Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Good win today, unfortunate that the game will be marred by the penalties but think we deserved the win anyways.
    Were unlucky that most of our chances in the second half fell to Gervinho, otherwise we might have gotten a few more.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,707 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

dvemail wrote: »
    Good win today, unfortunate that the game will be marred by the penalties but think we deserved the win anyways.
    Were unlucky that most of our chances in the second half fell to Gervinho, otherwise we might have gotten a few more.

Only one penalty was wrongly given imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

If football was about getting into good positions and never getting the ball gervinho would be world class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

People giving out about ger,remember our other option on the left is podolski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭brianregan09

To be honest i was surprised how poor West Brom were thankfully for us, I saw them against Chelsea and they looked fantastic, But today i think from the opening whistle it looked like they set out there stall for a draw , Myhill been warned bout timewasting in the 1st ten mins, I saw they'd be hopping to put a nail in us after last week

Overall a much better performance it looked like we had a lot more control and a lot less of the frantic panicing we've grown accustomed to , I think the rest midweek did alot of them good, Gervinho though jesus is it because of the size of his head that it hurts him to lift it up and look around him, that time wilshire missed he could stopped and pulled it back, He really looks a player thats never going to get any better, good to see Ox looking back more like himself

Now the penalty ....Horrible Dive Caz could be on swan lake after that brutal but im glad the ref fell for it lol as we needed a lucky break somewhere, Hope Wenger has a word with him over it though, and hope we can push on from here

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Only one penalty was wrongly given imo.

I think so as well, but others won't. Thought he went down too easily from the pressure from Chambo, but people/media will forget about this.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,707 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

dvemail wrote: »
    I think so as well, but others won't. Thought he went down too easily from the pressure from Chambo, but people/media will forget about this.

Agree, because Oxo touched him some people will say it was a foul but imo it was every bit as much a dive as Caz and Rosenborg.

2 points of the 4th, in the last 16 of the champions league, quarter final of the league cup Tuesday

Hon wenger :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Great three points today.

Didn't get to see all of todays game but from what I did see Jack looked like he was getting back to his old self. His fitness is up and his touch looking v good.

Cannot what till himself and Santi get some more games together.

I can see those two being a match for any team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Arsenal won, xmas shopping done, hangover almost gone, beers in the fridge, kids asleep in bed, chinese on the way and i should get some rock and roll off the mrs later.

Great Saturday!!

306043_10151198886398580_455915093_n.jpg

Love that chap!

306043_10151198886398580_455915093_n.jpg

Love that chap!

A true arsenal legend he will be.The force is strong in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Fcuk off richie sadlier you mong. Don't hear him ever calling Suarez or Bale shameful when they dive every week. Hope Santi doesn't do that again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

So Cazorla dived. Who gives a flying f*ck. We lost the greatest unbeaten run even seen in England because of a diving cheat so forgive me if I never get upset when one of our own does it.

keano_afc wrote: »
    So Cazorla dived. Who gives a flying f*ck. We lost the greatest unbeaten run even seen in England because of a diving cheat so forgive me if I never get upset when one of our own does it.

Bang on,but of course the media forgot that the next day.

keano_afc wrote: »

This right here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Whats that mong Sadlier know anyway ? He's just another Dunphy crap Irish player who could never get out of the lower leagues and he's becoming a bitter little bollix too, he always fishs for controversy

Yeah it was a dive , Get over it we won the game and deserved on the whole WBA did nothing all game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

I don't mind Sadlier- what's annoying is that there is so much attention on this one incident while no fuss is being made over countless dives in every other game. The only comment that annoyed me was Peter Collins and his "foreign players" jibe, I can think of several shocking dives taken by Gerrard and Rooney amongst other Englishmen down the years.

I suppose this will follow Cazorla for the rest of his Arsenal career just like Robert Pires ridiculously was forever branded a serial diver for diving to win a penalty against Portsmouth once in 2003.

I hate to see Arsenal players do it. But apart from Eboue, I can't recall an Arsenal player who made a habit of regularly doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Just saw Cazorla's dive.
    Still not as bad as White Hart Lane.
    That's a proper dive.

Seriously popov fell so easy,plus west brom player dived,but its all about santi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Seriously popov fell so easy,plus west brom player dived,but its all about santi.

Exactly if that had been Metersacker falling over under pressure from an attacker, the media would have been all over him - "another error from the big German"

Sunday world tomorrow headline tomorrow,bad santi!

Just showed routledge do a worst dive on match of the day,not one mention of it,just blamed the ref.

Forgot how much of an asset Wilshere was to the team 2 years ago.
    Don't know if any of ye were watching MOTD but that bit where he dropped the shoulder and left two players for dead, and the reaction of the pair of West Brom players just looking at each other, was priceless.

Just showed routledge do a worst dive on match of the day,not one mention of it,just blamed the ref.

Thats the problem, if there was no penalty given, then there wouldn't be much more on it. Just like your man Rosenbergs dive from Mertesackers "tackle" in the second half. That won't be heard of after today.
    Not defending Cazorla at all, but its just the way the game is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

You keep banging that drum, just watching match of the day they mentioned both Cazorla's dive and Rosenborg in equal measure if anything they belittled Rosenborg more for his attempt at a dive. But I would have no problem with Cazorla being given a ban for it along with any other player who dives im embarassed as an Arsenal fan for that dive it was shocking and there is no need for it in the game it should be cuto out cant have double standards. A dive is a dive is a dive is a dive I dont care what other teams or players do I dont want to see an Arsenal player do it. I agree with you on Popov though thnk he went down very easily.

Im delighted with todays win though regardles, we looked far better than we have in a good while now and the scoreline could have been by a few more aswell had it not been for mainly Gervinho, then Podolski's and Wilshere's miss. But at least we created them chances and performed well.

You keep banging that drum, just watching match of the day they mentioned both Cazorla's dive and Rosenborg in equal measure if anything they belittled Rosenborg more for his attempt at a dive. But I would have no problem with Cazorla being given a ban for it along with any other player who dives im embarassed as an Arsenal fan for that dive it was shocking and there is no need for it in the game it should be cuto out cant have double standards. A dive is a dive is a dive is a dive I dont care what other teams or players do I dont want to see an Arsenal player do it. I agree with you on Popov though thnk he went down very easily.

Im delighted with todays win though regardles, we looked far better than we have in a good while now and the scoreline could have been by a few more aswell had it not been for mainly Gervinho, then Podolski's and Wilshere's miss. But at least we created them chances and performed well.

I'll put my drum down so??

Anyway I agree he dived,just don't want to see an eduardo witchhunt situation that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I'll put my drum down so??

Anyway I agree he dived,just don't want to see an eduardo witchhunt situation that's all.

I dont think anyone wants a witchhunt but I do think as Arsenal fans and football fans we cant have double stadards is all, dives that help shape a game will always get more attention than those that dont, likewise players who play for bigger clubs will always come under closer scrutiny for it.

I think we can all agree it was a good win today though and it was great to see Wilshere really show his class again hes a player you cant help but love the way he plays.

I dont think anyone wants a witchhunt but I do think as Arsenal fans and football fans we cant have double stadards is all, dives that help shape a game will always get more attention than those that dont, likewise players who play for bigger clubs will always come under closer scrutiny for it.

I think we can all agree it was a good win today though and it was great to see Wilshere really show his class again hes a player you cant help but love the way he plays.

Yep great to see Jack showing glimpses of his old self,need more like him in the team.

Hopefully push on from here and notch up a few wins.