Gardai Harrasing Busker in Templebar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Then why all the talk by the Gardai about them busking? According to an earlier post the Gardai told the group that they couldn't perform with amplifiers. They then proceeded to play "unplugged" whereupon the police returned to break up the performance. Why if the man was being arrested for an earlier offence was he not arrested during the first police encounter?

The earlier public order offence might have had to do with the noise and amps, they might have been told to unplugged, did and then when the gardai left plugged back in. When the gardai were called back they proceded to arrest the guy who resisted.

It could have been something spotted by a member if the public, a bouncer or CCTV.

It could have been something as simple as him telling the gardai to fcuk off.

Just because a post here stated something doesn't mean it's true. If the gardai acted outside their powers you would hear about this in the media, considering their is video evidence, my bet is the guy won't even make a complaint to the ombudsman, as he knows he was in the wrong and thought he would get away with it as he had a crowd behind him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

A knackbag who has the courage to question authority. A knackbag who has the moral fibre to express his outrage at violence directed at a fellow human being. A knackbag who most likely would do the same if it was you who was being punched up by cowboy cops.

Would you tell him "get thee away, peasant! I only wish to have refined folk with polished D4 accents coming to my defence. Away with you, vile pleb!" ?

How would you like if someone stuck a camera in your face and chased you around repeatedly calling you filth while you tried to work?

Thats Skanger behavior and accent has nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

MagicSean wrote: »
    Interesting theory. The problem is that you've never seen youtube video of violent people being arrested so you don't think it happens.

No I never said the Gardai don't arrest violent people, they just appear to tackle them with a little more reluctance than the three Rambo's pepper-spraying your man in that video

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

Your argument makes no sense. You are bringing in a case from England, I've never heard any guard or person saying a rape victim was asking for it, and this guy was wanted in connection with an earlier offence.

The public are not allowed to interfere with the AGS in the execution of their duties, simple as.

Why don't you put up a proper argument and point out the gardai brutality here?

You resist arrest and the police are hardly going to say, " ah sure come on lads, lets go, this guy doesn't want to be arrested"

I have put up a proper argument. I have also complained about the use of "probably" by those who cannot bring themselves to grow a spine and question authority or the abuse of power. It's a classic tactic of those who always need to blame the victim in some kind of weak attempt that they think might protect they themselves from abuse, injustice or persecution.
    Someone on here earlier made a comment about how the cameraman sounded like a "knackbag". So that's ok then. If you have an unrefined accent then you must be a trouble-maker or you don't deserve the same rights afforded to others with less coarse verbiage. A Trinity colleague of mine sounds like a complete "howya", to use that delightful euphemism. He's also a Doctor of Dentistry.

To hear him speak I'm quite certain people like you would dismiss him as "probably" a car thief or drug dealer.

If you took the time to read what I wrote in the context in which it was written you mightn't spit out such unrelated and irrelevant rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

"cops on steroids"

We need to get over this steroid delusion. Steroids are seen as these drugs that turn you into a psychopath. It's nonsense.

I can't really make out what's going on in the video but you shouldn't be allowed record a garda on duty like that, or anyone for that matter.

Part of the problem is people don't give enough respect to gardaí to begin with. And that won't happen until they have a bit of a change in attitude themselves. I'm sure we've all encountered at least one garda who is an absolute headcase. I'm encountered enough over the years anyway. Traffic corps who scream in your face:rolleyes:

The police in England have a far better approach.

I have put up a proper argument. I have also complained about the use of "probably" by those who cannot bring themselves to grow a spine and question authority or the abuse of power. It's a classic tactic of those who always need to blame the victim in some kind of weak attempt that they think might protect they themselves from abuse, injustice or persecution.
    Someone on here earlier made a comment about how the cameraman sounded like a "knackbag". So that's ok then. If you have an unrefined accent then you must be a trouble-maker or you don't deserve the same rights afforded to others with less coarse verbiage. A Trinity colleague of mine sounds like a complete "howya", to use that delightful euphemism. He's also a Doctor of Dentistry.

To hear him speak I'm quite certain people like you would dismiss him as "probably" a car thief or drug dealer.

If you took the time to read what I wrote in the context in which it was written you mightn't spit out such unrelated and irrelevant rubbish.

I have family from Ballyfermot with "unrefined accents" who are not "knack bags" so I don't buy into all that easily.

I think the camera man is an idiot who is lucky not to be arrested for his behaviour.

I don't just go with what I'm told and hold the gardai up on a pedestal.

There is no abuse of power in this video, there is a level of restraint show by the gardai in they didnt arrest more people, which they could and should have done.

Being from Donegal I understand the seriousness of gardai corruption with a certain high profile case.

I also see the absolute crap gardai have to put up with doing their job, with 2 gardai killed while doing their job, one who had his memorial vandalised and left at his girlfriends house.

Judge each individual gardai and case on its merits, you are just tarring them all as the same.

In this incident the gardai are trying to carry out their duties while idiots roar and shout abuse at them. Just because you have gardai on the back of your jacket, it doesn't mean that they should be subjected to such abuse like this.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

The only embarassing thing for the guards in that clip is that they allowed themselves to be so disrespected in that clip. You would never see that in continental europe.

Posters here are beyond ridiculous. On the one hand they deride the soft justice system and scumbags who have no respect for the law but then when the police DO get heavy handed they cry foul and abuse them.

Heres the facts:
    Amps aren't allowed after 3.
    The buskers kept playing after warning
    One of them resisted arrest and was brought to the ground (quite gently I might add)
    Another interfered with the arrest and resisted, he received one baton hit to the leg and was arrested.

So basically two guys resisted arrest, one was brought to the ground and the other got a baton to the leg. What on earth is the outcry here?

The only shame is that that idiotic cameraman wasn't arrested. He was completely abusing the guards, obstructing arrest and riling up the crowd. Truly a pathetic character.

Sometimes when I walk the city centre streets at night and see some of the ****E going on I truly do wish our police were like the Spanish or French. A slap to the guy pissing in front of tourists in the middle of grafton street, arresting those knackers who abuse the police, making scum think twice about getting involved in fights by baton charging any frays. etc.

I think it would actually do our irresponsible nation some good. Weekends in Dublin City are disgraceful. You would never see the amount of fighting, pissing, drunkeness and vomiting in any other european city outside of Ireland and Britian. A true disgrace.

Tougher police please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭RADIUS

What has accent got to do with the camera man calling the Garda filth?

I am from the same area as the camera man judging by his rap videos and yet I don't have the same accent as him, so where should I stand in regards to authority in your well thought out accent orientated view of the Irish class system?

It's not where you're from it's how you behave. Act like a scumbag and people will think your a scumbag. If he had an issue with the garda he should report them and make a formal complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

I speak with balls in my mouth. I sound like a Member of the Royal Society. But i can still barely count to 20 23 25 past 29.

RADIUS wrote: »
    How would you like if someone stuck a camera in your face and chased you around repeatedly calling you filth while you tried to work?

Thats Skanger behavior and accent has nothing to do with it.

It doesn't matter how I would like it. That's not the point. I don't like it if some punk gives me the finger for no reason from the top of the bus. I don't like it when some bollocks scabs money or a cigarette from me all the while he has a mobile phone or seems to be dressed in a manner that would suggest he's far from destitute. That I don't like it is not the point. They're not hurting me and not breaking the law. Pissing me off maybe..but that's my problem.

The guy with the camera is well within his rights to film police officers beating someone. He's well within his rights to film anyone or anything in a public place. The sooner you get that into your head the better. "How would you like it!" Gimme a fcukin' break.

Calling the police names for beating someone and filming them is "skanger" behaviour but cops beating someone is not?

You'd want to re-examine your damn priorities, pal.

It doesn't matter how I would like it. That's not the point. I don't like it if some punk gives me the finger for no reason from the top of the bus. I don't like it when some bollocks scabs money or a cigarette from me all the while he has a mobile phone or seems to be dressed in a manner that would suggest he's far from destitute. That I don't like it is not the point. They're not hurting me and not breaking the law. Pissing me off maybe..but that's my problem.

The guy with the camera is well within his rights to film police officers beating someone. He's well within his rights to film anyone or anything in a public place. The sooner you get that into your head the better. "How would you like it!" Gimme a fcukin' break.

Calling the police names for beating someone and filming them is "skanger" behaviour but cops beating someone is not?

He has no right to be as close as he was to the gardai carrying out the arrest, simple as that.

He also has no right to curse and call the gardai filth, simple as that.

Any police force in the world uses the same method to take someone to the floor, use the batons on the legs. Or worse they would deploy a taser.

There was no beating going on here, watch any police show and this would constitute a standard run of the mill arrest.

You should go to Spain, I have seen cops have a guy standing against a wall while kicking the back if his ankles as he wouldn't comply with a body search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

yoyo wrote: »
    Precisely this, I lived in Temple Bar for 2 years and some of the bands with amps were so loud you could barely converse with someone in your home. It was like living inside a drum the noise was so loud. I used to always ring the Pearse St Garda Station and only rarely was any action taken. It is also quite likely these blokes were asked to move on, did not and so got arrested.
    It is great to see the guards enforcing this law, the noise pollution those amps make really do stress you out if you live just above them, not to mention the people who work in shops where noisey buskers play the same 3 tunes every day... And before people come out with the usual who chooses to live in Temple Bar, many people do due to the convenience of it being in the city centre. Just because it is a noisey spot with a few pubs and clubs does not mean buskers can have free reign playing loud outdoor concerts day in, day out. The same way someone living beside a pub or night club should not have to put up with noise pollution from the venues, regardless of its location

Nick

I thought the amps were forbidden or reduced to a certain level or is that just Grafton Street?

"cops on steroids"

We need to get over this steroid delusion. Steroids are seen as these drugs that turn you into a psychopath. It's nonsense.

I can't really make out what's going on in the video but you shouldn't be allowed record a garda on duty like that, or anyone for that matter.

Part of the problem is people don't give enough respect to gardaí to begin with. And that won't happen until they have a bit of a change in attitude themselves. I'm sure we've all encountered at least one garda who is an absolute headcase. I'm encountered enough over the years anyway. Traffic corps who scream in your face:rolleyes:

The police in England have a far better approach.

But you are allowed. Just the same as you are allowed to look at anyone. Why do you think one shouldn't be allowed to record anyone?

In fact, I would like to know why police (or people like you) seem to have no problem with being photographed in a congenial setting by tourists at say a parade or when they're mounted on horseback in Trafalgar Square or when a bunch of hen-night girls want to get their picture taken with a few bobbies in Covent Garden or Gardai in Eyre Square yet when they are being photographed beating the crap out of someone then all of a sudden they want the cameras turned off. What's the reason for it to be legal to film them in one situation and all of a sudden it seems to be illegal (even though it isn't) to film them when they're doing something that they don't want recorded?

Kindly give your feedback. Also if you are of the opinion that one shouldn't be allowed record anyone then have you expressed this to your elected representative? There wouldn't be much on TV if you had your way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

You keep using the word "beat". All that's in the video is one strike to the legs of the guy who interfered with the arrest of the first guy. Is this your definition of a beating?

But you are allowed. Just the same as you are allowed to look at anyone. Why do you think one shouldn't be allowed to record anyone?

In fact, I would like to know why police (or people like you) seem to have no problem with being photographed in a congenial setting by tourists at say a parade or when they're mounted on horseback in Trafalgar Square or when a bunch of hen-night girls want to get their picture taken with a few bobbies in Covent Garden or Gardai in Eyre Square yet when they are being photographed beating the crap out of someone then all of a sudden they want the cameras turned off. What's the reason for it to be legal to film them in one situation and all of a sudden it seems to be illegal (even though it isn't) to film them when they're doing something that they don't want recorded?

Kindly give your feedback. Also if you are of the opinion that one shouldn't be allowed record anyone then have you expressed this to your elected representative? There wouldn't be much on TV if you had your way.
    It's legal to have sex when your girlfriend agrees to it, if she says "no", it's not longer legal. That would actually be rape.
    We all have rights to say "no" and people should respect that right.

The earlier public order offence might have had to do with the noise and amps, they might have been told to unplugged, did and then when the gardai left plugged back in. When the gardai were called back they proceded to arrest the guy who resisted.

It could have been something spotted by a member if the public, a bouncer or CCTV.

It could have been something as simple as him telling the gardai to fcuk off.

Just because a post here stated something doesn't mean it's true. If the gardai acted outside their powers you would hear about this in the media, considering their is video evidence, my bet is the guy won't even make a complaint to the ombudsman, as he knows he was in the wrong and thought he would get away with it as he had a crowd behind him.

A litany of baseless conjecture. It could have been Colonel Mustard in the study with the candlestick.
    The kid could have been Bin Laden's love child.

Give me peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭0325422

ballinue wrote: »
    should spend their time catching real criminals most of them would not catch a cold

Is this a scientific fact or should we take your keyboard warrior word for it?

A litany of baseless conjecture. It could have been Colonel Mustard in the study with the candlestick.

Give me peace.

So you missed the point completely.

Every thing in this thread is baseless conjecture, but your happy to accept it as fact when it suits your agenda against the gardai.

Anything that is in the video just shows the arrested and the camera man in a bad light, and it also shows no brutality from the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,302 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

should spend their time catching real criminals most of them would not catch a cold

Funny cause its true :)

The singing is bloody awful. Christ my ears. I've heard better noise on the X factor.
    It's a no from me I'm afraid.

I have family from Ballyfermot with "unrefined accents" who are not "knack bags" so I don't buy into all that easily.

I think the camera man is an idiot who is lucky not to be arrested for his behaviour.

I don't just go with what I'm told and hold the gardai up on a pedestal.

There is no abuse of power in this video, there is a level of restraint show by the gardai in they didnt arrest more people, which they could and should have done.

Being from Donegal I understand the seriousness of gardai corruption with a certain high profile case.

I also see the absolute crap gardai have to put up with doing their job, with 2 gardai killed while doing their job, one who had his memorial vandalised and left at his girlfriends house.

Judge each individual gardai and case on its merits, you are just tarring them all as the same.

In this incident the gardai are trying to carry out their duties while idiots roar and shout abuse at them. Just because you have gardai on the back of your jacket, it doesn't mean that they should be subjected to such abuse like this.

Should have been arrested? On what charge exactly? Answer that and don't give me some wishy-washy "interfering" rubbish. What charge?

The people who murdered two guards or those rats who did that to the guy's memorial are scum and should be punished. But what has that got to do with this case? You say that Gardai have to put up with absolute crap. So what? So do traffic wardens, bus drivers, guys who work behind the counter in the chipper, etc. Does that mean they have carte blanche to beat people?
    I don't give a fcuk how much crap someone takes in their job. Don't do the job then. I did a job where practices that flew in the face of my principles were rampant. I quit. I favoured (uncompensated) unemployment over working this job.

A postal worker gets shat on 24/7 so when he goes the proverbial "postal" then you excuse it because he has to deal with "crap"?

Should have been arrested? On what charge exactly? Answer that and don't give me some wishy-washy "interfering" rubbish. What charge?

The people who murdered two guards or those rats who did that to the guy's memorial are scum and should be punished. But what has that got to do with this case? You say that Gardai have to put up with absolute crap. So what? So do traffic wardens, bus drivers, guys who work behind the counter in the chipper, etc. Does that mean they have carte blanche to beat people?
    I don't give a fcuk how much crap someone takes in their job. Don't do the job then. I did a job where practices that flew in the face of my principles were rampant. I quit. I favoured (uncompensated) unemployment over working this job.

A postal worker gets shat on 24/7 so when he goes the proverbial "postal" then you excuse it because he has to deal with "crap"?

@Asharbassad Why do you keep going back to previous posts and only ignoring my most recent one?

I have stated why he should have been arrested a number of times.

If you think a beating took place in this video, you are very naive. The busker was not thrown to the ground but basically carried to it, for his own safety, and the other guy would have been told to stop resisting or they would use the baton, that's what it's there for, to hit people with. After you get hit with one you will comply or hit the ground as you will have a dead leg.

Anyway, seeing as you fail to see the obvious in this video, and the fact you basically have an agenda against the gardai, I'm leaving this discussion, I'm sick of going around in circles.

Give me peace.

So look at the facts. Guy was told to stop playing. He refused. Guy was arrested. He resisted. Second guy interfered and struggled with Garda. Second Garda strook him in leg with baton. He ran. He was chased and caught on the bridge where it appears he was pepper sprayed. Which part do you disagree with.

Section 6 criminal justice (public order) act ie threatening, abusive and insulting behaviour in a public place. I wasn't aware postal workers had such a tough time of it, what with being shat on 24/7 and all.. I know they have a tough time with dogs etc as all dogs seem to hate post men..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

Without seeing the full Video its hard to pass comment but it looks like the busker was asked to stop and he didn't. He then didn't fall the Gardas orders to he was arrested.

I think Dublin now has a buskers license whereby you must be licensed to busk and it must be in designated areas. Looks like this guy was not licensed and not in a designated area. So fair arrest.
    We all have rights to say "no" and people should respect that right

That bits wrong though. Gardai are public servants working in public. They have should have NO right to stop someone photo graphing or video taping them as they go about their uniformed worked. ( Obviously covert survellance of Gardai should not be allowed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

MagicSean wrote: »
    So look at the facts. Guy was told to stop playing. He refused. Guy was arrested. He resisted. Second guy interfered and struggled with Garda. Second Garda strook him in leg with baton. He ran. He was chased and caught on the bridge where it appears he was pepper sprayed. Which part do you disagree with.

while some drunken gob****e kept shouting "Filth"

He has no right to be as close as he was to the gardai carrying out the arrest, simple as that.

He also has no right to curse and call the gardai filth, simple as that.

Any police force in the world uses the same method to take someone to the floor, use the batons on the legs. Or worse they would deploy a taser.

There was no beating going on here, watch any police show and this would constitute a standard run of the mill arrest.

You should go to Spain, I have seen cops have a guy standing against a wall while kicking the back if his ankles as he wouldn't comply with a body search.

You're missing the point. Laws are written in cold-blood for the precise reason that people like you who allow emotion to determine what's legal and what's not don't have an effect on how justice and legality are administered. The guy calling the cops "filth" is wrong but he's not acting outside the law. He is not making threats and he's not menacing nor is he causing a public disturbance. FYI a public disturbance is where behaviour disturbs the PUBLIC, not the guards. So get your facts right before you say "simple as that". It's not "simple as that" so don't use that condescending quip as if to close an argument. "Simple as! End of!" ..don't give me that crap.

As for deploying a taser. When did you become so comfortable with the use of tasers? Most of the times they are used against unarmed and non-threatening individuals..the very opposite of those who the powers that be determine against whom they should be used. Take a look at this video. The crowd comes to the aid of a kid who's being brutalised by thugs. One of the scumbags is pounding his night-stick into the kid (who looks about 50 kg). What is that for? You'll probably say the kid "isn't doing what he's told" or resisting or some mealy-mouthed sh!t. This happens all the time with the assholes who carry tasers. They can't wait to use them on absolutely anyone. The pricks tase grannies in wheelchairs and then claim "she could have had a weapon of mass destruction under her apron" or some crap.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=49fBxdFZeRI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

You're missing the point. Laws are written in cold-blood for the precise reason that people like you who allow emotion to determine what's legal and what's not don't have an effect on how justice and legality are administered. The guy calling the cops "filth" is wrong but he's not acting outside the law. He is not making threats and he's not menacing nor is he causing a public disturbance. FYI a public disturbance is where behaviour disturbs the PUBLIC, not the guards. So get your facts right before you say "simple as that". It's not "simple as that" so don't use that condescending quip as if to close an argument. "Simple as! End of!" ..don't give me that crap.

As for deploying a taser. When did you become so comfortable with the use of tasers? Most of the times they are used against unarmed and non-threatening individuals..the very opposite of those who the powers that be determine against whom they should be used. Take a look at this video. The crowd comes to the aid of a kid who's being brutalised by thugs. One of the scumbags is pounding his night-stick into the kid (who looks about 50 kg). What is that for? You'll probably say the kid "isn't doing what he's told" or resisting or some mealy-mouthed sh!t. This happens all the time with the assholes who carry tasers. They can't wait to use them on absolutely anyone. The pricks tase grannies in wheelchairs and then claim "she could have had a weapon of mass destruction under her apron" or some crap.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=49fBxdFZeRI[/QUOTE]

You won me over with your arguement when you mentioned the wheelchair bound granny! Filth! Filth!

You're missing the point. Laws are written in cold-blood for the precise reason that people like you who allow emotion to determine what's legal and what's not don't have an effect on how justice and legality are administered. The guy calling the cops "filth" is wrong but he's not acting outside the law. He is not making threats and he's not menacing nor is he causing a public disturbance. FYI a public disturbance is where behaviour disturbs the PUBLIC, not the guards.

He is committing an offence under section 6 of the Public Order Act. He is using abusive language with the intent of provoking a breach of the peace. It's not about disturbing the public. it's about preserving the peace. His actions are likely to stir up the crowd and cause a public order incident. That's why it's not allowed.

As to the issue of recording. Do you think the person being arrested has a right to privacy at all?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=49fBxdFZeRI

I think you'll find a breach of the criminal justice (public order) act is not when behaviour disturbs the public.. It has to do with committing certain offences in a public place.. A little knowledge is very dangerous.. I think you will also find shouting filth at someone in a public street is offence irrespective if that person is a guard or any member of the public..