but obviously blocked the horror of it out of my mind, it certainly wasn't from getting drunk in there. Their prices go up then by almost a euro later on. Both prices are well advertised at the bar though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

sandin wrote: »
    If you go to Paris, my advice is not to enter a pub. €9 is the norm. In Frankfurt €6 is quite normal for a 400ml glass.

If you go to London, my advice is to avoid the pubs in central night time districts. £6.50 for bottle of beer is the norm as is £6.00 for a pint (prices as per last weekend.

Even a boring pub in Earls court without an ounce of atmosphere serving warm beer will charge £4.70 for a pint in early evening and £5.50 for a glass of sh1te wine.

At least in Temple Bar you will get good service and a decent atmosphere.

good service????
    you must be joking yourself....
    i more often than not have gotten pipping hot pint glasses just outta the washer.... (when you touch its bottom) only been cooled by my beer....not a thank you or a hello.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Total cost €13.60, which obviously is €6.80 a pint, we declined the drink and left, no f'ing way!
    So did they actually pour the drink, i.e. did you ask the price first and walk out or did some other poor mug probably end up with your stale pints after you left?

If they did pour it I hope in future you have learned to enquire about prices beforehand. Otherwise its like going into a restaurant ordering a meal and only asking about prices when it is served and walking out again. If you think you are going to be concerned then simply ask before hand, it is no secret that pints can be very expensive, it is weird the way people treat pubs so differently in this regard, and the publicans know full well and take advantage.

If they do pour out the drinks or throw out the food they will only increase the prices further to cover their loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

and dead right you were too.problem with temple bar is that pubs there wouldn't really cater for 'regulars' they are more than happy to Rob tourists blind,and send them home with a bad taste in their mouth.all too often its visitors from the UK get ripped off,especially if they are not used to the euro.Dublin promotes itself as a drinking mecca the world over,this is a joke.i would hazard a guess that only Scandinavian countries,Japan and maybe Switzerland would top Ireland(especially Dublin) in the ridiculous pub prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

and dead right you were too.problem with temple bar is that pubs there wouldn't really cater for 'regulars' they are more than happy to Rob tourists blind,and send them home with a bad taste in their mouth.all too often its visitors from the UK get ripped off,especially if they are not used to the euro.Dublin promotes itself as a drinking mecca the world over,this is a joke.i would hazard a guess that only Scandinavian countries,Japan and maybe Switzerland would top Ireland(especially Dublin) in the ridiculous pub prices.

read my post above, prices in germany, France, Scandinavia, London, Manchester and many many other european country's capital cities are way way above temple bar. It is no surprise except to those who are stupid enough to think a prime location in a capital city won't be charging a premium price.

also the 6.80 price is the after normal licencing hours price (pub pays €400 a night for this) - try after hours prices in London - 6.80 is cheap in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭wonder88

Temple Bar is just about ok, if you only drink a couple there. The few times I was there I noticed that people were thanked up well before they entered the pubs. Is there any late pubs close to Temple Bar who charge reasonable prices as I like the area when I am in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

If you think that's a rip off, I got 2x500ml glasses of Stella Artois in JFK Airport for 24 dollars, got charged 18.90 euros on my credit card.

All the places in the Terminal charge the same price :(

I was sipping that beer :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭martomcg

If you think that's a rip off, I got 2x500ml glasses of Stella Artois in JFK Airport for 24 dollars, got charged 18.90 euros on my credit card.

All the places in the Terminal charge the same price :(

I was sipping that beer :pac::pac:

You cant compare airport prices to pub prices. Airports are extortionate for all items.

The reason they can get away with it is the tourists (non-irish) dont drink like we do and most would have 1-3 drinks on a night out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,411 ✭✭✭✭listermint

rubadub wrote: »
    So did they actually pour the drink, i.e. did you ask the price first and walk out or did some other poor mug probably end up with your stale pints after you left?

If they did pour it I hope in future you have learned to enquire about prices beforehand. Otherwise its like going into a restaurant ordering a meal and only asking about prices when it is served and walking out again. If you think you are going to be concerned then simply ask before hand, it is no secret that pints can be very expensive, it is weird the way people treat pubs so differently in this regard, and the publicans know full well and take advantage.

If they do pour out the drinks or throw out the food they will only increase the prices further to cover their loss.

You made that part up. ridiculous. The reason they charge these prices is because they can its like a cattle mart in temple bar with no limit to the customers they get. Ive no sympathy for any bar that has pints not paid for when they are charging the guts of 7 Euro for a drink. Theres plenty of profit in those pubs there and chances are the pints where recycled. put behind the bar until some other dupe came up and paid the price for them.

In a restaurant you are handed a menu and view if for several minutes making your decision so the comparisons are not the same. Walking into a busy pub where youd have to go around the place to find the price is lets just say slightly different.

martomcg wrote: »

You cant compare airport prices to pub prices. Airports are extortionate for all items.

The reason they can get away with it is the tourists (non-irish) dont drink like we do and most would have 1-3 drinks on a night out
    Nor should pubs in Temple Bar be compared with other pubs in town. We're not alone here. All around the world pubs in tourist areas charge extortionate prices. Ever had a drink in St. Mark's square in Venice or near the Eiffel Tower in Paris? Then you'll know what I mean.