Company wins their own Facebook competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

ha that's gas, fraudsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

They deleted their Facebook page.

Yeah, it's looking like a Ghost Town as the Stranglers would say.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

WindSock wrote: »
    Like and share to win a 2k ring from a small business seems unlikely, however if this is a marketing ploy, it's very good indeed.

Where did you see the value? 2k is a pretty small ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Corkbah

Dodge wrote: »
    In fact you can't give admin access to a facebook page to someone who you aren't facebook friends with.

erm... give them a username and password and they have admin access !! you dont need to be friends with them on facebook !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭thenightrider

This is all i have to say http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SNxCvDYpmxE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,200 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Corkbah wrote: »
    erm... give them a username and password and they have admin access !! you dont need to be friends with them on facebook !!

Thats not how facebook pages work. In this case, the owner would have to the women access to his/her facebook personal account and tell them how to access the facebook page etc. Do you think thats likely?

There isn't a Facebook page username and password

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

FFS, we're never going to find out the answer here.

Someone who cares just shoehorn it into a deception offence and bang it off to the local Gardaí.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,718 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Even if their story was legit (which I highly doubt is, I've heard 4 year old come out with better stories than that), they could at least have made an effort with the statement. So badly written and so sensationalist- it makes it hilarious rather than any way believable!

What were they thinking? Surely they could build up their "likes" in a far less ridiculous way. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Meangadh wrote: »
    What were they thinking? Surely they could build up their "likes" in a far less ridiculous way. Weird.
    I'm sure this kind of thing is absolutely rife in facebook competitions, especially where the business is a small one and the prize seems exceptionally good.
    I wouldn't be surprised if they're actually advised to do this by cowboy "social media experts".

Completely dissimilar, a client of mine runs a small jewellery shop and held a facebook competition for €500 worth of jewellery. The winner asked if she could have the €500 in cash because she had her eye on a piece of jewellery in another shop. Eh, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Donerkebab

Dodge wrote: »
    In fact you can't give admin access to a facebook page to someone who you aren't facebook friends with.

So explain how i was made admin of a page without being friends with the person.

Donerkebab wrote: »
    So explain how i was made admin of a page without being friends with the person.
    TYou only have to like the page to be adminned, you don't have to be friends with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

antodeco wrote: »
    Jaysus, that second picture is nearly NSFW!!

I know, hardcore stuff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

FFS, we're never going to find out the answer here.

Someone who cares just shoehorn it into a deception offence and bang it off to the local Gardaí.

Trouble is the Gardaí probably can't do anything about it seeing as the company was based in Co Down.

I think advertising and these 'like' competitions on Facebook are a bit of a mystery legally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

LOL the feckin eejits. They were deffo caught out big time, but does it reallly matter? they're company will get a bad rep alright but sher what do they sell only feckin jewellery, Not the end of the world in the grand scheme of things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Talk about being between a rock and a hard place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Is this what's known as 'ring sting'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭kc66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

Darn it, I work for a small family butchers and we did a boo boo on facebook that a customer is annoyed with....

Boss is it kewl if i give out the company FB password to a stranger to delete some messages as im sleepy?????:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

pithater1 wrote: »
    I think advertising and these 'like' competitions on Facebook are a bit of a mystery legally.

Technically 'like this post to win' competitions are banned on Facebook, although I've never seen Facebook actually ban anyone for running one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭michellie

I wana know what comments people were saying when she was announced winner ?

Why did they doubt her Originally, obviously they had reason to, but I want more info !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pcardin

smash wrote: »
    Where did you see the value? 2k is a pretty small ring.

2k small ring? It can be small but it can be massive too. Depends what material it is made of and where do you buy it. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,416 ✭✭✭✭Penn

michellie wrote: »
    I wana know what comments people were saying when she was announced winner ?

Why did they doubt her Originally, obviously they had reason to, but I want more info !!

I was wondering that too. Unless people copped on early enough that there was some link between the two surnames (cousins or otherwise). Then again, maybe some people were just being jealous and vindictive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭gallag

They are also racist lol, they said this is just jealous English people. Need a pr mannager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

OctavarIan wrote: »
    Technically 'like this post to win' competitions are banned on Facebook, although I've never seen Facebook actually ban anyone for running one.

Yeah and they're bloody everywhere. I had to block my cousin from my newsfeed cos she literally would enter a competition no matter what the prize, it was ridiculous! I've entered a few a won a couple of things, but rarely enter them cos I know how annoying they are. I usually only enter the ones run by local businesses too.

I actually reported a page to facebook the other day cos people were entering a competition to win a trip to Vegas, but it was SO obviously fake- firstly you had to be "friends" with the page (giving them access to all your personal stuff), there was no website or contact details for this "company" and there were loads of spelling and grammar mistakes in the post about the competition. But I dunno how people fall for this crap, it was so obvious!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Why did people say "fix" beforehand? Because of the relations thing?

Madam_X wrote: »
    Why did people say "fix" beforehand? Because of the relations thing?
    I think it was first noticed that she hadn't shared the post, so people were asking questions about that, to which other people responded, "you're just jealous" :confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,685 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

seamus wrote: »
    TYou only have to like the page to be adminned, you don't have to be friends with them.

I just tested it with one of my own pages on FB. If you are not connected as friends, you need to have the email address connected to their FB account to make them an admin.