Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Garda 'special orders'

Victor 3.3's FD/FE Blue / Maroon

Granada 2.8 L's SSI 910 seems to be the only surviving example around

Renault 18Turbo Beige

Opel Ascona 2.0i's

Fiat 132's :eek:

Customs/Army also had a special order of Opel Rekord 2.2i's SI ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 mr.2

Do the Guards still auction off cars? Or the likes of Customs for that matter? Has anyone bought any decent ex-Garda vehicles for every day use?

They seem to drive pretty much anything these days. I saw a couple of Gardai using a 2000 reg Toyota Camry recently. Used to see a Fiat Punto around also...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

There was a thread about ex-Garda cars recently somewhere, apparently they drive them to 300k these days and then scrap them.

I think Wilsons do the auctions, but I've seen a few 'plain clothes' Garda cars getting lights/stripes so i reckon cutbacks mean stretching what they've got :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Anan1 wrote: »
    Is that definitely true? I always remember having seen a dark red Garda car as a kid, but i'd managed to convince myself that i'd imagined it.

I came across this pic online some time ago ...confirms your 'red' sighting!

Silvera wrote: »
    I came across this pic online some time ago ...confirms your 'red' sighting!

They also had dark red/maroon Vauxhall Victor FE's

http://www.flickr.com/photos/imagetaker1/5982406470/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

My memory is of a big Vauxhall, but darker red than Capri's pic - more of a wine colour.

Anan1 wrote: »
    My memory is of a big Vauxhall, but darker red than Capri's pic - more of a wine colour.

AFAICR there was both red and maroon Victor 3.3's on the fleet :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Just goes to show there was a fair bit of money floating around back then.

Thing is most of the owners probably still have a healthy bank account. ;)

Old money and plenty of life experience.

The funny thing is though, someone driving the likes of a 911 or Jag XJS convertible would probably have been considered a nouveau arriviste at the time!;)

Great pics all the same - I remember seeing some of these motors around the place the time, not all though. Great seeing the number of 928's what a shame there are so few still on the roads.

Dades wrote: »
    I think that may have been Lochlann Quinn's Ferrari (nice reg!). That's Ailsbury Road and he used to be parked there frequently in those days. He still lives nearby on Nutley Road and still has some awesome cars.

Could well be. I remember seeing that motor around a few times in the early 90s. He had a blue 456 subsequently. In more recent years I've seen him in a 599.

Mac 3 wrote: »

scan0039.jpg

HI SCH

HIS CH

Charlie Haughey??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Mac 3

I think it someone to do with Dromoland Castle had the Lagonda. There was a few Astons over there at one stage.

Another Lagonda close to Shannon. (I wasnt old enough to drive so Im in the back:D)

scan0001-4.jpg

scan0003-5.jpg

scan0002-3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

as much as I try to like the Lagonda I just can't! They just look awkward from too many angles for me I'd be probably be more excited by the 405 you're auld fella's driving.

kev1.3s wrote: »
    as much as I try to like the Lagonda I just can't! They just look awkward from too many angles for me I'd be probably be more excited by the 405 you're auld fella's driving.

405. Well Spotted Kev, Id never seen a Lagonda before that, twas a strange looking thing alright. It mightnt have been to everyones taste but Aston had the balls to build it all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Don't know why I don't like it to be honest because I was a fan of the "wedge" I suppose it just represented a time in British motor history that doesn't appeal to me, if there balls were so big why O why didn't they build this?
    http://cars-database.com/aston-martin-bulldog.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

Saw a White 83 reg Sierra in ferrybank Waterford this morning, looked fairly shiny, as if the guy was taking her on a maiden voyage.

didnt get a photo as I was driving.

so anyone else spot a 'new' classic yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

porsche959 wrote: »
    HI SCH

HIS CH

Charlie Haughey??

I see from Cartell that the plate is on a Fiat 500 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Is this the same one,
    In Durrow 2009?

DSC01137.JPG

scan0039.jpg

Dont think theyre the same car, I saw the one in Durrow, shes more green than blue.

Heres a few more of the same Lagonda in a different spot.

scan0044.jpg

scan0040.jpg

Mac 3 wrote: »
    Dont think theyre the same car, I saw the one in Durrow, shes more green than blue.

Heres a few more of the same Lagonda in a different spot.

scan0044.jpg

scan0040.jpg

That green one's usually around Hume St / Ely place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

One of the ****test looking cars ever i reckon! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I love 'em. Gimme boxy any day. My 850 makes me moist. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭w124man

dahamsta wrote: »
    I love 'em. Gimme boxy any day. My 850 makes me moist. :)

Close the sunroof then !! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

hi5 wrote: »
    Is this the same one,
    In Durrow 2009?

DSC01137.JPG

scan0039.jpg

I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Sorry for the poor quality pic :o took a quick pic sitting at a red light. Seen in Dun Laoighre parked on the side of the street at 3a.m

IMAG03551_zpsac003bb0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

Sorry for the poor quality pic :o took a quick pic sitting at a red light. Seen in Dun Laoighre parked on the side of the street at 3a.m

IMAG03551_zpsac003bb0.jpg

Nice beetle :D

Well past it's bedtime - too dangerous on the streets after 9pm :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Capri wrote: »
    Well past it's bedtime - too dangerous on the streets after 9pm :rolleyes:

:rolleyes: I was pointing out the time because I dont know about you but I wouldnt park a car like that on the side of the street with a soft top for fear of some scumbag deciding it was an easy target. But hey roll your eyes all you want :cool:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Does anyone else think that the day has come where by you should be able to tax your "large engined car that's not quite a classic yet" just for weekend use at a reduced rate? It seems crazy that so many luxury cars are worthless here due to the ludicrous road tax here in Ireland. Isn't it about time that a restricted road tax was brought in at a reduced rate so you could use the car for weekends only? What do ye think?