Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 12/13 MOD POST #232

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,784 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It's Norwich, I'd certainly hope we're ok at the back and that our striker can get a goal or assist. :pac:

Thinking of another 3--1 win for us. Santi for 1st goal.

1-6 will do. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Mannone
    Jenkinson--Vermaelen--Mertesacker--Santos
    Arteta
    Ramsey
    Gervinho
    Cazorla
    Podolski----
    Giroud

Jack is on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,882 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Mannone
    Jenkinson--Vermaelen--Mertesacker--Santos
    Arteta
    Ramsey
    Gervinho
    Cazorla
    Podolski----
    Giroud

Jack is on the bench
    If Arsenal could have fielded that midfield 5 with RVP they'd really be in a good position to end that trophy drought.

3-1 still on the cards lads!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Too much hope can kill a man. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,784 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

A bucket of cold water over each of them at Half-time to wake them up though.

Trap's watching. Can we blame him if we lose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭Soups123

****ing disgrace, losing to a Norwich team who played ok, not an adrenilne filled smaller team. Attitude, effort fckin disgrace.
    There is no way Giroud is a first choice striker he's had plenty of game time and hasn't given an ounce of hope, he isnt going to deliver 4 us. Ramsey shouldn't be starting he only impresses of the bench. So many reasons to be pissed..... Gervinho, Mannone(sh*t), Santos

Can't believe how crap that was today. Beaten by a **** team who played an average game and we barely had a chance.

Fu*king disgrace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

The elephant in the room comes out again. Why do we switch off in games like Norwich? It wasn't that Norwich played amazing stuff, it just looked like we were not hungry or prepared to fight for any kind of result.

Defending was very poor at times too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Can't remember us playing as poorly as that I'm including the 8-2 in that too

I can't think of a starting player who shouldn't be thoroughly ashamed of himself after that. I can't think of many of negative adjectives used to describe footballing performances that don't apply to Arsenal this evening. They looked lethargic, like they had no plan, no urgency. Just awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

None of our internationals looked very good today, why do we always suffer such bad hangovers from international breaks...

Soups123 wrote: »
    ****ing disgrace, losing to a Norwich team who played ok, not an adrenilne filled smaller team. Attitude, effort fckin disgrace.
    There is no way Giroud is a first choice striker he's had plenty of game time and hasn't given an ounce of hope, he isnt going to deliver 4 us. Ramsey shouldn't be starting he only impresses of the bench. So many reasons to be pissed..... Gervinho, Mannone(sh*t), Santos

Can't believe how crap that was today. Beaten by a **** team who played an average game and we barely had a chance.

Fu*king disgrace

I think he needs more time. He's getting better, bad today but everyone else was too so I wouldn't pinpoint him as being not good enough for us.

Santos is a bad defender. Thought he could improve but I've lost faith now in him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

Inexcusable performance. Losing games I can accept, but they left me with the impression that they just didn't give a ****. They are better than that, a swift kick up the arse required. Fcuk sake. I'll not watch the highlights on RTE, their pundits have probably just creamed themselves at this latest opportunity to yet again stick the boot into Arsenal with the same old lazy tired overused cliched criticisms that we're all sick of hearing for a long long time now.

Your at nothing singling out players the whole team were dreadful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭Soups123

HazDanz wrote: »

I think he needs more time. He's getting better, bad today but everyone else was too so I wouldn't pinpoint him as being not good enough for us.

Santos is a bad defender. Thought he could improve but I've lost faith now in him.
    Just don't see it mate, his best performance to date has been an okay. He comes too deep as we push forward, we need a striker who plays off the last man. He'd do ok with a team swinging in crosses but that ain't us, like Chamakh.

Santos is a woeful defender

Podolski has been shocking for about 5 games now. Gervinho's a lost cause who will destroy a lot of build up play and get the odd goal to keep himself in the team. Ramsey/Arteta/Cazorla/Podolski probably hit about 3 passes forward between them in the entire game.

Pathetic performance really

Your at nothing singling out players the whole team were dreadful

Yes it was a bad team performance but that is unusual for some of the players and usual for some more. We need to ship out the dead wood and bring in better players. Keeper, left-back and right-back for a start.
    Also a lot of the problems could be sorted out on the training ground i.e. corners and crosses. We are the worse team in the EPL at those. And today we played more back passes than forward passes.

Yes it was a bad team performance but that is unusual for some of the players and usual for some more. We need to ship out the dead wood and bring in better players. Keeper, left-back and right-back for a start.
    Also a lot of the problems could be sorted out on the training ground i.e. corners and crosses. We are the worse team in the EPL at those. And today we played more back passes than forward passes.

Can't remember a performance as bad if we had a go and were unlucky i say grand, but that performance was so bad
    Same old problems turn up at places expected to win so we decide to walk around for the 90 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

There were a few performances like that last season, nobody remembers them because van Persie usually managed to pull a result out of the bag. The difference between him and Giroud is actually depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

At least the thread will pick up again now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Arsenal poor TV game after international shocker!!!

There were a few performances like that last season, nobody remembers them because van Persie usually managed to pull a result out of the bag. The difference between him and Giroud is actually depressing.

It's a good point to make. Even by last years standard though today was very poor. Tbh I was hoping with the new players being brought in and this new more mature look that we would have stopped performances like today. Nothing to do with talent or who has the best 11, it was just a lack of effort and for players who talk about going places this season they were not sending signals of a side who can win or want to win anything this season.

Maybe it was a bad day at the office and it won't happen again soon but I don't think any of us are naive enough to think this problem will go away based on seasons gone by. It needs to be properly addressed rather than put aside, it has cost us a serious amount of points through the years.

EDIT: Wenger says he hopes the loss will provide a shock to the system for the team... We'll see on Weds I guess.

HazDanz wrote: »
    It's a good point to make. Even by last years standard though today was very poor. Tbh I was hoping with the new players being brought in and this new more mature look that we would have stopped performances like today. Nothing to do with talent or who has the best 11, it was just a lack of effort and for players who talk about going places this season they were not sending signals of a side who can win or want to win anything this season.

Maybe it was a bad day at the office and it won't happen again soon but I don't think any of us are naive enough to think this problem will go away based on seasons gone by. It needs to be properly addressed rather than put aside, it has cost us a serious amount of points through the years.

EDIT: Wenger says he hopes the loss will provide a shock to the system for the team... We'll see on Weds I guess.

One simple thing that should have been done two years ago was buying a proper keeper. That goal today was disgraceful. The ball went into the center of the goal and he had to dive as his positioning was so bad. He hesitated on several other occasions as well, coming out and then changing his mind. On one occasion he came out but didn't even block the cross from the end-line. Norwich could have scored more than one and we hardly had a shot at goal.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

One simple thing that should have been done two years ago was buying a proper keeper. That goal today was disgraceful. The ball went into the center of the goal and he had to dive as his positioning was so bad. He hesitated on several other occasions as well, coming out and then changing his mind. On one occasion he came out but didn't even block the cross from the end-line. Norwich could have scored more than one and we hardly had a shot at goal.

Pretty annoying when you consider the French No.1 is warming Spuds' bench. Not that I've lost faith in Scez, still reckon he will come good for us.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Pretty annoying when you consider the French No.1 is warming Spuds' bench. Not that I've lost faith in Scez, still reckon he will come good for us.

Scez will come good. It's the cover i'm on about. You need two dependable keepers and we only have one. I knew Scez would miss several games in a season but do we have to suffer every time our No.1 is out.

• Site Banned Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Ares

Gervinho when he was up top was perfect. Gave Arsenal great fluidity, and while he missed a few he buried quite a few as well.

He's put out on the wing where he's not the same player and Giroud comes in and slows everything up.

Put Gervinho back up top.

Scez is okay in fairness. Needs to learn how to kick a ball properly out though. Never been a fan of Mannone like you were saying he's too flappy.

LB with Santos there you might as well have no cover. Suicidal football at times today, trying these one twos through the centre and no cover for his position. Not one of them worked and it always left us open.

Gnarby though coming on was a plus. Hope he gets more time with rotation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

I think you are not facing the facts if you think the bad performance today was based on poor goal keeping- far from it. Yes he didnt deal with the shot well and gave the the opportunity for Holt to strike it in but I recall a number of panic back passes by his defenders that he dealt with reasonably well, most crucially I saw Verm and Santos mess up a few times by loosing possession needlessly and we could have conceded more than a goal like you said.

The summary is that even if he had comfortably saved the shot, we wont have scored anyway.