If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Things will come to those who wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

10 miles @ 7.01 pace

Nice run this evening, there was a six of us in the group so it was a bit hairy at times on the road as it got more dark but we all survived unmarked. Pace started at 7.30 and crept up to 6.30 or so by the end. Probably not ideal the day after a session but it was this or run on my own.
    Woke up this morning and the outside of my knee was sore, caused by a tight IT band I think. It was sore all day, even when I was walking so when I got home I did 20 minutes on the foam roller and the difference was amazing, no pain at all on the run. Again I probably shouldn't have pushed the pace as much but I genuinely felt no pain which is great. Going to do another 20 minutes now, I was worried that it could put me out for a while but hopefully the rolling will keep me mobile.

MYTD: 1508.5

20 mins easy, 20 mins tempo (6.23 pace), 10 mins WD

Headed into the club for this with very little enthusiasm, it was cold and I was feeling lazy, it's definitely winter now. :( Still two of the lads were doing this session so I jumped in. Got through it grand and the pace felt fine, we didn't want to overdue with another race at the weekend, covered a little over 5k in the twenty minutes. The knee give me a few warning twinges today but felt fine during the run, that's three hardish days in a row which isn't ideal so it's probably not surprising but only easy running now planned for the rest of the week.

MYTD: 1514.5

4.5 miles easy

Just a short easy jog this morning, knee still giving me a few warning twinges when I'm walking about but didn't bother me when I'm running. Still will be cautious enough and go for another easy run in the morning before deciding if I will run for definite on Sunday yet. Although I'm down for the team already so would not like to pull out at this stage.

MYTD: 1519

40 mins easy plus 5 strides

Joined my brother for a few miles on his last long run before DCM (both he and my Dad are doing it), pace was very slow all over 9 minutes per mile. Did a few strides at the end and the knee felt good so Thunderbirds are go for the Intermediate XC tomorrow, looking forward to it. It's a bit longer at 8k so will have to try and run a more sensible race that I did last week. :rolleyes:

MYTD: 1523

Christ that was one of the hardest x-country races I've ever done, the rain this morning destroyed the course and it was extremely boggy in places, proper up the your ankles stuff. 8k so four laps of 2k, only about 30 in the race and we started off nice and slow, I was determined to hang back and bit and faster half a mile we were close to the back. At this stage my feet were soaking from the water but was feeling good running with a friend and clubmate of mine.
    We spotted a group of three ahead of us and decided to close the gap and get a nice group going. We stuck together for the first two laps and I was still feeling good. Into the third lap and I was starting to work, one guy dropped off the back. The soft ground was sapping the energy from my legs and the lactic was starting to curdle. Down the hill into the last lap and the group surged and I lost touch. I tried desperately to get back with them but the legs would not respond. They slowly edged away and I ran the last lap solo but amazingly I managed to pass another guy who started a bit too hard. Even managed a bit of a sprint finish but I was a mess at the end.
    It turns out everyone was bolloxed at the end but it really was one of those days, 8k on that soft, wet muddy ground it a real killer. Happy enough though, a better race than last week as I kept the pace more steady and didn't give away any positions. Course was just shy of 5 mile and I got 32:39 on my watch which is similar to what I managed in Raheny on the road 10 months ago so I've come along way replicating it on that fecker of a course. Only downside is I missed out on a team prize by one place but still delighted the lads got second overall.

MYTD: 1530

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I feel your pain - nice running

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I feel your pain - nice running

Cheers BB, plenty of pain to be felt today! Great running yourself, coming back into form.

7 miles @ 7.50 pace with 4 strides

This was meant to be a bit closer to recovery pace but it was such a nice morning and I felt good so just cruised around. No niggles or anything from the race yesterday which is good. Don't usually run on a Monday but I have a crazy day tomorrow so will take a rest day instead. I have a possible two races next weekend so will have to try and schedule my training around a bit to fit it all in.

MYTD: 1538.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

What're the races next weekend pconn? Is the senior x-country one of them?

No the senior is on the 4th of November, put it in your diary! Well on Saturday is Carrie's 4 mile time trial so not really a race but would like to give it a lash to see what happens. And the Glenmore AC are hosting a 5k cross country race on Sunday, Dunleer usually put in a team and won the trophy last year. Not sure about that one yet, will see if they are stuck for a team.

Saturday's out for me with college anyway. See what the craic is Sunday, not sure if I've anything on or not. Nice to get a couple of decent races in when I've the fitness anyway. Probably won't bother with the marathon info night on Wednesday, maybe the club training Thursday. I'll give ya a text. Good man.

Grand, just a heads up I won't be at training this Thursday but Pat and John will probably be there anyway. Talk to you soon.

Tuesday: Rest day

7 miles

Session: 5x1k off 3 mins recovery

Splits: 3.33, 3.34, 3.31, 3.42, 3.32

Another Jack Daniels session today and one of my favourites, 5x1k. JD says 3 minutes recovery which is longer than we usually take but I decided to go with it. Wasn't bothered driving into the track and took advantage of a break in the weather and headed out on the roads. Headed to a fairly flat 1k stretch near the house. Had my brother for company doing these. 3 were done with the wind (1st, 3rd and 5th) and the 2nd and 4th were into the wind. 1st one was fine and I felt good. The wind was really strong on the 2nd one and we probably overcooked it a little. 3rd was fine but it was starting to hurt so I decided to back off a bit for the fourth one as the wind was fairly severe, ran by effort as supposed to pace, hence the slower split. Still fairly busted after it and stomach was feeling a bit dodgy. Lashed through the last one and then jogged home, glad to get it done. Splits were a touch slower than the last time I did this but given the conditions I'm more than happy.

MYTD: 1545.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

pconn062 wrote: »
    Tuesday: Rest day

7 miles

Session: 5x1k off 3 mins recovery

Splits: 3.33, 3.34, 3.31, 3.42, 3.32

Another Jack Daniels session today and one of my favourites, 5x1k. JD says 3 minutes recovery which is longer than we usually take but I decided to go with it. Wasn't bothered driving into the track and took advantage of a break in the weather and headed out on the roads. Headed to a fairly flat 1k stretch near the house. Had my brother for company doing these. 3 were done with the wind (1st, 3rd and 5th) and the 2nd and 4th were into the wind. 1st one was fine and I felt good. The wind was really strong on the 2nd one and we probably overcooked it a little. 3rd was fine but it was starting to hurt so I decided to back off a bit for the fourth one as the wind was fairly severe, ran by effort as supposed to pace, hence the slower split. Still fairly busted after it and stomach was feeling a bit dodgy. Lashed through the last one and then jogged home, glad to get it done. Splits were a touch slower than the last time I did this but given the conditions I'm more than happy.

MYTD: 1545.5

Good session P, is that around 5K pace? I am planning to do a few of these in the coming weeks as well. Are you following a JD plan or picking out a few sessions that suit your own plan (as I do) ?

dna_leri wrote: »
    Good session P, is that around 5K pace? I am planning to do a few of these in the coming weeks as well. Are you following a JD plan or picking out a few sessions that suit your own plan (as I do) ?

Cheers DL, yes that's around about 5k pace, maybe a few seconds quicker but I intend of having a crack at sub 18 before the end of the year so trying to run them a bit quicker. For now I'm just picking a few JD sessions to get used to the intensity of them with the intention of beginning the full 5-15k plan in December with an aim to peak around April next year.
    I'm looking to make the sort of progress you have made over the 5k distance with an aim to hit 16 minutes eventually! :)

8 miles @ 7.31 pace with 6 strides

Just an easy run this evening. Over the last while I've been trying to make 7.30-40 my new easy pace and it finally seems to be working. I felt very comfortable at this pace with little or no aerobic stress. Another easy run planned for tomorrow and then a possible 4 mile time trial on Saturday.

MYTD: 1553.5

5.5 miles @ 8.30 pace with 6 strides

Just a short easy jaunt before work today, legs a bit heavy and feeling a bit tired, has been a busy few weeks with work, training and x-country races so probably just catching up on me a bit.

MYTD: 1559

7 miles

4 mile time trial: 23:58

Happy enough with that, only about 30 people showed up for this. About 10 seconds slower than the last one but I had a bigger group to work off that day where as today I was chasing my coach for most of it (OK not really chasing him, he finished 2 1/2 minutes ahead of me! :pac:). Had a bit of a battle with a fellow who passed me about a mile in but I kinda knew he was pushing it so I sat back and passed him about 2.5 miles into it, ran the rest solo. Fairly windy in places which probably hurt the time as well but it's only a bit of craic and was a good session if nothing else. Course was the right length this time as well after being a touch short the last time. Will try and do a longer run tomorrow.

MYTD: 1566

10 mile @ 7.48 pace

Longer run today with the group. Felt fairly tired on this and the legs felt a bit heavy so when the lads picked it up for a few marathon paced miles and then end I backed off and trotted the last few miles home on my own. A good week overall, 1 good session, a decent time trial and a few longer than normal easy runs. No race next weekend so will get another good training week in this week hopefully.

MYTD: 1576

Monday: Rest Day

Tuesday: 7 miles

Session: 2x200m off 200m easy, 3x1k @ Threshold pace (actual 6.11) off 1 min rest, 2x200m

Splits: (37, 37), (3.50, 3.51, 3.49), (35, 37)

Pretty good session this, the 200's were probably a touch fast but because there was only two in each group I wasn't worried. The 1000's were fine as well, probably made a bit easier by last weeks 1k reps at a much quicker pace although the short recovery made it a challenging session all the same. Have another session planned for Thursday.

MYTD: 1583

7 miles easy @ 7.36 pace with 6 strides

I really, really didn't want to go out in the pouring rain and howling wind to do this rain. Any excuse would have done but alas I couldn't think of one so out I went and splashed around in the rain. I actually cheered up after a few miles and enjoyed it overall in the end. Disgusting weather though, hope it's nicer for all those doing DCM next week.

MYTD: 1590

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

pconn062 wrote: »
    7 miles easy @ 7.36 pace with 6 strides

I really, really didn't want to go out in the pouring rain and howling wind to do this rain. Any excuse would have done but alas I couldn't think of one so out I went and splashed around in the rain. I actually cheered up after a few miles and enjoyed it overall in the end. Disgusting weather though, hope it's nicer for all those doing DCM next week.

MYTD: 1590
    It was grand in Dublin. Very light mist, slight breeze and mild temp....would settle for that come M Day!

belcarra wrote: »
    It was grand in Dublin. Very light mist, slight breeze and mild temp....would settle for that come M Day!

Ah man it was miserable up here, think being so close to coast exposes us to the worst of the weather.

PM: 4 miles @ 8.39 pace

Unintended double run today, a friend of mine asked me to go for a run with him so I obliged. Pace was nice and handy and it was nice to get another run in.

MYTD: 1594

7.5 miles

Session: 3x1k @ threshold pace (6.08) off 1 min rec, 3x800m I pace off 2 min rec

Splits: (3.49, 3.46, 3.45) (2.49, 2.48, 2.45)

Session at the track with a few of the lads. Conditions were cold and very windy! 1000's were fine, felt nice and comfortable and the recovery was adequate. We were working a bit on the 800's, the wind was making it tough but as there was only three we just pushed on and got them done. Happy with that two good sessions this week.
    It's looking like I would get a chance to get out tomorrow, I'm working 8-8 tomorrow in two different places. I know I could HTFU and get up at 6 and go out before work but honestly I couldn't be bothered!! It's only going to be a recovery run anyway, might do another double on Saturday instead.

MYTD: 1601.5

Friday: OFF

Today: 8.5 miles @ 7.45 pace

Took yesterday off as I just had no time to get a run in, plus my calf was giving me a bit of grief so the day off was prob not a bad idea. Still not feeling great today so I took t easy enough at the start of this, felt alright so I picked it up a bit and most of the miles were in the 7.30 range.
    Was up at the expo today with my Dad and my brother, for a fleeting moment I wished I was doing the marathon (not really! :D). But I did treat my self to a new (and expensive) pair of Saucony Kinvara's. I've wanted a pair for a while and amphibian king had a stall there so I treated myself. Got them in Amphibian King's [url=http://www.google.ie/imgres?um=1&hl=en&safe=off&sa=N&biw=1366&bih=667&tbm=isch&tbnid=Yr7p7OeoaLAFSM:&imgrefurl=http://www.racycles.com/products/detail/27390&docid=PzhRTxFEhwr5OM&imgurl=http://www.racycles.com/assets/productimages/large/Saucony_Kinvara3_YellowBlack.jpg&w=740&h=475&ei=ZguMUIDoI4rDhAeQlYEI&zoom=1&iact=rc&dur=2&sig=116426156275210065149&page=1&tbnh=179&tbnw=278&start=0&ndsp=15&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:0,i:69&tx=144&ty=90[/url]own colours[/url]. Will test them out next week.

MYTD:1610

Any good deals on stuff up at the Expo pconn? Some super value on Mizuno runners last year, wished I'd splashed out.. The Kinvara's are meant to be a great shoe. Very lighweight.

Some good deals on runner RFR, Anthony got a great deal on a pair of Saucony racers, got a nice pair of shorts as well for a tenner. Looking forward to trying to Saucony's out.

What'd Anthony get, the Fastwitch or something was it? How much were they if you don't mind me asking? Been looking at getting a pair of racers, just not sure if I can justify taking two hours out of my day to drive to Ballsbridge for the sole reason at looking at runners I don't even need!! I might ask somebody to pick me up a pair though if they're a steal..

Anthony bought these: http://www.runningwarehouse.com/descpageMRS-STYP5M2.html

60 euro off Amphibian King, great racers, extremely light but I'd say 1/2 marathon is the most you could do in them. Don't know if you could run a marathon in them, they really are extremely light.

11 miles @ 7.47 pace

Nice run with RFR today in cold and fairly windy conditions. It feels kind of strange to be going out and running as normal on the October bank holiday weekend. I've run the Dublin marathon for the last three years and it's always been a big weekend in our house. Between my Dad and my brother there's a bit of taper madness going on and it's nice not to be part of it for once! Best of luck to them, and to everyone else who is running.

MYTD: 1621