Name and Shame Job Bridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

yore wrote: »
    I stand corrected. Your figure was for one million a month for 6000 people. I should have said that instead of getting 4 million into their hands, those people are now getting 5 million and training.

And yet you don't see the irony that the government is paying to train you up so that you can work in that boom industry at zero cost to that industry or your future employer. Despite the fact that there are thousands of Level 8 degree holders coming out of colleges from nursing/physio/OT/SLT etc. who can't get work. None of them with your attitude wouldn't wipe their arses with a Level 5 Fetac cert. and yet there is the government, subsidising an industry that would otherwise have to take these people on for a few months and train them before they become productive :rolleyes:

Basically, your attitude is that it's grand for the government to provide training for you but not for others.

Again, you have read me wrong. Sigh.

I have nothing wrong with training being offered to anyone, why would I?

Not sure what you meant with the 'wiping their arses' comment. The sentence is poorly structured and doesn't make sense :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Again, you have read me wrong. Sigh.

I have nothing wrong with training being offered to anyone, why would I?

Not sure what you meant with the 'wiping their arses' comment. The sentence is poorly structured and doesn't make sense :D

Ok Take your pick from:

A) "Any of those with your attitude wouldn't wipe their arses with a Fetac Level 5"
    B) "None of them with your attitude would wipe their arses with a Fetac Level 5"

you seem to have a major problem with some of the positions that you have posted here. Positions that would provide valuable training for someone. But you'd sneer at those people right?

That's sad. You must have little to be doing. That is a perfectly good and honest internship for someone.

Waitress internship? :D Like you need 9 months experience for that. Like all the shop internship ones for the likes of centra etc. Perfectly good paid jobs off the market because it is possible to get people for free.

It takes all of 10 seconds to report an internship, so not sure what you mean by the OP having little to be doing.

You spend more time on here replying to all the replies one by one than it takes me to report a few internships on a daily basis. By the looks of it, you have plenty of time on your hands, yore.

Waitress internship? :D Like you need 9 months experience for that. Like all the shop internship ones for the likes of centra etc. Perfectly good paid jobs off the market because it is possible to get people for free.

It takes all of 10 seconds to report an internship, so not sure what you mean by the OP having little to be doing.

You spend more time on here replying to all the replies one by one than it takes me to report a few internships on a daily basis. By the looks of it, you have plenty of time on your hands, yore.

What sort of internship did you do? I presume it was one that took 9 months to learn how to perform all the tasks? Are you sure it was one where there was nobody with previous experience in it who could have performed it as a fully paid job? are you really that special :D

You have a very silly view of the world if you think that all you need to do to have a job is have the necessary mechanical skills.

It's a wonder you haven't got one if it's so f'n simple!!! :rolleyes:

Edit: as for having free time to post here, I notice that that's spoken by someone with almost 10 times as many posts as me.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Papa_Bear

Yore why don't you piss off and stop anoying everyone on this thread.

You refuse to accept the point made over and again that these UNSKILLED internships are taking real jobs out of the economy.

This thread is to allow people to name and shame internships that people see as expoitive.

Id like to see you take up an internship as a petrol pump attendant or something similar if you lost your job.

Papa_Bear wrote: »
    Yore why don't you piss off and stop anoying everyone on this thread.

You refuse to accept the point made over and again that these UNSKILLED internships are taking real jobs out of the economy.
    Yeah, whatever. blah blah no jobs because of jobsbridge. Blame the government for not creating any opportunities and then moan when they do.
    This thread is to allow people to name and shame internships that people see as expoitive.
    Yes, I have no problem with that idea, but it seems to have morphed into a "end the entire evil jobsbridge scheme now while we scoff at the jobs that the little people do"
    Id like to see you take up an internship as a petrol pump attendant or something similar if you lost your job.

Yeah, no bother. I'd happily fill up your car whether you were filling it up from your hard earned wages or spent a half an hour out of your leaba in a queue to get the money.

Do you think the work of a petrol attendant is so low that you assume an anonymous person posting on the internet must take it as an insult for you to suggest that they work at it?

One fact, before I disappear for a while, it that there are plenty of people who would be financially better off doing an internship for the extra 50 quid and keeping all their benefits than they would be to sign off and take a minimum wage job to get work experience for their CV. Just to have to show potential future employers that they're not afraid of work.

Anyone like to comment? Nobody care about those people eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Anthony O Brien

What!!!!!!!

You mean show some initiative. Get out of that. It's the governments responsibility to provide citizens with their entitlements. Citizens shouldn't have to get off their arses. The government should force the employers to come in and give them a job commensurate with the citizen's own sense of self-importance!

You have it all wrong. It's the man that's conspiring to keep them down.

this is too good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Anthony O Brien

yore I think you should write a book with a title of something along the lines of "the mindset of the Irish working class"

Yore, I have been on here 4 years to your matter of months. Of course I have loads more posts :D

You were the one that said to someone on here that they had a lot of time on their hands when it is YOU that is quoting as many posts as possible and replying to them.

The irony is brilliant. :D

As you are now resorting to petty insults, I am putting you on ignore. Your replies and argument is weak... I far prefer to report exploitive internships than listen to you drone on and on.

Everyone else.... keep reporting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,820 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

MODERATOR NOTE:

Please remember that this thread is about name-and-shame Jobridge. Some discussion of specific ads, and whether or not they should be covered by the scheme is ok.

But all this general discussion is way off topic, and there are number of comments - from more than one poster - that have caused my fingers to hover over the yellow-card button.

Please keep it on topic, and keep your posts civil. I don't want to issue warnings any more than you want to receive them.

Be aware that this thread is being actively watched - and that is taking time that I could be using for far more productive things.

/MODERATION

yore I think you should write a book with a title of something along the lines of "the mindset of the Irish working class"

I'm not saying too much more here because there has been warnings but I get the impression that most of the posters here aren't, or at least see themselves above, "working class". I personally don't believe in this "class" thing. I think there are just people. But some of them fell they are better than others so invent an arbitrary idea of "class" so that they can feel superior to those that they designate as "beneath" them.

I just think it's a really sh1tty attitude to have towards any internship position or job. Because it's probably a decent honest job and there are lots of people doing that job.

Someone threw the sentence that they'd "like to see me work as a petrol pump attendant" at me as if were an insult :confused: I think that that sentence gave us more of an insight into their own self-imagined position on this class scale. The irony is that the types of internships that are on here that are causing most outrage are actually the types of jobs that have work available. The righteously indignant feel themselves "above" those jobs anyway.

I have zero problem with people coming on here with a personal story of a bad internship. But how do you know how bad or good it is from the ad??? You could see one advertised for the local centra where you might end up learning about their stock control systems, customer service, health and safety regulations, how to lay out a store or deal with suppliers etc. Or you could be a recently graduated architect technician who gets one in an architects office and spend your day making coffee and on a computer out the back killing time on facebook. How can you tell from the ad?

To sum up, there is no bad or stupid internship. There may be an internship that's bad or stupid for you personally to do because you already have that experience. So what if there are unskilled internships? There are also plenty of unskilled people who didn't have your advantages or didn't have things as easy as you. They deserve assistance and a start too, probably more so than the privileged who have already availed of a very highly subsidised, expensive education from the state.

Like I said before:

Please keep it on topic, which is discussing specific Jobridge ads / positions.

More off-topic posts will equal more cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Interesting discussion about Jobbridge on The Last Word with Matt Cooper (TodayFM)...

I missed it. What was said? :)

What is the best address to report an internship?

I missed the first part as I was putting away shopping. You can listen back here, in the third part but suspect the segment of the show may not on until tomorrow. Usual spin TBH, but still interesting to hear...

Complaints/dodgy adverts can be reported here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

HGV DRIVER

The intern will gain practical experience in HGV driving, daily truck operational procedures, loading/unloading, communicating with customers and associated administration. The intern will receive formal/informal training in the following areas: articulated truck driving, daily vehicle checks, general transport procedures and regulations, drivers responsibilities including safety, maintenance and driving rules. Instruction will be provided by an in-cab mentor, who will accompany the intern in the truck at all times. On completion the intern will have attained skills in articulated truck driving, administrative duties, working for a haulage company as part of a team of drivers, delivering a haulage service to meet customers requirements and knowledge of driving regulations.

Never thought i would see internship for a HGV driver!

nig1 wrote: »
    HGV DRIVER

The intern will gain practical experience in HGV driving, daily truck operational procedures, loading/unloading, communicating with customers and associated administration. The intern will receive formal/informal training in the following areas: articulated truck driving, daily vehicle checks, general transport procedures and regulations, drivers responsibilities including safety, maintenance and driving rules. Instruction will be provided by an in-cab mentor, who will accompany the intern in the truck at all times. On completion the intern will have attained skills in articulated truck driving, administrative duties, working for a haulage company as part of a team of drivers, delivering a haulage service to meet customers requirements and knowledge of driving regulations.

Never thought i would see internship for a HGV driver!

Report it!!!

NOW REPORTED, not sure what diifference will it make? have to wait and see.

Got a reply back already,

We have checked the internship and it meets the criteria of the scheme. In line with the eligibility criteria this placement contains all the required elements.

Anybody wtih a bussiness must mad to pay someone a full weeks wage,
    when on these schemes you can pay someone €50 aweek.
    why dont all employees do it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Looking at this, at first it looks really dodgy. Considering the transport industry is seriously cut- throat at the minute.

But......

If someone currently has a C licence, but they want to upgrade to an E+ licence, they could possibly be saving themselves thousands in driving lessons.

Just another way of looking at the ad.

I'm not sure that's the case. They might gain driving experience. But they'll still need lessons.

How does the internship affect the company's insurance? Does it allow for 'learner' HGV drivers?

I think this is totally unethical. And I bet Jobbridge never asked about the insurance aspect of it either.

The ad says "Instruction will be provided by an in-cab mentor, who will accompany the intern in the truck at all times."

So sure, it's possible that this is just a cheap way to get a labourer who will help the driver. But it will be very obvious to the intern from the start if this is the case.

But it's possible that the company is using the scheme to provide training to a potential employee who doesn't yet have the necessary licence, at the government's expense. And if this is the case, then I'm sure that they will have the insurance side sorted ... way to expensive not to.

Far from the worst JB we've seen.

The ad says "Instruction will be provided by an in-cab mentor, who will accompany the intern in the truck at all times."

So sure, it's possible that this is just a cheap way to get a labourer who will help the driver. But it will be very obvious to the intern from the start if this is the case.

But it's possible that the company is using the scheme to provide training to a potential employee who doesn't yet have the necessary licence, at the government's expense. And if this is the case, then I'm sure that they will have the insurance side sorted ... way to expensive not to.

Far from the worst JB we've seen.

I would normally agree MrsO. But I have no confidence this is the case. If an employer can get away with not paying the PRSI (NOT that I'm saying the employer in question is one of those), then why not skimp (or not have) the correct insurance? What I've seen employers get away with here is staggering.

I would love to be proved wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭lintdrummer

Does anyone else think that the solution to the Job Bridge problem is to have it so only jobs that require a qualification can be advertised? I'm not being condescending to unqualified work, I've done it for years, but you don't need an internship for a job that requires no qualifications.
    The people that would benefit most from these schemes are those who have set their minds on a career, gotten a qualification, but are reading the ads that say "x amount of experience required" and are stuck in a rut.
    It sickens me that we have a national employment scheme that's been left open to abuse by cowboy employers who see an opportunity to fill a position with free labour.

Does anyone else think that the solution to the Job Bridge problem is to have it so only jobs that require a qualification can be advertised?

Yes.

Well it wouldn't totally solve the problem, but it would take the worse excesses out of the picture.

I would normally agree MrsO. But I have no confidence this is the case. If an employer can get away with not paying the PRSI (NOT that I'm saying the employer in question is one of those), then why not skimp (or not have) the correct insurance? What I've seen employers get away with here is staggering.

I would love to be proved wrong though.

Wow. I got infracted for a perfectly decent post and yet this spurious shite is allowed.
    Sure why not take your logic a step further. If they can get away without paying their employees via jobsbridge, then sure why not try to get away with fiddling with the local kids on the estate.

Why is this allowed Mrs. Mod? To start from an ad for a perfectly good internship and to end up insinuating that the company is allowing uninsured employees to drive their trucks. If I was the owner of that internship company and I saw that claim on boards.ie, there might be a court case winging it's way in boards.ie's direction!

You're clutching at straws Mr. Poster. Working isn't that bad once you give it a go. Stop trying to ruin it for everyone else.

I'm gone. Stay moaning and bitter all you want. I'm done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Listen Yore, you are trying to act smart and are acting like that there are millions are jobs out there and ways for people to better themselves and unfortunately this is not the case.

You are complaining that people are looking down on jobs like cleaners and even a petrol pump attendant and they are not. I worked as a cleaner during college, it took me 1 day to learn what to do so why should someone work at this for 9 months if they have no interest in the area. I also worked in a petrol station.Why should someone be a petrol pump attendant for 9 months when it takes a day to learn? These internships are slave labour and the companies are looking for someone for free.
    If the companies do need someone new they can offer it as a job and not through a 9 month internship where they will probably put up the same internship after 9 months and get someone else for free.

There is a serious lack of job oppertunites for college graduates at the minute in Ireland. I know a lot of students who have taking the iniative to apply to companies they would like to work for for an internship but these companies have no interest. A lot of jobs these days they look for people with masters but these are between 3-6k and people just cannot afford them like they used, especially after grants have been taken away.

You also say to do a Fas course or some programming course or some business course like a FETAC level 5. There are tens of thousands of people unemployed with experience and recent graduates and when recruitment companies look at people with Fetac level 5 they will immediately bin the C.V. depending on the role they applied for

If any job in places as you put "people look down upon" are advertising such as a cleaner or petrol pump assistant they receive hundreds of applications for these roles but unfortunately can only hire one person

Your answers to other peoples posts are ultimately snobbish, childish and it seems like you have no idea what is really going on with the job market in Ireland. You think if people stop waiting around they will get work? You are a snob of the highest order and clueless

How do you get all the people with trades working with a family etc? Get them to do a Fetac level 5 course which is of no use to them? Go back to college to do a college degree for four years and then there are thousands of other graduates and people with experience looking for the same jobs? Apply for a job in a restraunt where there is another 500 applicants?

You say you are not living in Ireland anymore so you have no clue what it is like over here anymore. The jobs are not here for people to be hired

areyawell wrote: »
    Listen Yore, you are trying to act smart and are acting like that there are millions are jobs out there and ways for people to better themselves and unfortunately this is not the case.

You are complaining that people are looking down on jobs like cleaners and even a petrol pump attendant and they are not. I worked as a cleaner during college, it took me 1 day to learn what to do so why should someone work at this for 9 months if they have no interest in the area. I also worked in a petrol station.Why should someone be a petrol pump attendant for 9 months when it takes a day to learn? These internships are slave labour and the companies are looking for someone for free.
    If the companies do need someone new they can offer it as a job and not through a 9 month internship where they will probably put up the same internship after 9 months and get someone else for free.

There is a serious lack of job oppertunites for college graduates at the minute in Ireland. I know a lot of students who have taking the iniative to apply to companies they would like to work for for an internship but these companies have no interest. A lot of jobs these days they look for people with masters but these are between 3-6k and people just cannot afford them like they used, especially after grants have been taken away.

You also say to do a Fas course or some programming course or some business course like a FETAC level 5. There are tens of thousands of people unemployed with experience and recent graduates and when recruitment companies look at people with Fetac level 5 they will immediately bin the C.V. depending on the role they applied for

If any job in places as you put "people look down upon" are advertising such as a cleaner or petrol pump assistant they receive hundreds of applications for these roles but unfortunately can only hire one person

Your answers to other peoples posts are ultimately snobbish, childish and it seems like you have no idea what is really going on with the job market in Ireland. You think if people stop waiting around they will get work? You are a snob of the highest order and clueless

How do you get all the people with trades working with a family etc? Get them to do a Fetac level 5 course which is of no use to them? Go back to college to do a college degree for four years and then there are thousands of other graduates and people with experience looking for the same jobs? Apply for a job in a restraunt where there is another 500 applicants?

You say you are not living in Ireland anymore so you have no clue what it is like over here anymore. The jobs are not here for people to be hired

You worked as a cleaner in college. So we'll deduce you might have a cert or probably a degree. If so, then an internship as a cleaner/petrol pump attendant isn't aimed at you.

But there might be some young kid, 18/19 with no college but who wants to work. It's tough getting a start there. When you start on the ladder you list any previous position that might show you as a person who was trusted with some measure of responsibility. You probably had your cleaning job on your CV when you tried for the next job even though you might not put it there now. All previous experience counts when you have nothing or very little on your CV. No reference or evidence that you can hold down a position? - That's a tough position to be in.

Those jobs aren't meant for you. But those people are as deserving of a leg up as a kid out of college with a fancy degree. I'm not telling the fella with the architecture degree to work as a cleaner, but I'm saying that he has no more right to a leg up in his chosen career via a government scheme than someone who wants to be a HGV driver! I would actually say less so, as he has more options! Give the young kid a start at the HGV and maybe in a few years he'll have his own haulage company! A lot of essential companies are started by people with no degrees/formal qualifications. Any internship can be a good opportunity for someone. I said previously, there are no stupid internships, but there may be ones that would be stupid for you personally to do. you can't just look at a centra job and pooh-pooh it as being worthless experience. Because it might not be worthless to someone else.

I saw another thread where someone approached a business to take him on as an intern and he got the gig. This scheme is a great opportunity for people. If you were signing on, you could be here in 9 months still giving out about it or you could have 9 months experience in your chosen industry under your belt.

Not everyone is starting from where you're starting. You have to remember that. I said I'm gone. I just wanted to respond to your post. Because if I don't go, I'll be permabanned!

And for your information, I am neither a snob, nor clueless. The first allegation makes zero sense as it is wholly counter-intuitive to my whole argument on here. The second one is unfounded in every sense. Seeing as how you are getting personal, yeah I left college and Ireland 3 years ago. I turned down a number of job offers in Ireland as I got a better opportunity overseas....but somehow I'm "clueless" :confused:

I particularly like this line
    areyawell wrote: »
    You think if people stop waiting around they will get work?
    Well I don't think it's going to come and find them and bite them on the arse if they stay sitting around!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

I agree with your post somewhat and you are nothing talking nonsense like previous posts but some of these internships are slave labor where the company are looking to hire someone for free, hence making more money for themselves when they could be taking on someone in a permanent role and giving someone a job. There's plenty of people who are now unemployed who have worked in these roles and when they apply for the roles there are hundreds of applicants and will hire the person who they feel have the best personality.

There are now free college courses where you get to keep your dole which some people can take and there's also back to education allowance. You have to realize that some people might not be able for college and not have the greatest IQ, have families that they have young children and need to mind the children etc.

There are plenty of IT jobs out there but these roles require additional certs like the microsoft and cisco ones which are upwards of 2000 euro. People with undergraduate degrees which have work experience are still not able to find jobs. The experience for programming jobs for people is now unrealistic for a graduate so hence a lot of foreigners are taking the jobs. To further your skill set it will cost thousands of euro and people just cannot afford it.

There are 100's of 1000's of skilled people unemployed and the jobs are just not out there for them. They are people with Law,Computer Science degrees working in Dunnes stores, as bartenders. I don't think you really realize how bad the job crisis is here in Ireland.

I'm currently doing my masters and don't know will I get a job when I finish like all other students. Its not that easy to uptake your skills set when there is 500 applicants applying for the same job you want with more expierence than you. A lot of the graduate roles are now been taking by people who have worked in the same industry for years. If I cant get a job what should I do? Do more courses which I cant afford while paying off my college tuition fees over the next three years?

An 18/19 year with no expierence in anything is hard to know what they can do. Hotel work, supermarket where there are hundreds of applicants for each role for peole with expierence . Maybe they could go back to college but no point doing a level 5 or a fas course. What should all the builders now do in the country? Go back to college where there is still no jobs even for graduates? Only option is emigration which a lot of young people are now doing!