Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

1mcampo1 wrote: »
    eh...look at Messi :P

But really, for a team who doesn't put in that many crosses, a tactic or just down to the players inability to, they need a finisher in the box. Walcott is a finisher

So why exactly did we buy and play Giroud if we didn't intend to supply him with the crosses he needs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Galvasean wrote: »
    I might just book a flight to London just so I can attend...

....and point and laugh at them.

There isn't a whole lot they're saying that I'd disagree with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

There isn't a whole lot they're saying that I'd disagree with.

Many of their proclamations are vague at best. They might as well be saying, "We want everything to be great!", which is not bad in itself, but they offer no real solutions as alternatives, let alone viable ones. They just come across as moany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Galvasean wrote: »

IIRC, the last two seasons weren't even one year deals, but 'paid when you play' deals.
    Haha are you serious. Jaysus we really are a tight bunch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I'm assuming Walcott 'should' play tomorrow....despite talk of his ankle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Fizman wrote: »

I really hope so - he's been very effective every time he's played for us.

Anyone following #ArsenalChristmasSongs ?

Some crackers there ;)
    Oh his dribbling on the wing is frightful, but his forehead is so delightful.

Frimpong Merrily On High! Emmanuel is a Gooner

Rocking Around The Koscielny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Walcott is simply too small to play in the middle. He is a winger and an average one too although I do see improvement in him this season. He might be cutting his own throat by moving from Arsenal.

How exactly? He's at an age where he needs regular first team football. So far he's only start 4 league games for Arsenal and 1 CL game. If those numbers continue he'd be crazy to sign a new contract with Arsenal tbh.

He started 32 league games last year and I think its clear to everyone that right now, when fit, he starts. A lot of the talk from Wenger at the start of the season was him being benched due to the contract issues, first team football isn't an issue for Walcott.

He was out of favour at the beginning of the season but has more than proved his worth since. He's had a couple of injuries but should consider himself a first teamer now.

AdamD wrote: »
    He started 32 league games last year and I think its clear to everyone that right now, when fit, he starts. A lot of the talk from Wenger at the start of the season was him being benched due to the contract issues, first team football isn't an issue for Walcott.

Sorry didn't see this - I would have just thanked it and not replied if I had

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Fizman wrote: »

We may as well flog him to death this season, he won't be our problem after that!

Sore knee, ankle, thigh ? Shot of painkiller and you'll be fine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

greendom wrote: »

The cortisone kid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

AdamD wrote: »

nothings changed about his contract though.
    He was out of favour at the beginning of the season but has more than proved his worth since. He's had a couple of injuries but should consider himself a first teamer now.

I agree he should, but the fact he wasn't is worrying. To me it seemed with the signings they made they wanted to replace but since it was worked out he's now back in thanks to some great performances off the bench and in the Carling Cup. Maybe it was just a kick up his ass over the contract though.

I'm not in London so I can't judge those lads but I am worried by the mediocrity that seems to be being accepted on this board as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Santi101

Walcott is gone, we've seen this play out too many times to think any differently. Regardless, it's a sign of how far we've fallen that Theo Walcott signing a deal is such an issue aswell as him being a key player/our highest earner should he sign.

Henry in on loan in Jan to replace Gervinho(please dont come back from Africa). Predictable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Barlett

Yeah we've fallen quite a bit, I doubt Wenger even thinks about title challenges anymore. The sad part of it is, when we moved to the Emirates first Wenger talked about the project and building a winning team full of youth. Now that's done and we've sold all this talent and replaced them with good but not world class players.

If I was in London I would definitely take part in that march. The board are lying to everyone, financial FairPlay is not going to be the silver bullet for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Will Walcott start today lads, I hear he is a doubt, he'll be my captain if he starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Im going to the arsenal vs swansea game today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭iainconlon12

Hoki wrote: »
    Will Walcott start today lads, I hear he is a doubt, he'll be my captain if he starts.

Supposedly he is fit for selection, so should start alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Its freezing cold though! so we better bloody win!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I recall he was doubtful for a Champions League game earlier in the season with, what Sky Sports called, a 'buttock complaint'. I interpreted that as he had a ppain in his bum playing for us! :pac:

Captained Walcott this week in fantasy football, better not have cursed him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭Irish Gunner

Any pubs in Dublin showing the Swansea game as usual spots Mercantile, Woolshed or Murrays not showing game.

Only place is net anyone know of others?

Cheers

Mercantile not showing it? I'm very surprised

It's mad that in this day and age, not every game is available somewhere!

Hope a stream pops up somewhere.

You'll be able to watch it here

Firstrowsports .eu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭Irish Gunner

Mercantile not showing it? I'm very surprised

Now Now....nothing to see here...

We do our best and it does accommodate us admit no dodgy channels no fault of ours.

Online seems only option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,781 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Of course he needs regular football but when he's fully fit.
    Wenger obviously bought Giroud to replace RVP as he knew he'd leave. He hasn't anyone to replace Walcott on the wing except OX who is far from the finished article. His progress has slowed in my opinion and his first touch and crossing seem poor at times.
    My point about players leaving and very few of them being successful is true. Of course there are exceptions like Cesc, Henri and probably RVP but many others left and didn't do as well as they thought. Didn't Spurs buy the current French keeper and he didn't walk onto their team.