Viscious thug sexually assaults 17 year old, and walks free!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Check-list for an Irish rapist.
    • save money- check
    • rape girl- check
    • pay girl- check
    • go home for a ham sandwich-check

This country really is getting beyond pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Can anybody explain the judges reasoning for such a sentence?

I'm not trying to sound sensationalist at all, infact I generally hate sensationalism, but I saw something on Facebook which for once I actually agreed with. It said something along the lines of "when did we start turning our sexual assault victims into prostitutes, since when was it ok to sexually assault women as long as you pay them afterwards"

Something has to change here. This cannot continue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

He is originally from Dublin but has been living in Louth with his girlfriend for the last six years. The couple plan to get married.

Yeah, he's marriage material all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

This is an absurd sentences, especially as he seems to have past convictions. There needs to be some sort of independent review of judges, if some of them engage in this kind of carry on with sentences.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

**** putting him in jail
    hang him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Fuinseog wrote: »
    did the victim accept the money? the going rate for rape is going down all the time. it used to 75k to rape someone, now only 15k.

He sexually assualted her for sure, but I'm not sure he actually raped her? thankfully she had a male friend with her, which presumably prevented her from being raped? big apologies if I have go this wrong as I haven't been following the full story . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

wes wrote: »
    This is an absurd sentences, especially as he seems to have past convictions. There needs to be some sort of independent review of judges, if some of them engage in this kind of carry on with sentences.

I couldn't help but think of the murder of Jill Meagher when i read the story.

Her killer had previous. The guy in this case is obviously a dangerous individual too and he should be locked up. If he goes on to harm another girl, the judge should be struck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Considering the effort we went to in order to cut their pay I can't imagine we'll be able to remove a judge for any reason. Hence the crazy sentences - no accountability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

krudler wrote: »
    Just goes to show how out of touch Irish judges are, slap on the wrist for serious assaults, jail time for importing garlic or not paying tax.
    mike65 wrote: »
    This judge has plenty of form for "eccentric" sentences.

Innocent Handbag Snatcher

Garlic Man

Mick Wallace gets off and car dealer is jailed for 4 years despite having repaid the taxes

Suspended sentence for biting a child in the face

I'm starting to see a pattern here :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I was her dad or brother yer man wouldn't walk again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

I "when did we start turning our sexual assault victims into prostitutes, since when was it ok to sexually assault women as long as you pay them afterwards"

Since Biblical times unfortunately :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Many previous convictions, four for assault, then an sexual assault on a 17 year old.

I'm confused: can somebody please explain how this guy didn't get a jail sentence?

he didnt get a sentence cause it Ireland man, the land of fücking backwards rules where the crime does not ever seem to match the punishment. he will pay 15k over, which more than likely will come from a bank loan, all the while this 17 year old girl will never have a normal life again, with very damaged views on men.

what makes me laugh is your man has a bird, and is plannign on getting married. ah scumbags, they should be drowned at birth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Easy Rod wrote: »
    This chap was the boogey man around where i grew up, didn't matter what you were doing, if you heard his name mentioned you just legged it home!

Ha! Yeah that's what I was getting at in my post, we were the same. Aside from the actual convinctions there are other disturbing stories I heard, though that's just hearsay I guess so will say no more.

Was always a scumbag and can add sex offender to the list now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Sugar Free wrote: »
    Ha! Yeah that's what I was getting at in my post, we were the same. Aside from the actual convinctions there are other disturbing stories I heard, though that's just hearsay I guess so will say no more.

Was always a scumbag and can add sex offender to the list now too.
    Thanks to his getting a suspended sentence he wont even have to register as a sex offender!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

LittleBook wrote: »

This is outrageous. How on earth is he still a judge?

More pertinently, how do we complain and get him investigated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 STI V5

Ive heard it all now !! Unbelievable verdict but totally expected !! Having done work in a judges house years ago , let me see just how out of touch with reality they are !! Even though they hear all sorts off traumatic cases day to day for most of them its just a nice fat pay-packet and pension .. They havent a clue what goes on in the real world , there just in this comfy little bubble , one things for sure if it happened to someone close to him he would have a different outlook !! Hand on heart if any sicko ever crossed any of my family i would Chop the F##kers fingers off as a start , one things for sure he wouldnt be so quick about doing it again .. These vermin dont just turn over a new leaf and become excellent citizens they normally just carry on looking for a newer high ... which normally ends up with some poor woman or child going missing or being put through a life time of misery living with there ordeal !!! Im sure all the do-gooders will have something to say , Anybody with half a brain could see that the justice system in this country is a joke .... cant blame the gardai for losing interest and becoming complacent in some of these cases especially when the scum are walking free !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

This judge also gave a suspended sentence recently for a guy who assaulted a couple of women. I know judges have to be independent from politicians with good reason but surely there is some way he can be held account for stuff like this? Independent panel of former judges and solicitors, something like that.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

idk where to start, i hope somebody provides an email or postal address.

Has the media picked up on this guy and his soft sentencing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

These perverts, always fecking gingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

I really cannot believe this. I could write a thousand word diatribe of anger but it's beyond comprehension this.

Funnily enough in a perverse and very indirect way the people in Ballyconnell at the Sean Quinn rally last week could almost be entitled to feel vindicated in challenging a ruling of a court of this country.

I believe the courts should be above this kind of questioning before anyone jumps down my throat as I support it's decision in the Quinn case. However my point is that with this case and the other verdict with the Lyons man convicted of sexual assault makes one wonder about law and justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Martin Nolan is not fit to judge a tidy towns competition, never mind anything else. You'd have to wonder about just how serious he believes sexual attacks are given his track record. Certainly much less important than skipping tax on garlic.

These stories are bringing new meaning to 'paying for your crime'...

fcuking disgusting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

There are nearly 40 judges in the circuit courts, why does this particular one keep coming up over and over again?

Mother Screams At Judge For Sentence Handed Down To Son

Wow. While I have absolutely no sympathy for this thug or his excuse for a mother, it seems we're not the only ones noticing the inconsistencies in sentencing.

I'd be careful about making a complaint:

Engineer Must Pay €17,500 To Judge He Insulted

Judge accepts the word of Two Other Judges in Making the Award

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Are judges totally untouchable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

eviltwin wrote: »
    Are judges totally untouchable?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

LittleBook wrote: »
    I'd be careful about making a complaint:

Engineer Must Pay €17,500 To Judge He Insulted

If I hadn't read the article I would have assumed you were making that up, it just beggars belief :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I think the elephant in the room is the fact that a proportion of Irish judges dont seem to think sexual assault, molestaion or rape are big problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 STI V5

Suppose ill get me toothbrush and vaseline packed up:eek: I would imagine the gardai are getting kitted out in riot gear to make a daylight raid on all of us real criminals for speaking our minds and having an opinion !! :D