Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

Yes, I just died!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Doom wrote: »
    A couple of years ago, a man stopped his car beside me and asked me if I would come in his car for some sweets, I told I'd come in his mouth if he came me the packet :D
    True story...

That kinda happened to me. One day I was outside playing football and a car pulled up and the driver said "here is some sweets for you" I ignored him and he said "Do you want sweets?" I waked down to the car and he then handed me sweets and drove away. :confused:

One more.
    A neighbor was in at our house when my sister was born, she was sitting at the table with my parent talking and I opened the dishwasher to get a mug and a heap of steam flue out of it, as it wasn't finished the cycle yet. She then let out the greatest scream like if she seen a murder take place. But she thought the dishwasher was on fire as she didn't own a dishwasher. I was very funny.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

This thread had everyone in Motors baffled 3 years ago, and remains unsolved to this day:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055671918

A funny read too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Now that it's winter I usually get home when it's pitch dark out and I find it kind of unnerving. In particular when I get off Nitelink and am walking to my house I get a bit anxious, and I've often wondered what I would do if I was being followed.

Once when I got off the bus, the last bus home, a man who was probably in his late 50s got off the bus aswell and I just felt uneasy about him, so when I got off the bus I stopped and checked my phone to give him time to walk ahead of me (often wondered, is it best to let someone you're unsure of walk ahead of or behind you?). Clearly he noticed what I did, because about 5 minutes later he slowed down to walk beside me and asked me the time. I said I didn't know and picked up the pace and started walking very quickly, all the while he was shouting "ARE YA SCARED OF ME? ARE YA SCARED?" in a menacing way. When I got home it turned out the other people in my house had heard him yelling, he was that loud, but obviously didn't know it was to me. Not as terrifying as some of the other stories here, but it freaked me out.
    You should have crossed the road/walked into any house with a light on and knocked on the door.

The advice that's given is knock on the door of the nearest house with a light on but how many people would actually do this? When it's late at night I rush to get home, I'd likely be too embarrassed/worried it would be a false alarm and I'd look ridiculous if I did go to someone's house. Also, it's unlikely that they'd answer. I've heard of people doing this before and their knocks being ignored, or screaming "help" and neighbours ignoring it because they don't want to get involved. Of course, this could just be because of the area I'm from. Basically, has anyone ever done this when they've been worried and actually found that it worked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

This thread had everyone in Motors baffled 3 years ago, and remains unsolved to this day:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055671918

A funny read too. :)
    There was a great moment on motors where a poster asked how much it would cost to get a problem fixed. Gave no mention of make or model and didn't know exactly was wrong. Anyway, someone sarcastically responded €53.
    The OP wrote a few days later that he went to a mechanic and found that 2 suspension springs needed replaced and were €26.50 each.

I've changed a few details. Ill dig out the original thread when im on a computer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

This thread is over a week old now and is still going strong, this should now make the status of a legendary thread. Thank you Dr Gonzo you have created a thread here that is involving everyone and everyone has a tale to tell. I keep remembering little bits and pieces myself so will contribute more when I will remember them.

Just something else to add, was looking at this a while ago, footage from a car of the Tsunami in Tokyo. Everything looks quite normal at first, what looks like it might be windy weather. Then off in the distance, what looks like traffic, you realise its traffic being carried by water. Then right under the camera the water appears and its ffffccccuuuuuuuk!

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

Basically, has anyone ever done this when they've been worried and actually found that it worked?

Yep, I did once.
    (Posted the story previously here)

Basically, myself & a friend got attacked by a big group of ruffians, during broad daylight, out on Dollymount beach.
    They were chasing us for a while and we had the option of trying to run the entire length of the wooden bridge to some shops, or run to one of the couple of houses on the island.

We ran to a house, the scumbags walked on, although kept looking back, probably to see if anyone had answered the door.
    A lovely couple brought us in, let us use their phone (scumbags had knocked my mobile out of my hand) gave us tea & biscuits and we watched a documentary about polar bears!

We came back a few hours later with two bottles of wine for them to thank them for helping us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,912 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I was in bed one night and couldn't sleep so I pulled out the phone and watched an episode of Derren Brown on 4OD. I remember just as something 'frightening' was meant to happen a fucking moth decides to land on the screen. I swear I jumped out of bed in one movement, turned on the light and beat that moth to death with a slipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

This thread is over a week old now and is still going strong, this should now make the status of a legendary thread. Thank you Dr Gonzo you have created a thread here that is involving everyone and everyone has a tale to tell. I keep remembering little bits and pieces myself so will contribute more when I will remember them.

Just something else to add, was looking at this a while ago, footage from a car of the Tsunami in Tokyo. Everything look quite normal at first, what looks like it might be windy weather. Then off in the distance, what looks like traffic, you realise its traffic being carried by water. Then right under the camera the water appears and its ffffccccuuuuuuuk!
    Why does he keep the windscreen wipers on when his car is being carried away by a flood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Why does he keep the windscreen wipers on when his car is being carried away by a flood.

Why would he turn the windscreen wipers off when he is being carried away by a flood?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

face1990 wrote: »
    ... We came back a few hours later with two bottles of wine for them to thank them for helping us.
    And that's when the real trouble started.

Grabbing the wine and locking the door behind us, they pushed us down rickety steps into a dark, dingy cellar, where strange snuffling and grunting sounds emanated from a barred grille in a door on the opposite wall ...

Choking, sulphurous fumes rose from the uneven floor of the basement and to my horror I realised the dull gleams of what I thought were pieces of firewood were in fact reflections on the white bones of multiple human skeletons scattered randomly about the basement. As I walked unsteadily towards the door opposite, the smell did its utmost to choke and blind me and the sucking, damp masses on the floor seemed to drag my feet ever downwards into unspeakable horror...

"Ye'll have another cuppa tea now won't ye", said Mrs Doyle. "Ah go on, go on, go, ye will, ye will, ye will."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

mathepac wrote: »
    And that's when the real trouble started.

Grabbing the wine and locking the door behind us, they pushed us down rickety steps into a dark, dingy cellar, where strange snuffling and grunting sounds emanated from a barred grille in a door on the opposite wall ...

Choking, sulphurous fumes rose from the uneven floor of the basement and to my horror I realised the dull gleams of what I thought were pieces of firewood were in fact reflections on the white bones of multiple human skeletons scattered randomly about the basement. As I walked unsteadily towards the door opposite, the smell did its utmost to choke and blind me and the sucking, damp masses on the floor seemed to drag my feet ever downwards into unspeakable horror...

"Ye'll have another cuppa tea now won't ye", said Mrs Doyle. "Ah go on, go on, go, ye will, ye will, ye will."
    That's really good, keep going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Glenn Coco

About a year ago, I went to the shop about a 5 minute walk down the road. I've lived in the area about 7 years. Anyway, on the way back from the shop, I stopped suddenly in my tracks. I had no idea where I was, and couldn't recognise my surroundings. I started to panic. I looked all around, and tried to pick a spot that I could recognise. Nothing made sense, and I eventually face the direction I had initially been going, and ran. Got to my house, and in the door, everything was fine.
    It has happened to me twice since, in what seems to be the same spot, and I've genuinely no idea why. Same reaction every time, panic, run, get home and I'm fine.
    I'd love to know if anyone has any insights, aside from it just being me going mad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,967 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I grew up in a country area and was always exploring as a kid.
    One day I came across this old vault on what was a Landlords land in the 19th century.
    I was small enough to get inside the vault and there was a coffin with a skeleton in it.
    It gave me a fair aul fright and I bolted out of it as fast as I could.
    Turns out it was the Landlords agent who was murdered by some of the tenents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,401 ✭✭✭lukesmom

When I was about 5 years old I woke up at the end of my bed, kneeling with my hands in the prayer position in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,536 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Was working in Dublin a good few years ago during college and living out in Santry.

Had a long ass commute every day on the No.41 bus (iirc) -the bus stop was reasonably near the house, it was a few phases back in a fairly large housing estate, prob a 8-10 minute walk. There would always be a few getting off at that stop but never spoke to anyone and generally would wander off home with my headphones on.

Anyway one evening, I was about half-way back to the gaff when I became aware of someone over my shoulder. Glanced back and there was a young-ish goth teenage girl about 3 yards behind me (mildly freaky looking - a bit like a grown up version of the girl from 'The Ring') - she stopped when I looked at her but didn't say anything.

I picked up the speed a bit assuming that she would go her own way but she kept pace with me the whole way. Was wondering wtf was she up to so stopped altogether and pretended to tie my shoelace.....glanced back and she was also pretend tying her laces :eek: (In hindsight, I should have probably said something to her at this point but was starting to get the heebee-jeebees a bit)

Wasn't far from the house at that stage but starting to get a bit unnerved and wanted to shake her off so went on a completely unnecessary lap of the large green near the house and even did some double-backs and loops....the 3-5 yard gap was maintained at all times.

Decided to leg it to the door - got my key ready in my hand and sprinted for home. Burst through the door and locked it asap - ran upstairs to look out the bedroom window and there she was standing at the end of the driveway, staring at the front door. Watched her for a couple of minutes and she didn't move a muscle....I'll admit to being fairly spooked by now, went back downstairs again (to double check the door was locked and bolted) - had a peek through the hall window..no sign of her. Went into the sitting room to close the curtains and she was still standing outside on the path (a few feet from her original position) staring into the house.

My flat mate arrived a few minutes later - nearly shat my pants when I heard someone at the door but was never so glad to see him. No sign of the girl outside but remember nervously peeking through the curtains for the rest of the evening.

Never saw her after that evening but was as paranoid as bejaysus for a few weeks after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Bartyman

My old man told me a story about when he came to Dublin back in the forties, he worked on the buildings and often went for a few pints after work.
    One evening they had a few too many, him and another couple of lads were walking down by the canal on the way home, one of them had to cross at one of the locks, so he crossed over and they headed towards the bus stop.

They heard a splash and went back to see if the lad had fallen in, but when they got there, it was pitch dark and they could see nothing, but thought they seen him walking away down the street.

They got the bus and as the bus stopped in traffic along the canal, there was a tap on the window and it was the other lad, he just gave them a thumbs up and continued on.

When the bus moved, they just realised they were on the top deck of the bus and no way could the chap have tapped on the window.
    He had fallen into the canal and drowned !!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

When I was a teenager we had a stuffed fox on a log in the attic. It was a converted attic with a stairs that was right outside my bedroom door. One day as I was going in to get something from my desk I heard this noise coming from the attic. An inhuman noise, sort of like something was lurking and breathing heavily. I was terrified, but I grabbed a glass bottle from my windowsill and crept up the stairs into the attic. When I got to the top, I looked over the partition, and there in the corner was my idiot dog, Buttons, shagging the stuffed fox. I nearly fell back down the steps laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I remember as a young lad I woke up one morning, headed into the bathroom, stepped over the hammer, sat down on the loo and wondered what was a hammer doing on the bathroom floor.

Went downstairs to discover that we'd been burgled...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

So this isnt creepy but it is strange. About 16 or 17 years ago my brother moved from Kerry to Galway and was renting a room in a house. The person whose room it was before had moved out but left a few things behind, a couple of books and inside one of the books was the guys passport. When he moved home a couple of years later he brought back the passport and books which was in our house. One of the books was a John Lennon biography which he gave to me cos I was going through a Beatles phase at the time.
    I started seeing a guy 15 years ago and when we decided to move in together I took the book with me and when we were lifting the books out of the box and out fell the passport which I had forgotten all about and no word of a lie it was my boyfriends passport which he left after him when he lived there in Galway! We're still together 15 years later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Glenn Coco wrote: »
    I'd love to know if anyone has any insights, aside from it just being me going mad...

Uhm, not to worry you or anything, but that's actually a rather worrying sign that something might be wrong with your brain. If it keeps happening, or there are other instances of weird stuff like that, you should probably talk to a doctor.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I might be able to shed some light on the farmers getting lost in their own fields.

I have a condition called ‘atypical migraine’. I very rarely get headaches but I get gaps in my vision and rings of numbness in my fingers and mouth. Before I was diagnosed I had one particularly scary experience where I was in work and I knew I was awake, but it felt like I was in a constant state of waking up from a dream. Like my memories were sliding out of my head and I was desperately trying to hold on to them but failing. I started crying and my supervisor brought me out and I tried to explain to her. She said I should go to the hospital, but being an idiot I said I’d just get the bus home. The bus stop is right outside the door and there’s one every 15 minutes.

For the life of me I could not find that stop and I started to panic, kept walking up and down where I knew it should be but couldn’t find it. Eventually I gave up and sat down on the grass and started to cry. Then someone asked me was I okay, I looked up and there was the bus-driver—sitting in the driver’s seat of the bus—leaning out to talk to me. When the fog in my head started to clear I remembered that the bus had been there all along and I kept walking past it. Very strange feeling. It has only happened to me a handful of times. It’s one of the atypical migraine symptoms and it’s generally lumped under ‘confusion.’

The most recent version I had was not being able to understand what people were saying when they were speaking. I could understand it as I listened, but a second afterwards I couldn’t remember it at all if I tried. During this I could read and comprehend perfectly. No problem.

Brains are cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

^I think something similar happened to Serene Branson, unfortunately for her live on air! You can see the panic in her eyes when she realises the words aren't coming out right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Something really creepy and deeply unnerving is happening to me right now. An old man who influences laws, is consulting celebate old men who take orders from a 2 thousand year old book and an invisable man in the sky, on what I should be allowed to do with my uterus and fertility. These same "celebate" old men have long history or sexually abusing kids : (

Creepy and unnerving in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭pookiesboo

Dolbert wrote: »
    ^I think something similar happened to Serene Branson, unfortunately for her live on air! You can see the panic in her eyes when she realises the words aren't coming out right.

I remember seeing this on Sky News or something, you can see the fear in her eyes, everyone watching her live at the time thought she was drunk, poor girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Glenn Coco

Zillah wrote: »
    Uhm, not to worry you or anything, but that's actually a rather worrying sign that something might be wrong with your brain. If it keeps happening, or there are other instances of weird stuff like that, you should probably talk to a doctor.

Eeeek! Nothing else of note really, will bring it up next time I'm at the doctors, if it doesn't happen again before that. Thanks for replying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Sakinah

Das Kitty wrote: »
    I might be able to shed some light on the farmers getting lost in their own fields.

I have a condition called ‘atypical migraine’. I very rarely get headaches but I get gaps in my vision and rings of numbness in my fingers and mouth. Before I was diagnosed I had one particularly scary experience where I was in work and I knew I was awake, but it felt like I was in a constant state of waking up from a dream. Like my memories were sliding out of my head and I was desperately trying to hold on to them but failing. I started crying and my supervisor brought me out and I tried to explain to her. She said I should go to the hospital, but being an idiot I said I’d just get the bus home. The bus stop is right outside the door and there’s one every 15 minutes.

For the life of me I could not find that stop and I started to panic, kept walking up and down where I knew it should be but couldn’t find it. Eventually I gave up and sat down on the grass and started to cry. Then someone asked me was I okay, I looked up and there was the bus-driver—sitting in the driver’s seat of the bus—leaning out to talk to me. When the fog in my head started to clear I remembered that the bus had been there all along and I kept walking past it. Very strange feeling. It has only happened to me a handful of times. It’s one of the atypical migraine symptoms and it’s generally lumped under ‘confusion.’

The most recent version I had was not being able to understand what people were saying when they were speaking. I could understand it as I listened, but a second afterwards I couldn’t remember it at all if I tried. During this I could read and comprehend perfectly. No problem.

Brains are cool.

I have epilepsy and stuff like this happens to me because of it especially on the run up to a seizure. Also I lose my speech, can't construe sentences, lose my memory and generally get extremely confused. People who encounter me in this state think I'm a nutter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Das Kitty wrote: »

Brains are cool.
    That must have been terrifying. I get migraines and occasionally I get visual disturbance (I get spots in front of my eyes, like when you look into a light for too long) so I can't read or anything, and a couple of times I have had that thing like you where I can hear what someone is saying to me but I don't understand them. Nothing like the "confusion" you get though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭David900

curlzy wrote: »
    Something really creepy and deeply unnerving is happening to me right now. An old man who influences laws, is consulting celebate old men who take orders from a 2 thousand year old book and an invisable man in the sky, on what I should be allowed to do with my uterus and fertility. These same "celebate" old men have long history or sexually abusing kids : (

Creepy and unnerving in the extreme.

Pretty sure this is why they invented the rolling eye smiley, :rolleyes:
    You're on the wrong thread love, move along and push your agenda some place else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,536 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Lived in Paris for a year back in 1998 and could probably fill an entire thread with creepy/bizarre/unusual experiences* but one in particular springs to mind.

(*Nearly all of the creepy/bizarre/unusual experiences were driven by copious consumption of red wine and Kronenberg and the lack of judgement associated with them.)

I was based a wee bit outside the city environs - a trip to the city involved a bus journey and about 30 mins on the metro. So, if I was on the razz (at least 3 nights a week), I always had to make a choice whether to get the latest possible train home to make the bus connection or stay out and see where the night ended up and get the first train back in the morning.

Normally ended up in a late bar or club til 3 or 4ish and then had to kill an hour or 2 before the train. This normally involved a house party, crashing on a friends couch etc. or wandering about the streets soaking up the unique atmosphere of a major city in the pre-dawn hours.

Anyway, one night/morning around 5am I was making my way to the metro station to get the early train and heard someone screaming down an alley...couldn't help but glance down and saw 5 or 6 guys dragging a woman from a car into a house. One of the guys saw me (they were about 100 yards away), seemed to say something to his buddies and then started walking in my direction.

I was instantly bricking it and sobered up immediately. Didn't have a mobile phone and was probably less than half a mile from the station.

Yer man wasn't running but was obviously following me and wasn't being discreet about it. There was still the odd car driving on the street and I figured he was waiting til I got to an isolated area before doing anything.

Got to the station in one piece and was praying that there would be people there or a security guard. Turned the corner out on to the platform (the guy was no more than 15 yards behind me now) and was mega-relieved to see a group of what appeared to be wealthy Arab businessmen waiting for the train. Went up to them and asked for a cigarette, struck up a bullsh1t conversation and positioned myself so that I could see where my pursuer had got to. He hung around the platform for a couple of minutes and then thankfully disappeared.

For the tobacco enthusiasts out there, the brand of cigarette they gave me was a Davidoff Red, tasted manky but probably saved my life that night.