If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Mr Alan wrote: »
    We have improved? Not really IMO. Our best performance of the season was arguably against City, very early on.

Re:Young players/new philosophy etc, all well & good but that has to be done in conjunction with acceptable results in the league or it's worth nothing.

Mike-you're boring. Quiet please.

Results have been acceptable so far. They haven't been amazing, but are about in line with what you would expect with new manager, new system, young players and reasonably small investment. There's no doubt we are moving in the right direction, albeit, too slowly for some. Have patience - It's only November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,275 ✭✭✭✭klose

We have improved? Not really IMO. Our best performance of the season was arguably against City, very early on.

Re:Young players/new philosophy etc, all well & good but that has to be done in conjunction with acceptable results in the league or it's worth nothing.

You're almost as bad as the chelsea fans in their stadium today, give him ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Well at least you're going about this in a dignified manner...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,810 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Telling me to go and sh1te earlier and now telling Mike not to post has really turned me off this thread this season.

What makes you think that your opinion is so valid and no one has the right to disagree with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

So you're a performance man too. Results aren't important? Because our results have improved.

Remember the excuses rolled out when we missed Lucas last season? Do they still apply?

Truth is outside the top 3 there is little between plenty of teams. We aren't far off arsenal, Spurs and Everton. And we are getting closer to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

T-K-O wrote: »
    You're missing the point. At the moment we have Saurez, that's it. Carroll would be an addition the bench.

Realistically we need to sell him, allowing him to get his form back is the only way we will do this

17m >>>> Carrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Realistically we need to sell him, allowing him to get his form back is the only way we will do this

17m >>>> Carrol

Even better. In the mean time we should keep all of our limited options ...open!

So you're a performance man too. Results aren't important? Because our results have improved.

Remember the excuses rolled out when we missed Lucas last season? Do they still apply?

Truth is outside the top 3 there is little between plenty of teams. We aren't far off arsenal, Spurs and Everton. And we are getting closer to them

We would want to be ahead of Everton tbh

Anyone have a comparison, this season to last, results wise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

murpho999 wrote: »
    Telling me to go and sh1te earlier and now telling Mike not to post has really turned me off this thread.

What makes you think that your opinion is so valid and no one has the right to disagree with it?

Don't let one poster put you off a thread. If you went along with that, you'd never log back into any forum on Boards. :)

Listening to some people complain about drawing away to Swansea, saying it is 'unacceptable', is laughable. It really makes me question their knowledge of the sport in general.

We have absolutely NO divine right to go and win away to what is now quite a good team in Swansea. Anyone who thinks otherwise, in my opinion ,is living in dreamland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Tusky wrote: »
    There's no doubt we are moving in the right direction, albeit, too slowly for some. Have patience - It's only November.

Really? Jaysus, i'd have thought there was plenty of doubts. And I really don't think anyone could/should say results have been acceptable. Really.

1.2 ppg average extrapolated over the season results in 45 points. Probably enough to be safe for next season I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭tok9

Yawn at people trying to excuse our horrendous start.

At the start of the season everyone would have said the start we've subsequently gone on to have would have been unacceptable.

Rodgers performance simply has to improve dramatically & quickly or all his talk of long term visions and objectives will be for nothing.

What happened to giving a manager a full season before he is judged?

What is the dramatic improvement you think we need to be making? There's only a 5 point difference between where we are and 5th. Hardly horrendous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Al, still waiting an a reply to that PM i sent a few weeks ago regarding the Sterling bet. You've been strangely quiet since i sent it.

We would want to be ahead of Everton tbh

Anyone have a comparison, this season to last, results wise?

We were behind them last season and they have improved.

To expect Rodgers to do the rebuilding work that needed to be done while catapulting us ahead of the likes of Everton immediately ... That's not reasonable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Too many draws is the problem, same as last season really.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Really? Jaysus, i'd have thought there was plenty of doubts. And I really don't think anyone could/should say results have been acceptable. Really.

1.2 ppg average extrapolated over the season results in 45 points. Probably enough to be safe for next season I guess.

So we'd be 7 points worse off than how we finished last season. So if this is "horrendous" so far what would you consider last season to be like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Why did we sack Rafa?

Melion wrote: »
    Al, still waiting an a reply to that PM i sent a few weeks ago regarding the Sterling bet. You've been strangely quiet since i sent it.

Will check it now.

amiable wrote: »
    Why did we sack Rafa?

Owners were sick of him and unfortunately the tide had turned with most fans due to the final poor season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Tusky wrote: »
    Results have been acceptable so far. They haven't been amazing, but are about in line with what you would expect with new manager, new system, young players and reasonably small investment.

whats your opinion on steve clarke at west brom so........

We are -5 points down on the same games last year

On Everton, player for player we are better than them and i would expect to come ahead of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Lads too many of you are making excuses and kicking the can down the road hoping that the next transfer window will resolve our issues, it won't, and frankly you're setting yourself up for a fall.

As for Carrolls return.. No thanks! The guy is on 14 straight PL games and no goals.
    He has still yet to find his true level and I'm now thinkin even WHU might be setting their sights higher than that.

tok9 wrote: »

So we'd be 7 points worse off then how we finished last season. So if this is "horrendous" so far what would you consider last season to be like?

Well at this point last season we were doing better than we are now.

Last seasons league finishing position was very poor. A substantial disimprovement on it this season would be horrendous. Pretty straight forward really.

So we'd be 7 points worse off than how we finished last season. So if this is "horrendous" so far what would you consider last season to be like?

Kenny had us close to 4th until he lost Lucas to injury, did you not know that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

rossie1977 wrote: »
    whats your opinion on steve clarke at west brom so........

We put on a show.

Steve Clarke puts on a game off football.

Difference !

Owners were sick of him and unfortunately the tide had turned with most idiots due to the final poor season.

FYP

What a ridiculous point of view, by the way.

Long term strategy judged by short term results.

If a strategy is the right one, its worth persisting with regardless of initial failures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I think you and me both know we will not finish the season with 1.2ppg average - and our results over the last month are testament to that. That's just silly hyperbole.

The problem with you Alan is that there's no middle ground. For years you were overly positive about absolutely everything Liverpool, to the point that you almost become a parody of yourself.

Now, you have become unreasonably negative before the team has even played 15 league games. Think about that for a second - this team has only played 13 league games. In the grand scheme of things, that's nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Leiva wrote: »
    Lads too many of you are making excuses and kicking the can down the road hoping that the next transfer window will resolve our issues, it won't, and frankly you're setting yourself up for a fall.

As for Carrolls return.. No thanks! The guy is on 14 straight PL games and no goals.
    He has still yet to find his true level and I'm now thinkin even WHU might be setting their sights higher than that.

We aren't leaking as many goals now, Lucas is due back, tbh there is a good nucleus of a team there, the big problems are the obvious one and replacing Gerrard.
    Well at this point last season we were doing better than we are now.

Last seasons league finishing position was very poor. A substantial disimprovement on it this season would be horrendous. Pretty straight forward really.

I really don't think we'll collapse into relegation form like the second half of last season, at least our form is on the up, not a downward spiral.

Carroll will not be coming back lads.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,485 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

We are -5 points down on the same games last year

7 points down at same stage actually and a few days later liverpool would lose lucas their best player up to this point and then the suarez verdict followed quickly after.....its akin to rodgers losing suarez and then sterling in the next week or so for a long period

What a ridiculous point of view, by the way.

Long term strategy judged by short term results.

If a strategy is the right one, its worth persisting with regardless of initial failures

Roy Hodgson thought he had a long term position. Results & league position made his position untenable. Rodgers is doing worse than him & is benefiting only from his greater handling of the PR side of things.

Rodgers himself has spoken about how he is aware that despite the project being a long term one, results in the short term have to be good enough for fans/owners to back his vision. It's incredibly naive if you can't recognise that.