Rugby fan stereotypes *** Mod Note in Post 7 ***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

JustinDee wrote: »
    They're called Akubra. They're an Aussie hat.
    You just reminded me of the Mexican Wave there. I steadfastly object to it while there's a game going on. Spur team on. Don't air your pits.

As someone who's rugby education took place on the schoolboy terrace in the late 90's, the Mexican Wave was often the highlight of the afternoon (that and throwing rolls of toilet paper down onto the South Terrace).

• Administrators Posts: 56,306 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

My da has one of them wax cowboy hats. He looks like a right mug when he wears it.

But he's a golfer, not a rugby man. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Guilty of wearing a coat over my Leinster jersey, but for some of us that's less braying South Dublin stereotype (I've been drinking in Leeson Street once in my life) and more the fact that we need a good coat to wear to work and can't really afford a Leinster one as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

andrewdcs wrote: »
    guiltyaschargedyourhonour...

:o To be honest, I tend to get my spoke in too... it's mostly annoying when the guy is shouting all game without stop, or is yelling at the ref/assistant referee when he himself is wrong.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Most soccer fans can only afford a single set of parentheses.

Those ones are grandparentheses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Guilty of wearing a coat over my Leinster jersey, but for some of us that's less braying South Dublin stereotype (I've been drinking in Leeson Street once in my life) and more the fact that we need a good coat to wear to work and can't really afford a Leinster one as well...

For those out there who think Leinster is all about South Dublin or "D4", they should take a trip on match day to Connolly and Heuston stations and see for themselves the huge numbers who go to a match from well outside of the city in all directions.

who_me wrote: »
    it's mostly annoying when the guy is shouting all game without stop, or is yelling at the ref/assistant referee when he himself is wrong.

Those guys will have a nr 11 or 14 on their back and are called wingers ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

who_me wrote: »
    "Offside!" "At it all day, ref!" "Linesman, are ye blind?!?" "Go 'way and get yer hair cut!"

Grrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Or the smartarse who knows all the rules and isn't quiet about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Teferi wrote: »
    Being the affluent Leinster fan I am I often only wear my Leinster Supporters Club scarf along with my shooting jacket to games because it get's awfully cold in the RDS but mainly because I'm off to Krystle to score some models after.

Don't worry though, I help the commoners out. I throw 50e notes out of my car on the way to the match when I'm driving through the less fortunate areas like Terenure.

I can only assume that Ulster fans wear full battle garb because it's some sort of Protestant tradition.

And Munster fans? Well, there is no accounting for muckers really, is there?

Is your Daddy a portnor in KPMGeee ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭ssaye

Almaviva wrote: »

500k PA mickey mouse money.

Let me tell you something having 3 houses on that salary is difficult, you try it sometime

Padraig Flynn Late Late Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,489 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

I did see Leinster fan the day of the Clemont game in Ranelagh wearing his Leinster jersey over a long sleeved pink shirt.....with the collar up.

Outrageous.

P.Walnuts wrote: »
    I did see Leinster fan the day of the Clemont game in Ranelagh wearing his Leinster jersey over a long sleeved pink shirt.....with the collar up.

Outrageous.

Outrageously awesome*

*You thought this was a disclaimer, well its not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I really hate the idea that as a girl, you must be at a match with a man. Eh no.

I once went by myself as my sister (who I go to Leinster matches with) was sick. The looks of "but where is your man who dragged you here" were a little annoying after a while.

Also the idea that if you are a female Leinster supporter, you probably wear Uggs and have a big D4 head on you. Also a no on that front. Oh & I'm also not only there to perv on the players.....that's just a happy bonus ;)

I go to the games with a fairly big bunch, including 2 of my sisters, the OH and a couple of female mates. Having seen guys treat them like that I've started finding it really annoying too. Was chatting to a Cardiff fan after the game in the RDS in October and he pretty much ignored anything the girls had to say to him and directed most of the conversation directly at me. It was incredibly rude. And daft seeing as my sisters actually know what they're on about and have been going to the games longer than I have.

Rugby stereotypes are great for a bit of banter. I've no issue with a Munster man calling me a D4 head "loike" when it's done in a bit of good humour and I can give him a bit of stick back, laugh it off and move on. We need to be able to laugh at ourselves a bit and not take ourselves too seriously. That applies to more than just rugby. Stereotypes only get annoying when someone actually believes them and uses them to abuse others. In which case I think all stereotypes are annoying. So it's more to do with the use of the stereotype than the actual stereotype itself IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I believed a stereotype that regular posters on this forum could not go long without deriving to petty insults, this thread has proved me utterly wrong. It is suggesting to insult each other from the get-go but somehow its the funniest thing I've read here in a long time, three pages already!

Blatant unwavering tribalism irritates me. Some people can't admit when their team ****ed up and it was their own fault, it must have been the ref's fault or the ref favouring the other team.

Also the assumption that since I have a south dublin accent, I am Ross O' Carroll Kelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭dtpc191991

I hate the stereotype that states Ireland are incapable of playing unless BOD's on the pitch. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

JustinDee wrote: »
    Those guys will have a nr 11 or 14 on their back and are called wingers ...

"Winger"? Not a phrase I'm familiar with here in Munster, do u mean "ballboy"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

The Munster choir is very cringe and all that pride and stand up and fight craic.

Has been done to the death now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

The Munster choir is very cringe and all that pride and stand up and fight craic.

Has been done to the death now

I'd agree. Kind of drains the atmosphere out of Thomond too. Especially during rabo games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Almaviva wrote: »

Not only is my auld lad a partner in KPMG, he is the highest paid partner in KPMG!

Not only is my auld lad a partner in KPMG, he is the highest paid partner in KMPG!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KMPG

Nice one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Being the affluent Leinster fan I am I often only wear my Leinster Supporters Club scarf along with my shooting jacket to games because it get's awfully cold in the RDS but mainly because I'm off to Krystle to score some models after.

Don't worry though, I help the commoners out. I throw 50e notes out of my car on the way to the match when I'm driving through the less fortunate areas like Terenure.

I can only assume that Ulster fans wear full battle garb because it's some sort of Protestant tradition.

And Munster fans? Well, there is no accounting for muckers really, is there?

Watch the connaught lads go mental cause you didn't slag them!! :D

Squ wrote: »

I only slag rich provinces ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Squ wrote: »
    We deserve to be told our place by our betters, for they know best and have over a decade of sacred tradition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

molloyjh wrote: »
    I go to the games with a fairly big bunch, including 2 of my sisters, the OH and a couple of female mates. Having seen guys treat them like that I've started finding it really annoying too. Was chatting to a Cardiff fan after the game in the RDS in October and he pretty much ignored anything the girls had to say to him and directed most of the conversation directly at me. It was incredibly rude. And daft seeing as my sisters actually know what they're on about and have been going to the games longer than I have.

Yeah women and rugby stereotype is pretty unfair, my sister is an avid Leinster and Ireland fan easily makes more games than I do and usually goes with a group of girls. I guess it can all be tied into "lad culture" around Leinster.

I think in general though I am beginning to see more female supporters around the ground.

I like the way this thread meandered into being a pretty much entirely Leinster thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

errlloyd wrote: »
    Yeah women and rugby stereotype is pretty unfair, my sister is an avid Leinster and Ireland fan easily makes more games than I do and usually goes with a group of girls. I guess it can all be tied into "lad culture" around Leinster.

I think in general though I am beginning to see more female supporters around the ground.

I like the way this thread meandered into being a pretty much entirely Leinster thread.

It's mostly Leinster fans lampooning themselves in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

The stereotype that really grinds my gears is the "Heino" aspect of the Ross O'Carroll-Kelly caricature. Heineken is ridiculously bland and boring as beer goes. Would that Paul Howard had joked about pints of Paulaner or Trappist beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

The stereotype that really grinds my gears is the "Heino" aspect of the Ross O'Carroll-Kelly caricature. Heineken is ridiculously bland and boring as beer goes. Would that Paul Howard had joked about pints of Paulaner or Trappist beer.

Do you know the definition of irony?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Personally, I just like to shout random rule infringes an instructions in the pub.

Clear out the ruck
    Out on the full
    Offside
    Crossing

The fact that I may not know what I'm shouting about is of no importance.

Sometimes, I like to educate those around me on the above in a manner that assumes I've played and watched rugby all my life
    long before the Heino cup like

Hidalgo wrote: »

*loike

FTFY

Fishooks13 wrote: »
    It's mostly Leinster fans lampooning themselves in fairness!

The other stereotypes are just as entertaining such as the eternal victim, the 'independent', the angry fella etc.

Somebody I know had to write Thomond Park - The home of Irish rugby on his Facebook page, for example, as he lost a bet. I like to remind Limerick rugby folk that there's a reason they wear red . . . then I go get my coat.