Is "Anonymous" right to expose possible small-minded sick town culture?

• 04-01-2013 07:50PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

Short version:

* Definite unconscious girl. Possible put that way by drugs.
    * Gets raped (and possibly urinated on) by small town local boys involved in sports.
    * Possible cover up by local officials, also town people to protect the boys on the team.
    * Anonymous steps in and exposes the whole situation and not just about the rape itself - but the (sick?) mentality behind certain aspects.

Now, regardless of their previous actions and how one might feel about them previously - in this case - were they right to expose a possible culture of town cover-up?

I say a definite "Yes"

===============================================

Long version:
    On August 27, 2012 two members of the Big Red High School football team in Steubenville, Ohio – USA were arrested and charged with the rape and kidnapping of an out of town 16 year old girl that took place on August 11th.

At the time of this gang rape, the girl was intoxicated and unconscious. The victim had been intentionally drugged with a “date rape” intoxicant. She was photographed and video was taken of her in this condition, and there is evidence that she was hauled in a comatose state to multiple parties – and almost certainly raped by more members of the local high school football team than just the two players who currently stand charged. There is even evidence that she was urinated upon during this hideous assault.

Despite all this, it looked as though a town rife with corruption, cronyism, illegal gambling and fixated upon their star high school football team (a major economic revenue engine) were prepared to orchestrate a major cover-up in order to sweep the entire affair under the rug. As this disclosure will document, this cover-up was perpetrated by people in the high school administration, local government and law enforcement.

– Enter Anonymous –

On December 23, 2012 a cell within Anonymous called “Knight Sec” took up the cause of giving a voice to the victim of this horrible crime, and began unraveling this conspiracy of silence designed to protect a group of these high school football players who had become well known to their fellow students as “The Rape Crew”. Fueled by intelligence they had received from many students at Big Red High School, they launched Operation RollRedRoll

The article continues at GREAT length HERE

WARNING: There is some possible adult detail in the above link - no visual graphic details can be seen but there is some stuff that is certainly adult/mature eyes reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Yes. IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Abso-fuccking-lutely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

Categorically yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i think i saw this film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Yes,a million times yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I'm not a fan of mob justice, but on the other hand, I grew up between two small towns, and it's terrifying how easy it is for terrible things to be swept under the carpet indefinitely to protect the local lads. I have mixed feelings on this concept in general, tbh - but I'd find it hard to generate even the slightest semblance of sympathy for the boys involved in this case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The Mail version of the terrible events: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2256920/Hacker-group-Anonymous-outing-people-involved-cover-horrific-rape-case-star-high-school-football-players-assaulted-unconscious-teenage-girl.html
    The case, which was publicized nationally by an explosive New York Times story, has split the small town of Steubenville into two sides- those who are devout fans of the football team who have chosen to support the two players, saying that the incident is the girl's fault for getting that drunk

The above in bold gets my blood boiling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Exposing a gang rape ? Of course !

WARNING: There is some possible adult detail in the above link - no visual graphic details can be seen but there is some stuff that is certainly adult/mature eyes reading

subscribes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Of course they're right to expose the truth.
    The only problem is have is if they named the rapists or the victim without letting an investigation run its course. I'd hate for them to wrongly name someone in this situation.

Dean09 wrote: »
    Of course they're right to expose the truth.
    The only problem is have is if they named the rapists or the victim without letting an investigation run its course. I'd hate for them to wrongly name someone in this situation.

The rapists have been arrested and already named previously apparently.
    Anon went further and supposedly exposed part of the towns attitude to cover it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Internet nerds bitch-slapping high school jocks for being scum? The revolution has begun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Anonymous often gets a bad rap, but every now and then they go and do something wonderful like this. Frankly, I wish they did it more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Biggins wrote: »

Anon went further and supposedly exposed part of the towns attitude to cover it up.

Well they're dead right for exposing the cover-up.
    The part I don't agree with is naming the alleged rapists. I don't think an alleged rapist or paedophile etc should ever be named until such a time when they are found guilty.
    If someone was wrongly accused and cleared of all charges it would still ruin their life. They'll always be known as a rapist. And people will always believe there's no smoke without fire.
    If however they're found guilty, then by all means name and shame the bastards.

Some of the words said by one boy who recorded himself during the rape is simply shocking.
    I'm not going to post his words here but they can be found at the above links.

...Simply shocking.

TO BE CLEAR:
    Anon' was exposing the further attempts by some in the town, to cover up the event and who also was involved supposedly.
    They even include email evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Trial by Internet.

LiamMc wrote: »
    Trial by Internet.

It seems the raped girl was getting a local unofficial trial too judging by the disgusting words of people in her own home town.

Ye reap what ye sow!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

LiamMc wrote: »
    Trial by Internet.

If the accusations are true which they appear to be then I don't care where the trial is, especially when some of those who should be upholding justice in that town are trying to cover this crap up.

All these fcukers need to be burned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭Lisha

After watching tallafornia last week I thought I could not be shocked or horrified any more
    I was wrong
    Ffs what do these boys lack in life that they think it is ok to abuse some one for their sick pleasure . And to watch others violate her too
    Any efforts to punish those who commit such crimes is of course right ( as long as within the law etc)
    I can't imagine how what those boys parents are feeling
    Of course the victim Deserves the most thought. I hope she recovers as well as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Short version:

* Definite unconscious girl. Possible put that way by drugs.
    * Gets raped (and possibly urinated on) by small town local boys involved in sports.
    * Possible cover up by local officials, also town people to protect the boys on the team.
    * Anonymous steps in and exposes the whole situation and not just about the rape itself - but the (sick?) mentality behind certain aspects.

Now, regardless of their previous actions and how one might feel about them previously - in this case - were they right to expose a possible culture of town cover-up?

I say a definite "Yes"

===============================================

Long version:

The article continues at GREAT length HERE

WARNING: There is some possible adult detail in the above link - no visual graphic details can be seen but there is some stuff that is certainly adult/mature eyes reading.

I definitley concur. No question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Some of those involved in the alleged rape have already admitted to it. There's definitely something dodgy about the whole thing. Still don't think that Anon should do these things so publicly though. If they can build a case or help the investigation then they should share what they know directly with members of law enforcement agencies which they personally trust rather than hoping it goes viral. Mob justice is no justice at all, regardless of whether or not that mob are behind computer screens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

My opinion on Anonymous is this:

Hacking Sony/credit cards is a no no.

however, with their helping people during Hurricane Sandy, attempting to help people in Israel, and reporting things on their Twitter account which no one else reports (this is genuinely true), I do have respect for them.

And in this case, they definitely did the right thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Froyo

It's OK to be against mob justice, but I don't think you can say acts outside the law which may fall upon those involved in such crimes when damning evidence is present, is never warranted.

Imagine being this girls father or mother only to have other mothers and fathers cover up such a crime? They must feel so betrayed as well as everything else.

I hope everyone involved gets what's coming to them, within the law and/or outside of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

however, with their helping people during Hurricane Sandy, attempting to help people in Israel, and reporting things on their Twitter account which no one else reports (this is genuinely true), I do have respect for them.

This is the biggest misconception about Anonymous, and in fairness it is propagated by the media every single time something happens with Anonymous.

Anonymous isn't a single, official autonomous group. It's a name that anyone can go under when they want to. This is why the things that "they" do are so varied. Because it's not the same people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭recyclops

This is sickening, I read Friday night lights and while the kids in that are fairly messed up with the pedestal the town puts them on and the pressures too, it doesn't come at all close to this.

They are right to expose this crime if nobody else will do a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

The above in bold gets my blood boiling.
    Plenty thinking like that on this very website unfortunately.

Something like this though there really would need to be unequivocal proof they've the right people.

Some of those involved in the alleged rape have already admitted to it. There's definitely something dodgy about the whole thing. Still don't think that Anon should do these things so publicly though. If they can build a case or help the investigation then they should share what they know directly with members of law enforcement agencies which they personally trust rather than hoping it goes viral. Mob justice is no justice at all, regardless of whether or not that mob are behind computer screens.

I hear what your saying but it apparently was a local bunch of people under the banner of "Anonymous" that went further because the legal authorises in the small town were apparently part and parcel of the silence attempts - including people at the sheriff's office.

I could be wrong but I think in THIS case, Anonymous felt (given the material they had took time to gather - you will find some of it on the above links to download) that the authorities there could not be trusted - thus the exposure was made of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

To save me reading lots. What did they expose exactly? Information from where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Madam_X wrote: »
    Plenty thinking like that on this very website unfortunately.

Have you examples?

They showed Sony that there was a huge flaw in their system, which they subsequently fixed. If they had checked their system better, Anon wouldn't have needed to.

If it didn't go public, then a lot of this would have never seen the light of day. Sure, two people would still be sent to trial, but what of the people that tried to cover it up? If Anon didn't step in, then they would have all gotten away with it scot-free. At least now there's a chance that they'll be investigated.

While I think the likes of the war on Scientology was just a fools-errand (that didn't achieve anything), this is where Anon really proves themselves as a potential "force for good".