Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,967 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

My mother ofton told a story about how one time she was in hospital and the woman beside her was very ill but still able to chat.

The doctors came in one day and told her that she was getting better.
    My mother turned to her and mentioned how that was some good news at last but the woman replied that she knew it wasn't true as she felt that she would die the next day.

And she did pass away the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Well, this thread makes me want to take self-defense...and practice runningXD

Eh, I don't really have any scary stories that aren't my own imagination. :o

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Reading the thread has sparked off so many memories of my own stories. :)

I used to live in a damp mouse-infested hole of a chalet when I first moved out of home. It was down the back of a dark yard. Walking home one evening and I was approaching my turn, there was a woman up ahead going the same direction. Then it started to rain and I said I'd speed up. I started gaining on the woman and she started to look nervously over her shoulder. I was right at my gate so I thought--I'll disappear off now and she'll know I'm not some sort of crazed murderer. Not to worry. (I should point out at this stage that I am a wimminz, and a puny one at that, but I was wearing a black coat and a black hat :cool: )

Then, instead of keeping going on the path, she turned down into the yard ahead of me and I was so close I didn't have time to think and just went blindly after her towards my flat.

She screamed the place down. Begged me not to hurt her. My pretty weak response was to tell her I was just trying to get home and kept going.

Upside: There had been a car parking right up against our sitting room window for weeks, driving us bonkers because we couldn't hang the washing out. It was hers and she never parked there again. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭bmwguy

When we were teenagers (1995) we were out playing football on the local green, about 10 or 12 of us, it was a Friday evening. One of the lads brought out a stereo and played the radio. Eric Claptons song "tears on heaven" came on and the lad that brought the steteo said he loved that song and wanted it played at his funeral. Nobody took any notice until he died of meningitis the very next afternoon. Just to clarify he didnt know he was sick at the time, perfectly healthy. Just took ill and passed in a few hours. We had to tell his brothers of his unusual statement. And yes, it was played. RIP Buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Anyway, one night/morning around 5am I was making my way to the metro station to get the early train and heard someone screaming down an alley...couldn't help but glance down and saw 5 or 6 guys dragging a woman from a car into a house. One of the guys saw me (they were about 100 yards away), seemed to say something to his buddies and then started walking in my direction.
    I'm glad you got away okay. Did you ever contact the police/find out if the woman was okay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

Was walking home from a friends house around midnight when i was 17, it's a secluded enough rural area but has some street lights randomly dotted around the area.

Was walking up a hill towards new house build, proper construction site, fully fenced, no way in or out. When i saw a man in the shadow of the streetlight about 50 feet ahead of me walking on the opposite side of the road. Weirdest thing i've ever seen, tall bearded guy, victorian era dress with a long black coat and a top hat. I kept walking and after a few more feet he dissappeared, but this was outside the buiding site, and there was nowhere for him to have gone...

I dismissed it as me being slightly under the influence but sped up on the walk home.

About four years later i was driving up the road leading to my house, about 100 yards from my earlier story, when my girlfriend shouted stop, so i braked and asked what was wrong.. she said there was somebody ahead of us on the road, i flicked the dims on and off and said i'd seen nothing and it must have been a shadow.

She was adament she'd seen somebody... a tall guy with a beard, with a top hat and long black coat...

I had never told her my story..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭tishandy

Sorry about grammer, Im holding a large sleeping baby in one arm.

In 1994 my family travelled to London to visit my bro and sis in law. They had been staying with a relative and only just moved into their own flat.
    They were showing us around it was studio jobby, bed in the living room beside window , large partition hiding kitchen.
    Anyway Kate (sis in law) was uneasy about the flat and said she felt stupid as theres no such thing as ghosts but this was her experience a couple of nights before.

That summer was really hot and though they were on the ground floor they had no choice but to leave the bay window a little open as it was suffocating .
    Now as I said above the bed was beside window. She woke up hearing a noise outside and saw a young black kid ( about 12 yr old ) slowly climbing in the window.
    She was frozen with fear and trying to nudge -whisper to my brother to wake up. The lad is now fully inside so she calls my brother loudly and shoves him with one arm all the while watching this boy breaking in.

This is the creepy part he was in shadow and she couldnt see perfectly as there was only moon and streetlight but he turned and looked at her then dived to the ground but his body stretched -elongated really long and slid across the room behind the kitchen partition. She screamed the brother jumped up and of course he could find no one in the room. Creeps me out still all these years later I can still remember how afraid and confused she was telling us the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

This thread is over a week old now and is still going strong, this should now make the status of a legendary thread. Thank you Dr Gonzo you have created a thread here that is involving everyone and everyone has a tale to tell.

Haha, I must admit, I am extremely proud of how this thread has turned out. I've just caught up and the stories that people have to tell are just amazing, I must go back through the thread and collect the better ones together.

As a side note I'd just like to add that at the base of a lot of these stories is often a very personal and tragic event, and I just wanted to say thanks to all who have posted a personal story on here. I have no doubts that many were difficult to post, and I hope that it was in some way a cathartic experience.

Keep sharing boards, this thread is turning into an amazing read for a whole host of reasons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭steamsey

A few years ago, during the summer, I was minding my friends house while he was away on holidays – just watering his indoor plants really. I’d been there 2 or 3 times already without incident and on the last time I had to go down before he came home, I had a very freaky experience.
    I had done what I needed to do and was about to leave. I was walking from the kitchen towards the front door and for some reason I stopped in the middle of the hallway, opposite the cupboard underneath the stairs.
    I remember asking myself why I stopped - had I forgotten my keys, or gloves for the motorbike or something. I was stopped there, patting my pockets & checking myself to ensure I had everything, when I realized how quiet it was. I remember looking around and thinking that I had never heard such quiet before in my life. There was just no noise at all. It was pleasant but also unnerving.
    Then after maybe 10 seconds or so, out of nowhere the cupboard door under the stairs burst open, and all this stuff spilled out over the floor – sleeping bags, a cricket bat, blankets.
    I had the fear of God in me and ran out of the house screaming. It took everything I had just to go back and lock the front door before I shot out of there on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Just remembered from another post that I once dreamt of being mummified. As my eyes were covered I woke up, down the other end of my bed (bunk bed too, bottom bunk, so I dunno how I didn't hit my head) with my arms crossed like a mummy. I laughed it off, but it's pretty weird to think about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Anyone remember the band Weezer? Their guitarist Mikey Welsh died suddenly last year, 10 days before hand he posted on Twitter that he dreamt he died in his sleep from a heart failure in Chicago. He joked that he better go and make his will.

10 days later this is exactly what happened to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭michellie

when I was a child we lived on a cul de sac, it was early 90's and everyone knew each other on the street, very quiet area with loads of children. Anyway when me and my sister were asleep mam and dad would sometimes go into the neighbors right next door for a chat and cup of tea and leave the door unlocked as you could then!

One night they did this and came back in and went to bed about 11 or 12. Lying in bed and they heard footsteps,someone running down the stairs and out of the house!! Dad jumped up and ran out but they never found out who it was, nothing was missing or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭puddles and umbrellas

Zillah wrote: »
    Best creepy story that I heard was from an American I met in a hostel who swears it was true. I won't try and retell the long version, so here is the short one: He went camping in some forested mountains alone despite being warned that it was a bad idea. His friends said it was dangerous, no one would be around to help him if he hurt himself etc, other people warned him that there were all sorts of crazy people living out in the wild that love to screw with campers. He spent the whole weekend up there, hiking during the day, taking photos, sleeping in his tent etc, and had no problems whatsoever. After he got home he went through his photos and found one that appeared to be of him fast asleep taken from the corner of his tent.

Oh.Dear.God.
    That is terrifying :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Oh.Dear.God.
    That is terrifying :eek:

That story is bollocks. Ive seen that story told loads of times on the internet and tv shows etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭KungPao

I can honestly say nothing creepy or unnerving has ever happened to me.

I feel so left out :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭puddles and umbrellas

That story is bollocks. Ive seen that story told loads of times on the internet and tv shows etc

Ah. I was caught! I really should read snopes.com before become taken in by these stories. V naive sometimes :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Ah. I was caught! I really should read snopes.com before become taken in by these stories. V naive sometimes :rolleyes:

I thought it was true the first time i heard it as well. Then i saw the same story retold at different times by different people.

Id like to think that maybe it did happen to someone long ago as it is a great story but its probably nothing but an urban legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I thought it was true the first time i heard it as well. Then i saw the same story retold at different times by different people.

Id like to think that maybe it did happen to someone long ago as it is a great story but its probably nothing but an urban legend.

You cynics. I think it's just happened so many times that it has become a well-known occurrence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I was actually thinking about that story a couple of days ago and thinking it sounded familiar, like I'd heard it before. I couldn't tell then if I'd actually heard it before or if it was just that I read it on here and just got confused. It's a great story nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

I told these stories on the Paranormal thread. Over the past few years I've gone through spells of noticing strange goings on in my house -like lights being on downstairs in the morning after they've defo been switched off, my son's bedroom heater switching on and burning the side of his locker and knobs on the hob turning on by themselves. Well, I was doubting my own memory 'til one day about 8 mths ago (I think) I was in the kitchen and one of the oven hobs switched on. This time I actually saw it turning by itself...I stood there, held my breath for a moment and out loud I said 'go on, do that again'...then one of the other knobs switched on...it turned right round by itself:eek:. I don't know if anyone takes me seriously when I tell them but I swear it really and truly happened.

A few years ago when there'd been a spell of weird goings on in the house, I was in the kitchen alone and I said 'dad, if that's you, please stop. I'm afraid'. I never told a soul about this at the time. My sister went to a fortune teller/spiritualist a few days later and she said word for word 'your dad has a message for Ann, he says, there is a presence in her house but it's not him and it will never harm her'.

Btw...My uncle saw some kind of huge ghostly black dog passing him on a lonely country road one night. It was the size of a donkey and had glowing eyes (can't remember if he said it had one or two eyes), he was with a friend, both of them saw it and neither was drunk:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Like the previous poster's story 2 young lads 13, 15 years old were coming back lateish on a quiet country road. All of a sudden a huge hound (donkey sized) with glowing eyes jumped on the ditch . One started to run way but the older one grabbed him and said we must not run but face it and theywalked past the spectral dog. They later returned with lamps and backup but saw nothing unusual at the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 HeirToWoe

Long time lurker, first time poster. Fantastic thread.

My granddad used to work as a porter and cellar hand for a few bars in South Dublin, particularly Crumlin in his early years, this would be the 1940's .

He was making the rounds one morning, around 5am he said, when he passed a tall man in a black trench coat and top hat down the lane were the tradesmen;s entrance was. He thought nothing of it as many a man would be stumbling home at this late hour after a lock in in that particular pub, he wished him good morning but apparently the gentleman made no remark.

So he paid no heed and he knocked on the back door but there was no reply. Strange considering the man he had passed had surely just exited through that door. He knocked again and said what came were three unnaturally loud knocks that made him jump back.

He knocked again but there was no reply. He yelled who it was, and to open up but there was still no reply so he went on his merry way and made note for the boss that the delivery could not be made and went on to complete his other deliveries.

The following afternoon he was told that there was a body found in the bar, the night porter had a heart attack and had died the night before. My granddad had terrible dreams about the gentleman in the lane afterwards, he said he dreamed of his long nails but couldn't for the life of him picture the gentleman's face. Swore it was death incarnate until his dying day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭jefreywithonef

Collie D wrote: »
    Knew I shouldn't have read this thread before I went to sleep. One of those Chinese lantern things just floated past by bedroom window and frightened the **** out of me.

My fridge starting to hum was enough to make me jump. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭bmwguy

That story of the guy that had his picture taken asleep when he was on his own reminds me of the time myself and a work colleague stayed in a hotel after a work party. It was only 2 of us staying there. After a heavy nights drinking he went to bed, I stayed up for a while and even though we had seperate rooms I left something in his room so got a key from reception to get it. This was at about 4 in the morning and apparently after a heavy nights drinking he sleeps sitting up in bed to stop himself feeling sick. I came into his room, saw him fast asleep sitting up and took a picture on his phone. He never woke and I returned to my room, he only saw the picture a few days later and it spooked him for a while before I admitted it. He was asking questions like was I in his room at all, I knew why he was asking but played it cool, funny few days I could see he was fairly agitated about it!

tishandy wrote: »
    Sorry about grammer, Im holding a large sleeping baby in one arm.

In 1994 my family travelled to London to visit my bro and sis in law. They had been staying with a relative and only just moved into their own flat.
    They were showing us around it was studio jobby, bed in the living room beside window , large partition hiding kitchen.
    Anyway Kate (sis in law) was uneasy about the flat and said she felt stupid as theres no such thing as ghosts but this was her experience a couple of nights before.

That summer was really hot and though they were on the ground floor they had no choice but to leave the bay window a little open as it was suffocating .
    Now as I said above the bed was beside window. She woke up hearing a noise outside and saw a young black kid ( about 12 yr old ) slowly climbing in the window.
    She was frozen with fear and trying to nudge -whisper to my brother to wake up. The lad is now fully inside so she calls my brother loudly and shoves him with one arm all the while watching this boy breaking in.

This is the creepy part he was in shadow and she couldnt see perfectly as there was only moon and streetlight but he turned and looked at her then dived to the ground but his body stretched -elongated really long and slid across the room behind the kitchen partition. She screamed the brother jumped up and of course he could find no one in the room. Creeps me out still all these years later I can still remember how afraid and confused she was telling us the story.

Aw I read this story last night and couldn't sleep a wink. Terrifying stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Duff

This happened my uncle back in the early 80s.

At the time my uncle was about 17 and lived with his parents (my grandparents) just outside a town, on a stretch of road with about 15 houses on it. Anyway, his best friend lived on a farm just down a laneway from his house. One Saturday night the two are in his friends house getting ready to go out when my uncle remembers he left something back at his house so decides to run home quickly to get it as it's only a 2 minute run. He said it was about 10 pm during the summer so it wasn't fully dark. Anyway, as he's jogging along the laneway to his house he turns a corner and out of nowhere BAM! He runs straight into this ''thing'' covered in hair. The force of runnig into it knocked him to his arse on the ground. He said his first thought was it was a cow or donkey standing in the middle of the lane but when he hit the ground and looked up to see what he ran into he froze in fear. It was a huge human shaped figure covered in dark hair. My uncle said he couldn't make out any features as it was quite dark but it was about 7ft tall and covered in hair. It just stood looking at him in a sort of ''confused'' manner and then crossed the laneway, through a ditch and out into a field.

My uncle freaked and took off down the rest of the lane as fast as his legs would carry him. He burst in his front door and never left the house for the rest of the night. My grandad was there when he got to the house and said he was as white as a ghost. Still get chills when I go to visit my grandparents and see that laneway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭LithiumKid1976

Ok, here’s my story, still freaks me out, and cant really explain it.

Around 1998, we rented a house in renmore, Galway, near that big green area. Forget the exact address.

House was grand, just the 3 of us, (me, my sister and her boyfriend)

My bedroom door was down the hall from the bathroom, at a 90 degrees angle to the bathroom. i.e. to get to the bathroom from my bedroom, you had to open my door, turn right, walk a couple of yards, quick left and the bathroom door was on your right.

In the bathroom, from the day we moved in, there had been left on the windowsill, what I would refer to as an Afro comb (you know the ones, a flat, one handle yoke, that you’d see in 70’s movies etc J ), I thought nothing of it.

I used to work evening shift in Boston scientific at the time, so would normally hang out in the bedroom, playing loud music, reading Q magazines etc. my sister worked in town. So I was always there by myself during the day.

Shortly after moving in, I was in my room, lying on the bed, playing music really loud, when I heard a massive *thump* on my bedroom door.

Naturally, I jumped! Turned off the music, called out to see if anyone was there, no answer, slowly opened the door…. And the 1st thing I notice, is the afro comb, lying on the ground outside my door…. The same one, which earlier in the day, was in its normal resting place in the bathroom!

Still freaks me out to this day, I have no idea, how it managed to get from the bathroom to my door, if it was that that banged on my door. I was the only one in the house at the time, and all the doors and windows were shut.

(the bathroom door was always open, unless you were in it of course, and was open this day as well)

I played my music quieter from then on, but we didn’t stay there too long after,
    My sister said she never felt safe in that house…

Genuine, true story that I tell a lot of people, and I still cant explain it. J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Janedoe10

Another story . College in cork . magazine road I am not sure of the number but it was at the top of the hill on the right . 9 bedroomed house but cause most of us went home during the weekend place would be empty . The amount of times there would be two of us downstairs and u would hear the doors upstairs close and open and hear walking in the rooms above us . U would go upstairs and no body there !!
    Remember once as well we came down to the kitchen and all the furniture moved around over night and no one heard a thing .... In the end it seemed most of us ensured we were never in house on our own at night /weekends . When ever one is in the house u can justify noises and doors to the occupants , diff to explain it when no one there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Ann22 wrote: »
    I told these stories on the Paranormal thread. Over the past few years I've gone through spells of noticing strange goings on in my house -like lights being on downstairs in the morning after they've defo been switched off, my son's bedroom heater switching on and burning the side of his locker and knobs on the hob turning on by themselves. Well, I was doubting my own memory 'til one day about 8 mths ago (I think) I was in the kitchen and one of the oven hobs switched on. This time I actually saw it turning by itself...I stood there, held my breath for a moment and out loud I said 'go on, do that again'...then one of the other knobs switched on...it turned right round by itself:eek:. I don't know if anyone takes me seriously when I tell them but I swear it really and truly happened.

I would honestly get my house checked for poor wiring if I was you. Things switching on and off...we had a fire at our house not so long ago because of faulty wiring.

For me, I had a few unnerving things happen to me. I remember playing in my sister's room with some stuffed animals when I was three or four. It was daytime and I turned around from my position on the floor and outside the window, I saw what can only be described as a fiery spider or a gigantic spark from what you'd see coming off an acetylene cutter when welding, dancing against the window. It didn't freak me out as I was at an age when you just accept things.

Looking back, I'm not sure what it was. It might have been a clump of straw blowing against the window? It did look like it was on fire or something glowing.

When I was older, about 9 or 10, I was in a town in Limerick (can't remember which). We were waiting for my brother in the car, and my father let me go to the shop while he read the paper in the car. The shop was about 50 metres up the street and while I was coming out of it, this guy in a car directly in the front of it beckoned me over, and so I walked over to the open window of the car (he was an adult, what can I say). He was old flat cap farmer type (probably late 50s thinking back, though when you're a child everyone that age is ancient) and as far as I can remember, he said something like "Your mother asked me to drop you back, come on, sit in". He'd a thick accent and I had to get him to repeat it more than once.

Once I understood what he'd said, I just shook my head and carried on walking without a word back to my father's car. Never told my father, as I just couldn't explain why someone would say that to me considering it was my first time in that town and had never met that guy.

Lucky escape I think. I was fairly gullible as a child.