Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭panevthe3rd

I bet you are 28

How creepy is it that i know that

Whoa!!! I'll probably never forget this one either. Maybe I'll be telling this story in 18 years time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

many years ago my aunt picked up a male hitchhiker.He was very quiet & was clutching a bag.She got nervous & asked him what was in the bag & he answered "mind your own business".
    After another mile or so she asked again"whats in the bag to which he answered again"mind your own business.
    She was bricking it now so insisted what was in the bag & again he said mind your own business.She could see 3 men walking up ahead so jammed on the brakes & shouted them over.Her passenger ran away leaving the bag behind on the seat.When she opened the bag her heart nearly stopped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

many years ago my aunt picked up a male hitchhiker.He was very quiet & was clutching a bag.She got nervous & asked him what was in the bag & he answered "mind your own business".
    After another mile or so she asked again"whats in the bag to which he answered again"mind your own business.
    She was bricking it now so insisted what was in the bag & again he said mind your own business.She could see 3 men walking up ahead so jammed on the brakes & shouted them over.Her passenger ran away leaving the bag behind on the seat.When she opened the bag her heart nearly stopped.

So what was in the bag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭burstbuckle

So what was in the bag?

MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I've had 2 dreams that came true down to the last detail. Once I dreamt that I was standing by a pink bungalow, on top of a hill overlooking the sea. On the side of the bungalow, someone had graffitied, in big black capital letters "GOOSE 5000" and underneath that was a little drawing of Shakespeare. A short time after that, my mother decided to take me on holiday to visit my godmother. She booked us a holiday home to stay in and when we arrived I found that we were staying in a pink bungalow on a hill overlooking the sea, exactly the same as my dream. Walking round the side of the bungalow I found the words "GOOSE 5000" and a little drawing of Shakespeare.

Another time, I dreamt that I was riding a grey horse. We were in the middle of three fields and the horse was bucking violently. It threw me off and ran to the top of the field, where it turned round and looked at me, with the reins trailing on the floor. a short time later, my mother, who is very into horses, decided to buy a horse. She found a grey arab gelding for sale at a local livery yard. She bought him and decided to keep him at that livery yard. One day I got on the horse and started riding around the yard. I found that they had three fields joined onto each other. I rode down to the fields and when we were in the middle field, the horse started bucking violently and threw me off. He galloped to the top of the field and looked round at me with his reins trailing to the floor, exactly the same as my dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

This isn't really creepy but it did unnerve me for a bit after it happened.

I was in my bedroom on my laptop one night when the alarm clock in the spare room across the hallway started going off. I went into the room to turn it off and discovered that someone had left the iron switched on, resting iron side down on the ironing board. This was at about nine o'clock at night so the iron had been on for a few hours at least, and it wasn't one of those irons that switch themselves off after a period of time. What's strange is that no one had stayed in that room recently and the alarm clock hadn't gone off any other night before this, so it wasn't a set alarm. I should also point out that it was a simple 12 hour clock with no date function.

I dread to think what could have happened if the alarm never randomly went off and the iron was left on all night. Lucky escape I think.

Something similar happened to me once when I lived at home. My bedroom was downstairs next to the kitchen. Now I'm a heavy sleeper - I often have trouble getting to sleep but once I'm out, I'm out.

One night at about three in the morning I woke up for no apparent reason, and instead of lying in bed and trying to drift off again I got up and went out to the kitchen.

I noticed a tea towel sitting on top of the hob and a couple of seconds after I walked into the room it caught fire. Someone had left the hob on and the towel resting on it.

The weird thing is I couldn't smell anything from my room and I doubt if that would wake anyone up anyway, since people die from smoke inhalation all the time. There were no smoke alarms in the house at the time either, so I dread to think what could have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭The High Crusade

This thread is so so interesting, I love reading it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

A number of years ago i was alone in the flat one night which was a rare occurrence.
    Got to bed just after 11 but was finding it hard to get to sleep.
    A number of hours later i heard a small thud and thought nothing much of it, There was a small bit of shuffling that i could hear in my flatmates room across the hall from me but i just assumed they were at home.
    Next thing i hear someone trying to open the flatmates door but it was locked so they started pulling hard at it.

At this stage i new something was not right and semi realized that my flatmate was not at home.
    Next thing the person started kicking at the flatmates door. The intensity of kicks increased but my concern was that my door was unlocked, The keys were not in sight and i had no useful weapon in the room.

After a few more attempts by the person to pull open the door the noise stopped.

As soon as i was able to gain composure i found my keys locked the door and got in gear, Searched the house and checked the street and no sign of anyone.

My flat mate said nothing so i left it be until a few days later i was told about cracks to the frame and blood on the window and door. I told her what happened and a neighbor had also seen a group outside the house on the same night.

It they had managed to break down the door who knows what would have happened but since then i am a lot wiser when it come's to home security..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

So what was in the bag?

Hook, line and sinker...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭pitythefool

brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

I've a few stories:

When I was about 2, I apparently used to to talk to dead relatives that died long before I was even born. In particular two that I was named after - I was able to describe my grandfather and even picked him out of a photo (in which there were two men, both wearing the same uniform). Also I used to burst out laughing about a "little boy in a dress with orange hair" that would visit me - parents and granny got a bit freaked out as a red-haired male relative died as a child and was buried in his christening robe. I don't remember any of this but it used to scare the crap out of my family! Being told about the stories never scared me at all.

Ooh just remembered a weird one - both my granddads had the same job, but were based in different locations and didn't know each other (one died before my folks even met). There is a company group photo that each of my grannies had...and guess who's standing right beside each other in a crowd of maybe a hundred people..the granddads! it's more weird that spooky (it is Ireland after all, everyone is connected!).

Last one - years ago I was walking up the road to my house from the bus after school. Was chatting with a friend and we said our goodbyes at my house. As I closed the gate behind me I happened to notice a man walking behind us, with one of those green cloth shopping bags.

I didn't have my key with me so rang the doorbell - my mam had just arrived home ahead of me and the landline rang the second she got in. As a result the house was in darkness. Since the phone was right behind the hall door, she let me in as soon as the bell rang. Basically it looked like I had let myself into a dark, empty house, but I hadn't.

Off I went to the kitchen to make some grub, and the doorbell rang again. Mam answered and I overheard a man's voice and looked out but couldn't see much - though I did notice a green shopping bag.... Apparently he was aggressive talking nonsense about our house being a B&B (it's not) and fecked off. A few mins later there was ANOTHER caller to the door- this time a garda, who wanted to know exactly what the man wanted - he was under surveillance and "a very dangerous man"! Its creepy to think he was watching as I walked home - he must have thought I was there alone and could try something, but got weird when an adult answered the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Last night I drove behind a car from Derry all the way to Donegal town. Didn't see it again until I was coming into Galway and it was behind me! Then when I turned into my hotel it turned in too. Both of us had prebooked so hopefully he realised it was a coincidence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Squaredude

When I was about 7 or 8 I was staying at my grandmothers house in Belfast. I was in bed just about to fall asleep when there was the loudest bang I had ever heard ,I'd never heard anything like it,still haven't.The windows rattled from it and car alarms were going off.Scared the living daylights out of me.I had no idea what was after happening.Turns out the IRA had bombed a fish shop in the city.

I've experienced sleep paralysis a number of times and have learned one thing from it: DO NOT OPEN YOUR EYES!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 14,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My Dad rented an apartment in Belfast when he worked up there in the 1990s. It was the entire floor of a large Victorian redbrick house with a modern extension. Both my sisters and a female cousin who slept in the spare bedroom in that apartment felt a malevolent male presence in the room that preyed on them at night when they were in the bed - to the extent that none of them wanted to stay in that room after what happened to them.

I slept in the same room the odd time and nothing happened to me except hearing strange shuffling noises that woke me up one night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

JupiterKid wrote: »
    My Dad rented an apartment in Belfast when he worked up there in the 1990s. It was the entire floor of a large Victorian redbrick house with a modern extension. Both my sisters and a female cousin who slept in the spare bedroom in that apartment felt a malevolent male presence in the room that preyed on them at night when they were in the bed - to the extent that none of them wanted to stay in that room after what happened to them.

I slept in the same room the odd time and nothing happened to me except hearing strange shuffling noises that woke me up one night.

Did the ghost roger em?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭conjamuk

Damn this thread thats fine I did not want to sleep tonight anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

I once caught the head of my willy in my zipper, that was pretty unnerving, still have the scar

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Stinkle, your post about the photo reminded me of this one - at least I have something to contribute to this great thread!! (Other than my sleep paralysis)

My best friend is married, she met her husband while away on a holiday in Spain somewhere when she was 19. They are both from Dublin, grew up probably about 8 or 9 miles apart but in Dublin suburbs that's a fairly big distance. She met him on the last day of the hols, didn't get his number, then lo and behold he & his family were in the airport the next day and on the same flight home and the rest is history. Not that unusual if they booked with the same travel agent, etc.

This happened after they were married and were living near his brother and the brother's family. She was around at the in-laws one night and they had just taken a load of old family pics down from the attic for one of the kids' school projects or something. My friend was having a good look as they were pics she hadn't seen before. Her sister-in-law says to my friend "Here's a pic of <husband>, I think he's about 9 or 10 in that pic". Friend looks at pic for a few seconds, then lets out an almighty scream...the photo is of her husband at the age of 9/10 on a ferry from Holyhead to Dublin with his family. He is sitting at a table throwing a pose :D Sitting at the table behind him is my friend (his future wife), her sisters and her parents. Her sister is looking right at the camera. It's giving me goosebumps again just thinking about it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

miamee wrote: »
    Friend looks at pic for a few seconds, then lets out an almighty scream...the photo is of her husband at the age of 9/10 on a ferry from Holyhead to Dublin with his family. He is sitting at a table throwing a pose :D Sitting at the table behind him is my friend (his future wife), her sisters and her parents. Her sister is looking right at the camera. It's giving me goosebumps again just thinking about it :D

That is weird!!! My photo story is a bit like that - cos my mam was in my dad's house shortly after his dad passed away. They'd already established that the two fathers never knew each other. My gran was going through old photos and mam spotted the exact same one that her parents are in. The photo is of some work outing. Mam pointed out her parents in the photo, only for my gran to say "oh yeah...there we are right next to them". I love it cos both grandads had died by the time my parents married, so it is the only photo that all these people are in, and I gotta say, as the descendants of the 4 of them, it's cool to see them all looking happy and well :)

I've got two other weird stories about these relatives:

Prior to my dad's father passing away, my mother had a dream about it. She dreamt that she was in my dad's house and my gran was sitting down and said "X is dead, he's lying in a slab in the mortuary". She thought it was funny cos in the dream she used his full name and not the pet name everyone always used. At the time my dad's brother was in hospital with a kid of the same name so mam thought the dream was about him. Anyway, my grandad died suddenly the following day, and when my mam went to visit the house, everything that happened in the dream happened in reality, right down to the clothes my gran had on. My parents weren't even going out all that long, so it wasn't like she had much experiences with the family to influence the dream. I've had these types of dreams myself and it's so scary when they come true in real life.

On New Years Eve 1996 there was a bit of snow. At midnight our street had a tradition of everyone heading out onto the road and wishing each other well. We noticed a set of footprints in the snow leading up to our house. But no-one had arrived since the snow began, and there were no footprints leading back down the path... I would have thought it was my dad playing a prank but he genuinely was unnerved. His brother had died earlier in the month and my mother was convinced it was a ghost! Having said that it could have been someone messing at random!

Had a dream about a girl from my past in October, ran into her in November and we are currently going out

The only scarypart is, she was wearing a wedding dress in the dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Tisserand

I was in hospital for a few weeks back in May and was home about a week and taking it easy, going to bed early to ready my book etc. One night at exactly 28 mins past 10 o' clock, I heard a beeping sound downstairs. I have a monitored alarm and it was warning me that it was about to go off. I raced downstairs and disarmed it and checked the windows and doors but couldn't figure what might have set it off.

The following night at exactly 28 mins past 10 o'clock again, the beeping started again. I raced down the stairs to the alarm panel but realised that it wasn't the alarm and that the beeping was coming from upstairs! I went back upstairs and it was the carbon monoxide alarm! I quickly opened the windows and went out to the back garden and took the alarm with me until it eventually stopped screeching. I couldn't understand either why it had gone off, I had lit no fire or used any of my appliances that date.

Anyway, I thought it was going to be a long week as I have smoke alarms, alarm clocks, a car alarm etc. but nothing happened again. I am curious though as to why these alarms went off at exactly the same time two nights in succession with no apparent explanation. Felt a bit spooked, to be honest.

Tisserand wrote: »
    I was in hospital for a few weeks back in May and was home about a week and taking it easy, going to bed early to ready my book etc. One night at exactly 28 mins past 10 o' clock, I heard a beeping sound downstairs. I have a monitored alarm and it was warning me that it was about to go off. I raced downstairs and disarmed it and checked the windows and doors but couldn't figure what might have set it off.

The following night at exact 28 mins past 10 o'clock again, the beeping started again. I raced down the stairs to the alarm panel but realised that it wasn't the alarm and that the beeping was coming from upstairs! I went back upstairs and it was the carbon monoxide alarm! I quickly opened the windows and went out to the back garden and took the alarm with me until it eventually stopped screeching. I couldn't understand either why it had gone off, I had lit no fire or used any of my appliances that date.

Anyway, I thought it was going to be a long week as I have smoke alarms, alarm clocks, a car alarm etc. but nothing happened again. I am urious though as to why these alarms went off at exactly the same time two nights in succession with no apparent explanation. Felt a bit spooked, to be honest.

They were telling you to always do one last check of your house at that time very night for the rest of your life if you want to live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mortarhate

Classic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

I was walking today kind of fast because my friends had arrived at their bus stop earlier than I had anticipated and I didn't want them to be on their own, but not excessively so. An old man wasn't moving or anything (not that I was expecting him to or walking in a threatening way, I just mean he wasn't making it easy to get past) so I moved to the left, and he started hissing at me and shooing me. :eek: My cousin said the same man shouts at her sometimes! I shouted "DICK" after him. :pac:

Then walking back after having seen my friends, I was looking down texting my sister to let her know I'd be back in a minute. I thought I heard a dog barking but it sounded odd, put my phone away and heard it twice more. It was a person making very weird, bark-like noises. I didn't see them but hearing them was enough, thankfully I'm a very fast runner - I practically road runner'd it outta there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭keredern

But what was in the bag!!! lol :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Shinaynay

Was late cashing up in the shop I work in & have to go upstairs in the lift to deposit the cash. Was probably the only person bar security in the building. As I'm getting in the lift i heard someone whistle a tune

Thought it was security but like 10 seconds later i got off the lift 4 floors up and heard the same f*cking whistling !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

I was 10 or 11 and out walking the little white jack russell, walking towards home. It was daytime and I lived near the end of a busy town on the dublin-belfast road.
    I chose to walk down the lane home, it was a wide straight lane with one house on it and my mother said she wouldn't live in it 'for all the tea in china'

Anyway, I've come to the end of it and there's this big truck blocking my way out, with a man standing there. He gave me the creeps straight away. I was only 50 yards from my house but he was blocking the entrance and i was late for tea!

"Need a lift love?" he asked, and I started to back away in panic. I legged it so fast up that lane with the dog, no one was in the house, so i decided to go back out the top of the lane where i had entered it as it was a housing estate, and walk home the proper way on the Main road where it would be almost impossible to grab me. Then I saw his truck again, blocking the top of the lane. I nearly wee'd myself. He had anticipated I'd turn back and had driven around to the top of the lane, trying to block me off.
    I knew it would take him at least a minute to stop his truck, get out and run after me so I was on me toes back down lane away from him, let the dog off the lead as she ran faster off.
    Dog got home before me, my rationale being that if mum saw the dog come home without me she'd know to look for me.
    Got home safe, but it was one of the most frightening things ever to happen to me.
    Last year I heard of the child killer Robert Black, they reckon he took missing child Mary Boyle in Roscommon. The Jennifer Cardy case was on tv, she vanished in 1981 and he was convicted of it. For some reason that casr always stuck in my mind , as did the Mary Boyle one, both were the same age as I was when they died.

" Child murderer Robert Black is to serve a minimum of 25 years in jail for killing Northern Ireland schoolgirl Jennifer Cardy in 1981.

Black, 64, was sentenced at Belfast Crown Court after he was found guilty last month of snatching nine-year-old Jennifer Cardy as she cycled to a friend's house in Ballinderry, County Antrim, in 1981"

I think it may have been him that I encountered that day.

He killed at least 4 children - http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/robert-black-jailed-for-murder-of-ulster-schoolgirl-jennifer-cardy-16088463.html

Thats one of the scariest, I have a few more I could tell though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 smelloween

When I was a child an old fashioned country man with huge black boots and a knapsack used to sleep under my radiator on the floor in my bedroom. He was slightly see through so I knew he wasn't real. I'd just hear a bit of banging on the floor wake up and see him in the same position asleep with his face against the wall. My whole area used to be countryside about 100 years ago!!! He never said anything and it didn't bother me, I'd seen loads of wierd things before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭MANUTD99

Is the building in this photo the same one as you are posting about?

Yes, I'm about 80% sure that's the building. I'm going back nearly 20 years but looks familiar. Funny story. This building had massive rose bushes in its gardens. Seeing as they were knocking the building down, my dad nicked them. They are still growing in my parents house almost 20 years later:pac:

Can I ask if you have any info on the place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

Been meaning to add to this thread for ages so here goes, excuse any dodge spelling as im posting on my mobile.

I house i used to live in was legitimately haunted, i was creeped out at the time but i never felt scared as such.

Things used to move around themselves, one morning i came down to find all the ornaments from the mantle lined up on the hearth, and you could see the wee dust track on the mantle, so they hadn't slid off, they had to have been lifted.

The bathroom was always ICE cold, so much so that we had to have a heater in it to have a bath. Also anytime i closed the bathroom door it felt like someone was pulling the door from the other side.

I used to come downstairs in the morning and go to put away the glasses on the draining board from the day before. One particular morning when i lifted a glass only half of it was in my hand, the glass had been sliced perfectly in half across the middle, and on a closer look all the glasses on the draining board were the same, but they were all balanced perfectly. That was especially weird!

The scariest thing by far was when we were away for the weekend and our friends house sat for us, we got a phone call from them asking why there was writing on the wall in the spare room, ye hadn't a clue what they ment but when we got home we saw 'go away' painted on to our wall- you could only see it at a certain angle as it was in the same paint but the freaky thing was that we had painted the room about a week before-with a roller! We had no paintbrushes in the house.

The house next to us was empty but we found out shortly before we moved out that the man who lived next door had been found dead in his house a few months before we moved in.
    Very weird!