Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

2013 Art O'Neill Challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭aigster

ThisRegard wrote: »

[Raises hand].

I'll run to the first check point and see how I feel then with regards to how I'll tackle the rest of the course. I'll probably trot the flats and downhill sections, and now that we go through the forest as opposed to via the carpark at Blackhill, probably through there.

I don't intend on hanging around the checkpoint waiting to be put into a guide group, I'm confident in my navigation and would rather go at my own pace or with someone at a similar level to myself.

With a bigger guide group you're really only as fast as the slowest person there.

So two hybrid hands up :).... As I amnt as confident Ill sit tight for the group.... :)...those lads who compete are made of strong stuff !!....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

would this be the approximate route to avoid Black Hill ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Close enough, you'll be coming from the east as opposed to the car park obviously. When you turn right off the road into the forest on your route, and then right again when in the forest, on the night you'll be coming from the left at that point to the forest entrance there. That's where the checkpoint will be.

edit, where the green arrow is here is where the checkpoint and forest entrance will be, unless someone proves me wrong. Ignore the A on the map.

What's it like in there ? On the map from the other night it looked as if they were advising staying high around Mullaghcleevaun, I see you went down to the Valley, depending on where you come out of the forest, it's still probably the easiest ?

The east most route at the forest entance looks like it could be a private road ?

Close enough, you'll be coming from the east as opposed to the car park obviously. When you turn right off the road into the forest on your route, and then right again when in the forest, on the night you'll be coming from the left at that point to the forest entrance there. That's where the checkpoint will be.

edit, where the green arrow is here is where the checkpoint and forest entrance will be, unless someone proves me wrong. Ignore the A on the map.

What's it like in there ? On the map from the other night it looked as if they were advising staying high around Mullaghcleevaun, I see you went down to the Valley, depending on where you come out of the forest, it's still probably the easiest ?

The east most route at the forest entance looks like it could be a private road ?

I haven't done the route yet, this was just an approximate planned route that I made based on the two routes listed on the AON site, the fact that Black Hill is out on the night and google earth photos of the area :D
    In fact, I'm not even doing it on the night, but I had planned on doing a run down there next week anyway, so heading down there with aigster who is doing the real thing.

Is the checkpoint in the Ballynultagh car park ? If that's the case, I could cut off the first mile off that route and head directly into the forest from the car park. Or we could skirt up the west side of the forest completely.
    I guess we'll know better on the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭BigGeorge

Question about the 5am cut off at CP1. Am running, I think the cut off last year at CP1 was 4:30 or 5am & I think we arrived at about 4:15am, this year the CP is 10 km further....does this make sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

Alot of questions raised from the change of route/checkpoint. As yet the website or Facebook page have not been updated. Because hybrid and ultra are heading out at the same time it may be starting earlier, I'm only speculating though.

THe 5am cut off ( ie 3 hours after leaving) to cover the 30km ( mainly uphill) , looking at last years results / times is going to be an issue for a lot of the ultra runners & many of the hybrids. Its all v weather dependent & last year was very cold with the roads being slippy from a heavy frost ( unlikely spikes would have been practical)

BigGeorge wrote: »
    THe 5am cut off ( ie 3 hours after leaving) to cover the 30km ( mainly uphill) , looking at last years results / times is going to be an issue for a lot of the ultra runners & many of the hybrids.

I never thought of it like that. I had planned on taking it handy enough, around 10kph considering what's to come after the first checkpoint.

I got the impression anyway that many of the details like this were still to be ironed out, it may become clearer closer to the event.

Just heard from Declan - we can all rest easier,

cut off for CP1 is 6am, so that is 4 hours for the 30km(ish) run, so so 1 hour extra for the additional 10km or so ...which is fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

I was at the meeting on Tuesday and my read of it was that the cutoff for the entire event was 5pm on the Saturday (as it was last year).
    This is perhaps where the confusion arose. It was never likely to have a cutoff of 5 hours to checkpoint 1 (30 kms) and then a further 7 hours to checkpoint 2, a distance of 11 or 12 kms. Cutoff for CP2 is 12 midday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 roadrage73

Does the 2013 route still go across Ballysmuttan Bridge after exiting the private land onto the R759?

I never thought of it like that. I had planned on taking it handy enough, around 10kph considering what's to come after the first checkpoint.

I got the impression anyway that many of the details like this were still to be ironed out, it may become clearer closer to the event.

That 10 kph was what I was planning ...keep as much in reserve as possible...for the guided bit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭trailrunner

Anyone up for a reccie Sunday morning ?? Ballingee to table track & back ??

Did a bit of a recce yesterday with aigster. From ballynultagh down towards ballinagee. Some observations:

- I'm glad I haven't signed up :D
    - It seems a shame that Black Hill is off the route. That would seem to be the easier route
    - the alternative route is boggy, uneven and unrunnable in parts. The are a lot of large holes on the route. Waist deep holes that would be easy enough to fall into as they are mostly hidden. Having said that, they are boggy, so a soft landing guaranteed :D
    - definitely come down the shoulder of Mullaghcleevaun on the east side of Ballinagee stream/ river. It's definitely better terrain than the other bank
    - wear drainable shoes. The water is cold and you don't want your shoes staying full
    - running 'normal' mountain trails like ticknock or WW will not prepare you

Good luck to all on the night !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Did a bit of a recce yesterday with aigster. From ballynultagh down towards ballinagee. Some observations:

- I'm glad I haven't signed up :D
    - It seems a shame that Black Hill is off the route. That would seem to be the easier route
    - the alternative route is boggy, uneven and unrunnable in parts. The are a lot of large holes on the route. Waist deep holes that would be easy enough to fall into as they are mostly hidden. Having said that, they are boggy, so a soft landing guaranteed :D
    - definitely come down the shoulder of Mullaghcleevaun on the east side of Ballinagee stream/ river. It's definitely better terrain than the other bank
    - wear drainable shoes. The water is cold and you don't want your shoes staying full
    - running 'normal' mountain trails like ticknock or WW will not prepare you

Good luck to all on the night !

I was thinking that about Black Hill. But then I assumed the terrain gets tough at the same point you come off Black Hill?

Did you stay close to the bank of Ballinagee? On previous recce, we came straight down the gap, hit the river on the west side and then crossed. Terrain was pretty good.

Yeah the Ticknock trails is like running on tarmac in comparison.

nerraw1111 wrote: »

I was thinking that about Black Hill. But then I assumed the terrain gets tough at the same point you come off Black Hill?

Did you stay close to the bank of Ballinagee? On previous recce, we came straight down the gap, hit the river on the west side and then crossed. Terrain was pretty good.

It was an interesting trek for me ... First sight of Dublin mountains...glad I chose hybrid....:)....

nerraw1111 wrote: »

Yep, you're hitting the sh1t no matter what route you take. Black hill just looked like the easier option to getting to the Ballinagee river gap. We came down on the west side. I found it pretty dangerous to be honest, especially if you were running it in the dark. There were loads of holes and gullies. Maybe we were too close to the stream. We crossed over and came back up on the mullaghcleevaun side, which seemed to be much better, espcially when you got further up and away from the river

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Rogue Runner

I wasn't able to make the talk the other week. Why was the route changed?

We're others doing a recce Tuesday....we met three going up as we came down...didn't seem right time or place to have a chat... Just presumed those nutters must be doing it too :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭trailrunner

Me neither , have been doing a few recce's lately and worried about all this talk of route changes and restrictions !!! I've done black hill twice but now seems to be a waste of time. Was hoping to get out at least twice more over Xmas but what's the point ?? Just a thought but would it not be useful if not essential for the organisers of this event to send a email to participants to notify them of these changes ?? Really concerned about the ability of these people to organise an event such as this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

Not sure as to why the route was changed but am happy it was.
    The extra distance to CP1 should ensure a more streamlined changeover to mountain gear and allows for the wearing of runners for all of the roads section.
    The new route through the forest is shorter than via Black Hill and involves slightly less of a climb. I and many others actually used it last year.;)

You hit one of the reasons for the change there, the moving of the checkpoint splits the road running section apart from the off road bit so you won't need to wear trail shoes on road if you are running it.

@Cambo_gueno, I managed to find plenty of waist deep holes and plenty of gullies via Black Hill one night, I would guess both routes are as bad as each other?

Training has taken a knock on its head for me the last week, suffering through my annual December virus/bug that knocks the crap out of me. Had a short run this evening to ease back in and fell asleep when I got back feeling as if I actually just completed the AON.

You hit one of the reasons for the change there, the moving of the checkpoint splits the road running section apart from the off road bit so you won't need to wear trail shoes on road if you are running it.

@Cambo_gueno, I managed to find plenty of waist deep holes and plenty of gullies via Black Hill one night, I would guess both routes are as bad as each other?

Training has taken a knock on its head for me the last week, suffering through my annual December virus/bug that knocks the crap out of me. Had a short run this evening to ease back in and fell asleep when I got back feeling as if I actually just completed the AON.

It's a tough time of year to be at your best....well certainly for me... Exscuse (maybe )...won't be long now ....:)
    Ultra nuts...what pace you planning on roads??....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ljeh1

I have a registration as a walker for AON 2013 but can't take part due to injury. I'm only looking for the entry fee back. I understand there is no waiting list so PM me if interested.

Larry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Enduro

Actually there is a waiting list and the organisers have asked that anyone who wants to withdraw to contact them directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ljeh1

I have sent an email to the organisers,they had already told me that they don't do transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Enduro

The feckers are being inconsitant so! I think I read that request on the Facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 AON2013

I'm new to Boards but I'm organising Art O'Neill and there isn't any waiting list this year. We don't do transfers but people can edit their registration details using the link on the website.

Re Black Hill change: We had several reasons for changing but the route through the forest is by far the easiest on both tired feet and the envrironment. Checkpoint 1 is at the Ballynultagh Woods entrance so nothing stopping people going via Black Hill if they want as long as the check in and out of the checkpoint.

Route is the same from there but you don't have to go directly over centre of Billy Byrne's Gap. Assuming rivers are ok to cross the easiest route(my opinion) is on the east side of Glenbride valley to forest tracks at Ballinagee Bridge.

Re Glenremore Brook comments: The route goes along the Kings River as far as Glenreemore Brook but then makes a slight detour on forest tracks(details on the website) to avoid the lower sections of the brook to avoid erosion. The steep ground upto Art's Cross is always eroded and not wear there is not as a result of the event just regular visits. I would urge people to either stick to the worn area or detour completely avoiding Art's Plaque.

Hope this helps but I will try to check back again to answer further queries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 squelch666

larry

i will take the entry off you and pay the fee, private message me

karl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Aislingtherese

So, I did a recce of the Ballysmuttan Bridge (RIP Garda Ciaran Jones, another great Irish hero on the Art O'Neill route) to Ballynultagh woods turn off at O 058 118. Here you are faced with two tracks branching off. I took the larger of the tracks in a southerly direction, then it splits off. Again chose the more obvious southerly track - having a look at Sheet 56 and figuring where I wanted to be on the terrain if I was aiming to pop out at the col between Black Hill and Mullacleevaun NW spur.

Unfortunately, I ended up in a dead end. So I am going to head back for another recce soon, but I just wanted to say that anyone who hasn't the opportunity of recce-ing this section should have a good look at the East West map for this section. The OS Sheet 56 is useless really as the tracks are not accurately represented (shocker!). Even with a good read of the terrain on Sheet 56 the most obvious route still ended up in a dead end for me and I certainly don't want to find myself having to pick through fir trees in January to get out onto open countryside. Anyone else had a look at this section yet?