Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

in 2001 i went on holiday to cyprus with my brother and some distant relatives. upon arrival in the hotel i got an overwhelming sense that i had been there before. i couldnt explain it, i just knew in my head that i had been there before. everything was so familiar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Well....
    I was in the bed 2 days ago and i left my desktop on sleep and all of a sudden it turned on in pitch dark lol i was ****ting my self
    It has happened 3 times already in the past 4 months
    I mean like a desktop does not turn on by itself you probably know in order to wake a desptop up from its sleep you either have to move the mouse around or hit the on/off button
    :(
    That's perfectly normal, your computer just received a magic packet which woke it up. It's called Wake-On-LAN. If it really bothers you it can be disabled in the power settings of your OS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭20260622

Deadly thread folks...thanks to everyone who's contributed....I've always been quite sceptical and nothing has ever happened to me but there are a couple of stories on here which have actually "moved me" so to say.

About a month ago I spoke to my Mam from NZ, as the conversation ended, she said your sister is coming around but we'll wait til you get home to tell you the story.....I'm home for Christmas and my Mam & Sis have told me of recent goings on in my Mam's apartment..... (i'm not going to do this story justice but I'll give it a go)

Mam lives on the top floor in an apartment block, so the only doorbell she would have is the one at the main door but we all know the code to the main door so she felt she needed a doorbell on the door of her actual apartment incase....it was locked....she was in bed....hoovering....wanted some privacy (she'll kill me for that) etc. That doorbell started to give her gip so she replaced it with a similar one that plays another kind of chime sound.

Not long after she put in the second one...she started to hear what she thought was the chime of the first doorbell. Thought nothing of it really until she realised it wasn't actually the "chime" of the new doorbell.

She spoke to a close friend about it, she took Mam at her word, (I know she's my Mam and Im bias but I have never known my Mam to tell a lie, ever!) and life went on. This "chime" went on for a good few weeks and then happened to ring ("chime") while she was on the phone to the friend she told.
    Mam then decided to tell my sister what was going on, my sis would be a little less sceptical as me, again took Mam at her word and again life went on until my sister was in Mams apartment when these "chimes" chimed!

My sister rang around and found someone who would do a "clearing"...again I'm extremely sceptical so take from it what you will.

This lady (lets call her Ann) and her friend came to Mams apartment and the minute she walked in, asked who was the big man who was a big drinker.

Mam's father loved a whiskey but was never a big drinker. Again, my Dad likes a drink, but I have never seen him drunk.
    Mam explained this and off they went, further into the apartment. Mam has a 2 bed apartment, left them to it.
    She (Ann) arrived back in a few minutes later and asked who slept in the second bedroom. It's actually known as my bedroom because myself and himself are pretty much the only people who stay in it, but my sister happened to mention that my brother and my sister in law stayed in it a few weeks earlier as Mam was away and they were out at a party.

She (Ann) said that the female who stayed in that room needed help. She was the reason "he" was there but he was harmless and just wanted the best for his daughter. My sister in laws father was a raving alcoholic, over 6 foot tall and nearly as wide. Died through alcoholism 4 years earlier (absolutely no way she could have known this) She (Ann) had seen him in the hallway as she came in.

My Mam and sister obviously knew they would think they were mad, didn't really know what to do but felt honesty was the best policy! Explained what had gone on....SIL asked why he hadn't come to her...who knows!!

SIL got in touch with (Ann)! "Chimes" stopped for two days...queue "chimes" on day 3. Mam rang her, (Ann) said she had lost SIL's number through a phone change and could she please have it again. No more "chimes"!

I've been alone in Mam's place several times since and while I haven't heard the "chimes" it's quite comforting to know that he's here keeping an eye, I talk to him all the time!
    your a legend...we love you to bits and -- is getting the help she needs :D xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Dawn Rider

Candie wrote: »
    There are so many stories of near-abductions on this thread that if I had young kids I'd certainly turn into one of those mothers who's afraid to let them out alone.

Some really scary near-misses here.:(

Some of my FB friends post warnings about suspicious cars seen in their areas now and again. I always thought they were overreacting, but I'm not so sure now...

IceFjoem wrote: »
    Hold up a minute, that wasn't in the metals in Glenageary was it?! They're still trying to solve that, you should definitely tell the Gardai!

Certainly sounds like that case.

I think there was a TV3 documentary about it and it said someone was seen hanging around the area before the murder (not the main suspect though)

I saw the american remake of The Ring when it was initially released in cinemas. I'm more or less desensatised (sp) to horror nowadays, but that movie really creeped me out.

Anyway, I went home and got into bed. At the end of my bed was a dresser with a TV on top of it. When I was in bed I reached forward to grab a book and the TV suddenly switched on "by itself" with the infamous static on the screen.

For a second the hairs stood on the back of my neck until I realised that I actually pressed up against the remote as I leaned foward.

TBH...even more unnerving than that is the image of 20 people emerging from the long grass in the OP. JESUS!!

I had just finished watching the Japanese version (The original) of The Grudge in bed one night. When the cat decided to jump under the sheets at the foot of my bed, and crawl up quickly to lick my face :eek:

I nearly f*cking died of fright.

Seriously, if you want a good horror. This is it. Watch it and see why she (the cat) nearly finished me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I sometimes dream about my death, a recurring one I have is a gun shot to the head. It scares because it's so vivid, I feel the blast and then it's goes slow motion as my visions fades and I drop to my knees. The last sensation I feel before I wake up is the warm feeling of the blood pouring down my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Didnt happen to me but told to me by my mother, The year was about 1979
    and my mother and father had moved to north of england from Ireland.

Anyway they moved into their new council house and settled in. so about a week later they were awoken at 3 in the morning by a creepy knocking at the front door.

The father was like who the f**k is that?:confused: as they didnt really know anyone at this stage as they were not long there.

So the father goes downstairs with the mother following, and opens the door to find a woman about 70 years of age demanding to know what was my mother and farther doing in her house and to get out . Anyway father had to stop her from forcing her way into the hallway and the old woman shouting this is my house! get out!. The father thought maybe she was drunk and had got her house mixed up with theirs.

Eventually they just closed the door and the old woman must of f**ked off, and they went back to bed. Next day they got talking to the next door neigbour about it and described the old woman who had been ranting and raving at them in the middle of the night.

The neighbours face went a shade of grey as they said they had known the old woman and infact she was the prevoius tenant befour my mother and father moved in . The creepy thing was the old woman had been dead for 6 months!:eek:

My friend had something similar happen.

They lived in in an estate full of students. One night around 3 am he heard movemnet downstairs and he panicked, as everyone was in bed. He heard cupboards being opened and closed and furniture being moved around.

He decided to make his way down anyway and did so slowly. He opend the sitting room door and seen a figure on the sofa hunched over with his back to the door.

My mate turned on the light at it was a drunk student, asleep with a curry chip on his lap. When confronted, he told my mate to "Get the fcuk outta my house!"

The Gardai had to be called but basically the guy thought his housemates locked him out, so he managed to break in, then proceded to try eat his takeaway before falling asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Weathering wrote: »
    go fck urself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Malibu Sunshine

Ive been reading Boards since 2004 and this thread is in the all time top 10 reads for me.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

My friend had something similar happen.

They lived in in an estate full of students. One night around 3 am he heard movemnet downstairs and he panicked, as everyone was in bed. He heard cupboards being opened and closed and furniture being moved around.

He decided to make his way down anyway and did so slowly. He opend the sitting room door and seen a figure on the sofa hunched over with his back to the door.

My mate turned on the light at it was a drunk student, asleep with a curry chip on his lap. When confronted, he told my mate to "Get the fcuk outta my house!"

The Gardai had to be called but basically the guy thought his housemates locked him out, so he managed to break in, then proceded to try eat his takeaway before falling asleep.

Similar situation happened to a friend of mine. He was living in Switzerland and one night he went out and got drunk, he was a messy drunk. He came home and made himself a bath but it wasn't his home or his bath, it just looked like his home, the owners came into the bathroom but they were affable as they realised he wasn't a burglar. He got some fright though. He doesn't know how he managed to get into the apartment.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I have an odd one. Not scary but really odd.

I live in my own house for about 6 or so years ; it's in an area I've known all my life & is about a half hours drive from my parents house . It's a straightforward drive from mine to theirs & I do it relatively often : I've lived in the area(s) much of my life.

Christmas Eve & I was driving home - no drink, no drugs, & I suddenly discovered that I was totally lost , somehow; on the way home to my parents house. It's a straightforward drive : the roads are relatively well lit & I've lived " here" almost all my life. Yet suddenly I found myself totally lost & was driving around & literally didn't know where I was ; in an area I've driven & cycled all my life. I couldn't believe it & was fairly freaked out & realised that somehow a Half hour had passed & I was in an industrial estate ; now dead late for our big fAmily Christmas Eve dinner & no idea how to recover the situation.everywhere was in darkness & there were no houses & no cars. I took a random right & saw lights on in a row of boarded up shops & stopped. It was now 8pm on Christmas Eve. As I stopped & jumped out of the car to get directions before the shutters were brought down I realised it was an off licence & at exactly the same time realised that I'd somehow forgotten to buy my Dad the only thing he'd asked for for Christmas - a bottle of Jemmeson. Ran in, bought it, & got directions back to somewhere I could find my way home to my patents house from.

Still really un-nerved by it all; firmly believe it was divine intervention. nEVER been lost on the way home before or seen that place before.

& have never forgotten an important present before. Spookey.

Thanks someone :0

NIMAN wrote: »
    Anyone ever hear about people on the verge of death getting strong smell of flowers?
    I have heard of people smelling oranges.

Scientists say it is due to some biochemical change in the brain before death.

When my Mother died, her friend in another town smelled her favorite flowers at the exact moment she passed.

The friend thought her bf had just sprayed air freshener, and the bf thought she had just sprayed on some body scent.

When I called her friend to tell her the news, she said she already knew. Don't worry, there was more to the conversation than that. :)

The smell of flowers at the moment of death reminds me of an article I read in a magazine years ago.

A UK doctor working on one of the Polynesian Islands saved a young kids life. The kid was very ill with a fever which nobody else could figure out. Luckily, this Dr. worked out what it was in time and gave the kid the right medicine.
    Later that night as the Dr. was getting into bed she felt people moving around her and could smell flowers very strongly for few minutes. The doors and windows were closed so it couldn't be a breeze.
    One of the nurses the following day said to her that it must have been the child's dead relatives saying thank-you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I have an odd one. Not scary but really odd.

I live in my own house for about 6 or so years ; it's in an area I've known all my life & is about a half hours drive from my parents house . It's a straightforward drive from mine to theirs & I do it relatively often : I've lived in the area(s) much of my life.

Christmas Eve & I was driving home - no drink, no drugs, & I suddenly discovered that I was totally lost , somehow; on the way home to my parents house. It's a straightforward drive : the roads are relatively well lit & I've lived " here" almost all my life. Yet suddenly I found myself totally lost & was driving around & literally didn't know where I was ; in an area I've driven & cycled all my life. I couldn't believe it & was fairly freaked out & realised that somehow a Half hour had passed & I was in an industrial estate ; now dead late for our big fAmily Christmas Eve dinner & no idea how to recover the situation.everywhere was in darkness & there were no houses & no cars. I took a random right & saw lights on in a row of boarded up shops & stopped. It was now 8pm on Christmas Eve. As I stopped & jumped out of the car to get directions before the shutters were brought down I realised it was an off licence & at exactly the same time realised that I'd somehow forgotten to buy my Dad the only thing he'd asked for for Christmas - a bottle of Jemmeson. Ran in, bought it, & got directions back to somewhere I could find my way home to my patents house from.

Still really un-nerved by it all; firmly believe it was divine intervention. nEVER been lost on the way home before or seen that place before.

& have never forgotten an important present before. Spookey.

Thanks someone :0

Similar thing happened me on Christmas eve. There was very dense fog and I know the back roads fairly well so wasn't paying attention to exactly which junction was next. Suddenly the road narrows and looks unfamiliar...

Turned out I had missed my turn off 500 yards before because there had been a crash and someone had wiped out the sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭recyclops

Fantastic thread, ivea story of my own, scary at the time when i think back it was just a bit odd and i was probably dreaming. if it was it was extremely vivid.

I was 17 at the time, it was the last friday in october, i had just returned home from a school trip and was alone in the house, my brother was out fishing and my mam was away with my sisters.

At around half one in the morning i heard a knocking on the door, then the bell. I got up of the sofa and walked to the door, opened it with the key chain on. At the door was a man around 21 looked a little destressed, but sketchy.

He just said " hey man does (my name) live here, for some reason i replied " no mate sorry" he look at me puzzled then just walked away and murmered "bye" walking out the garden.

I ran upstairs and looked out the back window, and he was sauntering up the road outta the estate. Never seen the guy again and when i mentioned it to my friends none of them knew the guy or anyone matching his description and said i must have been dreaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I have told the story of the banshee cry and my sister earlier, my other sister had an unnerving experience in the mid 1980s in Glasgow. Someone had tried to break into the house while my sister was there alone. This was in the East End of Glasgow so there was some rough characters about.

My sister had to go into the bathroom on first floor and found someone trying to get through the window, luckily, my father had a nail hammered in which prevented the window from being fully opened. My sister brought the window down jamming his hands slightly so that he had to let go. The same guy then went to the front door and started shouting obscenities and threatening to stab her. She had to call the police and was in some state after it all.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

My uncle woke up a few years ago to find his youngest daughter (who was about 8 at the time) standing at the side of the bed. It's about 1am. He's 'What's wrong love?' and she's 'Daddy, there's a man in my bed'.

She'd woken up a few minutes earlier to see this big man come into the room. He hadn't said anything, just taken off his boots, pulled up the side of the duvet and gotten into bed beside her. She waited until he'd started snoring and then she crept out of bed and ran into her Dad.

My uncle said he nearly died of the shock when my little cousin woke him. There he was with 3 daughters in the house, in the middle of nowhere and some strange man in his smallest girl's bed.

Turns out this drunk had been coming home cross country from the local pub, and had tried all the doors when he got to their house, found one open and walked in and got into the first bed he could find. He didn't even know where he was when he woke up.

Nothing supernatural, but my uncle said it was the biggest fright he'd had in his whole life and what might have been haunted him for months afterwards.

I would have cacked myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

A week before new years eve the year of the millennium I told my dad we shouldn't have the party that night we should go see my granddad who was in hospital because of a stroke. He asked me why and I said that I dreamt he died an hour passed 12 that night and he told me stop been stupid he's gettin better and comin home soon. A week later exactly as I said we got a call at 1am to say he had passed away, we all were there for the call and my dad just looked at me in disbelief. If I never said it to him he would never have believed me! Ever since it's been hit and miss with some of my dreams not all bad dreams some good but a lot come true in some resemblance of the dream freaks me out sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭jimmy the car

Don't know why but every time I read this thread I get goose bumps and shivers all over my body, at no other time do I get them, freaky!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Nodster

about an hour ago I replied to a poke from a good friend on FB only to see a suggestion from another friend who was cremated up North at lunchtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Sitting watching TV last night when the security light came on outside the front. It was 9pm on a Sunday night, who the hell would be calling?

A woman appeared at the living room window carrying a child, and both stared right at me. The hairs on the back of my neck stood right up until I realised it was my neighbour coming to collect her kids!!

This thread has a lot to answer for .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,397 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

My uncle woke up a few years ago to find his youngest daughter (who was about 8 at the time) standing at the side of the bed. It's about 1am. He's 'What's wrong love?' and she's 'Daddy, there's a man in my bed'.

She'd woken up a few minutes earlier to see this big man come into the room. He hadn't said anything, just taken off his boots, pulled up the side of the duvet and gotten into bed beside her. She waited until he'd started snoring and then she crept out of bed and ran into her Dad.

My uncle said he nearly died of the shock when my little cousin woke him. There he was with 3 daughters in the house, in the middle of nowhere and some strange man in his smallest girl's bed.

Turns out this drunk had been coming home cross country from the local pub, and had tried all the doors when he got to their house, found one open and walked in and got into the first bed he could find. He didn't even know where he was when he woke up.

Nothing supernatural, but my uncle said it was the biggest fright he'd had in his whole life and what might have been haunted him for months afterwards.

I would have cacked myself.

Fair play to your uncle. My first instinct would've been to beat him with a hurl. If someone got in my kids bed in the middle of the night I don't know if he'd have a chance to explain. Maybe that's something I need to look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭drvr

My eldest son found a drunk in the house yesterday at 7am. The guy had walked in the unlocked back door and was two steps up the stairs, my son, managed to talked him out of the house without incident. I was at work and my wife and two other sons were upstairs. thankfully it all ended well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

back in the 90's when a good few women had gone missing in ireland I heard the story of a woman who gave a man a lift. there was something strange about him so she pulled in for petrol. he went into the shop so she pulled away without him. He had left his bag in the back and when she looked in there was rope, knives etc in it. scary or what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    back in the 90's when a good few women had gone missing in ireland I heard the story of a woman who gave a man a lift. there was something strange about him so she pulled in for petrol. he went into the shop so she pulled away without him. He had left his bag in the back and when she looked in there was rope, knives etc in it. scary or what!

But did it happen to you!? Thread title!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

Red Hand wrote: »
    But did it happen to you!? Thread title!:pac:

no it didn't - just shared it anyways! Does that mean a warning/ban!! oooh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    no it didn't - just shared it anyways! Does that mean a warning/ban!! oooh!

I'll let you off this time.:pac: I'm such a nice guy...

I have seen a UFO once. It was in daylight and was right on the horizon. It was a sort of egg shape that I could just barely make out flying parallel to the ground. What it was I expect was a helicopter seen at an awkward angle perhaps?

I've often had instances of perhaps what you might call lucid dreaming. Like, I was on holidays earlier this year and I was in a backpacking hostel in a tiny town in a valley in Scandanavia and I was woken by a bearded man. Had the fright of my life. Then I woke up properly and realised that I had just dreamed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Red Hand wrote: »
    I was on holidays earlier this year and I was in a backpacking hostel in a tiny town in a valley in Scandanavia and I was woken by a bearded man. Had the fright of my life. Then I woke up properly and realised that I had just dreamed that.
    Were you in a dorm? Could just have been some guy looking for his bed.

I was sound asleep in a hostel in London when I was woken by this guy in a suit shining his phone torch in my face. He had come in late and was checking which bed was free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Similar thing happened me on Christmas eve. There was very dense fog and I know the back roads fairly well so wasn't paying attention to exactly which junction was next. Suddenly the road narrows and looks unfamiliar...

Turned out I had missed my turn off 500 yards before because there had been a crash and someone had wiped out the sign.

Something very similar happened me this Christmas Eve, I was driving on familiar road (listening to Fannings Fab Fifty!) when I realised I made a wrong turn somewhere and was on an unfamiliar road. As it was very dark, I was not sure exactly where I was but I found my way back to where I was suppose to be going eventually. I never made a wrong turn on this road before and thought it was quite weird that I had made this mistake.

I am not aware of any accidents on the road I was supposed to have been on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭jaydoxx

Great thread, have a little submission myself that I can't really explain.

It all started earlier this year when one day, my sister told us all about this dream she had. I didn't really pay much attention to it as I was preoccupied that day, only I remarked over the fact that she said she couldn't move or make any sound even though she was trying to call my other sister who shares the same room. She didn't go into very much detail except very vaguely saying she saw something like a ghost. I had heard of sleep paralysis before on some UFO documentary so I figured that's what it was.

Anyway, as I was saying, I was preoccupied that day and didn't think anything at all of it and went on as if I never heard it, just forgot about it basically. Well so, I went to bed as usual and rather unusually, woke up in the middle of the night. I rolled over in bed and saw a yellowish smoky top half of a person with no real facial features, just contours where you would expect the mouth and eyes and it was on my thighs. It felt like time just paused when I seen it and I didn't feel scared just kind of confused or something, like wtf is that thing? It then flew up, well more like it stood up if you can imagine a torso rising up by itself, and it jumped into my chest and I tried to resist it and turn my body to the door and call my mom but I could barely move, like all the strength in my body could only tilt me a small amount and my screams became barely a rasp from my throat producing no real sound.

I woke up in a sweat and still didn't think anything strange had happened so I went back to sleep, it was just a regular nightmare or something.

I then woke up again to the same thing happening to me but this time when I regained control, I called into my sister and I told her what had happened and she looked really worried as she said that was exactly what happened to her and it was so strange because she hadn't told anyone the full story and then the very next night the same thing had happened to me.

I don't really know how to come to terms with what happened, is it possible for people to have identical sleep paralysis events one day apart? I know that it is possible that I suffered sleep paralysis, and subconciously it might have been brought on by hearing my sisters story that day but how could it have happened in a way that was never described to me and only 1 day apart.

Probably not even a scary story, but I found it creepy at the time anyway :)